(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Morning Ladies
The spotting has stopped but i notice more discharge today. Maybe the cervic check really irritated my systems hahaha.

So bored at home, can't bake 'cos i can't stand too long so really can't find things to occupy myself. Will go and mess with the Baby's room later.hahaha....really boh liao

Hi morning ladies,

Can check do we need to submit the declaration form to company for them to claim for reimbursement of the government-paid maternity leave.
Anyone can advise wat is the procedures to be done. Me so confuse. Thanks

Ade, so fast u gonna c little Byran liao. I had my induction for my firstbaby and it went all well. Painless in fact cos I took epi before the pain could start. So admitted to hospital at 7am, then at 8am administer epi.

Its normal to get some light pink stain and feel painful and sore for some few minutes. I rmb when I had Strep B test, I felt the same way as u.

morning!

haven been reading the posts since yesterday...can anyone give me updates?

luthadel...excited?not bryan how many weeks?my cousin also did VE...and after that she bleed a little...then after arnd 1week...she gave birth naturally.the doctor did that to her cos her water is not enough...so maybe for you...if the same thing happen then u can have a natural birth too!

the clinic at dawson place-Alexandra family clinic..provide 5in1 and 6in1 vaccines...and is said to be cheaper..the doc also tell me himself that he is charging cheaper.but not sure if can use the CDA..the last time i ask the vaccine is arnd 200+ not including Rotavirus...

2nd Baby
That was what she told me to do. To get there by 7am but since we are using our weekend car, will get there before 7am to save the $20 coupon! ahaha

Hey, need to check with you too. Dr. Chan use the drip for your induction? Was your cervic dilated before the induction? Mine only 0.5cm dilated (i.e. fingertips) so quite worried that i may not dilate fully and end up having to emergency c-sect.

Read from some threads that for emergency c-sect, the maternity package at the hosp will void and will be based on Ala Carte pricing :S very confusing.

Juz,

Actually I read from my daughter Health Booklet, no mention of 6 in 1 or 5 in 1 but seems from Immunisation website, 5 in 1 include the jabs she will take at her 3rd month. 6 in 1 include the Hep B 2nd dose, which she will have to take at her 1st month. I am bringing her on 13 Nov for her Hep B at polyclinic. I will find out more on this. Personally, I super confused by this immunisation jabs stuffs. Somemore some jabs are FOC at polyclinic. Dunno should I take up 5 in 1 or 6 in 1. iemik0, u say 1st jab of 6 in 1 is 2months, not 3months meh?

As for CDA, I also confused. Seems that even if you apply for CDA account together with your application form for BB bonus, MCYS will send u an authorisation letter which u use this to "officially" open the CDA account at the bank, meaning you can start using it.

I know there is a Baby bonus card issued to us by the bank. We can use this to pay expenses that can be paid by CDA.

But when I go polyclinic, I saw there got a notice to ask parents to apply for CDA deduction for their child. I confused liao. I think I better wait till 13 Nov then settled.

Confused, confused, confused...

But Juz, dun worry about this 1st. Now concentrate on your delivery and confinement expenses 1st. U already have lot to worry. Who doing your confinement?

Wah.. I've been away for some time & there're just too many posts to catch up...

2nd baby,
My #1 was also induced with epi. Altho' a long labour, it was pretty painless *phew* So I don't mind going for induction with epi again this time round .. hee.. Gonna discuss birth plan with gynae later today.

Girl80,
Congrats on your double bundle of joy.. your girls are lovely babies

LuthAdel,
when i give birth to my boy i was 2cm dilated but that was after 2 days of contraction. B4 that i was only 1cm dilated. After the drip, my cervic dilate quite fast. I was in the delivery suite at 8am and my boy born at 1244pm. Try to walk more and it helps.

jo, dun panic okay.. if u dun understand how to use the pump, ask me!! I kinda know how to operate it liao. Juz need to learn how to use the hands-free thingy onie..but wait till i start wearing my nursing bra first.. kekeke. U try to rest more okay, no energy to do up baby room, juz leave it first lor. My room also super messy *no eye see*

I also got alot of discharge these few days.. so sian. Even wearing panty liner, my underwear will still be wet. I must must must remember to ask gynae next Monday..

look like all your babies are size are bigger than mine lei. My baby only weight 1.7kg as in wk 31. Wonder is he to small?

Paulyn - my HR told me she will settle for me. i don't know what she will do to settle for me eh.

iemik0 - ok....

ypg - nobody is doing my confinement. anyone ard is welcome to my home during my confinement period so that help me babysit n i catch some rest. -_- anyway, when u figure out what jab n how to settle w CDA for payment, then let me know... i'm easily confused too, especially with so much unclear work & two exams coming, so let me know the final answer.

loveangel & hippo, most probably me csect when 36w. gynae dun wan to take the risk for normal delivery cos i might bleed alot.

carmen, think should be ok to deliver at 35w+, but of course it would be better if baby can stay inside to absorb more nutrients mah. i am gg to miss my sat's appt wi dr. chen cos he doesnt wan me to walk around. so think next week then can know baby's wt.

luth, wow! monday is a big day for u! good luck and remember to keep us updated.

btw, if csect need to get a binder to support the tummy? and do we need to bring breast pump to the hospital? i overheard the nurse say if we latch baby it helps to stimulate the supply.

Hi Mimi,
for my 1st birth i didnt bring breast pump to the hospital. I direct latch the baby for that few days. Did also give the baby fm lar. cos i not sure bb full anot and dunno can he drink any milk anot.

mimi
if c-sect, beta to hav binder for support. as for breast pump, can bring along for in case baby refuse to latch den u can pump instead of giving formula milk. definitely latching on will be beta coz more bonding n increase supply. =)

Jappooh

Your baby is not that small wat...mine measured 1.75kg at 32 weeks....and dr say my baby is of average size....

I have another question regarding massage ladies...do we need to have a mattress specially for the massage? cos I read on one of the jamu massage website that they ask you prepare a mattress?

I tot can lie on our bed and have the massage?

so far my neighbours latch direct but they did request for formula milk also cos i think supply is not enough. i hope to fully breastfeed leh, so i am thinking if i should bring my breast pump along.

iemik0, the binder u are helping me to get can use after c-sect?

santorini
i hav one foldable mattress tt i use when massaging. coz d oil n scent abit strong. if stain cheap mattress den wun feel so bad ma. hehe.

mimi
if wana fully bf but wori abt supply, juz bring along la. i brought along when i had my boi. by 3rd dae, i was engorged despite my boi latching on every 2hrs. end up i pump out to relieve d engorgement. =)

d binder can be used for normal delivery n c-sect as well.

Santorini,
last time i just lie on my bed and use big towel to cover so that the oil wont stain my bed. I didnt prepare a mattress.

Oh then our babies look abt the same size.

Mimi,
i latch direct and give formula milk as well for the 1st 4 days of my baby birth cos worry baby hungry and when 1st few day i pump no milk comes out at all. So i still latch and pump. Though when i pump the bottle is empty. I only get to see the milk in the bottle when i pump on the 4th day on my baby birth. After that i give him total bm till he is 3mths old. When i going back to work i wean him off the bm.

oh then i think i better bring my breast pump along.

have yet to call the massage lady, wanted to ask when can start to massage after csect.

mimi
yipe. bring for in case lor. when u gg for c-sect? decided on date yet?

tink my massage lady told can massage 2wks afta c-sect. laz time i blur blur so onli massage 1mth afta c-sect. haha. abit late liao but lucky can c effect.

I still hv not decided on the post natal massage yet. If c-sect i rather wait for 1 month to get the wound at least 1/4 heal before massaging. If natural, i would like to start immediately.

Any comments or experience with Mdm Nadia?

morning gals.. so happy today is my last day! tmw will be starting my annual leave.. followed by ML..

Btw. i have some tummy cramps at night.. duno is this normal anot. haiz. lie menses cramps. on and off. till i cant sleep -___- maybe later will ask doc. why it happen. but my water bag not brust nor im bleeding.. I duno am i sensitive or what. but i can feel or sense that my gal is engage. Hmm we shall see what my doc say later at night! see whether i feel is correct or not. Hahha

Tara..i have a feeling urs is a bb gal!!

Mattress: we need te-lam for massage

massage, i book my massage liao but my sis-in-law recently told me got another message also not bad..call golden wellness..she gog to try this weekend ..see what is her comment..if good..i will ahead with her recommendation

Xiaopooh: we decide to donate the cordblood instead of store it.

Adelchia, ur boss so good..actually my boss also machiam like stop giving me work to do..but i still have projects on hand yet to complete..and i need to faster brief my new colleague who is taking over me...in case i pop anytime..haha

Today really v tired and suffering from backache..so taking urgent leave to rest and relax at home..after the past 2 weeks..i merely drink less than 3 cups of water in office..too busy liao.. nowsdays my colleagues from sales, products, marketing..saw me..ask me..: u still ard? or they can call me..have u delivery..oh..not yet..good..i ask u..etc..piangz..haha

ade
im wif mdm nadia. her massage veri relaxing n soothing. can reali c slimmin down effect even thou i massage one mth ltr. hehe. juz tt her charges r slightly higher dan d rest.

Bubblepearl,

Is it? You think it's a girl?!!

Hehe....alot of aunties...especially those in the kopitiam...when they see my tummy, always say it's a boy...cos my tummy is sharp....

Aiyah...some days i tink it's a girl, some days i tink it's a boy....soon!! i'll know...

anyway..if we need te-lam...put the te-lam where?
on top of the bed? I tink i will just buy the waterproof sheets to cover my bed....and have the massage on the bed....

bubble pearl...you better rest lor....switch off abit never mind.....

Adel,
so good that your boss stop giving u work.
My Edd is on 27 Dec and my job send out a project list and she plan my work till Dec 26. They didnt get any part-time to take over my job. my this poor colleague have to took over my job. so poor thing..

Helloooo all!!! yAY.. SO EXCITED! I finally got all my baby stuff from the good advise here!

Hurray!! Washed all my the bb clothings also, Aiyo Buay tahan, the bb clothes look so cute when i hang out the laundry to sun! Lolz keep smiling to myself and chuckling away at the balcony, my MIL saw me and must have thought that i got pre natal blues. Hahaha!

Jappooh: Ur bb is not small lah.. Mine only abt 1.6 at 32 weeks now. DOC SAY OK LEI.. Aiyo so big for wat? DinG Teh leh.. Wahaha.. No offence to mummies here with bigger babies! *Self comfort* Small and compact is good lah. Can store anywhere you like.

Massage: Yes! I will also find one malay lady to do it. Heard from my mum that she got a good lobang from Indonesia. I will get the contact and post here as well.

Nipples: Yes, Mine is dark and ver big. Got very paranoid and disgusted.. when i change my clothings nowadays, I ask my hubby to cover his eyes so he dun see it. Am afraid he will be turn off.. Yday, i find that my nipples are somehow dry and seems a bit cracked. Need to buy nipple cream now??

mum2ndx,
thanks for still remember me...always be a silent reader here...

Just a little update from my side, so far bb ok...always pray that bb will be healthy, good...and talk to him to come out when weeks 38. Like Jazlyn, i will go back to Malaysia for delivery, so hope bb will be guai guai stay inside mummy tummy. So will be taking ML from Dec onwards...

Regards to my gynae in Malaysia, we ask him whether will go holiday during dec...he say no...cos there will be a big operation to be done. But, he say how come we never ask him 1 very important question. Then we puzzled....he say we shd ask him whether he will die????? ohhhh..this gynae very funny...cos he is a very old man...he say few of his friend already no more....then we shd worry about he not around and not he go for holiday.

Girl80, congratulation on your 2 little princesses

Luthadel, hope you have a smooth delivery and waiting for your handsome boy pix...

BTW, hope all mummies will have a smooth delivery.....

Apologies cos this is an old topic...
I was banking on my sis to lend me her Avent manual breastpump but its still stuck with one of her friends so it looks as if i might need to get one for myself but am clueless on which is best. You ladies have researched/tried/tested so any advise on which pump i should go for and where's the best place to get it? I wasn't successful with BF my #1 due lack of BM and this time round if i do have sufficient, i most likely wld not be expressing after ML is up (cos my office is a male-dominated hell-hole!). Unless i have loads of supply..

Appreciate your advise.. TIA!

llig
if don intend to pump afta gg back to work, best option is to get avent manual pump. its veri good juz tt hands will be aching la. coz i find no point getting one eletric one unless gonna pump long term. can spend d money on other stuff. =p

Scarletgal, ya... same same. Epi works wonder. Hehe.

Ade, mine was 0.5 cm dilated before induced too. Then in the noon was 3 cm dilated only. Was 9 cm dilated in the late evening.

Hi All Mummies

Thanks for all the encouragement. I have discharge from hospital yesterday but both my gers did not came home with me. I cried and feel so heart pain. But on the other hand, i know that they will be in safe hands under the care of the doctors and nurses in the Special Care Nursery.

My only wish now is for them to grow fast and healthy then they can be home soon. Now still trying hard to pump my milk coz still no supply yet but i won't give up. I will perserve!!!

Some updates on my birth story via C Sect :

Reach the operating theatre at around 8.40am, they start to inject the epidural on my spine (it is so damn painful that i drop my tears), within 10 secs, i could feel that my lower half of the body is totally numb. They start the operation at 9am sharp and i can feel something cutting my stomach although there is no pain. The pressure and cutting sensation is really scary. Then by 9.17am, i can feel people pressing hard on my stomach and the pulling of my 1st baby out, follow by her loud cry, by the next minute, same pulling and pressing continue and my 2nd baby is out with a loud cry as well. By then i can feel like my stomach is suddenly so empty and i cried as well. It is really a once a lifetime experience i had.

llig,
i agree that the avent manual pump is good if it not for long term. I used that for my 1st preg cos that time i only intend to pump for 3 mths. Cos my office also no place for me to pump milk. Though hand do ache, after a few days will be used to it liao.

Mine is a hand me down by my sis. If u dun mind 2nd hand can go to the WTS section to see any mummy selling it anot.

sure iemiko, thanks!!

chantalle, u r fast!! last to buy the stuff but not last to wash them up hor.. mine ready long time ago, but baby's clothes still inside the laundry basket and I have conveniently chucked the basket inside the bomb shelter so tat I don't see them..hopefully i will not forget abt it..hahaha, else when bb come out, no clothes to wear, he has to go naked! kekeke

girl80,
glad that u are discharge and resting at hm now. Dun worry your 2 little angle will be in good hands. They will be able to go hm soon.

So touch to see and hear the 2 little angle. The loud cry shows that their lungs are strong.

girl80, the feeling must be v good? but feel empty like v sad leh..imagine we have been carrying our bbs already w us..for 30+ weeks..and suddenly no longer part of us..feeling must be weird..later when they go to school..go outing with friend..get date..married..gap is getting wider..hmm..think i am thinking too much now...haha

jappooh...my baby also 1.7kg at 31 weeks...but not sure about now...next check up is only on 18 nov...still long....cant wait to see baby. my stomach feel more and more tense nowadays...not sure if it is ok...

For wall borders, there are quite a lot of designs at Forum the shopping mall .. twinklet totts.. I bought from there.

San, gd to have another mattress. I used those foldable mattress and placed another piece of big towel over it cos of the oil and herbs to be applied, so may stain the bedsheet.

If massage u on the bed, the massage lady may be quite restricted with her movement.

iemik0/Jappooh,
Okie thanks. Is there any other cheap alternative to the manual pump? Cos me having quite bad tendonitis this time around...not sure if will be able to pump. (having trouble opening canned drinks even!)

bubble pearl,
though feel empty when the baby is born, when u carry the baby in your arms is another diff feeling. When u see the baby start growing and everytime the baby reach a milestone is another joy loh.

Nowadays i enjoy the moment when my boy wave me goodbye at the window when i go to work. And when i am back hm he is waiting for me at the gate. A hug from him just make my day.

emeraldbride, i very fast hand fast leg one, haha kiasu mah. Wah U buy bb clothes then liao dump in bomb shelter ah? haha! Rmbr to take out and wash if not baby very fast out grow them. My room is too small and there is hardly any walking space after buying all the stuff. Need to buy some boxes from Ikea for storage.

Yesterday evening we were fixing up the baby's cot and hubby and I were doing it in the living room. But alas! when we were done, the baby's cot ended up too big and we have problem shifting inside the room as the corridor is too narrow! Seems like we need to dismantle it again and do it in the room instead. WASTE OF ENERGY AND TIME!! AArghzz. Classic case of fail to plan and plan to fail.. sighz

iemik0
Just contacted Mdm Nadia. She is fully booked for Nov & Dec plus she has another partner who will service the West while she concentrate in the east. So no go with her liao.

Any other massage lady to recommend????

girl80, dun be sad okay!! Now ur twins are in hospital, they will receive the care they need for them to grow stronger.. u visited them daily?
Now u hv to tink happy thoughts, pump more milk and bring them to hosp to feed ur gers and if got extra store them up so that when they r back home, u can feed them as well.. U r a strong mummy so I m sure u can do it..

I tink i will also cry and miss the bump of my tummy after giving birth.. carrying him ard for 9 mths is no easy task.. even now typing alr feel the tears coming liao.. being inside of us makes us feel so close together..same heart rhythm, he taking my food..etc etc.. hmmm the joy of being a mummy!!!

Hi Sam,

me also went check up yesterday 35weeks3days. head is down but partially engaged only. baby weigh 2.8kg which doc said abit on the big side as average is 2.5kg at this time (when i asked).

I suppose if i hadnt ask, he will not say is big as he wants me to try natural birth still, though i told him i hve phobia from last and wanted c-sect this time if baby is big.

Then doc flipped back to my old record when i was carrying my boy last year and said both babies will be ard the same birth weight if carry till full term 40weeks this time. My boy weighed 3.6kg at birth.

bubble, saw ur status, got durian cravings ah? I was at Redhill on Wed and I smell durian..made me feel like eating but luckily i was still not feeling very well tat time, so i did not buy any.. hehehe, now the craving is gone!