(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Weddings/Funerals
I just attended a wedding last Saturday. My friend & her parents/ILs were aware. They didn't mind.
I'm even attending another one in September!
As for funerals, i think it's better not to go. Same for baby full-month celebrations too.

CLs
Chantalle: I engaged one for $1.9k. She is a M'sian and will stay with me for 28 days.
The market rate nowadays is between $1.8k to $2k.

Talking to baby
I make my hubby talk to baby everyday after he comes home from work. Haha...it's good for baby to hear Daddy's voice and not just Mommy's voice all the time.

Baby movement
I thought i felt some "bubbling" feeling this afternoon while i was sitting down. Not sure if it was my imagination anot...heh...

In my job (i'm a teacher), i always have to pin notices or posters on the board. In fact, i've been using pins & staples to pin stuff on the notice board. :p I think it's fine...as long as it's not done at home.

As for wedding hor, i did heard that pregnant woman is better not to go. for those in law very pan tan. Thats why i also thinking not to go anot. Maybe if ya tummy very very big then better not go lor. be safe. =)

LuthAdel wow you can feel baby movement le huh!! i still cant.. waits* but really after eating always my tummy feel so bloated and so big. sometimes i walk i feel im like a turtle! my god~! haha but my tummy is really tight. and i feel sometimes so hard to get up.

Fabbie: Best to check with the parents & in-laws of the couple. Some older folks don't mind cos they see it as double happiness...but some pantang folks really mind.

Hi fabbie
For me, i attended a few wedding and 1st yr bday party etc etc... Its just tat for wedding, i did ask the bride to ask her inlaws n parents.. if they are okay, i will go...

Hi Pris
me too.. felt 2 bubble pop just now.. haha.. but i m extremely bloated today.. perhaps its gas

i feel so bloated today as well..but that is cos i had abit too much to eat!! Hahah..ate a whole plate of fried rice fr Din Dai Fung for lunch then at dinner ate Long John.. after tat..bloated liao.. sigh!! Tmr must eat fish noodle liao...heheh

Pris: Your CL is Msian? Just wondering if you need to apply employment pass for her?

Samantha, I really feel like quitting my job to be a SAHM! Now really torn about who to take care of my bb after I return to work. Bukit Merah area really has a miserable selection of infant care... My MIL has 2 children to take care, so dun really want to bother her with a third one. Frustrated!!! Wonder if it is cos so stressed until my face like breaking out! *SOB SOB I need a FACIAL*

I think sometimes attending certain functions is inevitable .. I attended my grandmother's funeral and cremation a couple of weeks back. Coincidentally, 2 years ago when I was preggers with my number 3, I also had to attend my grandfather's funeral.

If it's someone u don't know very well, I think you can NOT go, but if have to then have to lor. I definitely wanted to attend my grandmother's funeral to say my last goodbyes.

I've never heard about the wedding one though. I thought that was a happy occasion? Then why cannot? Anyone knows the reason?

hi samantha, think is "chong xi" (chinese, clash of happy events). This is especially the case if the bride and the MTB is not closely related. Same like two going-to-get-married pple, old pple also believe in "chong xi". Not good for both sides. But its everyone's own preference or believe lah.

Snowger,

thanks for the explanation!

Yeah, it could be cos Bukit Merah is a matured estate ... so that's probably why there's not a wide selection of infantcare.

There's no other alternative for you? No possibility of u being a SAHM for a year or so till baby is bigger then you can put him in childcare?

Hihi! i'm new. i just hit 17 weeks today n my EDD is 5 dec. i'm a first time MTB n it's so fascinating to find so many other MTBs to chat with instead of muddling around by myself..

re most superstitious beliefs (eg. attending weddings, funerals.., renovations..) - i tend to take a more liberal approach. as it is, there are already so many things with scientific basis that we need to avoid n be careful. i really don't believe it's healthy to worry more about those with no scientific basis. if it's a close relation getting married, then if you have to go, you have to go. i won't attend weddings for acquaintances only cus i find it tiring to last through the whole night so i choose not to torture myself. as for renovations, if there is something inevitable to do like a leaky roof, if it has to be done, it has to be done. i'm not about to move out of the house just to abide by the superstition. but if it's just something i can easily stay out of the way, then by all means..

Morning Ladies.. i'm back with a cough and mega sore throat... its friday!!!!

I went to suntec spring.. hmm.. not my type of clothes.. so i bought a pair for drawstring pants from this fashin.. $5 only.. woohoo..

I have 3 weddings this yr.. i've told and asked and they all dun care.. i keep myself away from all funerals.. i try not to walk pass them too coz a friend told me horror story of funerals..

i'm so tired.. not enough sleep everyday... i slp at 10pm and wakie at 5.40am.. Zzzz.. finally tmr can slp in and take afternoon nap..

now the topic is on preg ladies going to red or white occasions huh..

MORNING everybody... TGIF!

Phylicia-I'm tired too.. my boy is an early bird.. so irregardless of working day or weekend, I still need to wake up early..

Samantha, I would most probably have to quit my job (as no pay one yr leave n part time is something which my employer never "bestowed" on anyone b4). And we would b financially strained. E industry I work in won't accept someone who has not worked for a year plus... *haiz*

phyl, mimi - me too! can't find anything after walking ard Spring suntec. seems like its one of their bigger outlets.

snowger, i really dun know where to shop for nice maternity tops. i am going to bugis later, hope can get some nice tops at the shop opp OG.

Morning ladies
Had the wierdest and funny dream that makes me laugh out loud this morning hahaha. Dream baby bryan is born and HB wants to feed him the EBM. Then when Bryan push the bottle about (leaving like 1/4 balance), HB open the bottle and finished it up while Baby Bryan look on with "thats my milk daddy look" hahahaha. This dream is so funny that I burst out laughing while still sleeping.

Friday, YES !!!!! I love friday.

Morning ladies.. just wondering if anyone here have experienced any toothaches during their pregnancy? I had mine two weeks before I discovered I was preggie. Till now, it still hurts every now and then..

I had a really bad one last nite, didn't get to sleep till 4am, super shag now, less than 2 hrs of sleep.. and my tooth, ear & head still hurts now. Have tried clove oil and taken panadol, but nothing seems to work.. =(

Regarding Red/white events: basically I feel that it's up to the individual. I have a friend who did everything, from weddings, to funerals to house reno during her pregnancy, when her daughter was born, perfectly ok, no problem at all.. But for me, I feel that it's better to avoid, better be safe than sorry right?

louisa, i only experience swollen gums when i am i think 6w. gynae say it's normal. nowadays when i brush my teeth my gums tend to bleed a bit

Louisa/Mimi,

Me too, i have swollen gums on and off.....it's good to know that it's normal....was going to see the dentist when it happens again....

morning ladies!! TGIF!!!

louisa,
i would suggest u go see dentist.. it's safe and actually preggers should go see dentist at least once to ensure everything ok.. i did that in last preg and the dentist was very gentle and he advised that if some job can be postponed, he'll let it be.. else, better fix it coz it'll cause more prob than anything else.. am planning to go see dentist again.. should be in 2nd tri.. gonna do scalling and polishing too..

try to avoid antibiotics as much as possible coz the contents ain't good for the little one.. can stain their teeth when they're older.. and it's permanent!

me got bad case of constipation but the big chuck came out with some blood flowed.. now i've been clearing bowels 2 times within 24hrs.. backside pain-pain!

Mimi, I also have the bleeding gums problem.. thank god it''s normal, if not I think I freak out already, every morning see blood when I brush my teeth.. haha

I need to get some maternity clothes real soon, all my jeans can't button le, so sad.. only can wear dress..

thanks dee, I think I'll rush straight to the dentist after work.. the teeth staining part is so scary, praying hard that it won't happen to my little one...

poo with blood sounds bad, maybe u can try to eat something to soften the stools?

yup, it's normal if your gums bleed when u brush your teeth.

i have already started wearing maternity bottoms. so uncomfortable to wear my normal pants and bermudas cos of the button in front.

when i wake up this morning and i touch my tummy, i realise my tummy is bigger. haha.. dun know is it i ate too much yst.

dee,
also, there's stool softener u can take... Lactacyd which contains Lactulose... u can google & find it on the Net... i think can get from pharmacy... but mayb 1st time u wanna ask ur gyane 2 prescribe... (i took tat 4 my 1st pregnancy..)

When I have bleeding gums, I would drink those high calcium drink eg.5 Grains oatmilk, milk etc.., then the bleeding will stops, for my case lah.

Was feeling terrible yesterday nite, had a bad flu, so tired today, not enuff sleep. Can only sleep after taking some med prescribe by my gynae.

I have started to feel my bb movement since 2-3 week ago, like fish swimming and blowing bubbles. The movement more prominent since last week, can feel bb shifting esp if I turn on my music loud , she seems to enjoy the tempo and dancing away, heehee... Now in my 16 weeks.

thanks louisa & adeline..

aft that bad constipation, bowel got loosen more.. dunno is it coz of the blockage.. haha.. now tummy feel a bit funny.. scared eating anything hard to digest.. been eating soupy noodles at the mo..

i dislike brushing session coz when i tasted the toothpaste, i'll gag and vomit very hard! do you gals have the same thing?

Hi MTBs,
I have 2 packets (220ml each) of Anmum Materna Low Fat UHT milk (Honey Flavoured) to give away. High Folate, high calcium for pregnant mums.
Expiry is 22 Aug 2008.
I think supermarket is selling 3 pax for S$4+.

I am totally lactose-intolerant so giving it away don't wanna waste. Got it as part of goodie pack during my gynae visit.
Self collection in Pasir Ris, just PM me / email me [email protected].

YES DEE!! Me! Me! Me! I used to love Fisherman's friend fresh mint, take one packet a week. But ever since i am preg and took it, i gag and vomit just shortly i put into my mouth. I hate the taste! I have to forced myself to brush my teeth also.. if not breathe stinks lah.. haha

hey mummies out there.. what are u all wearing now har?? I am still in my norm clothes of short denim skirt and baby doll tops. I realised today i look abit ridiculous with a small tummy in my usual dressing.. I feel so fat, arghzz.. gg for a mini shopping spree for clothes after wrk. Maybe have to buy 1 or 2 sizes bigger so that can still fit into it months later.

Hi Mimi
Same.. i only felt twice of bubble popping.. but not sure is it bcos i m bloated n gas.. hee hee... Me also week 15... plus tummy alot of fats..think will not feel so fast too...

i am still wearing my normal tops (baby doll and not so tight blouses). but i am already wearing maternity pants cos it's really uncomfortable sitting in the office wearing normal pants.

same here Chantelle, no matter what I wear, I feel so fat.. haha

i go for babydoll dresses rather than those tops + bottom style. coz easier to cover tummy and don't have the buttons/ rubber at the waist there, so more comfy.

I'm in my 14 weeks now and never feel anything also, waiting patiently for the day to come.. what to do? haha

dee, instead of using toothpaste, I'm thinking if can replace toothpaste with something else? maybe can try those flavoured kids toothpaste, dunno can work anot.. just my 2 cents worth..

Mimi... me same as u... got lotsa fats... (1 time 4 my u/s the doc couldnt see anything & blamed it on my fats... AARGGHHHH!!!)

I also havent felt bb moved yet... in my 15th week + 1 day aldy... my 2nd bb... shd i b worried???

I'm at 15weeks and too feels lot of bubbles rumbling and hb claims to heartbeat hahaha is that possible?? My pants are bursting so I wear skirts(flare type) nowadays, but that gets shorter after meals cos belly expands big time hahaha

I was wearing maternity dresses (same ones i was wearing just 6mths ago... didnt expect 2 put them on so soon... AARGGHHHH!!!!!)
but 2day friday mah (TGIF!!!!!!!!!!).. so put on a normal dress... made of cotton so can stretch... realised my tummy doesnt look so big...

jowinbaby
The wordings of the bodysuit are so cute..

I m in my 13th week but still havent get any maternity top or bottom. Dun find my tummy growing that big leh.. Juz like fat with a small tummy.. Kinda worry abit leh..

Jowinbb, actually can get fr overseas spree which are very much cheaper. The prices are in fact mark up in BP. Check this out: http://www.babymallonline.com/

Usually there will be overseas spree on this. The rompers are lovely. Got quite many for my gal and also great as a gift.

Hi 2ndbaby
Thanks.. i m not very familiar in how to do spree. Perhaps someone can organise n we share

Just thought tat the clothings are so cute and i wan to share with everyone here