(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Thanks for your reply, emeraldbride.

Oh ya, typo error. i m from Feb 09 MTB. ;p;p

so OSCAR is more accurate but the price is also more ex... it costs abt 300, however, NT Scan only cost 150.

My Gynae did not tell me anything leh, he said he will talk to me more during my next visit which is 4 weeks later, but the nurse said the window period to do OSCAR scan is between certain date to certain which is just before my next appt with Gynae.

Sigh.. Anyway,thanks and hope you have a smooth 9 months journey.

Re cots & strollers:
Ok gals, if u all need transpo. I stay at Ang Sua (redhill) -opp the redhill MRT. So far Ikeike taking my car. Anybody else? I still got two seats up for grabs!

Aiyo, baobao dun worry lah, gynae ask u to do does not mean u higher risk lor. Both test for probability of down (most definative/accurate is an invasive test which may be necessary if you fail the Oscar). If you want to find out more check the following links:

NT Scan:-www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/scans/nuchalscan

For oscar (http://www.clinicforwomen.com.sg/medi_page/site_web_jw/common_page.asp?pg=10):
It involves the measurement of the nuchal translucency (NT) of the fetus from 11 weeks to 13 weeks+6 days of gestation. The fetus must measure between 45 – 84 mm long for the risk estimate to be valid.
In addition, a sample of the mother’s blood is taken and analysed for levels of PAPP-A and free beta-hCG.

eh how much is the stroller huh?! that you gals are viewing? its a warehouse or what? lolx so happening sia haha

hee.. U gals are very well prepared! Me super stingy.. waiting for friends and relatives to buy me these stuff like stroller, baby cot and breast pump as baby showrer gifts.. haha.. will make a list and send out my requests to them.

lol chantalle infact me too! my mum and frd ask me dun need to buy stroller cus now no need to have those yet and normally people will give you some stuffs.. so its better for you to save money too! heheh. ALot of things i wanted to obuy. but everyone told me Dun buy dun buy cus they have will give me. -.- so i guess shall wait till i collect everything then i go and buy the things that i want. hehe

Dear Madams,

PLEASE HELP US BY COMPLETING THIS SURVEY AT A NEW LINK:

http://freeonlinesurveys.com/rendersurvey.asp?sid=5d0212xd8io3aw7461100

We are five students from Raffles Junior College who will be embarking on our Project Work.

As our Project is based on the modernization of cures for blood diseases, we hope to raise awareness and funds for public cord blood banking.

We understand the significance of cord blood stem cells in curing blood diseases. However, not many others do. Through this project, we hope to raise awareness among the public and pregnant women about the uses of cord blood: encourage mothers to donate their babies’ cord blood to public banks (SCBB) and increase the extent of positive impact that cord blood has brought to the curing of blood diseases. We also hope to give support to public cord blood banks by raising funds from the public.

YOUR HELP WILL BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!

Hi ladies!! in super happy mood today since i'm on LEAVE till monday

Phyl,
Me confirmed getting the cot. What are the bedding choices? Didn't see them mentioned anywhere....
Oh, red stroller for us too please. And yes, if able to arrange for viewing at showroom, count me in. I too need to look, touch to buy... Didn't quite like the last cot we had and i blame it on no viewing beforehand... Do msn me or sms me (i sent you my hp no thru PM). Thanks soooooo much for arranging this!!!

COt and Stroller:
this sat @ 10am (APS Bldg, Jln Pemimpin)

1. Phyl and Hubby
2. LuthAdel
3. Pris
4. Bubblepearl
5. Snowger n Hubby
6. Gill & Husband

Phyl, do we have to be there at 10 sharp? We planning to sneak away when son takes his nap so might be later than 10am..

wow... i rarely get the chance to log in.. due to a silly audit that I'm preparing for... Only today.. due to MC... so can pop by.. haha..

yr shopping spree is very tempting leh... but hubby say cot takes up space... so baby will sleep with us or a separate mattress.. as for sarongs etc, can use my nephews one..

Jowin, congrats on your minnie... can doll up le.. pretty!

<font color="0000ff">hi jac
Its quite dangerous to sleep with baby.
Always there are report tat parents sleep with bb cos suffocating.. Seriously No offence..

Parents think they will be careful.. but sometimes they are too tired after taking care of bb.. n just dun know.</font>

Sleep accident may have been cause of baby's death
By Lucas Sullivan

Staff Writer

Thursday, July 03, 2008

DAYTON — Parents: Don't sleep with your baby.

That is the message Children's Medical Center of Dayton perinatal expert Mary Ann Swank is stressing in the wake of a 4-month-old baby boy that died Wednesday, July 2, after police said his father fell asleep on top of him.

It's called tragic sleep accident or layover death.

Swank often uses fictional examples to warn parents not to sleep with their infants, but every year it kills more than 2,500 babies across the country, she said.

The 4-month-old boy wasn't breathing when police and fire medics arrived at an apartment at 3051 Jewelstone Drive at about 11:30 a.m., Sgt. Mike McCune said.

Both parents were home at the time of the incident, but neither have been charged with a crime, McCune said.

The Montgomery County Coroner's office said Thursday it is still investigating the infant's death.

A child dies every four to six weeks, on average, because of dangerous sleeping habits, according to the Montgomery County Child Fatality Review Board.

Four infants died at Dayton Children's in 2007 due to layovers or sleeping conditions, Swank.

In mid-June, the Franklin County Coroner investigated four infants that died in four days while sleeping with an adult, The Columbus Dispatch reported.

"Safe sleep is really about responsibility," Swank said. "It's about protecting your baby."

She said parents should use the ABCs of "safe sleep": Alone, Back and Crib.

Infants should never sleep with an adult, child or pet, Swank said. They should always sleep on their back and wear a one-piece sleeping outfit to avoid more chances of strangulation or suffocation.

And they should always sleep in a crib.

"This is a preventable accident," Swank said. "It's sad anyone has to deal with the death of their baby because they weren't responsible and it doesn't have to happen."

hi hi hi all !!

I just came back from my detailed ultrasound scan ... we are having a GIRL !!! .. that makes it 4 girls for us !! And my factory is now closed at a grand ole age of 34 !!!

Baby is healthy and growing well ... am so happy

Now can start buying baby stuff ... !!! YAY!!!

morning ladies!

samantha, congrats for having a gal! i went shopping that day and saw so many pretty clothes for gals, boys clothings are super limited and the designs are not nice.

btw, when are u gals confirming the order for the cot? i want to see the condition of the pass down cot from my friend 1st before deciding whether to buy. cos my hubby can only go collect on sunday.

Luthadel, bubbletea, snowger, phylicia , Pris,
I emailed the strollers pics , cot and the mobile pic that Randy sent me yesterday nite

Please see..

Hi llig
Emailed u too but gotten bounced back. Perhaps u can provide me ur email again

THanks

Jowin, thks!

Ladies...today i am really down..sore throat and cough still not ok and in fact getting worse..worse...last nite..sleeping keep dreaming abt work..

bubblepearl, that day my gynae told me now our immunse system is low so tend to get sick easily. he say we better excuse ourselves if friends, relatives or colleagues are coughing or sneezing. the virus will 'stick' to us very fast

I have been sucking in my breath when someone walking in front of me coughs or sneezes! Dun want to be breathing in the million of germs! *haha* Wonder if the flu bug is flying around. I was sucking in my breath for quite a few times this morning!

Thanks Jowin, I will go n take a look at the mail tonite.

Mimi, if you have time on Friday can just join us to go n look see look see first lor!

snowger, me too. whenever walk pass someone who smoke i also will stop breathing for a few seconds. '2nd hand' smoke is really no good.

Samantha, congrats for a minnie. 34 yrs old with 4 children.. where got old. By time I have my 4th bb, will be older than yr age liao.

yeah Sam, i alr 32 only first kid..N this is an unplanned one. If according to my plan, my first kid will be when I am 36..after this, my plan should kick in liao.

I went for my hair cut yest alr..hehehe..feel so much lighter. I cut till shoulder length so that I don't have to cut before labor.

today so quiet here..... nice weather to sleep?

me also 31 then pop no. 1 leh. for no. 2 i hope to pop before 35 cos after 35 like got a lot of tests to do.

Samantha, congrats! So lucky, can close factory at 34....

Me now 31 and only having 1st kid and planning for 3 kids! Think have to reconsider plan already!

Sam, congrates!

so shiok, can close factory already!

Mimi, i also hope to close factory by 35 or earlier.. if not too many tests to do.. scared!

I THINK I FELT BB MOVED TODAY! A FEW TIMES ALREADY! SO EXCITED!!
Must really sit still then only can feel better..
Looking forward for more!! haha..

dee, this is your no. 1 also? u intend to have how many kids? i want to have 2 kids... hope can close factory by 35 yrs old. think 2 yrs interval for no. 1 and 2 should be ok.

jaz, really nice weather today. i also want to sleep leh. yippe! tmr is friday!

Hi mummy30
Advisable not to sleep with baby on same bed.. cos never know when we flip.. even if we did not flip, the blanket may cover bb..

me kiasu ba =P

Pris - thanks for recommending the breast pump. i went to kiddy palace yest. saw one manual and cheap cheap one at $79, but doesn't look v nice to use eh.

Chantalle - like most mtbs, my drive also lower. coz v tired and nausea. my husband also scare i vomit on him... hahaha. i think ur husband should be happy eh.

girl80 - wah, twins, double happiness. if i have twins, i will close factory after that.

========

my fren bought for me a baby poster from popular. i have put it up in bedroom. supposed to get cuter baby with looking at such photo?

i went to CD Rama and bought "Baby loves Classicals Vol 2". haven't played to listen yet or get headphones. don't know effective or not.

anyone knows how much to pay for the detailed scan in KKH? just want to be prepared for the $$$ part.

Congrats to Samantha!

this is oso my 1st BB and i am already 33... sigh.. wanted 4 kids but my hubby say i probably can't make it. hahaha

I os dun think i can sleep aith my BB, my hubby everytime in bed kana K by me...

jowinbaby
Ya, me know my sleeping habit so not going to sleep with BB even my HB too.. Really not safe.. Me Kiasu + Kiasi.. Hee

Mimi, same here! I also suck in my breath when someone in front of me smoke. Especially now our blood circulation good right, we will "absorb" 2nd hand smoke even better - which makes things worse (same effect for pple who smoke after jogging). My hubby always get irritated when pple smoke near us.

Me dun intend to zzz with bb. Cos easier to train them to sleep on their own in future. I've heard of too many scary stories of couples who let bb sleep on bed - hubby migrate to floor/mattress. Then poor hubby sleep on floor till bb 4 yrs old n then the child refuse to move to their own bed! For those intending to have a 2nd bb, better reconsider uh!

afternoon ladies

juz waki from nap. feeling giddy tis am so take am n nua at home. hehe.

juzyounme,
when u gg for detailed scan? im gg next wk at kkh. mayb can tell u d cost den? =)

RE: baby sleeping with parents
hmm. its definitely not safe for aby to slp on d bed. but my boi simply juz wan my bed at times. especially when hubby not around. he can slp veri soundly on my bed. den end up i cant slp soundly coz waiting for d chance to shift him back into his bed n make sure he ok. hehe.

mimi,

this is my #2.. the gap with #1 will be 1yr 3mths.. i don't think i can have #3 so close again.. tooo tiring.. i wanna give ma body some rest.. maybe 2 year gap for #3.. should still be before 35, i guess..

chantalle
it's onli safe if there's alwaz someone beside it. had seen incidences of babies falling from sarong when left unattended.

if reali wan to use sarong, muz oso make sure got mattress underneath it for additional protection. my personal tots. =)

Samantha, congrats on your girl.. u are still young la.. try another time la.. hehe..

COt and Stroller:
this sat @ 10am (APS Bldg, Jln Pemimpin)

1. Phyl and Hubby
2. LuthAdel
3. Pris
4. Bubblepearl
5. Snowger n Hubby
6. Gill &amp; Husband

Gill, i dun think it will be a prob to go a little later.. no worries la..

Christine, u coming too?

Snowger, can i bunk into your car too? but can i meet u at Bishan MRT? Coz i stay Yishun leh.. then if i go redhill a little dun make sense.. hehe.. let me know la.. if cannot no worries! =)

Chantelle, i prefer to tell ppl what to buy for me.. coz if they own time own target, then i dun like the things that not so nice also. then also dunno when they will give. I am looking for hand me down clothes only.. but i dun have alot friend my age with kids..

Bubblepearl ah.. take care hor.. hope u get well soon! hehe.. jowin called u bubbletea.. everytime i see your nice also miss bubble tea alot..

Jowin, thanks for the pics

Hmm.. coz i am thinking by placing newborn in sarong, does it actually affect their body structure development since their bones are very soft and their body will be wrap according to the shape of the sarong cloth.

On a side note i think sarong really does wonder to babies.. I think they are able to sleep more soundly and mummies dun have to hold them in the arms to pat them to sleep. Its also more compact than baby cot; more cooling in our climate.

oops.. i typed bubbletea ah... paiseh
I must be thinking of bubble tea lor.. long time no drink liao..

just now, i 1st time drink root beer..with no caffeine.. shiok!! keke!!

i only know that baby's head shape will be nicer if sleep in sarong. i dun wan to let baby sleep in sarong cos i scare when we go out, baby cannot sleep without sarong, then i die

once baby used to sarong, sure will hav prob if wana bring out or gg for short vacation trips. coz too used to it. den mummy will tired out.

one ting for sure is head nicer la. my boi head not veri round. but veri cute. haha. bu yao lian. =p

girls, i got a super craving for mango.. both fresh and preserved with chillie!!!!! Cannot find nice sweet juicy mangoes NOW!! haha.. irritate hubby for 2 days liao.. but still cant find!!!!

well.. i am also super constipated.. the last time i poo poo was last thurs!! no need tell me abt prune juice, papaya, guava or water.. all try liao!! now i keep biting on dried guava all day long.. very xing ku!!!