(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

lol. ya, man ... I was surprised when I tested it. I just bought new membranes etc and I was good to go ... I don't actually use it anymore for actual pumping and storing of milk ... just that initially, when your newborn starts suckling, she sometimes get tired and prefers to sleep than nurse so I pump and throw to ease the engorgement ... I really prefer to direct feed than pump and bottle feed .. of course it's only because I am a SAHM.

I hate those manual ones .. of course that's a personal preference ... some women I know prefer the manual over the electric.

Enne, since the response is quite gd, can reali organise overseas spree. Hee...

Me too wanna rebond my hair. Feel that its so messy. Gonna check with my gynae on it.

Some offices have nursing rooms which are so ideal for breastfeeding mummies. For me, I pump in a storeroom/prayers room. Was very stuffy.

wa, u girls who have SCV Cable TV should catch Channel 70's Discovery Home & Living ... lots of shows on giving birth ... "House of Babies" -- can see water births .. "Birth Day" ... "A Baby Story" and "Deliver Me" ...

For these shows, they also provide some delivery tips and other little bits of info regarding giving birth .. I find the shows fascinating.

Sam,

I watch Ch 70 oso for my first preg, Birth Day, was very touching when u see the bb born. Now,too tired to watch , coz usually the show starts quite late.

As for rebonding, hmm...I've rebond & highlight my hair during my first tri for my first preg without knowing I'm preg. But lucky my boi turn out ok. So I guess should b ok bah. Now my hair oso started to become messy liao, dunno can tahan till Dec anot. Mayb will do rebond after birth, should be in time for CNY.

if cannot do rebond, u tink can we do relaxing?? it is actually applying cream to straigten the hair onie..
what abt hair treatment @ salon?? My fringe is so messy...now still thinking shuld i cut it or juz pin it up n let it grow..abit messy..esp when going to work.

Everyone commented that my tummy is very small for a preggy that is entering 4th mth. I also feel it is like a spare tyre than preggy tummy..hahaha

for those given birth before. is it true that ur pubic hair will be shaved off before delivering the baby?

i heard it from a staff performing brazilian waxing services saying that some women don't like pubic hair to be shaved, so come to her before their babies are due, to do brazilian waxing.

i think thinking brazilian waxing so hot in temperature and painful, won't it trigger off contraction? so i ended up asking her "sure or not?"

Re: Pump
I am using Ameda Dual Electric Pump. Couldnt reali compared cos din try other brands of pump. I can say its reali affordable for a dual electric pump, easy to use and sterilse. Noise level average, not on the low side tho. Can empty both breasts quite fast.

But I rmb in TMC, the lactation consultant discourage ameda cos it causes block ducts.

Hi MTB,

I have the following Brand New items for Sale: -

1. 2 tubes of Mustela Vitamin Barrier Cream at $11/each (bought at Taka for $14.30 each).

2. 24 pcs of cloth nappy for $16

If interested, pls PM or email me at [email protected]

PS. Will give out NB size diapers (sample so it is individual wrap), disposable teats (for NB) and 10 pcs of breast pads. Thanks!

Juzyounme, you are right. Brazillian waxing is not recommended during the last trimester (especially near the due date). Of course this is depending on your tolerance to pain. Intense pain can cause contraction to the womb and result in earlier birth.
This is what I got from the baby mag called "My Baby" - Your pregnancy and Baby Care Guide.

Hi! fyi, There's a big sale at Maternity Exchange (@ Marina Square) starting Tuesday, from 1 July -30 July. Up to 75% off maternity and nursing wear. You can even get additional 5% off if you present the print out from the singapore motherhood home page.

i was at mothercare @ vivo n harbourfront today..they are having sale! Bought some baby's clothes, going for 50% and some even 70%.

Medela breastpump going at 15% discount..price is $305, i guess everywhr sell the same price juz depend on the discount level..

Din spend alot today - only $49 for baby's clothing..will not buy too many at one go, try to spread out monthly.. I intend to buy those white / cream colored shirts instead..mabbe buy from MY kua..

morning all.. yday was so tired. that i slept 3 times haha.

Chantalle hi so hows ya wedding preparation? Remember at dinner dun walk here and there. Have you told ya parents about it? =)

Btw MTB, My mother in law brought this NUVANTA HiDHA 500 Functional Tuna Oil. Its for eating i guess. hmm i never heard this before. do you think its good for me to eat it?

Don't think need to shave la.. but me personally prefer waxing. Actually, for the last preg, i waxed about 2wks before delivery. Feels more hygienic, expecially during after-birth lochia flow. Got the gal to apply more oil so that the hair comes off more easily. Not very painful at all.

LuthAdel cannot cut meh? go CUT! btw when after give birth that 1 month hor can we go to the salon and wash our hair? instead of 1 month cannot bath?

WOW didnt know it must be shave? usually i will trim my below so i guess its fine? but come to think of it. its really so peiseh to open up your legs and show everyone your * faints. I really cannot imagine! faints.

My in law just told me that baby man yue i cannot go! =( so i guess alot of places i cant go. haiz. anyway who knows abt NUVANTA HiDHA 500 Functional Tuna Oil do let me know! xie xie.

Hi fabbie
one month cannot bathe? Wah..i think i cannot. with such hot weather .... i think there is this herbal thing tat we can bathe with... I m sure still wanna bathe daily but wash hair maybe 2-3days then wash once... if not i m like a walking bacteria , somemore still need to breastfeed...Somemore confinement food is very heaty and we sure sweat...

luthadel
if feel like cutting den go for it. will definitely feel more fresher n don hav to bother if hair is messy n cant rebond. hehe. tt's wat i did when i had my boi. now contemplating if i wana cut again anot. hehe.

fabbie
by right, not suppose to wash hair at all one. eveb if ppl wash for u oso same logic. will 'jin feng'.

jowinbaby
those yao cai tian got sell d herbs in packet for bathing. juz tell them can le. den muz boil early morning with ginger n add white rice wine. d water looks kinda yucky thou. dono how i survive one. only allowed to bath once every 3 days. mummy refuse to let mi bath more dan tt. other days will be wiping myself wif warm water and rice wine.

llig
r they good? coz i will hav to go for c-sect again. don mind trying waxing. hehe. feel cleaner tt way. don like d feeling of d nurse shaving mi. hehe.

hi all...how has your weekend been?

Hair salon
My hairstylist refuses to dye my hair for me. She said it's not advisable and told me to be "guai" and just bear with the ugly roots until baby is out.

For rebonding, i'm not sure too. I read in baby books that during pregnancy, hormones causes our hair & skin to change. So our hair may react differently (from normal) to the chemicals used.

Waxing
I heard that the nurses will shave the pubic hair when you're giving birth. OMG...is it true? I have never gone for brazillian wax before and i think i'll scream from the pain!!! Seems quite scary.

Confinement
Fabbie, by right, we're not supposed to wash our hair at all. BUT my mom did haha...and she told me just wash every few days in the day time & MUST blow-dry straightaway. Then, must rub some alcohol (think like XO) into your hair so that your scalp will be really dry. In between washings, just use those type of dry shampoo to keep your hair oil-free.

Jowin: For bathing, must use those herbs & warm water. My friend told me the water will turn brown and really have those herbal smell. :p Yucky. But no choice... bathe in the daytime too! Don't bathe at night.

To update everyone bout my checkup yesterday. My gynae cannot confirm if my baby is a boy. Haha... she pointed to the monitor & showed us that there is something there but cos my baby was in a squatting position, the view wasn't very clear. So she said must wait for next checkup to confirm the sex of my baby. I must be paitent and wait until 31 July. Aiyo!!!

Btw, i'll be signing my antenatal package with her at my next checkup and also going for my detailed scan.

llig, my sister is interested in the services. Actually it is interesting... Will want to try it one day too.
Can gimme the name of the gal? my msn is [email protected]

For confinement, I think for BM mothers, we should "dry clean" at least 3X a day. For bathing, depends on how "strict" you are. Some CL only let u bathe 1/wk. My mum bathes, using hot water n in the day only.

Luthadel, you haven't cut hair for how long? I cut my hair even before 12 wks, cos my fringe was just so long, I cannot take it. :p

Oh. they said that 1 month confinement you must do it properly, if you didnt do it properly you will have terrible back aches and so on when ya old. So be careful gals and its only 1 month. Heard you can wipe yourself with a wet towel only.

Oh i heard that after give birth you will be dropping hairs? is that true? sounds scary!

luckily my mum say i can bathe during my confinement. hmm... need to bathe la, if not very unhygience then how to breastfeed.

went to baby hypermart & baby kingdom today. felt that the things there are not cheap at all. combi stuffs selling at baby kingdom is more ex than those selling in john little expo sale. breast pumps & sterilizer are not cheap too. i've decided to wait till taka baby fair to buy all the things i need.

pris
d nurse will shave for u before u go ot if c-sect is required. juz d top area n from bikini line downwards.

fabbie
will drop lots of hair. now my hair is pathetic.

Mimi: Ya, i share the same sentiment as you. The things sold at these 2 warehouses are not fantastic. I'm also waiting for the Taka baby fair to stock up on stuff.

Fabbie: Ya, i heard it's true! My friends who have given birth told me to expect my hair to drop after i give birth. Sigh...

iemik0: So if natural birth it's ok? No need to shave?

RE: Bathe
I started to bathe at Day 3 and wash my hair at Day 5. Herbs were prepared for me to bathe. In this hot weather, I find it reali uncomfortable not to bathe. Also, I sweat alot esp after eating the confinement food. As I m breastfeeding, I feel its more hygienic for me to be clean. But of cos always get scolding and nagging from my mum.

Just read a newspaper article. Rebonding and colouring of hair can be done after 4 mths. There is this new book on preg and child birth written by KKH.

jowin, u r rite, medela pump is not the PIS one..PIS cost more leh..but they also have Medela PIS package, comes wif bottles, etc etc.. (Forgot wat it is liao)

My gynae advised me not to go for waxing - she said all those pulling is not good for our tummy. So i hv to bear wif the forestation down thr..hahaha

I think i will shower n wash my hair..cos i hv no intention to cut my hair so i need to wash it, else smelly smelly..hahah

i agree that we need to keep clean as we need to carry and feed daily.. At least wiping ourselves daily with wet warm cloth seem much comfy than not bathing at all

Yeah.. i heard we have to bathe b4 the sky turn dark, meaning b4 evening..

Haiz.. forget abt confinement now.. dun dare to think..haha... just concentrate on baby's health and items to buy...

I more n more can't wait to see baby.. still need to wait till 08 July...

Morning!!...extremely sleepy again..did not get some good sleep last nite... nauseas.. Week 16 already still MS.. when will this end!!!

Hi Emeraldbride..
Yup.. PIS could not be tat price if not i go n snatch already.. haha...

morning ladies.. monday blues again..

went to the dentist yesterday and she extracted my tooth (luckily it's the bottom last one, not noticable).. my cheeks still swollen.. hopefully, this will be the end of my toothache problem..

wah, u all so early talk abt confinement ah? i dun even dare to think of it.. seems so scary, but i think i'll go ahead and bathe, at most use the herbs, better than not being able to bathe at all right?

I think I'll go for the rebonding after I confirm with my gynea again.. my hair now not long, not short, then curl here & there.. see already also pek chek.. haiz..

I never tried waxing before, my friend is crazy abt it.. was told that it hurts for the first time, then subsequent visits will be better, it's just like plucking your eyebrows.. she went to strip for her waxing sessions..

louisa, can extract tooth huh? ur dentist know that u are pregnant? that time when my gums swollen i went to gynae, then gynae refer me to a dentist, he say cannot extract tooth leh, maybe that time i only 8 weeks bah...

jowinbaby .. hang on !! My MS just went away at 17 weeks. Now no more nausea but appetite still not 100% ... so sian also ... don't feel like eating anything and can't eat that much anyway.

SIGH

It's better than feeling NAUSEOUS la ...

Yes, good morning to all u ladies ... !!

morning ladies!!

me still nauseas.. sianz.. but still thankful coz sometimes i forget that i'm pregnant.. :p hoping to feel baby kick soon.. and kick that MS away!!!

louisa,
did u extract ur wisdom tooth? i've got one overdue abt 3 years.. wanted to extract last year but dentist said still can postpone.. then after baby comes out, got too busy to go down.. hopefully it won't gimme problem..

bath? haha.. last yr after delivery, i bathed in the hospital in the morning.. secretly.. except for the nurse la.. :p
couldn't take it.. coz once i got home, won't have the freedom to bathe immediately! at home i was sweating like a pig even after herbal bathe in the afternoon! i didn't quite enjoy confinment period.. cannot do this.. cannot do that.. must eat this.. must eat that.. aiyo.. :p

Morning Ladies

Today will be a crazy day for me as my staff is on leave *faint*

Snowger
I've not cut my hair for almost 9 mths now 'cos I was trying to grown out the curls from my ditigal perm last Apr. Regretted doing the perm as my hair became so dry. So now the length of my hair is just nice for cutting.

I want to try brazilian waxing as i feel that it will be cleaner. Don't like the idea of shaving.
LLig, can i have the contact please [email protected]

Good Morning Gals.. Talking abt hair.. haha.. when you gals see me on sat you will know wat a disaster my hair is.. i'm going to rebond next month.. cannot take it anymore.. show my friends some pics of my last yr.. then he said.. wah..wat happen to you? coz he say i look very ugly after i get married!! Zzzz...

was sick from last friday.. terrible headache.. the whole day and also on sat.. got a bit better yesterday.. i'm getting so lazy to take bus to work.. haha.. but too bad for me.. cannot find taxi to flag so take bus..

so looking forward to outting this sat.. its the second time i'm out during a weekend since i got pregnant.. haha.. the first was the motherhood fair..

Jowin, My MS is still ard too.. hope it will get better for you..

Mimi, I told my dentist i'm preg, then she got ask me how many weeks already b4 she went ahead. Can extract, but cannot eat the anti-biotics which was supposed to be taken after the extraction..

Hi Phylicia
same here.. i dye my hair till quite bright.. now all the black hair from the roots , started to grow out.. UGLY.... cannot dye somemore.... Plus my fringe quite long already n i need to pin up to one side.. I think i better go cut my fringe....

I dun intend to shorten my hair during confinement also.. just trim it to a neater length...

Adel, i also dun like it shave.. but i scare of the wax pain.....

Thanks gals.. i really hope MS will soon be over.. i m ok one day, down one day.. Sat can kill a tiger =P... Sunday just puke n puke... today burping ,nauseas, headache..