(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Santorini/zachmommy,
I think there is nothing at fairs for us to buy except diaper or food. The bigger ticket items are at most car seats or prams...

Come to think of it, will it be a good time to stock up on GAIA? I remember we bot GAIA at a pretty good price in one of the baby fairs @ expo.

Iemik0,
I not sure leh... Friday take afternoon half is btr for me. But a bit sian oso... cos by the time reach oso not early liao.

In case, u are curious wat is going on for the Mother & Baby Fair (aka Baby Care Festival 2010) http://www.family.sg/BABY/2010/01/22/en-us/0000241/article.aspx

i wanna go to all the fairs...!!!!let me know when you all going...so baby fair is on the 10 or 11??magazine all the ad states 10 mar

snowger
yipe. if go afternoon, den have to search for parking. not keen to park too far from hall when out wif kids. hehe.

ivy
taka website states it as 11 Mar, there sld be a misprint in the mag. I'm interested in the baby fairs too but I don't think I need to buy anything... just curious if there are new products

the only thing i will grab is wet wipes and pigeon foodstuff.

oh yeah, i was washing zach's milk bottles todae and it came to me that I hv yet to change his milk bottles since he uses them at 6mths old.. i onie change the teats once every 2-3mths..the bottles look new though, so u tink shuld change?

rachel
haha... forwarded that article to my hb! He's always asking me about dvds! Guess the best thing is still spending time talking to and playing with our kids rather than to use the tv as baby sitter

i m doing some spree and saw this.
It teaches us how to buy our baby shoes.

hope this help. Of course, this is just an estimation

Which means, you measure the feet diagonally + 1cm
3686096.jpg

Educational DVDs:
I din let my ger watch until recently when she can sit for a little while. I do not force her since her backside is V-shaped and can't sit for long.

A fellow mother once warned me that watching DVD will cause the child to become ADHD when they grow up. Bcos TV screens and pictures move fast, the child will grow up wanting life/school to move as fast. When it does not they get restless... Hmmm... Food for thought I guess...

zachmummy/2nd baby,
U mean taka sale got disc for food oso? hmmm... in that case I will check it out cos my ger likes the pre-cooked food... *yummy!*

HEALTHY TIMES

Anyone still wanna order? Cos I think I will ask another thread or two to see if they interested so we can hit $250... :p

Rach,
I think the markerters are doing a good job that's why we are informed that they are "good"... And they play up on the fact that all parents want their kids to have the best and be the best lor...

Snowger, yes yes. Got disc. Thats what I remember. Pigeon biscuits was selling at $4 plus compared to $6 per box. The pre cooked food shd have disc too.

2nd baby,
tat's quite substaintal amt of disc!!! ;p thanks thanks. Lidat I will make my way down to grab some... :p thou I am trying to cut down these type of "fast food" for my ger...

If interested, pl PM me.

Huggies Ultra - $14.50
Huggies Pull-up - $14.50
Huggies Dry/comfort - $15.00
Collection at Punggol.

snow, i tot watching TV is the total opposite. i observe 2 of my fren's kids that we sitting in front of the tv most of the time, both of them are very quiet, rarely speak. mabbe cos they were busy watching tv, forgot to communicate and their caregiver do not want to disturb the kids for fear they will disturb them in completing their household chore..so kids will have delayed speech?? i dunno..tat's how i felt. so now the set of dvds that my fren gave is still sitting untouched..zach onie watched wheels on the bus dvd and only that particular episode. the rest he is not even interested to cast a glance.

Zachmummy,
Eh... Ur explanation sounds reasonable. I did find several sources on the internet which documents the link (not sure if they are valid thou):
1) http://health.msn.com/health-topics/adhd/articlepage.aspx?cp-documentid=100161248

2) http://www.whitedot.org/issue/iss_story.asp?slug=ADHD%20Toddlers

Extract: "A study from the American Academy of Pediatrics shows that watching videos as a toddler may lead to Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD, also called ADD in UK) in later life. TV watching "rewires" an infant’s brain, says Dr. Dimitri A. Christakis lead researcher and director of the Child Health Institute at Children’s Hospital and Regional Medical Center, Seattle, Wash. The damage shows up at age 7 when children have difficulty paying attention in school."

snowger,

this time i will give the Healthy Times cereal a miss. Recently my boy seem like start to reject the cereal liao.

No oh.. Both my boys like to watch tv one lei.. Jialut..

hi kath.. true.. i also seldom give ashlynne watch tv.. unless i cannot take it.. she too cranky...i bought her alot of books instead and read with her... see pictures n describe.. hope this helps her more instead

Jappooh,
I dunno if it's true, moderation is key, so I do not let my dotter watch.. So far, I let her watch Einstein Baby- she sit less than 1 min, run off liao. Baby Can Read - max 3 mins, then she run off and do her own things. Excessive TV is confirm bad. I watched TV since young since quite young - below Kindergarten, maybe tats why I dun do well in Primary sch?

Jowinbaby,
The "experts" say that books and parent interaction is btr than TV... So good for Ash!

Psst Zachmummy, I oso one of the guilty ones. If my ger can be entertained by the TV/ any other things for that matter, I oso won't go disturb so tat I can do my own stuff (e.g. cooking, washing)...

Agree that babies should not be parked in front of TV but :

"How much TV should I let my baby watch?

No child under age two should watch television at all, the Academy of American Pediatrics advised in 1998. "

We don't exactly LET our girl watch tv at home (aka tv as baby sitter) but we usually have some kind of TV programme running from 8pm when everyone is home, so its unavoidable that our kid watches SOME tv, even if its for only 15min. It's unrealistic to say that kids under 2 must not watch tv AT ALL. After all, its a part of our family life right? When we watch tv together we usually talk our girl thru the programme, so eg., last night's Discovery Channel 'monkey business' I asked her what monkey was doing (jumping/walking/climbing/hugging/sleeping), what colour clothes the people were wearing.

It's not necessarily a bad thing if caregiver is also involved in explaining the programme to kiddo.
Or is that me trying to justify our 15min...?
heh heh

Tamms,
My cousin has NO TV at home!!! So his dotter totally dun watch TV under 2 years unless she is at her caregiver's place. I thought that was madness since I am a TV addict. :p

I think there is a difference between purposely letting them watch and watching under Parent's guidance. Usually my dotter does not get to watch it in peace ( I parot the Baby Can Read dictation... LOL!), cos like u I will be yaking by the side... Heh...

She only get to watch Commercials in peace. Cos i got nothing to say, cant be telling her "That's a jug of Tiger bear!"...

Come to think of it, my MIL exposes my ger to lots of TV. She will watch those Taiwan Drama and my dotter will be on the sofa with her too. *sigh*

snowger
u very funny... wow no tv at home??? hmm... so what do they do for entertainment? Snakes and ladders? monopoly? Cluedo? haha... sorry, very bad hor!

haha..tamms, my TV at home is also turned on from 7.30pm onwards.. Zach dun really sit in front of the TV and watch (unless it is commercial time) and most of the time he will be parked at his play area, but i suppose they still hear the TV.
jowin, i never enforce zach to read..i juz bought him books and put it thr..if he is interested, he will pick it up and flip few pages and mumble few words. i will add on to tell him wat are those. not exactly like wat u did, sit beside Ash n read to her..hahaha. i let Zach do wat he likes..

Snowger, I same situation as u law....sigh.
MIL also watch lots of Taiwan/HK Drama, TV on since she wake up ard 10+/11am, she keep it on even if she is doing housework in toilet or kitchen.......faint. SO my home TV on since morning till night ard 1-2am

Lucky, my gal not interested in TV, usually play herself or walk ard the house. But she at night will on/off watch some commercial la....

Eh.. I let Valerie watch "Your Baby can read" dvd since she's abt 3 mths plus.. only after she's 12 mths plus, then she took an interest in that dvd.. She'll point at her teeth and said "tee.." when she saw the baby pointing at her teeth.. She likes to follow the actions of "the itsy bitsy spider" & "If you're happy & you know it.." Of cos, she'll not sit through the dvd.. she'll walk here & there.. till she heard music, she'll be back watching the dvd..

Snowger - My mother let Valerie watch cartoons when my hubby and I went for our short trip.. *faint* Well, she already started "watching" tv since she's born.. I was staying with my mother during confinement period and she fed my girl, sitting in front of the tv.. -_-" gotta close one eye if let my mother take care of my girl during my absence..

Tamms,
When I first heard, I was like you lor "REAL or NOT???". Well, seeing is beliving when I went to their place... Now I not sure if they got telly or not. But I know the couple is mostly glued to internet lar. I had withdrawal symptoms when I went to the training academy and there was no telly!!!

xiaohwa,
sounds sama to my MIL's place. she got TV in every bedroom. Most times, she will on radio AND TV tog!!! *double sigh* lots of background noise lor.

Fong2,
My ger oso like urs lar, I play the DVD she just climb off the sofa and walk away... She only like the Twinkle Twinkle little star and the starting music of the DVD. -_-"

And recently, my ger keep turning her head to see the telly when I feeding her dinner... *haiz*

snowger
at least we can try telling ourselves tt at least our gal dun like watch TV la....hahaha
I no choose la, cos mil is my care giver, n now still waiting for Q for childcare.... so have to close my eyes law

Snowger,

my hse is like your MIL. All bedrm have tv. Tv in my hse always on one loh. I used to it liao. Since my MIL help me to take care of my kids i have no say too. Sigh.. Wat to do..

My 2 boys like to hear hokkien song hor. My elder one can sing the hokkien song while the young one dance..

Snowger - My girl also will turn her head to watch tv when she's having her dinner.. So we had to switch off the tv so that she can finish her dinner.

Hi mommies...
Long time never post...

Lately my boy dont really want to eat.. this make me stress..coz I have to throw a lot of food haiz... strange leh.. last time he always open his mouth wide when we feed him..
Any mommies have the same experience?

Re Dvd.. my boy also watching the Baby Can Read, he did like the starting song, and twinkle2.. nowadays he enjoy watching it, usually I let him watch after breakfast, while I can do my washing hehe.. its good to entertaint him awhile

Esther,
how abt let ur boy eats what u are eating, in that case u not need to cook for him seperately. Thats is what I am doing. I used to cook seperately for Rachel like porridge but she dont want. In the end throw everything away. Then found that she is more interested in waht we eat. So now I will try to cook dishes that HB, Rachel and I can eat. Easy for me also.

i think a bit of TV won't hurt as long as they are not doing that for a long period of time...Cidney doesn't even watch TV at all she'ld stare at the TV longest for 5 secs then turn away, i tot she has a very short attention span...our home TV is onie switch on after she sleep...i dun even hv time to watch TV nowadays...used to be a TV addict...sigh...

Bur,
U did ur window grilles already? I did mine liao cos tis vendor v honest abt the type of material (thickness, etc). Hb oso happy with the installation...

maureen, havn't do leh, the contractor suppose to come this wk to take measurement. btw u know the mkt price cause we hv no idea...

Bur,
I c... They charge by sq metres, not sure abt mkt rate cos I just decided to take his price then hunt ard for other quotes. :p My house has quite a fair bit with windows so the amt quite "chor". When the contractor charge u, rem to ask whether is single hollow or double hollow and the thickness of the alumnium (1mm or 2mm). The most ex is 2mm double hollow. cheapest is 1mm single hollow.

I go back and check cos I did 2mm double hollow for kitchen and 1mm double hollow for living rm & bedrooms.

hi all...

finally found a job! and i hate first day! cus its always so awaken when u see new faces. But so far the people are here nice. and first day.. usually got NOTHING! just sit and wait.. wait.. wait.. damn boring!!

btw i realize my gal. keep saying papa.. baobao.. whether she saw me. she just want baobao. NO matter what also want baobao.. -.- do you all babies like this? keep on want to carry? i dun usually carry her alot but not sure why she want carry. n best is she wants ME to carry when im out.. and she wants daddy to carry when at home. really torture me sia.. faints.

snow, u din use my contractor rite?

anyone have a good air-cond contractor to recommend? My air cond leaking and on top of that, i would like to fix another air cond at the living room..cannot stand the heat!

I oso looking for carpentry contractor..hahaha. Wanna build a bigger wardrobe for myself..

fabbie! happy first day @ work!
my boy will not request for baobao, but he will jus love to stick with me, be it at home or outside. my boy dislike strangers and new environment. Last nite he cried/scream for 30mins when daddy left us at my girlfriend place.. and i gotta called my parents come and pick me up, and know what? the moment he entered my parents car he went quiet, and then 2 mins later give me a cheeky smile! when reach home, he sounded.. ale-ale.. his own language happily!!
argh~ he is really a typical 宅男.. actually i knew this when he is juz a baby, only happy when at home~

littlevictoria
thanks thanks... is it our little one now tense to want alot of attention from us? mine keep Y-ing non stop.. abit will cry here and there.. quite irritating actually.. wah he totally stick u outside and home isnt it tiring? my gal got a quai PI! when other kids or baby touch her she dun like.. damn fussy one.. i wonder why cant she play around with people nicely..

Naughty Kids
U know that time i was at kiddy palace my gal was walking to play a toy. and just than about a 7yr old kid walk pass her and accidently her little foot step on to his shoe.. then the boy went to step back at her.. and she look up and stare... after that.. the boy withdrawn and went to step back again! wah lau. and this time my gal have the crying impression liao that i walk forward i look at the kid and say NO! and i raise my hand with my one finger at him and look at him angryily.. then he quietly walk away. wah.. i see my gal kana bully heart quite pain sia.. why the kid like that huh.. so weird. have you gals encounter this before?

littlevictoria hahaha infact i wish my gal be something like tough... so at least she wont be easily bully.. my gal always like kana bullied. people accidently knock her head she will cry as loud as possible so peiseh de. hahah

fabbie
Got..I encountered such kid before. My worst primary 4 or 5 already. Use a teddy bear and push my #1, while i observed.
I asked to see her parents and managed to speak to her father...Her father reprimand in a very soft spoeken way...in end..back to square one

hi mommies, i know this should already be posted somewhere here but cant seem to find.
Anyway, my boy is 15mths already and getting abit ba dao. I guess partly becos he's the only kid around and everyone give in to him. My mom who is the main care taker dosent really know how to teach/correct him. I cant blame her either cos we've got no experience. I am working thus seldom have time with him except for wkend. Hubby dosent like the idea of putting him into childcare at 18mths so i am currently trying to search for some program or enrichment class on wkend for him to mix around with other kids & learn. Any suggestions?