(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Adeline, u can buy those zip lock milk bags if u intend to bf for long. Of cos, the prices of these milk bags are more ex $0.30 to $0.60 per bag as they are thicker. Brands range from Medela, Pigeon, Gerber, Lansinoh. I used Lansinoh brand and its the cheapest among the zip lock kind. About $0.30 per bag. I also store breast milk in bottles (Avent or Pigeon) like mamamamia.

Hi gals, there was a program on Channel 8 on Saturday and the topic was breastfeeding.
According to the program, if you boil the food with wine, the alcohol will evaporate with heat. So mummys can't drink when bf. Also, they recommended a recipe - Papaya n fish bone soup which will help in breast milk production.
So i guess we are just overly worried. Can't really remember what they say cannot eat thou. :p

Pris - me same as you, the fengshui master told me that Pig (best) or at most Rat. We were not ready last year. I was also about to give up on rat baby too! But am happy we manage to catch the last train. :p

Accdg to the calendar, i shud be having a girl. Will only find out on 01 Aug.. long long wait for shopping to begin..

Hey, what's wrong with eating bananas and mangoes? I love them!

can't join you ladies for the gathering..me muslim and restaurant not halal.
No worries, hopefully will join the next time around.
Have fun and take loads of pics and post here okie...!

Date of gathering: 5th July 2008 (Saturday)
Time: lunch
Venue: marche vivo

Attendees:
1. Jazlyn - Jazlyn or Jaz ok!
2. Bubblepearl-Jojo okie
3. raven_1313- Mabel (okie!)
4. mum2ndx
5. llig - Gill (not attending)
6. jowinbaby - Jo - Marche ok!
7. LuthAdel- Adeline - Marche ok!
8. Meilik & Hubby & Son (3pax) - Marche ok!
9. iemik0
10. mummy30- Angie - ok!
11. phylicia - ok!
12. mummyhamster
13. Cherbie
14. santorini - o.k
15. firstbaby - ok!
16. Snowger - OK (dunno if my hubby wan 2 come)
17. Jacqueline
18. Pris -- OK!
19. Carmen - Ok!

llig, for those attending prenatal class at TMC will be given the recipe for papaya/fish soup. From the net, u can find the recipe too.

<font color="aa00aa">Ingredients:

- 1 white fish tail or fish bones or fish meat ~ about 1kg
- 100g raw peanuts (or black beans)
- 1 raw or half-ripe papaya, about 1kg - cut into cubes/wedges
- 1 piece tangerine peel
- 4 slices old ginger
- 1.5 litres boiling water
- 2 tbsp oil

Cooking Method:

1. Heat oil &amp; fry ginger slices, then fry fish in oil until brown.

2. Put all ingredients into the slow cooker and simmer for about 2 to 3 hrs - generally until the soup smells really fragrant. Enjoy!</font>

llig: Oops, didn't know you're Muslim. Sorry...
As for the bananas, i heard it's not good for babies cos they'll have a lot of phlegm. Not sure about mangoes though.

Snowger: ^5!!! What is the zodiac of your hubby &amp; you? For me (dog) &amp; Hubby (dragon)...we're also very happy we managed to get on the Rat train. Hee....

2nd baby: Thanks for sharing this recipe.

2nd baby
Thanks for the recipe! Seems like a huge portion though..any chance if you know if its yummy?? Maybe i'll try smaller portion first time around.. really do want to breastfeed this time around.

pris
no worries la. Me a muslim convert cos hubby malay muslim.. Maybe, next time around, we can 'take over' someplace cosy like Mad Jacks at Bukit Timah. Its a little place and if we do go there, they can close shop and serve just us and our tummies!! hahaha...

Pris: Me (rooster) &amp; hubby (goat). My colleagues and friends all gave me wierd looks when I told them die die must be rat! I love hamsters and I have 2 at home!!! We should be going back to the same master to get a nice name for the baby.
Will you also do tat too?

llig, according to the program they didn't fry the fish. They only have three ingredients: fish bones, ginger and she only recommend half ripe papaya (i.e. those tat r still partially green). I guess each recipe differs. :p Papaya only put in and cook during last 15 mins.

Snowger,
so i just add fish bones, ginger and half ripe papaya and let the slow cooker work its magic?

sounds much simpler...

OOoH... Good morning ladies! I am working half day today!Sianzz.. hehe Thanks to all ladies out there who respond to my rant of baby rat!! All of u are so sweet with your kind words! Haha! Actually i dun mind baby rat lah, of coz most important is bb's health. Just that i have an irritating colleague who is also born in the year of rat. She appeared to be damn irritating and disgusting most of the time and thus i detest rats.. haha.. Guess its about the character of the person, not the yr they are born in. I shall groom my little baby hamster to be the best calibre, award winning hamster of the future that everyone adores! Lolz

oh btw, i heard abt the miracle fish bone papaya soup too to boost milk supply! It really works, at least for my cousin! Initially she had very low supply, having dring 2-3 times a week. Her milk flow become regular. I tried a spoonful last time when my cousin was doing her confinement, yeee.. dun taste good lor. Too fishy to my liking. Maybe those who dun like fishy taste can add more ginger to it.

llig, I have been taking papaya/fish soup every few days when breastfeeding. Suppose to increase milk supply. Its nice to drink actually. For those who deliver at TMC, one of the dishes on the menu after delivered is papaya/fish soup. You can also try it at TMC cafe.

Snowger, ya. When my mum prepared for me, she din fry the fish too.

Manage to find the recipes given by TMC. Here u go..

<font color="ff0000">200gm Green (unripe) papaya
1 Fish Head (eg, Pomfret, Kurau fillet)
1 Slice of ginger

<font color="0000ff">Method:
Scale and clean the fish
Simmer together with pieces of papaya and ginger for 4 hrs or till soft and appearance in milky colour.
Do not stir soup too often, remove papaya and bones before serving.</font></font>

payaya in fish soup? will it taste werid? hehe i dare not drink it hehe! kaka =X

snowger. hehe yeah fengshui master also say pig is a very very good year to give birth. but they said rat is better. Me and my hubbie both are monkey. so normally rat and dragon is good for us. hehe I hope to get a OX too! but maybe later HAHAHA

Pris so now are u craving for durians on and off? they say eat durians good is it? baby will be big size and fat?! is it true? Hmmm

btw gals do ya tummy itch? sometimes i sit and skretch my back i feel my back so itchy. do you gals have this too? or tummy itchy? i keep sratching non stop! and oh.. when can my tummy hair stop growing?! aiyo.. i feel like shaving it. hahah. anyone put skretch marks oil already?

hi llig, yeah. According to the program, they cook the fish bones with ginger first until done, then put in the papaya (cook for another 15 minutes) then can drink liao. I can also ask my MIL for her tried and tested receipe. She absolutely swears by it and she said she will make it for me to drink after birth. Btw, stress can also be a factor for less bm so we must relac lah and think of baby when expressing/feeding - triggers brain for "letdown" or flow of milk!

Chantalle, I think for the fish bone, there are certain fish when cooked will be more "fishy". My aunty mentioned can use this nou(2) he (in hokkien). It's quite an expensive type of fish and will taste good. Else the "fried" method will also remove the fishy taste and make the soup more fragrant. (i.e. means u can put less ginger)

wah indeed sound more yummy with the frying method of the fish.
Ermm.. anyone heard of the cabbage wrap on the breast during confinement? What isit suppose to help to do? Cool down the breast??? lolz

2nd Baby, that's why I want to go TMC. They say their food taste good.
somemore got soup for confinement one! *haha*

Fabbie, I saw an article about 2007 Pig is the best year in 600 yrs!!! Cos the elements of that year's piggys are very balanced out.
But it's good, my hubby and I may plan for another rodent - Rabbit! This one haven't ask my fengshui master yet. Will ask him next time I see him. :p

Btw, I also get itchy tummy sometimes esp at nite when tummy is bigger. Think cos skin too dry after streching/expanding. Some of the MTBs here started strech mark cream liaos. Cheapest is Olive Oil. Or you can try Palmers (not recommended if u hv sensitive skin) or Clarins.

My grandma did say babies tend to grow bigger if you eat durians. I was quite fat cos my mother eat lots of durians till she got fever then land up in hospital on guclose drip. So durians + glucose = fat baby = me.

Pris, me also same... I went to Joo Chiat Road - ForSeasons Cafe with my parents and sis. Not too bad but the D24's portion each time is SOOOOO big. Their business quite good also.

llig: The next gathering, maybe you can suggest a Halal restaurant with yummy food for all of us.

Snowger: The FS master we consulted for our wedding was my friend's uncle. But my ILs have their own FS master that they always consult so i guess we'll be going to theirs for the Baby's chinese name.

Chantalle: My 2nd sis is also born in the year of Rat but frankly, we don't get along that well. Hopefully my little Mickey/Minnie and I will have a great bond.

I don't like papayas so right now, i have no idea whether i'll like the papaya fish soup. Shall keep my fingers crossed i'll have enough BM supply. Haha.

Fabbie: Yes, every now and then, i'll still crave for durians. Esp when i walk past fruit stalls and i catch a whiff of the fruit. It's super tempting!!! Heh...

Btw, sometimes my back is itchy too. My friends told me stretchmark cream/oil must also apply on our backs!!! So don't forget. I also have a hairier tummy...really feel like shaving off the hair. Can anot??

I've been using Clarins tonic oil since my 8th week. Very scared will have strechmarks so i use diligently daily.

Chantalle
Cabbage wrap is to reduce engorment..but i did heard from friends.. wrap already will reduce milk supply instead.

wow i see u gals stating the zodiac animals.. all young couple

2nd baby, Hb means hubby? He also gets to eat? Wah!!!

I jia lat liao lah! I haven't been putting my strech mark stuff regularly. I want to go and buy the Clarins one... Maybe ask my hubby see if he can get from airport. But I know Clarins have limited range sold there.

Snowger
u can try to ask at DFS... i asked my dad n friends to get for me at Airport DFS.. they all said they are not selling. So u no harm asking again

Snowger, cos hubby lazy to go out to eat so he eats the hospital food. Haa..

To get cheaper Clarins pdts, maybe u can try people's park? There are many shops selling beauty pdts at much cheaper price compared to shopping malls.

Pris: Thanks for the advice.. will take note. My tummy also hairer. I used to shave it off, but realised that it'll grow again, and thicker &amp; blacker this time round, so I decided to leave it as it is...

Rdg constipation, I used to go toilet once every 5 days, then my gynae gave me this Duphalac syrup. After a few hrs straight away will go and clear my bowels liaoz.. super effective..

LuthAdel, to answer to ur qn some time back (sorry, thread move too fast), i won't be able to attend for the lunch. work until 1pm, gynae appt at 2pm. hope u gals enjoy urselves.

jowinbaby, thanks. I use quite a bit of clarins product so know they have quite a pathetic range there. :p Will still ask my hubby to ask lah.

2nd Baby, I think my hubby will also be lazy and not go out to eat! He rather be soaking in the aircon... *haha* Giving birth in Dec also good cos school hols and he can stay with me at hospital the whole day! But I think the parking fees will be *GASP* horrible. :p

I ate some fried noodle this morning for breakfast and now feeling really uncomfortable

Hey, I was thinking since we are going to have our babies around the same time, maybe we can even consolidate our regular items and do a bulk purchase online or something. During our last visit to the infant care, the teachers there told me that it would save more $$ if you order online in bulk (diapers, stretch mark creams, milk poweder etc etc)

I love fish soup so will definitely give it a try but will use only Kurau fish bone (damn expensive and must go market very early to grab it). Kurau fish is not fishy at all and has a nice smooth texture. My favourite fish since I was a kid:p

Anyone bringing HB or children along for the gathering? If so, I think it'll be good to indicate on the list so that Jazlyn can make the correct reservation.

i think i'm in trouble... i keep having fainting spells, especially in public places. i still haven't figure out what's prob, though i used to be faintish coz of low blood pressure. guess that have to check w Dr when I next see him. do u gals have any fainting prob?

just to comment to some previous posts (the thread went faster)...

- My husband also think my tummy becomes hairer.

- i'm a gemini too. actually i hope not to get a capricorn baby. My EDD is 23 Dec, so there are chances of getting one. have asked my husband whether should induce birth so as to avoid getting a capricorn baby, my husband said no, coz let the baby choose when to come out. :-( i think u all must be wondering why i don't want a capricorn baby. it's just that i'm into horoscopes n they always say those air signs (eg. gemini) will be struggling to get along well with earth signs (eg. capricorn). i generally get along ok with people, but when i start to recap my experiences w capricorns, it seems proven right. (Sorry for anyone who is a capricorn here, i don't mean anything nasty, just sharing my worries.)

- actually i'm not keen for confinement food, but i think i have no choice. I sure be asked to eat. Coz I don't really eat fish, ginger, vinegar, pig trotter, meat cooked with dark sauce. when i start to think of confinement food, i don't know how to survive with 1 mth of such food.

- just to update fr one of my previous posts, my MIL managed to get a Malaysian CL at $1.8K for me. but the CL said if I give birth too late, she doesn't want to take up the job as it is near CNY. hmm...

- btw, anyone drinks similac or dumex for pregnant women? i'm thinking of giving away the powders coz i have, if anyone doesn't mind having a half can of similac and 4 sample packs of dumex. i tend to vomit after drinking formula milk.

Hi 2nd baby, haha like tat I won't have complimentary carpark liaos... :p Me choosing 4 bedded room. How about you?

Adel, you feeling ok? Now I tend to avoid oily food - cos i feel queasy after having them...

I just ask my aunt - Ikan Kurau is the nou he (in hokkien) tat I was talking abt! It's the least fishy n the most expensive of fishes! My aunt also usually must reserve from the uncles at the market to buy. Not easy to get ikan kurau's bones...

Juzyounme, me sama sama. The only thing I do not mind is fish... *hehe* When my hubby's cousin had babies, they will offer me confinement food to try. Didn't really like it though it smells pretty good.

Snowger
Feeling better now after drinking some water with lemon juice squeezed into it. Yah, I also realised that oily food has this negative effect on my stomach these days.

I totally agree on Ikan Kurau fish, my mum swear by it when I was a baby and frankly I love the taste of this fish, either fried or steam
Yah, i remember my mum used to go to the market and waited for the fish monger to start "auctioning" the bone (as in the whole long bone" for $50 and above but of course that bone is enough to last you for a week

Zodiac Signs
Well, my zodiac sign is Taurus (dog) and my HB is Sagittarius (monkey) so I guess baby will either be a scorpio or Sagi like hubby and rar should be ok since they'll know to be charismatic

juzyounme,

yes, fish mongers know the name so u don't have to worry.

luthadel,

guess it's the oil and carbo that's making your tummy queasy.

gosh, it's a lazy Sat isn't it? feel like napping now. zzzzzzzz

samantha, thanks. i will check it out. have been avoiding fish like anything, coz my tastebuds can't take fish or seafood since 2mths ago. and pple keep saying i should try eating fish.

I'm knocking off fr work.

Chantalle, Rat babies are quite good too.
According to the chinese horoscopes, Rats are natural leaders. Googled this for curiosity, and here's what I found in a nutshell:

2008 Sagittarian Rats:
An Earth Rat is conventional and a good achiever who likes to establish roots early in order to make a secure future for himself and his family. These Rats have the typical Rat ingenuity and mental capacity, but a strong sense of reality often alludes them preventing them from going after anything that could be impromptu. Earth Rats are honorable and love to be stabilized. Slowly and steadily acquiring wealth gives them a sense of inner peace. Although they are capable of being stingy with their finances, they do possess warm feelings for their family and friends.

Sagittarian Rats sail through life and couple wisdom with perceptive. They can spot an opportunity a mile away, and are quick to act on it. Generally, these Rats are lucky but they have itchy feet.

More here:
http://www.usbridalguide.com/special/chinesehoroscopes/Rat.htm

See...not as bad right?

HI jowinbaby,raven1313,mimiz,melik,Spaghetti,fabbie,2ndbaby,LuthAdel... and HI to mummies I din hi to before... roughly glance thru archives.. been sometime since last posted... I am a gemini too.. me (dog) HB(horse).. 1st boy(pig).. now 2nd(rat or say hamster sounds more cute).. hee..

LuthAdel,raven1313-saw the updated table in the archives.. congrats for having a boy, the last last checkup shows seems got birdbird but the last checkup bb leg close tight tight can't see.. now I can only wait for my detailed scan next month to confirm liao..... hee.. hope for a girl this time round but ok with boy too.. most impt healthy hor..

The thread is moving super fast. Today went for my checkup. So sad, cannot see the gender of the baby. My gynae cannot confirm whether is a boy or girl, have to wait for another 4 wks for my checkup...

Long wait again.

funshine-same same.. I also nid to wait for 4 more weeks for my detailed scan.. long wait hor.. nvm u can think of the names first for both mickey/minnie lo.. hee..

Funshine: Be patient ok? Though i know it's tough...talk to baby and remind him/her to be cooperative and open up the legs!!! Haha...

Juzyounme: Me too. Can't really eat fish now cos i find the smell very repulsive. Btw, my auntie suggested this to me -- soak the fish in milk for 15 minutes BEFORE cooking and the milk will help to remove fishy smell. My MIL has tried it this week and i can eat the fish!!! Haha...

Luthadel: I also can't take oily foods nowadays. Find them quite disgusting and they make my tummy upset too.

Snowger: Order your Clarins online. My friend &amp; i did that. It's cheaper and delivered to your doorstep after a week.

Attending a friend's wedding dinner later tonight... hopefully i won't find the food repulsive. Nowadays my tastebuds have gone all wacky!

Enne .. *wave* *wave* ... me tooo !! I need to wait for my 20th week detailed scan then I will know the gender ...so sian. that's like the 9th of July ... so long more ... SIGHHHHHHHHHH

went shopping yesterday an bought the following from Mango : 1 capri ($30), 1 bermuda ($35) and 1 skirt ($30), all with the elastic band, just like those maternity bottoms. consider cheap as compared to maternity ones.

hehe. seems like quite a few mummies who r gemini. same same here. =)

mi n hubby no preference wat horoscope as long as baby born on d 1st of d mth. hehe. coz our family is born on d 1st of different mths.

laz yr i told him i wan a baby piggy coz i wan baby to be same as mi. den tis yr tell him i wan baby mickey/minnie so same as my sis. don wan wait for one to be same as him coz roster muz wait many more yrs to come. hehe.

samantha-*WAVES frantically back* haha.. mine more long wait, mid july ler.. haha wonder can jia(1)jia(1) go back gynae to scan anot, maybe my bb will open legs?? hehehe.

iemik0-hihi.. hee... that means u will choose the date of delivery if possible?? when's ur EDD??

cannn ... just pay only lor. worst thing is the baby won't cooperate and then you can't see ...

that's why I'm not tempted to go ... appt with ultrasound scan not cheap, man ... lol

so sian have to wait for so long. Think must ask my baby to be good good and open up the legs.

By the way, does baby heart beat get slower as the day baby grows?