(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Yogi08,
Really uh? It's ok lar... My colleagues recommended me a few tried n tested ones... :p

nitestar,
The alternative is to do for dinner? I oso haven't decided anything for my ger yet. Like date of celebration, etc... aiyoh... headache siah...

Xiao Pooh,
Dun be pek chek lar. Every baby is different. Plus it's the first time ur ger ger is sick mah... Usually first timers are not v good friends wit the sryinge. Just make sure she finishes the milk if u add ur med to it... So tat she'll recover fast! And the agony can stop...

snowger...
I quite fedup.. i was v happi initially.. wanted to have the 2 families celebrate his bday as a gathering... now, i v unhappy..

Nitestar,
I tink overall is up to you what u want & hw u want to celebrate ur bb birthday..cos u are the mother..for me, I tell my MIL what I intend to do, its separate from my own relatives..she okay with it..

Maybe try to get ur hubby to talk to her ba..see if it helps..

Xiao Pooh
u are not alone.. cos Ashlynne also.. Today managed to bluff her to take from syringe WILLINGLY.. ok with 1st medicine.. she take the syringe n put into her own mouth for me to push the med. in.. 2nd med. she cry liao.. Cannot.. must force feed again...

U still can put into milk.. Ashlynne can taste the med in her milk and reject her whole milk lor... But then.. really make sure she finish the milk. There was once.. Ashlynne only managed to finish 1/3 of the bottle contain med. SIANZ.. i dun Know how to feed her the remaining dosage..

plus, direct feeding of med is still better than mixing

no choice, i force feed already..

snowger,
I ordered the Chocolate cake from aimummy, taste is average and not so sweet. Everyone who saw the cake all feedback that cake looks good and so special with the three miffy bunny + Phoon & eeyore, we all loves it.
But it a bit trouble for removed the fondant before cutting,if I got a fondant cake for my boy 1st Bday then I can imagine that during the cake cutting session, all the guests are waiting for u to remove the fondant before cutting it…stress hor :p

Talks about the first Bday cake, I will go for PG. I went to PG and bought different flavour of slice cakes to taste, hb and I found that triple choc and lychee martini quite nice, decided to choose this two flavour for our 2 tier cake.
But they design just average and not as good as aimummy lor.

Photobook :
Finally I received the photobook from artcow and some of the pic are a bit dark but general are still ok.

jowinbaby, xiao pooh,

dun worry ... it's perfectly normal .. kids all react differently to taking medication .. for my 3rd girl, giving her medication when she was a baby was hell lor. force feed her but she KNEW HOW TO SPIT IT BACK UP leh ... very very difficult. And she'll scream and yell like kena murdered liddat.

all the way till she was 2 years old it was hell giving her medicine. finally, one day, after she had been ill for a long time cos she refused to swallow the meds, I had no choice caned her .. I nearly cried caning her - I felt so bad .. cos she was still very stubborn .. preferring to be caned rather than swallow the meds.

finally, she caved in and agreed to take her medicine and now, I have no problems at all getting her to take medication. I don even have to threaten. I just tell her that she must take cos she's sick, and she'll agree. thank god.

Calista, also have to force feed .. but after 2 days or so, she's resigned to it and takes it without yelling. She doesn't like it but she will swallow. she's quite easy going and not really stubborn.

nitestar,
Like xiao pooh say talk to ur hb lor. Since the atas rest need 2 mths advance booking, i doubt ur MIL will give it a miss. There are many other times where both families can come tog to celebrate lar... Like new year, hot pot at ur place, etc. Dun be too upset ok?

U celebrate with ur MIL at restaurant then dinner with ur own parents at home? Most impt is ur boi boi must be happy! cos it's his bday!

Little Rabbit,
I c...
Thanks for the review... I may get normal cakes (instead of fondant)

Echo,
Usually I will see wat he needs leh... e.g. work bag, nice pen (e.g. mont blanc), watch (maybe a tag?) Alternatively is to do a photo compliation? from pak tor to wedding to couple life to with little baby??? :p

I was thinking of buying us a fresh set of wedding bands during our 5th wedding anni (2011)... In the mean time, I can still buy him a watch lar... If got money can buy a pair... BROKE liao... hahah

arghhh... wedding anniversary! Ya I'd better go and buy something today too... otherwise sure forget. photo compilation is VERY thoughtful snowger, wah you're so sweet!

Enfa
NTUC having promo $5.05 off! Now $33.75. GOOD DEAL for those using enfa.

phyl,

I got my cake from Pine Gardens. The top tier is chocolate hazelnut crunch. Every guest who eat it is singing praise about the 一粒一粒thing inside the cake. I suppose that is why they called it hazelnut crunch. The bottom tier is lychee martini. Every guest who eat it also love the moist moist texture of the cake.

little_rabbit,

I got try their triple chocolate. My hubby n I think it is too rich & sweet. So we never choose it.

Some picture to share about my cake & banner.

3080393.jpg
3080394.jpg

3080395.jpg

Those interested, can see my FB album at http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=6145&id=1705117018

yogi08,
I went to PG to enquire before. They usually dun provide the toppers... Act toppers can buy from those specialist shops that sell toy figurines...

Anyway for gals who are interested in their cakes...

Estimated Cost = (Weight of cake * Price per kg) + (Artistic Labour Charge, varies based on complexity) + (Delivery S$15/S$25 for Tuas area, if required)

Here are the price (but for latest check with them...)

Latest Creations

i. Bailey’s Chocolate Crunch Cake
Premium chocolat noir crunch and Baileys Irish Cream between layers of soft coffee sponge -$42.00 for 1kg & $25.00 for ½kg

ii. Hazelnut Chocolate Crunch Cake
Layer upon layer of chocolate and hazelnut that almost melts in your mouth. This is pleasure incarnate into a piece of cake - $36.00 for 1kg & $23.00 for ½kg

iii. Crème Caramel Crunch Cake
Luscious caramel flavor flows through the sponge layers and ends off with a crunchy biscuit base - $42.00 for 1.2kg & $25.00 for 800g

Special Creations (check with us on availability)

i. Bird Nest Cake
Light green apple mousse topped with double boiled rock sugar bird nest on soft vanilla sponge - $60.00 for ½kg

ii. Brandy Cherry Cake
Brandy soaked cherries in every mouthful - $39.00 for 1kg & $25.00 for ½kg

iii. Cat Mountain King (CMK) Durian Cake
Generous CMK durian pulp sandwich between vanilla sponge, topped with more durian pulp. -
$68.00 for 1.2kg & $48.00 for 800g

iv. Cocotero
Coconut custard pudding with julienne of young coconut strips in between classic vanilla sponge - $36.00 for 1kg & $25.00 for ½kg

iv. Lava Flow
Chocolate fudge cake, smothered with German imported chocolate - $31.00 for 1kg & $25.00 for 800g

v. Pulut Hitam Cake
Pulut hitam mousse sandwiched between soft sponge and topped off with more pulut hitam -$36.00 for 1kg & $25.00 for ½kg

Cakes in General ($32.00 for 1kg & $20.00 for ½kg)

i. Chocolate/Vanilla/Coffee Cake with Fresh Cream and Blueberry Jam Filling
ii. Strawberry Shortcake with Fresh Cream and Strawberry Jam Filling

Mid Range Cakes -$33.00 for 1kg & $23.00 for ½kg

i. Black Forest Cake
ii. Tiramisu
iii. Soft Chocolate
iv. Mousse Cakes Available in Mango, Strawberry, Yam, Coffee, and Chocolate

Premium Cakes -$36.00 for 1kg & $23.00 for ½kg

i. Baked Cheese Cake  Available in Oreo, Mocha, Strawberry, Blueberry, and Marble
Creamy cheesecake perfectly baked to the lightest of textures

ii. Cappuccino Macadamia Cake
Cappuccino mousse and macadamia nuts smothered between soft coffee sponge

iii. Citrus Drop Cake
Luscious cake bursting with lemon flavor, filled with brilliant lemon curd between each layer

iv. D24 Durian Cake
Three layered spongecake with lots of generous D24 Durian Mousse

v. Fresh Strawberry Cream Cake
Fresh strawberries with fresh cream between layers of vanilla cake

vi. Lychee Martini Cake
Layers of lychee cake with martini-soaked lychee fillings, a definite burst of pleasure

vii. Moist Brownie
A rich and dense chocolate fudge cake for all occasion

viii. Orange Apricot Blossom Cake
Refreshing hints of orange peel and apricot paste simply takes you into another dimension

ix. Orange Truffle
Three layers of fresh orange sponge sandwiched with orange mousse & chocolate truffle… yumz

x. Orange Zest Chocolate Cake
Available in Mango, and Lemon flavor
Thick and velvety chocolate cake with fluffy orange/mango/lemon layers top and bottom

xi. Raspberry Chocolate Cake
Raspberry jam drizzled onto chocolate cake for that sensual berry feel

xii. Triple Layer Chocolate Cake
Velvety chocolate cake; made from German imported chocolate, sandwich between layers of soft chocolate cake. Ideal for chocoholics!

whoever wants to do mickey mouse theme can let me know. i have bought mickey mouse clubhouse plastic figurines (mickey, minnie, donald, daisy, pluto, goffy) for my boy's birthday cake. i dun mind to lend it to u after my boy's celebration which is on 15 nov.

Ypg,
Tong Tong's 1st Bday Party really looks fun, its a pity that i couldn't go...

How much did u pay for the cake? I might copy your idea too, for Jordan's 1st birthday cake!

iemiko,
thomas concert again? hmm... wonder if all the shows are same one or not... actually to me those show quite boring one, i almost fell asleep everytime but my elder boy so excited watching those trains... Lolx! anyway i think the promotion ended liao, now back to usual price...

B'day Cake
wow, everyone here talks abt b'day cake? u all hav booked already ar? me still undecisive whether to buy one or bake on my own...

snowger,
u sound like sale person from Pine garden... hahaha!

ypg,
I realied typed wrongly for the flavour of cake I choose, it should be Hazelnut Chocolate Crunch instead of triple chocolate which is rich and sweet.
I have not yet decided which flavour on the top and bottom (Hazelnut Chocolate Crunch and Lychee Martini) and how many kg should I order for 50+-pax, can u give me some advise ?
May I know where do you get the No." 1" candle ? It looks simple and nice matching with the cake ler.

Jowin,
Thanks..now can only hope she get well soon..I will be very contented le..

Echo,
Me & hubby no longer buy gifts for each other for our wedding anniversary..we will normally take leave on that day and go for a good lunch or dinner..pass that stage of giving each other surprises le..

Snow,
wow u steady leh..such detail info..salute!!

siri and littlevictoria,
Just for your information that I ordered the plastic figurines for my boy's birthday cake from www.disney.com and now waiting for the shipment to arrive.
The organiser told me the figurines's box is quite bulky and the size like shoe box so shipping cost might be a bit expenses lor.

xiao pooh,
we never celebrate wedding anniversary, i sometimes even forget abt it & only remember when the day is over... boring hor our life!

Jess,
Really? Should celebrate leh..make him remember the day..hee

Like me la, I will always ask my hb to get off on that day, then we two go n relax n eat something expensive as form of celebration..but we dun buy gifts la..plus my hb not the romantic type de..anyway, i oso used to it liao..most impt is he care for me n our gal I happy le..

snowger
thanks for your suggestions. one of my good friends at work, a guy, suggested that i buy one of those games to spice up our sxx life hehehe...... i might do that instead, since i'm pretty sure it will be something that my hubby will appreciate! :p

Wow! I just go for my P4 class 3 periods of lesson & so many enquiry about the birthday cake. Hehe...

yogi08,

I provide the figurine myself. Bought it from this BP: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2524321.html?1254929842

littlevictoria,

I pay $148 for my cake. 3kg in total. $36 x 3 = $108 + $25 (artist fee for decorating the cake) + $15 (delivery fee)

rachel,

Dun say copy la, I just providing some good deals n bargains to share with u all. Give ahead n use the same design if u wish. But I suggest u change the cake colouring cause this is a bit too pink for Jordan. If u dun mind using 2nd hand cake topper, u want to borrow the Winnie the Pooh cake topper?

I suggest u must get the customised banner. U come my place, u can see why I swear by it. Ur HT with me liao. Got time come over ok.

Jess,

Dun waste ur talent. Make one instead of buying cause it is really very special to be able to bake for ur child birthday.

little_rabbit,

I got 40+ guests and I cut quite big slices. About 1/5 of the bottom tier is left over. Hence I suggest u buy 2kg good enough. My 3kg really too big liao. Haha... Unless u want a more impressive cake. Cause 3kg really look BIG.

The candle is also from the BP I mention above. I bought the balloon decoration from her as well.

ooo.. nice nice.. but ypg.. can PG customise the cake the way i want it.. sigh.. i drew a pic for the baker i aiming then he tell me he dun duplicate.. zzz.. duplicate my drawing also cannot sia.. zzz.. so looking for new baker.. hmm.. maybe i hop by PG with my design..

all take abt cakes. I might just buy 1 off the shelf and celebrate with immed family nia. My hubby, me, 2 sons, sil and PIL loh.

Ypg,
Oh thanks..I was at Cold Storage looking at the HT and i went:" Hmm, where is the HT i ordered?" hehe...

The figurine cake topper ar? When i go over your place u show me yar?
Of cos I will change the pink to BLUE cos my son is a boy ma hehehe..
Will sms u soon!

Hmm our bb birthday approaching nearer n nearer..cant imagine him being 1 yr old nxt mth..so fast!

Anyone tried the Chilli Padi Catering? I am not sure whether to stick to Neo Garden again hmm..

I also like amici catering so now torn between this n chilli padi

Snowger,
how is the Wakodo? OK with ur bb?

merydith
i used chilli padi for emma's one month celebration. quite nice. they have a stall in Tangs basement, as well as a couple of cafes, I think. So you can go there to try their food.

you tried amici catering before? how was it? what kind of food do they do?

Merydith, chilli padi is nice. Must try mee Siam, kueh pai tee, curry chix oso nice. Haha..

I tink I'll spree on the b'day supply. Cheaper than bp rite?? Now still thinking of theme. Patissier dun accept orders for dec alr n I'm considering PG or Cupcakes Divinity now. Both r good but PG is easier on the pocket.

ypg, where did u order the banner? Hw much isit? I wanna order the personalised banner fr bbdy direct, then saw yr gal's banner with her photo on it, so tot it would be even more personalised.

Jowin, 2nd baby,

Paiseh for the late reply regarding the banner.

I got the banner from BP here but BP is closed. But u can email the seller at [email protected]

I pay $20 + $5 (to insert my gal photo) in total for the small banner. But it is not really small, as u can see from my FB photo.

The photo of my gal is real sharp. So very value for $.

Balloon/Partyware:

For overseas spree, the balloon is it helium filled? If it is not, then u all intend to get rent helium tank? Cause onli helium filled balloon can float.

ypg, thats quite a reasonable price. Cos if i order fr bday direct with just the name and theme banner, its $23 excluding shipping. Wat is the size of the banner? Thx for the email.

If order balloons fr Overseas spree, of cos the balloons are not inflated. But the party ss are cheaper. I intend to rent helium tank. Rented e tank last yr also.

jo, can go to birthdayexpress.com or partyworld etc.. actually alot alot of sites tat does b'day supply. U juz google for Kids Birthday Supply n all the link will come up..the shipping are quite reasonable too, $7 for some

Jess,
I happen to have the list of price so post here lor...

Tamms,
I say only... Cos I cannot tahan creating a compliation... even my tour album take super long to finish

Echo!
U serious??? Wat games? PM me leh... HAHA...

merydith,
Sama sama leh... my ger dun like milk... tat's my conclusion... *haha*