(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

chris
i got my period today! finally, after 23.5 months. haha

sam
i use a spray sanitiser. it's supposed to be for toilet seats but i use it to spray the top bar of high chair and the side of the table - emma's favourite places to bite.

Hi mummies!! Dreary day... it's been raining non-stop in Punggol today.

Potty-training: I haven't really started yet *lazy mummy*. Bought the potty some time ago, but never succeeded in getting him through a poop without him trying to get away. Thought I'll wait until he understands basic commands before I try again.

Off-topic: I'm planning to rent a helium tank for David's birthday balloons. He is having his party on th 29th Nov, and we are in Punggol. Any mummies in the area keen to share? Otherwise we'll just go for the mimi tank... although really not planning to inflat more than 30 balloons!!

haha...so i'm not alone. Each time we are out and need to seat down for our meals, my hb knows well enough to quickly carry Bryan and let me do my "work" ...i.e. using the wipes to clean the hight chair, the side of the table that Bryan is able to reach/touch and anything that he can get his hands on! hahahahaa......

I do notice that people usually will look and wonder what I'm doing...a paranoid mum hahaha but I can't help it too 'cos i'm damn paranoid about germs ... better to be safe than sorry right? hahahaha ^5 to all

Echo,
Is your spray baby friendly since it is meant for toilet seat? Wat if baby touch and place hands right into their mouth? :S

Adel, u are not alone.. i also wipe the chair and table b4 putting ashlynne down...Yes, anything she able to touch.. wipe.. even under the table surface..

Ya.. ppl will look.. But so wat!!

I told my HB. The foodcourt/coffee shop shd be lucky that they have a customer who will clean up for them... The next baby lucky too.. haha..

Wonder why other parents dun bother to clean the chairs up... sometimes, i saw food stain, bits of rice here n there.. haiz..

snowger, ikeike ...

ya I just got my period a few weeks ago ... really damn sian. Must start buying tampons and pads.

hahahah Adel,

ya la .. i think it's better to be safe than sorry ... tons of ppl bring their kids out and they are not well .. flu la etc .. and here we put our babies in and they're perfectly fine .. but becos of the last occupant in the high chair who might have been ill, our kid kena. dowan la. I'd rather look insane wiping ..

I'm so careful .. ALL OF MY KIDS are SELDOM ill seldom they have flu or cough etc. So I really hate it when they're ill ... cos I hate seeing them suffer and they also get cranky etc. better to be vigilant about germs than everything chin chai then your kids are ill all the time.

There is no scientific basis that letting them get exposed to germs makes them stronger. I'd rather keep the germs at bay where possible.

yes, I sound mad. lol. My hubby thinks so.

disclaimer : that doesn't mean I am saying those with sick babies are chin chai ok? ... lol. I don't mean it that way ..

I meant that for me personally, cos other than my elder 2 girls who go to school .. the other 2 are with me all the time cos I don work .. so it is within my control to make sure their surroundings are kept as clean as possible .. I don have in laws or small nieces and nephews or the IFC staff or other babies who all might be under the weather and who may pass flu etc to my kids ...

SO I can afford to try and maintain a germ free surrounding for them as far as possible.

sam/snow
oh looks like i really was the last one. haha...

i bought the spray from a baby store at Anchorpoint (on the first floor, next to charles & keith)

adel
i think it's about the same if you use things like dettol wipes? i mean, all these types of wet wipes also have some kind of chemical to be anti-baterial. as long as baby isn't drinking the stuff right out of the bottle, should be safe la! anyway, i think my product is formulated to be natural and gentle, so it's not a harsh chemical.

hi mummies, anyone's bb taking vaccination at polyclinic? Especially concern on the pneumoccoccal vaccine? Any 'side effects' to expect, like fever etc?

echo,
Is the store still there? I'll go check it out!

kristalangel/luthadel,
The aunty at the stir fry store thinks I am crazy... cos she wipe with her towel and i still wipe the chair with dettol wipes... Hehe... Anyway I rather be safe than sorry. And yes, my hb and i started the habit of wiping below the table. Cos my ger LOVES touching the bottom of the table!!!
I've seen disgusting uncles who stick their "nose gold" below the table! *EEKS!*

mummykhoo,
The vaccine taken at PD/Polyclinic/GP are all the same. Cos the vaccine used in Singapore are produced by a certain manufacturer (i ask my PD if I can take e 2nd dose of the vaccine at her place cos I took the 1st dose at GP. And if the brand not the same, ok or not. She told me Singapore vaccine all same manufacturer lor).

Anyway for pneumoccoccal, I asked the clinic nurse before. She will give me the same reply "No known side effect". But there might be swelling of the injection site (my ger had this. lasted for abt 2-3 days) and fever.

But of cos, there are some scary stories outside of singapore (not sure if there are any incidence in Singapore) of babies being allergic to the vaccine and then dying from it...

snowger,

YAP !! .. kiddies put their hands EVERYWHERE lor. drives me insane. aiyah, the aunty uses a dirty dishrag to wipe .. she's just spreading the germs around ... damn gross lor those table towels .. for me at home, my maid changes the dishrag everyday ... I have at least 10 that we use for a day then throw in the machine for a wash ..

hi snowger, thanks v much for sharing... plan to take my ger for vaccine next month, was wondering if I should postpone till 2 yrs cos I heard need to take more doses if vaccinated younger...my ger always v cranky aft jab, so I actually wary of taking her for injections...

snowger
yup it's still there. name of the store is Little Chloe. There is also another baby store in the basement that sells baby clothes, similar to the kind that the BPs are selling: Carters, Gap, Guess, Zara, Osh Kosh. I bought a pair of baby Guess jeans for Emma there at $18.90. Much cheaper than Mothercare!

mummykhoo,

at most it's fever. I think you shouldn't delay the pneumoccoccal vaccination. Give it to your girl asap. My girl has done all aldy (or is it the 3rd of the 4th? -- can't remember) .. lol

mummykhoo,
Hiaz... Bo bian, for just in case sick, it's btr to give her the jab then wait.

My colleague's boi who was not in childcare actually was tested positive for the bacteria in his mucus when he was sick... So heng, he got take the vaccine...
No doubt it's expensive, about $150 per jab * 4 times. If u take aft 6 mths, then it's only 3 jabs. So if ur kid not going cc, can wait aft 6 mths.

Echo,
Really uh??? Hehe I shld hang out there more often then...
The last time I was there did see a baby clothes shop but din browse cos I was looking for something. No mood to look at baby clothes... :p

Jowin,

lol ! I've been doing that for the last 10 years aldy since Baby No. 1 .. hahahah ! Only buy for myself when really need to. My cupboard can COUNT the number of clothes I have.

My girls .. let's not talk about that. lol :p

For me.. I'm the same as Jowin & Sam, I lost the urge to shop for myself.. even if Jonas is not in our care when we go shopping, we end up shopping for him, and nothing for ourselves!
I used to complain that I have no time to shop, but now, I have no mood to shop for myself...
I shared with my hubby abt the relations of cleaning tables and babies falling sick.. now he's all supportive of it.. so cute.. heartache to see Jonas fall sick this round..

I dun use dettol wipes lah 'cos I'm afraid the chemical from the wipe will be harmful if injested. So wat I do is use the hand saniter and drop a couple of drops on the chair, then wipe once with the red pigeon wipe followed by the yellow pigeon wipes. Madnees lah, one outing is enough to finish off my yellow wipes!

haha.. kudos to all u mummies.. me falls under the chin chai category.. haha.. i only wipe the table sometimes, wipe the highchair if its visibly dirty.. and i wipe his hands b4 his meals n after.. the yellow pigeon wipes are a bit too harsh on hayden's skin, so i usually use that to wipe his mag mag.. i tot eat dirty then will grow up? wahahahaha.. i think being clean is good.. so u ladies keep up ur good work.. keke.. i go face the wall n reflect then this wkend i start to be cleaner! wahahahaha...

phyl,

i am also like u lar.. I am not that clean also.. Only wipe if i see it dirty. I think i need to learn from u gals liao..

yalor yalor.. wahahaha.. i nv sterlize his things since he was 1mth plus liao.. now his sch everyday sterlize many times.. i also tell them no need.. just do it once a day..

i seriously dun understand why they sterilize the magmag 3times in 12hrs.. keke.. if only i still pumping.. keke.. i pass them my part part to sterilize.. wahahahaha

Phyl, u not alone la. I'm a lazy mummy too. hahaha. usually only wash her hand if its visible dirty or she touch some dirty things. Only clean her hands n legs if i bring her hm from playground law. If bring her out, if i remb, then i clean the hi chair n table. i dun really clean her toys tt often(althou she keep put things into her mouth). Initially i try clean la, but after awhile i dun bother le.....thou eat dirty then will grow up ma......heee
On the potty training, sigh....my gal she cannot sit still at all. So i decided to train her when she after 1 yr ba...

Then I'm the worst!!! I nvr wipe the chair anymore nor his hands before or aft food. I no longer sterilize his bottles too. Ooppss.. Like Phyl, some germs r good but not excessive la. Furthermore Zach can nvr sit on baby chair for more than 10 mins n he almost nvr use his hands to touch food or his own bottle.

Tat's another prob, nearly one yet still dun wanna hold his bottle. I let him hold, he will purposely open his mouth n let the bottle drop n then he throw it on the floor... Very nottie

gd morning ladies...

wah, i also wanna kudos to some of the mummies here on hygience part... but hor actually last time i also like some of you when i hav my elder boy only, when go out must make sure i clean the high chair & table with wipes, clean his toys all the times (but got maid to do laa), then if everytime his tutu drop or touch on sth i must sterilize, if not at least dip in HOT water for a while... now 2nd one i a bit boh chap liao, his toys i only clean once in a while if i see dirty, and tutu drop on the bed also nvm, but drop on the floor i will clean la but juz wash under tap water... hahah! But the table & high chair part i still do it laa everytime juz use wet wipes to clean the part tat he is reacheable only...

and i find tat hor last time i so kancheong abt my elder boy's hygience but he also fall sick so often, very weak laa him... but 2nd one i a bit boh chap but he (daniell) is ended up grow stronger, like some of ppl said... dirty eat, dirty grow... wahahhaa

kath,
i also nv wash daniell's hand b4 & after eating one... unless he goes n touch sth which is visibly dirty.... and hor when having his snack he likes to 'bang' his biscuit on the table one, dunno why, but after tat i still continue let him eat tat piece of biscuit, but i got wipe the table laa juz tat no dettol no sanitizer... hehe!

Jess,
I also...my maid would wipe jordan's toys with diluted dettol every morning and that's about it...

Kath,
Jordan also, turning 1 yo oredy still refuses to hold his bottle..sigh..

Self-feeding
Mommies, when to start training him to start self-feeding ar?

For me i used pigoen hand wipe..to clean Brennon hand before food n after..also will clean table n highchair..but when Brennon with my mum..she simply bo cha haha..then she everyday go mkt..those aunties will carry him..including some stall holders! then i also close one eyes and tell myself..dirty eat dirty grow up!

Bottle feeding
Brennon dont hold his own bottle...he only hold for a while..then lazy liao..hai

Jess,
U are right. My parents oso say me shld let go and let them eat dirty and grow strong. But the recent bouts of viruses (from SARS to H1N1) is just scaring me lor. Btr be safe than sorry.

Me and hb are sometimes shocked by the "cleanliness" of the chairs. Some are "oily" (most prob due to the nice chicken wings at Ikea), has left over bread crumbs/bits of rice etc and my wet tissue turned black (at a stir fry store).

Jowin,
No lar. I was looking around to see if Anchorpoint got sell avent teats... Cold storage like dun have, then i went to see the baby store and din find the teats... Was so engrossed in looking for the teats din have mood to look at the clothes!

nitestar,
nowadays hor... When I shop is v discipline one. I will zoom in to find wat I wan. If dun have, then won't shop ard oso. So land up always not buying anything for myself. :p

I use Tolly Joy's hygiene wipes to clean the table and high chair when we eat out. It's anti-bacterial and I think the price should be quite affordable... got it free from the hospital. The restaurants never wipe the chairs down, and the cloth used to clean tables sometimes don't look very clean. Kiddo likes to bite the high chair so no choice right? I used to scoff at parents who wiped down chairs in public places, and now with my own kid I realise why they do it. It's funny how as I get older I start to see a lot more things from a different perspective.

For me, I just don't want to take any chances on hygiene. I've many times witness toddlers smearing their mucous or droolings all over the high chair. That is enough for me to be the "cleaner" for our table since we are going to have our meals.

Once we were waiting to be served and i saw this boy who was having runny nose smearing his mucous filled hands on the bar of the high chair. After they got up and left, the service staff just put the chair away without cleaning it! When we were allocated a seat, I watch in horror when another service staff went to the place and took that exact high chair for Bryan 'cos no other chairs were available. I think you can guess my reaction. I told her about the previous scene and asked her to clean it infront of me. After she has done that I still do my usual santise, wipe + wipe.. hahahaha. Can't help it :p

wah... really kudos to u all... for doing all the cleaning.. but I agree la, they like to touch here, bite there.. so must clean clean lor..

My boy now refuse to hold his own bottle... i put his hand to the bottle, he will remove it.. but he will hold toys in his hands while feeding.. how man..

long long long time nvr log in liao, hope some of u still rmbr me!! hahaha...

Toilet training:
wow... a handful BBs are going toilet train... so fast? i thot start ard 15-18mo is considered "early" liao?! hahaha... me lazy, think will oni teach Kasia how to use potty after she turns 15mo ba ;)

Cleanliness:
okie, im one of the "kan cheong" aka "cleaner" mummy. same like Snowger and Adel, i rather be safe than sorry lor. I will wipe down hi-chair, table top (mebbe i sud start wiping table bottom on second thots) when out. Kasia has her fair share of exposure to germs at BBsitter, so i try to minimise her exposure when she is with me!!! wahahaha...ironic cos i bring her to public swimming pool to swim (where germs are abundant!) ;)

haha.. rachel.. i'm a very weird human.. i allow hayden to slef feed n make a mess.. he self feeds his omelettes, bread, fruits and all.. but i dun put in a bowl.. coz the bowl will humour him alot.. i just put in on the ikea food tray n he helps himself. usually, he will be naked n i will wash him and everything down with a hose..

hihi ladies,

Potty training, think difficult coz Aaden poos at hours like 6 to 7am? Me no energy so early bring him to potty at such early hours, just let him poo on diapers...let him tried two times on the musical potty, he will tilt his body to resist as if i'm murdering him...so hackcare about potty le.

Hygiene wise, i also never sterilize his toys as he practically put everything in his mouth such as tv controller, hp, books & etc...and if go out, think when he sit down on high chair, his clothes already help to clean the high chair liao lah, haha....so let him lup sup jek, lup sup dua like what we were like in our younger days.

Phyl,
Haha that i noticed! Hayden is always half naked whenever u let him play with the paint, eat the carrot etc etc..I was thinking, wouldn't hayden catch a cold cos he is half naked half of the time? Hehe..

Knocking off in 15 minutes...have a great weekend everyone!

It will be a while more before our kiddos will be so called toilet-train ba... i am just introducing my gal to sit on the child seat (on normal toilet) so far and she has been pooing in it for the last 2mths. Just nice that her timing is predictable so easy for us to sit her down there. Usually we will know cos she will make the kek sia face, sometimes even pulling us if we are next to her. Actually, i did the same as ikeike.. as in letting her sit with me on the toilet first cos she didnt want to sit. I guess because of the 'lobang' in the toilet but once she gets the idea, she stop struggling.

I didnt give toy also cos, i worry that it will distract her from doing 'business'.. after all, i not sure i want her to think sitting there is playing time. The most i talk and sing with her, but if she really doesnt poo or hold her hands up to carry, i will just take her off it. I think she sort of have an idea now what the toilet is for bah.. when she put her hands up to carry, it really means she no more need to poo or poo finish!

Hmm maybe i am also a rather lax mom.. i also clean if really visibly dirty. I think my hubby minds it more than me and he is the one reminding me to wipe the table etc. Anyway, most time my gal is sitting on our own portable booster seat so not that bad lor. I think the australian kids here lagi anything goes.. the playgroup my gal attends, the kids all walk and crawl around the grass/dirt (when we meet in the park) barefoot.. so my gal also follow. End up she will be covered in grass/dirt stains, and pulling up things like grass/twigs to put in her mouth. I think as long as not dog poo or rubbish, i am quite fine. Hahaha :p Thankfully, she has never fallen ill since we got here, except her fever after the preumococcal shots.

aurorin,
My ger won't get distracted by the toy leh... When it's time to "gek" shit, she will still gek lor... :p It's oni meant to let her sit there long enuf for the feeling to come.
Sometimes, I'll sing and she knows she has to sit.

But not for long, when she wants to stand (whether u give toy or not) n when she puts her hands out to carry, she means biz. i.e. she's done or really got nothing lor. Now that she's learning to stand, nothing can stop her from standing if she wants to! Haiz, toilet training will just get more difficult!

dirty eat dirty big lar. :p Hehe... last time i oso play with sand, spiders, cob webs, put my hand into the aquarium then hold biscuits in hand to eat... crawl into dusty boxes where shoes are kept. Despite so, I still prefer to be paranoid cos dunno if it's a coincidence or not, there was 1 to 2 occassion my ger "licked" a hair chair and fell sick the next day. Even my aunt n gramdma roll their eyes, when I told them cannot feed my dotter with cha siew pao (i.e. the pao stained with the cha siew juice).

Healthy Time Spree:
I have contacted all the gals for collection of the HT stuff. Thanks ikeike for being the most efficient!

Jappooh, Little Rabbit, 2nd Baby, understand that you gals will be getting someone to collect on your behalf. Please confirm and let me know ok?

Esthers, I dropped u an email alr!

tamms,

lol. you are absolutely rite abt seeing things differently as we get older ...

and yes, I think those rags/dishcloths the cleaners use to wipe down tables .. they probably just spread the germs around more than anything else. Icky, man. I will wipe with wipes after they've wiped with their cloth. lol.

LuthAdel,
ya lar .. since when have u seen them wiping the high chairs down? Never. They just stack it back in the corner. really disgusting. *shudder*

Snowger,
I confirmed iemik0 will collect HT stuff on my behalf. Thanks for organising HT spree.

iemik0,
Please collect on my behalf and SMS me when are u avaliable to meet then I go over to ur place to pick up HT stuff and pediasure.