(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

LuthAdel & snowger,
have email-ed you ladies.

Iemik0,
yup, does feel cleaner plus re-growth is lesser too.

There are actually several waxing palours around nowadays but i prefer to stick to the same place. For one, its smaller/cosier so more privacy plus better chance of always having the same gal wax for you. For my previous preg, i did ask my gynae about waxing and accdg to her, if i can bear it, can go for it.

bathing
i always showered during the 1st month. Only got nagged when i couldn't take it anymore and showered late at night too :0 but i guess, that one's my fault la..

hey ladies,
since you'll are meeting up on 5 Jul, how about going down to town? For a good cause..the Spore Red Cross.. read about aussie blogger Karen Cheng's plan... http://www.karencheng.com.au/

i love reading her posts but will be working on that day
however, imagine a pic of 15 (or more!) pregger ladies doing the karen cheng.. will be so cute!!

llig, ooo.. quite easy to "do the karen cheng" haha.. if the gals are up to it.. then maybe we could go down town.. quite meaningful but she should think bigger amount of money.. USD1000 like quite little to make a difference in so many disaster areas of the world.. well.. its a good cause!!

louisa, i also no wisdom.. hehe..hope i'll never have wisdom my whole life! ^-^

jowin.. my hair is a nightmare.. haha.. i tie it up all the time.. once i put it down it will "bombard" into all directions.. its so terrible.. haha.. maybe i should shave my head for the "hair of hope" project for cancer patients!!

halo ladies,

today's topic bout hair??? i just layered my hair 3 weeks ago to add in a bit of volume as my hair was rebonded n was quite flat. so far, i think my hair is ok.

louisa,

i hv removed all my 4 wisdom teeth some time ago.

phylicia,

dun rebond ur hair now leh...the chemicals may get into our blood stream... tie it up first lah till u giv birth.

i am also waiting for the right time to do rebonding. my sis did her rebond 1 day before her baby full mth celebration. haha... she say hair too ugly cannot face people. but i hate the long long waiting time leh. can really fall asleep when doing rebonding.

Phylicia.. I finially found someone like me.. haha.. i thought something was wrong with me for not having wisdom tooth.. hehe

Usually I'll drag a friend along and do rebonding.. sit there for too long n nothing to do is simply boring..

My hairstylist did such a wonderful job until I 2 yrs never go rebonding le.. Then I made a rash decision to go to my neighbourhood saloon for my haircut last week becoz I'm lazy to travel all the way to my hairstylist.. then my hair became my nightmare.. regret ah!!!

hope you're feeling better Mummy 30..

I also will feel out if breath occasionally.. dunno is it I smoke or baby.. got scared and quit smoking.. but nw still feel breathless.. esp when i walk for too long..

Goodie Noonie ladies...

Sigh sigh sigh.. Monday...I hate it.

I am feeling very troubled, nowhere to rant; can i use this forum instead?? Sorry, gg to be a really loong post

Just a personal note to share:

For ladies out there who have been following my posts and giving opinions; No,I have not told my family anything at all. Can't seems to find the right opportunity to break the news. I broke my marriage news to them quite suddenly and they are still recovering from shock, so I cannot imagine whats my family reaction will be if i tell them i am preggy now, some more near 14 weeks.

To be honest, i have been with my HTB (hubby-to-be)for only less than 7mths. 5 mths into the relationship, he proposed and I happily agreed. At that time i didnt' know I have already conceived. I had a hard time to convince my mum that my HTB is the last man that i will date and we will settle down once and for all. It was until recently that My mum came to accept him. HTB's family are already aware of my pregnancy but We were both afraid to let my mum know.. coz my mum is very stirct and have very high expectation from me.

To add on to my worries, my family engaged a highly accomplished Feng shui ShiFu to "predict" our family member's fortune and future prospects. I was told that marriage is good for me this year, but to be preggie this year will bring harm to the baby and will caused both parents' luck to be down and things won't go smooth. I was totally devastated when I hear that. Since I cannot ask the Shifu what other options I have in front of my family members, I have to keep the matters to my heart. The Shifu warn me very sternly and my mum cannot help but agree and gave me even sterner warnings, telling me to wait for a few good years. My heart is bleeding. Cannot zzz the whole night, was thinking of Terminating the pregnancy and cried the whole night.

Chantalle

Oh dear, you do have a situation to handle. What i can say is that feng shui is just a guideline and if he is so damn accurate in what he say, he should be a millionaire by now
Take heart, every grandparents will love their grandchild when he/she is born.

Hang in there, you've come so far and have already established a success in getting your mum to accept your husband. I'm sure she will come to terms in her own time/ways about your baby. Just make peace with yourself. Don't terminate the pregnancy 'cos of what the fengshui guy said as he is just an advisory of science, not fact.

My prayers are with you for a smoother ride.

Chantalle

Please don't take the feng shui's word 100%.. i am sure that if he knows of your pregnancy, he wouldn't have say such thing because it can be damaging and also, he's got no right to determine the life of your baby..

Your baby's a gift from Above.. and God has already chosen the right parents for the precious baby.. that's you and your hubby, my dear.. So, don't terminate, ok?

Old pple believe child birth as a "reborn" for women. Hence it is believed that if you hv weak constitution n do a really "strict" (i.e. good) confinement, you will turn out a healthier person than before.

Luthadel: Me also had split ends after doing ceramic perm for my wedding. Me thinking of cutting hair shorter for confinement - so may have a few more hair cuts till last trimester.

Chantelle: I know how it feels esp if your parents are such strong believers of feng shui/suan ming. Is the master related to your mum? If he is not, you might want to speak with him - he might be able to advise u on what can be done... Besides fengshui is all about harmony with your surrounding and yourself, thereby getting the best from this harmony. Termination of pregnancy is not advocated as a practise of fengshui. If u not comfortable, I feel you should discuss this openly with your hubby n his side of the family or seek 2nd opinon. Dun stress ok? Must be happy so bb will be happy too!

Chantelle: I also tend to agree with Dee. Partly bcos he dun know you are having a child - tat's why he warns you against it. I strongly encourage you to speak with the master again (if u can). He will be able to advise u on what can be done (i.e. giving your baby certain names ,etc.)

There are far more consequences for terminating a pregnancy. It should not be the be all-end all solution...

chantalle ah, fengshui people cannot be taken too seriously one.. one TCM/fengshui master tell my hubby that his balls too cold.. so ask him not to have sex or masturbate for 3mths... Zzzz.. and this is only by looking at his palm and face!!!

this may sound silly, but i do understand how u feel. at least ur mum has accepted your hubby.. i did not even tell my parents i was going to get married to a malaysian "foreign worker".. somehow my sis told my mum and my dad flew back especially for my wedding.. erm.. without me knowing and without being invited.. it was kinda awkward for me coz i din reallie want them there.. well.. my dad is super disappointed in me.. coz he always had super unachievable hopes for me.. but me being rebellious.. just did the opposite. my whole family thinks i'm an evil person coz i broke up my family.. but at the end.. they all still came for my wedding..

i still think u should tell your mum.. let her know u are pregnant.. wat can she do? i believe she will not ask you to terminate your pregnancy.. so dun take it upon yourself to make such a decision.. talk to your mum..

mummy30, rest well oh..

lousia, no wisdom also very good one.. hehe.. no pain.. no need waste money torture.. hehe.. i very scared of dentist one.. so lucky lucky me!

jaz, jowin.. this sat you see my hair u will understand why rebonding is a MUST!! haha.. i tie liao.. but it coz my hair always fall, so lots of baby hair and the stand in every imaginable direction.. hehe.. if i rebond will wait till 5mths ba.. coz i read in the book and it said its a good time to do everything..

*so many angels passing by.. *

so quiet over here..

some of my colleague were quite surprised that i'm expecting.. most don't even know..
2nd preg.. wk16 and not showing much..
SHOULD I BE WORRIED??

Don't worry, dee ... 16 weeks still ok ... I'm also not showing .. even when I lie down, there's no bump there yet ... and I'm almost 18 weeks ...

boo hoo hoo.. boo hoo hoo..still feeling very upset despite all the kind words and opinions from you ladies. I spoke to my HTB. He said we will go to the Fengshui Master and go for another round of consultation. This time without my family presence. Both of us will go secretly.Hopefully there'll be a "remedy" for baby. As for my Mother, I intend to tell her soon, and told her that i just found out about my Baby since i have history of long missed period for several months. Do you all think this is more feasible and easier to accept?

chantelle,

dun worry so much.... things will straigthen themselves out. do stay positive, n do not ever think of terminating the pregnancy. a child is a gift fm God. v shud cherish it!!!

phylicia,

i oso din rebond my hair for almost a year adi. so i just bear with it lor.... n tie it up when necessary

phew.. good to know that it's normal..
was beginning to get very worried coz my mini-bump doesn't seem to grow much.. despite the nauseas that i'm still having..

Chantelle,
For those who doesn't have regular period, it's normal to only find out about pregnancy a little later.. my colleague didn't think that she was preg and thot she's gaining wait.. and starting to hit her tummy.. and i've got a friend who only knw of her pregnancy at month 4/5..

mimi,
i also can't feel baby's movement yet..

samantha,
in ur prev. preg, how soon/late did u feel ur baby moves? read that 2nd preg and later, the movement is felt sooner..

Phylicia, U mind if i ask u if u had a chinese customary? If yes, where did u "chu jia" from? coz my parents r seperated and I'm on very bad terms with both of them. Don't wish to see them at all during my wedding.. don't even wish to print their names on the wedding invitation also..

Chantalle, dun worry.. things will turn out fine.. many pple ard me have strict parents and when they break the pregnancy news to them, at most they will angry for a few days, after that will be fine le...

Chantalle,
I do think it'd b fine 2 tell ur mum u'd missed ur pregnancy cos of ur often missed periods... i'd think it's a perfectly reasonable explanation... Dont let wat the feng shui master say upset u... if u continue 2 b so upset... it may affect ur bb... & tat's when d bb might develop problems... bringing TRUE bad luck 2 u & ur HTB...
Just my 2 cts...

Louisa
My mom passed away 2 years before my wedding and I'm not on talking terms with my dad. On the day of my wedding, I got married from Ritz Carlton
So you can try to book a nice hotel and stay there the night before your wedding and enjoy some nice spas to relax you mind too. As for the wedding invitation, i only put my mom's name but with bracket (deceased).

Samantha
Wow, you're still not showing even though you're reaching 18wks, THAT is so NICE!!!!
Tomorrow I'll hit 19wks and i'm already SHOWING !!! :S

Chantalle,
2 continue with my earlier posting, by all means, go ahead & meet the master with ur HTB... without ur family... but b prepared he may say things which u find hard 2 accept... in my opinion, if u can, find another feng shui master who's in favour of u getting preggie this year... (c'mon lah, surely v dun believe feng shui is an exact science... even medicine is considered "opinions"...) & try 2 get him/her 2 c ur family if necessary... if all else fails, prepare 2 convert 2 another religion... or worse comes 2 worse.... ELOPE lah..... (romantic some more... think of it this way... some day u get 2 tell ur kid... "u know, how much trouble ur parents went 2 have u...? we even E....."

PS: this may seem like a joke... but it's called "stretching d imagination" exercise 4 Chantalle... so she won't get more depressed...

Re bump: At week 16 now, mine is damn small especially in the morning. Can't really see unless in the evening... Dun worry about bump size especially if your water bag is not leaking and your bb is growing well in you.

Re Classes for MTB at TMC:
I booked for the september class liao. : ) Should be the early afternoon class. Gals who book that slot, we can exchange emails/contacts yeah? Last time I asked, Mrs Wong confirm taking the class! *Yeah*

Louisa,
I have seen my hubby's friend use the following places:
1. A close relative's place (i.e. an aunt/uncle whom you are close with); or
2. A nice hotel room/suite where you can still have your jie mei-s. Suite will allow you to play the sabo groom to get to bride (most commonly used).

Chantelle,
If that fengshui master says no chance to advert, I suggest you look for someone else like what Adeline say. My fengshui master for one is absolutely against abortion - he said so what even if the girl is pregnant before marriage. It is still a life what.

Re eloping: Personal experience (my family has one "elope"-ee) tells me somewhere down the road, your parents will be thinking of u night and day (wondering how you are doing, what you are doing, got enought money or not). :p

It's good since you can use delayed menses as your excuse for telling them only now. Did hear of teenagers who do not know they are pregnant until they get contractions n give birth one day at the toilet... *opps* We are all here to support each other thru the 9 mths! So jia you and keep us posted!

me week 16 today n hb said my tummy adi showing. i can't wear any of my normal pants as they r getting too tight over the tummy area n they make my bloating worse. anyway, i haven't feel the baby kicking yet till now

louisa,

u can choose to 'chu jia' from ur closest relative's home. or as wat luthadel said, get a nice hotel n hv ur ceremony from there.

Snowger, llig, LuthAdel - i kind of doubt i will go for brazilian waxing during my pregnancy. My first and only time made me feel burnt & painful. ;P actually when i went for that, i didn't know that i have already conceived. if i had known, i think i will have avoided that.

Chantalle - does sound like a difficult situation, but i don't think you should terminate the pregnancy without trying all methods to convince your family that the baby is to stay. i know of someone who terminate the baby at 22 weeks, as she is not married and unlikely to have a future with the guy. and after the abortion, the depression that she has to go through was really terrible and so long-term.

Louisa - I'm not in contact with my parents and didn't even inform or invite my parents that i got married since 2005 till now. and of coz, i won't bother to tell them i'm pregnant or even show them the baby when born.

======

i'm into 15 weeks, but already showing, even it's the 1st pregnancy. i think partly coz i already have a big belly to begin with. about 10-11 weeks into pregnancy, my office attire becomes tight, so i just change to something comfortable, baggy...

i'm thinking of trimming my hair this week, likely to do that every 2 mths. no plans for rebonding or highlighting during pregnancy.

Snowger - I have registered for classes in TMC starting on 7 Sep, Sun 3.30pm. which day or time are you taking?

louisa, i din "chu jia".. haha.. i dun believe in all this chinese thing.. and also find it not "profit making" and "economical" for a chinese banquet.. i do however wish i had a big dinner hooha.. but.. well.. i like things simple.. thats why everyone on this planet tot i shot gun no face then quiet quiet get married.. made me so angry!!

my mum has a bf 7yrs older than me.. that time i was 14 and the guy was 21 and my mum was 41.. so i think its not rite then told my silly father who works like a cow overseas to support our ridiculous spending.. so my dad also very "smelly" transfer my mum name from house and car and cancel all her cards then tell her he wanna divorce her.. haha.. then the ultimatum is that they still have sex when ever my dad comes to SG... my mum still thinks she's married to him!! wah.. i buay tahan their nonsense so moved out since i was 17.. so everyone from my mum and dad side think i'm the devil of the family!! Zzzz.. all i can say is... WATEVA! haha..

every house got difficult bible to read.. hehe.. chantelle.. you should know how to "tackle" your mum.. so do what u think is rite to tell her lor..

snowger.. haha.. i nv did understand why teenagers get pregnant no symptoms, no bump, no stretch marks.. no nothing one.. and we are all here depressed over weight, MS and also scans.. haha.. and did u read that their delivery also very smooth one.. no tears so epidural and no pain relieve.. haha..

Juzyounme, I totally forgot if it is saturday or sunday! *Gasp- blur blur* I only know it is a weekend class! Should have went to Parentcraft just now. :p Will get my hubby to call the pple there (they seem to talk very very fast all the time).

Phylicia!
I agree. Esp young kids who give birth in toilet (smooth like our everyday *poo-poo* session), use kitchen scissors to cut the umbillical cord, then wrap baby in plastic bag to throw away! *kaoz* And we are fretting over every other thing related to pregnancy. :p

I always tell my aunt not to judge other pple's family so readily cos "every house got difficult bible to read". Me go nuts when my parents ask me if my elope-ee sister contacted me or not. If got, they will ask no end. But then my sister like really *ping* - now I am preggy, want to share joy also dunno what tel no to call. *Haiz* And best part is she seems to have misunderstood my dissapointment (when she could not attend my wedding) as me not wanting to have anything to her? *Double Haiz*

Chantelle:
To cut short my chim rabblings. It's not rocket science to use the correct tone, correct words and correct body language (i.e watever "rubs" yr parents e rite way - including batting eye lashes, "sai-na"ing) to break e news to your parents in such a sensitive situation!

yup dee,
After the 1st pregnancy, you kinda know what to look out for, so you feel the baby's movements earlier ... it doesn't get earlier the more babies you have ... just that after that first one, you are experienced and so you know better

LuthaAdel ..
sigh .. how is that good? It just means I'm BIG and FAT and so since there's more space in there .. my stomach doesn't protrude out yet ... (besides my usual spare tire la .. lol) ...

Anyway, with my previous prgnancies, I usually only start wearing maternity stuff at 24 weeks - cos that's when I start showing a bit. people are often surprised when I suddenly tell them I'm 24 weeks ... hahahah cos one min, they see me in regular clothes then all of the sudden i'm in maternity wear and I'm already 24 weeks ...

SIGH

Samantha, I think my spare tire just spread upwards, downwards and outwards. So although no obvious preggy bump, my pants now all can't wear. *winkz*

My blardy hubby always jokes that the inside of my tummy right now must seem like a Olympic sized swiumming pool for the baby ... that's why no bump yet .. plenty of space ... hahahahah

Its true, everyone house has its own problems. For my side, had a difficult time getting hubby accepted by parents cos different religion and they seem to only soften up when i was preggers. Now, they're ok with hubby, love our son to bits and looking forward to no.2. But i never told them that i converted. See no point in it since i'm still the same old me and don't want to cause them fresh heartache.
My sis (their favourite gal) had the same situation also (different religion hubby) but she played her cards in a different manner and now, somehow, she's more distant from them. So i guess it also depends on how you treat your folks...

Chantelle,
Using the frequent missed periods is a very believable excuse. In fact, that's what happened to me during my first preg.. Went to see doc for tummy pain and left with a diagnosis of pregnant. My husband also stunned! haha..
Anyway, when you get the right time, tell your mom la.. Worst case, you'll have to see her black face for a couple of days/weeks but it will definitely be a load of your mind :D
Hang in there okie and write even longer posts if you need to rant

hair
I just trimmed and thinned my hair. Mine is very thick so feel very hot. But i don't go for re-bonding/colouring etc..

tummy size
I finally started using the maternity uniform at work and everyone is surprised to learn that i'm pregnant. Started using maternity clothes when going out too..Stomach more able to 'breathe'. Tummy does look quite pronounced. Perhaps cos its 2nd preg...? But weight never go up at all lei....

doing the karen cheng
Are you ladies going?

hei hei.. so many posting today!! As usual busy week.

Happy news is that I don't hv to travel anymore!!! Yippee..these few days my tummy quite small - almost flat esp when I lie down but on Saturday my breast is so painful that I nearly cried..suddenly became so big!!! Hahaha

lucky for me, i do not have MS except lately I kept getting very bad headache esp ard 4plus to 5plus..mabbe cos my user is very dmanding..makes me headache!! Hahaha..

I love brazillian wax..once u try it, u never give up!! Hahaha..mabbe i shuld go again..I also like to do brow threading which is also cleaner..

Gals, if anyone of u ladies looking for CL, let me know ya..my facial therapist's mom is a CL and she is available in Dec..she charges $1.8K.

hi everyone!!!

Chantalle: *hugs* Pls don't terminate your pregnancy simply based on what ONE FS master said. Different FS masters will say different things. For e.g. the wedding date given by the FS master my hubby & i consulted was different from the one consulted by my ILs.

Try to hint at your pregnancy to your parents. At least your hubby & his folks are supportive. Be strong ok? We're all here for you.

Tummy size
My colleagues are all saying my tummy is big! I'm 16w5d & i'm definitely showing. Just like how every woman's shape is different, our tummies will be different too.

Hair
I also do not intend to cut my hair short for confinement. I like my long straight hair!!! So i'll definitely be washing my hair during confinement month else i think i'll stink!

Jowin: I just trimmed my fringe myself this morning...haha...

dentist
I want to go for a dental checkup soon! Before my tummy gets too big & it'll be uncomfortable lying down.

Gathering on Sat
Am looking forward to see everyone on Sat! It'll be fun to see each other in real life.

Hi Louisa, I wud like to share my exp abt chujia though my parents are not separated. Not close nor did I grew up with them. So I ended up chujia from my grams.

Hey Chantelle, hang in there k. I believe there must be ways to overcome it. Don't be in 100% too. Take it with a pinch of salt.

Hi Snowger, I juz registered myself for Mrs Wong class in Sept too. I took the Sunday slot from 12plus to 2plus if I recall correctly. Hope to see u & more Dec MTBs ya

About Hair, I rebonded my fringe on my 3rd mth cos it will really really ugly!!! No matter how I pin or tie.... The patch of hair always make me late till I rebonded it. Relief.... I did mine at abt 1inch from the roots.... Hopefully it doesnt do any harm to my baby really since it was a real small amt of hair & they took extra care not to come in contact with my scalp or skin... Well, what's this small amt of treatment as compared to the pollution I breathe daily hehehe....... too late for me to regret......

good morning ladies..

i hope today will be better day for everyone..

we're in JULY!!! half the year has gone history..

Thanks for sharing with me all your experiences.. I think I'll probably chu jia from hotel afterall, I don't feel like troubling any of my relatives..

Do u think it's weird if I put my hubby and my name on the wedding invites without mentioning our parent's names? Or is it better that I put my Grandparent's names? I'm very close with my grandma.. she's the one who brought me up instead of my parents..

Gathering on sat.. I think I'll be able to make it.. is it too late?