(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Carmen,
yeah... i shd not "play play" with constipation... but i've suffered from it since young leh... so no choice lah... but a pointer 2 any MTBs out there who's suffering from constipation... take yogurt... plain yogurt, lots of it everyday... apparently it does wonders 4 our colons...

Adel,
is your bb considered big 4 his gestational age? or do u consider urself big??? (as in tummy big?)
If so, then likely u can feel bb kicking sooner than most mommies, i think lah... (i.e. no scientific evidence lah...

Chantalle,
whatever happened 2 ur image? i thot it looked kinda cute 2... dun tell me the administrator thot "Not a pleasant sight to all mummies out here" & took it out..??!!!
my hubby also saggy... but he dun believe in all this so-called superstitions... & he couldnt care less if his bb is born saggy or not...

My MIL oso say i cannot any "red" or "white" event, even for full month and birthday party..

ikeike
welcome..

My neighbour doing their reno too.. All the drilling and knocking sometimes really freak mi..

but for my own birthday, no cutting cake can le.. so i juz went for a simple dinner with my friends and is belated somemore..

hehe adeline, i took it out lah, coz feel uncomfy looking at it. I am afraid it will affect other mummies here too. Lolz.. Ur hubby is doing the right thing, coz if u are paranoid abt this kind of thing, the other party should take a neutral stand. I think he cares lah, but dun wan to show. That helps to balance up mah..

Now har, i always look at beautiful things and beautiful people.. always try to smile and be happy. Ban myself from cursing and swearing no matter how angry and no more gossiping around. Hopefully baby will be beautiful & wonderful..Today i press my palms against my tummy and i thought i felt the little one's heart beat!! (or am i hungry??) Is that actually possible?

i do attend my sis baby full month during my no1. will be attending a few full month celebration this round. :?

birthday party also cannot meh? usually, my office have monthly birthday celebration. Will also be buying & bringing a birthday cake to my son school for his birthday in Jul.

not sure about the norm, but I think don't attend white lor.

winnie....
Gotten ur result?
Not everybody so pantang wan lah.. That depends on individual oso.. I juz follow wat my MIL say loh..

BTW, for Confinement Ladies: do they stay over at ur house for one month?

My aunt got one CL who cook for her whole family, wash all her laundry and jaga her baby 24hrs for around 1.8k too.

LuthAdel,

Yup .. it is .. it's probably him bouncing around .. at this point, he has tons of space so what you feel at this point .. AFTER the fluttering .. (I'm 17 weeks 1 day so I felt fluttering only last nite ...) is your baby moving around and bouncing off the walls performing acrobatics

First time moms usually feel it around 18 weeks (usually la ... from friends that I've asked)like LuthAdel ... if you've experienced it once or twice before then it's just slightly earlier la .. but not by much ... probably 17 weeks or so.

read about it here ...

http://www.babycenter.com/0_fetal-movement-feeling-your-baby-kick_2872.bc

Re: Attend wedding
I attended my gf's wedding when I was 8 mths preggie the last time. As long as both parties (ie mum-to-be & bride&groom & family) are not pantang, then should be ok.

Re: bb movements
Quite surprised that I experienced my bb movements at 12 wks! This is my 2nd bb. So happen that a mozzie bite my tummy at the bikini line & it's so itchy, and naturally I scratched a few times. Then.. I felt the little one inside tummy tossing around! Maybe it's so tickish for bb.. hee..

Hi, got a question abt "tai jiao" (not sure what the English term is... "fetal education"???)
We are supposed 2 listen 2 music (Mozart, rite?) my question is: what if i use headphones 2 listen 2 d music? will tat also help my bb? or must it b loud enuff 4 it 2 hear it 4 itself? (i.e. no headphones, but stereo...)

Adeline
What i'll do is to stick the ear piece on my tummy at around 21wks. Saw my boss doing that and I guess it works too

Tummy size
Well, my bb is in the middle range, thus I guess is slightly bigger than average but not big. My tummy looks like I'm 5.5mths preggy although I'm only 4.5mths now. So not sure if it is consider big.

Adel,
ern... how u know ur tummy looks like 5.5mths huh? i dun even quite know how big/small my tummy shd b @ any time of the pregnancy leh...

Adeline, i read from another forum that babies can actually "hear us talking" at 20 weeks. So we can actually pick up a nursery rhyme or any books and read aloud for baby to listen. I supposed if you play the music in surround system or headphones they can hear too? Maybe experienced here mummies can advised further?

Adeline
Met a few ladies who are about my size and they are around 6 - 6.5 mths. My tummy is only slightly smaller (less rounded) as compared to hers. So I figured it is the size of 5.5mths
So i guess you'll have to observe to gauge your own size.

Mimi, I m listening 2 a series of 4 CDs, all music by Mozart... given 2 me by my cousin... dunno the English name... cos it's made in China... it's specially made 4 babies 2 listen 2...

Chantalle,
Yeah... i know that bbs can actually hear us talking... tat's how they can recognise their mummies' voices when born... so we r encouraged not only 2 talk 2 them, but also 2 narrate nursery rhymes, stories, even our daily routines 2 them even while they r in our tummies... & also 2 SING 2 them... (i loved singing 4 my 1st bb... & i THINK he recognised my singing when he was born... hahaha... could b wishful thinking also lah.....)
Yeah... i m hoping more experienced mummies can share wat they might have observed when playing music 2 their bbs by 1) headphones; or 2) normal.. i.e. no headphones...

Adel,
sounds like your tummy is "pointed or sharp" in shape, is it?? haha... mayb u r carrying a boy???

ok, i will try 2 b more observant.. although it might b a bit difficult.. considering that i m the careless type... in terms of observation lah, i mean..

If you have SCV Cable tv, try to look out for "In The Womb" - it's a National Geographic Special that follows a fetus development in the womb from the start right to delivery. It's very informative and everytime I manage to catch it on tv, I learn something new. I highly recommend it.

YOu can also buy the DVD from Amazon.com

http://www.amazon.com/National-Geographic-Womb-Dilly-Barlow/dp/B000E8JNT2/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=dvd&qid=1214459617&sr=8-1

Anyway, the next time, I see it being scheduled to play on cable tv, I will let you girls know.

You can also catch a short preview of the show here

http://shop.nationalgeographic.com/product/2692.html

Adeline
haha, yes I'm having a boy and we have started to call him Baby Bryan

It was rather fun the other day when I walked into a shop I patronise regularly until I got pregnant. When I walked in I could see the girl going "hmmmm...think she has put on weight?" kind of look. When I went to pay, she was like.."ahem...have you recently put on weight or.....wait a min! you're pregnant!"

My colleague was with me and she felt it was hilarious. According to all, i don't look preggy from the back. hahaha

Samantha, do let me know if they air it again! I want to watch... I only caught the In the Womb: Multiples which was also quite imformative.

If you watch "Science of babies" - Nat Geo program, they can hear us starting on 23rd week. Scientist found babies are soothed (i.e. when they cry) by the tune u play most frequently when they are in the womb! Also, as they grow older and can move ard in the stomach better, they will kick u if they hate what they are hearing (in the show, the mother had to switch from rock to slow soothing music)!

I dun really like classical (gimme headache), so I guess I will clip the headphone on my tummy instead (hehe...)

Re Talking to bb in tummy: They can hear low frequencies when in the womb. So do encourage your HB to talk to the bump! :p

Thanks Chantelle & Adeline. I feel more at ease now that it isnt me doing the job hehehe.... btw, not any classical music but Mozart to be specific. I read that somewhere that they can hear at week14, so I have started to read stories aloud and listen to mozart as well

i also dun like using headphones... give me a kinda headache... so i just inserted them (d headphones i mean) in2 my pants... jus on2 my stomach...!

but somehow... i still think playing the music aloud is d best 4 d bb leh... not sure y... mayb doubt if bb can hear thru the headphone which must b sooooo soft... rite? 4 my 1st, i played d music loud (really loud..) @ home... and in the office, i mostly listened 2 d headphone... i think i hv 2 do something 2 my PC speakers... soon!

ladies if you use earphones on your tummy, try not to go over 1 hour 'cos it may over stimulate the baby due to the close proximity of the sound.

LuthAdel - thanks for the recipe.

Chantalle - i think u may want to avoid hum (cockles). my husband doesn't let me eat, though i like it v much. my GP advised not to, coz they r considered not fully cooked and can carry virus. in fact, the GP gave me a list of things to avoid - seafood, sushi, sashimi, half-boiled eggs, raw eggs, deep sea fishes... i'm opposite from you. i feel v cold in aircon temp of 26 degrees.

llig - thanks for comment.

Enne - my husband's bday is 11 June too.

Adeline - hmm, so chim...

Evonne - i booked a CL at $1.8K.

Anyone - I got 3 weddings to attend in next half of yr. should I ask them not to invite me or?

Went for check up, gynae says can't see anything so should b a girl but cannot cfm until the detailed scan. Anyway he says the later u can c means should b girl, me hope so oso. My TCM oso told me should b a girl.

I do not attend any weddings and funeral oso, my mother told me not to so I din attend.

winnie
I am at level 2 oso..
Eh... u sitting near to the weighing scale or the near the counter? I managed to see a ger in bright yellow top and the other one beside me in black. I m in white and brown top with shorts.. My HB veri big size and wearing a cap..

winnie..
Then tink we nv see each other.. U reach there early? I was not early coz i went to sign up for the antenatal package b4 going for the scan. Then abit lost @ level 2. haha, stupid right..

Snowger,

Yes, I've also watched In the womb: Multiples and In the womb: Animals ... both are uqally interesting. I will definitely let eveyone here know when they play "In the womb" again .. !!

*yawn* I just woke up from a 3 hour nap with my dotters. so shiok. Nowadays, I always feel sleepy in the afternoons.

mummy30
i think the level 2 is messy lor.....I walk from one end till the other, then finally saw it but not quite sure. Ask one nurse who is coming out from the door also blur blur.

where do the other gone? only left both of us here.

samantha..
Normally is on which day? Happened to see 1 episode on twins too..

winnie
We did ask 1 of the nurse, but she told me they shifted to level 6.
Tink is time to knock off, so everybody is packing..

so nice can take afternoon nap!!

I m stuck in a small room with 6 other ppl (lack of oxygen) on conference call n trying to make sense wat the china users are talking abt.. n at the same time trying to see how our system can be mapped to what they want.n not to mention handling one big spoil baby boy thr..hahaha

Today my stomach is so uncomfortable..wonder if it is because i ate too much ginger during lunch time..i had fried rice @ din dai fung and i ate 4 plates of ginger wif the rice. My tummy feel like exploding..haha

Everynite when i sleep, i will also talk to my baby..when i massage the stretch mark oil i will also talk to him..when i shower, i will talk as well. When i sleep, my hand will be on my tummy..hence this morning i actually felt a kick on my left side of my tummy.. very cute..is like asking me to wake up..

I actually start to look ard for baby books that i will buy and will start reading once I cross my 20th week! I can take it if my child is not smart..but i want him to love reading juz like myself and my hubby.. we hv loads of books at home..

Gals..
Ask u all hor.. 2nd tri actually start from 13th week or 14th week? Abit confused as some told me this and some told me that..

Mummy30 .. it's a National Geographic Special (only 1 episode) so the don't show it often. I'll look out for it and let u know girls know when they play it again!

Ya, thank goodness can take a nap - I really salute u gals working while pregnant. I've been a SAHM all of my 11 year marriage ... don't think I can ever go back to work ...

but sam, i envy u.. u r lucky that u r a SAHM, can witness every special moment wif ur child, each and everyone of them.. my fren told me, when her baby boy took his first step, her mom actually called her to let her know..but she din get to witness it..

mummy30, i also tink my baby is asking me not to laze on the bed too much liao!!

Tmr is a nice nice day!! It's Friday..n user fr china has requested that we start workshop at 10am instead...means i can leave the house later and this means sleeping longer.. lately i slept so much yet still feel so tired! Luckily this Sat, thr is a part time cleaner coming to help me clean the house..nowadays i take 2 days on the weekend to finish cleaning compared to like 4 hrs previously

hey emeraldbride .. yeah, I know .. I'm very blessed that we are more than comfortable financially for me to not work at all AND also I also don't have any real desire to WANT to have a career ... (slacker) AND I'd rather be home with my kids ...

Yes, thank goodness it's Friday .. I hate having to ferry my 2 older girls up and down from school. so sian. feel like driver.

I've attended 2 weddings so far since the pregnancy, and have been invited to 2 more later this year, none of my friends nor their parents are superstitious. My pregnant sister attended our wedding last year as well. In fact I never heard of such a superstition until after my wedding. Funerals yes, but not weddings. I heard not to attend weddings to close to my own, but its not an issue in my family. Got married in mid October last year, my bro in law was married in early Jan. My MIL also makes cold orange juice about 4days a week for me. It really depends on the individual. You can choose to believe old wives tales or not, but i guess if it concerns another party, always check with you friends parents if they are ok with u attending.

In fact its cute cos my mil always laughs when she hears of certain superstitions and says 'why cannot? don't listen too much to people talking. All nonsense!' she can be pretty funny

Hey scarletgal,

so cute to feel your bb at 12 weeks! that's amazing! i felt movement about twice last week at 15weeks. Felt like a small fish in my belly... sort of like little bubbles. This week at 16 weeks, feels a little less fishy, more thumping, but i don't feel it often and its not strong. Only when I'm keeping really still and focusing on the sensation

Long time since i logged in.

I wont be able to attend the gathering as got to bring my girl for class. U ladies go ahead, maybe join u all the next round. I have deleted my name from the list, to make things easier.:)

Date of gathering: 5th July 2008 (Saturday)
Time: 12.00 pm
Venue: marche vivo
Wait in front of marche!!!

Attendees:
1. Jazlyn - Jazlyn or Jaz ok!
2. Bubblepearl-Jojo okie
3. raven_1313- Mabel (okie!)
4. mum2ndx
5. llig - Gill (not attending)
6. jowinbaby - Jo - Marche ok!
7. LuthAdel- Adeline - Marche ok!
8. Meilik & Hubby & Son (3pax) - Not attending