(2008/11) November 2008

<font color="0000ff">mommies,
My confinement ending tml. How do u cope without any helper with bb &amp; all the feeding, pumping, washing of bb clothes &amp; hsework?

I m wondering how to since I can barely cope with the feeding &amp; pumping alone liao. Always vy tired after whole nite feeding at 1am, 3am &amp; 5am, by 7am, my MIL will take over to bottle feed my bb. But after confinement, dunno how to handle nite &amp; day @-0'' stress...</font>

hi mommies, need help here.
I called maya for post-natal massage, but she is totally booked for the month of dec. But this month is my 2nd month after delivery le, how ah?
I heard after 2nd month, post-natal massage no longer effective le. I am unable to contact one that i booked earlier, think she changed her phone or something. Nothing is smooth sailing for me. Do you have a good ml to recommend?

Bear, dont feel guilty lah, you are doing very well already. if you feel guilty i lagi worst lah.
I can understand how you feel now, i also went through the same phase.. cry for no apparent reason.. post-natal blues due to lack of sleep and stress over ss and latching and painful boobs... but i think you will be stronger at least you seeing some results liao. Dont give yourself too much stress k. jiayou!

hey mommies, i found a ml le. fabbie , i found your post recommending ida, she managed to squeeze me in next week. Thanks for sharing.

teat: i am using NUK teat. find it good and bb dun have nipple confusion.

going back to work: when u mummies going back to work? i am thinking of going back after 2 mths of ML... then the rest of the ML will leave it to flexible leave.. ;p

JJmom, i cannot handle lor, so i put him at my mom's place for this week. Need some rest or i'll break down. I will try to handle him myself starting this weekend. I think cc got herself another confinement lady to help out another month.

chillipadi, for the swimming trial session, do i need to call and book first? thinking of taking him swimming this weekend since he already turned 1 month last week.

Good MOrning!!!

I am using NUK teat too and bb got no nipple confusion, my no 1 i used Advent n my no 1 got nipple confusion in the beginning.

fifi, i wont be joining the beco demo le. My hubby dont like the beco carrier and prefers bjorn carrier. So will be getting bjorn instead. so sorry.

dreamyjo:
OK. But you shld know that bjorn can tarhan till 11kg but beco can go much more than that hor. And bjorn, the weight is on your back but beco is distributed to the hips. That's wad I read lah. That's why i want to try beco.

bear,
thanks for sharing
will try to pump more often, but my nipples are getting really sore and skin is peeling from the areola from latching
my CL is already hinting tt I shouldnt latch so often since I dun hv much ss. But increased latching increases supply right?

fabbie,
if u hv the FB incentive discount, thats more worth it! I dun hv that.

JJmom,
hv u considered extending your CL? I wanted to, but unfortunately she has already planned to go on a hol with her family. am also worried abt coping when she leaves. as for the nightly feeds, if u are supplementing bb with FM, u may wanna consider giving her the FM as the last feed say 12am, so bb can sleep longer and u can rest at nite and latch more often during the day.

dreamyjo
no problem hope u enjoy her service. =) if you have breast engorgement or BM that cannot come out. you can tell her. she can help u unchoke ya breast.

happywifey
yeah i got. should be going for that ba then. =)

Re : Car seat

Mummies with 2 or more kids, can i ask after fitting 2 carseats at the back of your car, can u still squeeze in 1 maid?

My gal is going 19mths so she can't use booster yet. However, with 2 car seats behind... like no more space... my maid is pretty plump and I dunno how to include her in the car
Help! anyone got a solution (I will not change to MPV).

Happywifey:
If you are getting sore from latching, chances are, your latching is incorrect. You baby may be sucking on your nipple only. If latch correctly, won't get so sore and will improve supply.

Kash:
Disable he air bag of the front passenger seat and put 1 car seat there lor.

fifi,

my hb says no to have car seat in front leh

I have another question....what health insurance have u ladies bought for your bb? I got NTUC for my gal last year but now, NTUC already discontinued this plan so I can't buy for my boy. I have a GE agent but I dun like her.... GE health plan like not bad.... u ladies already bought plans for ur newborns?

<font color="0000ff">dreamyjo, gd tat u r getting some help then

happywifey, we wanted to but my CL also booked for her next assignment

<font color="0000ff">milderina, how is nipple confusion like? I wonder does my gal have nipple confusion coz she tends to suckle on my nipple only

my baby was really good yesterday but hubby had a hard time gettin her to sleep at nit, she was up from 11pm - 1am..yawn!

krsytel,
now she not so sensitive, and so far i have managed to put her down in her cot when she still awake and pat her to sleep. she does cry suddenly sometimes after a few mins, but i just try to pat her back to sleep first. if really dun stop aft a while then i carry her till she calms down then i put her down again. it takes a lot of patience but just gota keep tryin it over and over again. i am hoping that soon she will be able to fall asleep on her own easily too.

jjmom,
now i am doing everything myself except some chores like laundry which my mum comes each morning to help me with. but i agree e greatest challenge is how to feed and pump? especially when i normally busy trying to change and get baby to sleep (which takes a while!) aft a feed. and if i pump, its a while before e next feed already. so i decided to just pump once a day now at night when hubby is home so that he can help to burp,change and put baby to sleep so i can immediately pump other side aft feeding..

dreamyjo,
so you wont see your baby for a week or you will be stayin over with your mum?

hi mummies, hardly come in these days as I have been taking care of my gal alone in the day for the past 7wks.. my hubby going back reservist tmr for 2 wks..haiz~ will be worse, night feed will be real busy liao, but luckily she usually only wake up once in the night. Been really tiring taking care of her in the day, but when seeing her smile happily n sleeping sweetly, everything seems worth it =)

mummies, for the baby bonus and cda account, anyone process it yet? I had not done anything yet. I heard there is this ocbc counter in tmc that can help to process, is that true?

haru, initially plan is to put bb at mom's place for a few days on monday and bring him home on friday nite. In the meantime, i'll visit him daytime one or 2 day. but now change of plan, i will move back mom's home tonight cos brother going for vacation tonight, scare mother xin gu cos she got to care for my brother's son too, also to learn some ropes of handling my son. She seem to have a way of handling him. my maid told me he cries less there as compare when he is here with us.

Hi dreamyjo,

I done my baby bonus, cda account open the OCBC account together with my BC in Mt A... the Mt A counter lady do all for us..

Good afternoon mummies!

happywifey,
Initially my nipples also sore from all the latching.. But then now its ok liao.. maybe u can try feeding him EBM in between. So that u can let ur nipples rest a while. Or mayb can check whether baby is latching correctly. One thing good is I won't have engorgement. But then let-down is pain lor..

Karen,
Cause I tot only when baby's head can lift up den can use carrier??

dreamyjo
hi hi i havent done yet. i heard that baby bonus must be done within 2 months. so we still have time. =) This is what i will do. I will join a account with my gal to get a OCBC mighty saver account first.. then apply the baby bonus.. so that the money everything can go to the bank there. =)

Happy,
Glad to know that your dog is getting along well with ur baby. Give me more confidence abt bringing my doggie back home.. Can't wait to see what his reaction is when he sees the new member at home.

Nail-Cutting :
I cut my bb's nails with the Pigeon nail cutter. I will wait till she asleep after her bath cos then the nails are softer and easier to cut.

Dreamyjo,
I've jus sent in my baby bonus application and yet to apply for the cda account. Meanwhile still waiting for Mcys to get back to me.

Glad_gal,
I was actually thinking when should we upgrade the teats for the bottles. I'm still using no 1 for the avent bottles. Looks like i got change to no 2. My girl is turning 2 months soon.

Last night i gave my bb 40ml of FM and then latch her on for 20 mins, she slept thru the night from 12plus to 6am. I'm so happy, first time i can sleep so long after CL left.

Thanks mummies for the advice. I will be going to tmc tomorrow, maybe i'll check with the ocbc bank counter staff or pass to the serivce counter staff to process.

Fabbie: I quite like their swissroll but find the mochi abit thick. Didnt try the angku kueh.

Amore: Thks. Will try pigeon teat and see how!

JJmom: Initially was v stressed after CL left, but don't worry, you will get used to it after a while. I didnt bother with much housework haha. BB clothes I just wash in washing mach every 2 days. My mum comes over nearly daily to help cook for us, so I focus on lookg after baby. Tiring but body sort of used to it! Just rem to rest whenever your MIL is ard or bb zzz.

Kash: Wld be buying a health insurance plan, since nowadays hosp bills so exp! Shld be getting a plan fr my gd friend cum agent, from Manulife.

Babyzel, I am already using Avent teat No 2!! My bb abt 1.5 mths. Hmm looks like I have to try Pigeon and Tommy Tippee and see if got any improvement :p Don't have NUK teat though.

karen: I was told by mt A counter that CDA account they will mail us more info and I received a letter stating i qualify fo bonus only..what to do next?

I am wanting to open CDA a/c for baby...

Hello everyone!

Been so long since i came in lots have happened. hope everyone will get through this tough period soon and at the end of the day we see the happy smile on babies faces it is all worth it hor.

So we must all hang in there!

After a month i still cant get baby to latch well even with 2 lactation consultant's help.
So nw i pump most of the time realise my milk supply is going down as well. lets hope it wil get better with more rest...

My cl and I sobbed on her last day, can see she grown attached to my bb. I cry bc i really felt well taken care of. No more warm meals on time...So emo..

Amore> Thanks for the link on the funnel, but dunno whether shd get another funnel bc one side bigger than the other.

5th week since delivery, still need to put pantyliner to catch that one or two drop of blood, hope it will end soon.

Bear> Glad to see ur posting on bf, all ur initial fears on bf out of the window already, u are doing very well
I am giving my bb 3 feeds of fm in the night, the rest bm, still got no excess to store.

Sabre,
how come let down is pain? i have not experienced it before so i dunno how is it.

krystel,
today my baby is a lil fussy about being put in cot to sleep. but hubby sms me from work to keep it going, finally she asleep now. hopefully she wont wake up halfway and cry again.

Babyzel,
wow!! 6 hours through e nite, i think thats a record!

brocoli,
you are blessed to have such a nice and committed CL, can tell she really loved taking care of your baby.

<font color="ff0066"> 1st Month Celebration</font>
*sob-sob* I made booking wz Neo Garden for the buffet catering. Then recevied a call from them on Saturday tat their normal buffet not valid during X'mas. Gotta take their X'mas menu. When I see their website... I found the menu I wanted to order... but it costs $1 more per person.
Worse still... the I cannot use the SBI card for discount. Haiz.... end up spending more $$$.. If I know earlier would hv made BB's 1st Mth on 13 Dec liaoz.

<font color="ff0066"> Sweetest Moments</font>,
I've ordered BB Janessa's 1-mth cakes from them. Juz getting the basic $8.90 pkg. But instead of 4 Ang Ku, I'm changing to 2 Ang Ku and 2 Mochi. Hope the food is nice bah.

<font color="ff0066"> Brocoli</font>,
Can see you have a berry relationship wz your CL. *lucky lucky* hehhehe... me dun hv CL since delivering #1. All also settle myself. So tiring...

<font color="ff0066"> Minkybear</font>,
Oh dear... how come BB cannot latch on properly? Is it due to nipple confusion? Slowly okies... the most imortant thing for good milk ss is not to be stressed. The more stress u are... the less ss. Jia-you!!

<font color="ff0066"> BB Co-sleeping</font>
Haiz... nowadays I give up putting BB in her bed liaoz. Cos I find tat when she's co-sleeping wz hub n me, she can sleep longer. On Monday nite, she slept from 12-midnight till 4am. Last night, she slept from 12am-5am. Wow!! Can't believe it! Haiz... as long as she sleeps long long at night... anything is fine wz me man. *LOL*

Have not been loggin in for the past few day.. Confinement finally ended!!! Hooray!! CL left on sunday morning..Hv been doing the nite feeds for the past 3 nite.. Tiring... hv to wake up every 2.5 to 3hrs... Hoping tat bb can sleep thru...
For the last few days/nite, i m so pek chek cos b took abt 1/2 hr to finish up the milk, plus he only drink abt 70% of the FM.. So i m so stress up, cos by the time he finished the milk, i hv only 2hrs left till the next feed.. sometime i cannot take it, will scold n 'smack' him on the thighs.. felt so bad..
Finally decided to change the teat to M size, n now feeding time reduce to abt 15min..

Check with u mummies, if ur bb dun burp, do u continue to burp him or just leave it?

My mum ask me to eat confinement food till 40 day, really hope it will end faster so that I can eat all sort of things!!

Really hope the 1-3mth phrase will pass faster, so tat bb can be more stable..

Mummies with #2

Find it really hard to please both child.. have to take care of bb and at the same time hv to make sure got some time for the elder..

Plus my #1 is so rough with the bb.. really headache... He actually loves the bb alot, but just tat the way he expressed it is too rough, dunno how to remind him..

sabre,
am trying to let my nipple heal first before latching her on again. so frustrating..

minkybear,
I know how u feel.. its not easy to latch correctly
I feel like I am latching the way the LC taught me and it feels correct, but I still get sore nipples

dymples,
maybe you can try melrose, they didnt seem to insist on any xmas menu when I called them yday.

CDA account:
seems that most mummies are choosing ocbc over standchart - does ocbc have better rates/privileges? think my hubby has opened with standchart already.

Teats:
my bb doesnt like nuk teats, the flow is too fast for her even the NB ones. she does well with the medela teats.

just fed my baby, put her down awhile n ate a slice of choc cake to soothe myself. by e time i eat finish she start to cry liao..=( now carrying her w her huge eyes staring at me. wonder if she'll sleep....sigh..

Thanks for your supports! Really appreciate it. Luckily my husband took leaves this week and he is supportive on BF... I cried almost everyday complaining abt my MIL to him and he tried to comfort me as much as he can...

Re BF:

My bb very impatient she refuse to get latch on last few times and I finally managed to let her latch on the other day for about 15 mins, so happy.

But today my MIL ask me not to latch my bb on cos she says I dont have much supply and bb is sucking in Air and got lots of wind in her stomach ... first time I heard bf got wind! So Upset I cried again.. complaining to husband. Luckily my husband supported me but now everytime I want to bf I very tense, thinking bb dont want my breast, even when I try to pump I also very tense, thinking I dont have enough milk for bb...

haru,
cause the feeling is very strong. And somemore sometimes I brush across my nipples also will trigger let-down lor, then milk will start dripping. So irritating...

Mosh,
That time I also keep complaining to my hubby about my MIL. I can't even stand being in the same room as her lor..And complain until even I feel myself being very unreasonable..

Tell ur MIL u r not milk bottle lor, so don have wind. don think about how much baby will need to drink. Just pump and latch, pump and latch.. Slowly ur supply will build up de.. My MIL also sometimes ask me is it I don have much milk den baby every hr will drink. Then I just tell her its normal. And hubby will also tell her I have enough for baby de..Jiayou, with ur hubby supporting u, u can do it de!!

<font color="ff0066"> cutiemum</font>,
My BB dun usually burp even after much patting and rubbing. So if after 5-mins, still no biurp, we'll leave her be lor. More often then not, she'll fart later on. *LOL*

<font color="ff0066"> happywifey</font>,
Thks for the info. Din know tat Melrose also does catering. Their menu not bad leh... cheap yet lots of variety. Hv placed order wz them online liaoz.
Once they confirm then I'll cxl my slot wz Neo Garden.

<font color="ff0066"> Mosh</font>
Aiyoh... your MIL really too much lah. But then again, tink she belongs to the old school of tot. Juz ignore her yah. Ever since when BF got wind one?
Tell her the doc all recommend BF-ing hor. Dun stress yourself too much over this. Juz concentrate on latching BB and pumping.
Then once your ss increases can show it to her face. *Hhmmpp* You go girl!! We are all here supporting you!

Dreamyjo, Brocoli, i dunno why i feel this way.. i feel like i haven't done my motherly duties if i dun give him 100% EBM. but its simply impossible! yesterday he drank 930ml!! and he is only 15 days old! every 2 hrs he will wake up and cry, rooting his head from side to side!!! i now pump abt 800ml a day, still not enough for him. his intake not consistent one.. the day before only drank 620ml.

Brocoli, i still have a lot of fear abt bf-ing.. worry each pump my ss will drop.. sigh..

Mosh, eh, u not a bottle leh.. ur breasts inside got air meh? u shd tell ur MIL bottle feeding increases chance of colic. and doesn't mean u can't express means no milk hor. u shd call the lactation consultant in to show her. initially i also tot i got no milk. then the LC came and showed me the correct way of getting the milk out. my milk was squirting everywhere! she also taught me the correct way of using a pump so may be u shd just get her in, show ur MIL ur nei neis are full of milk!

RE: CDA acc
I also haven't done it yet.. leaving it to my hb to do it.

its been a looong day today. but finally she sleeping now..hopefully she wil only wakey aft dinner later. =P

Liv,
i am also looking for compact cooler bag. do you know where else other than kiddy palace i can find nice ones? does isetan have any? going to cut my hair this sat. thinkin of looking for cooler bag for EBM in case hubby needs to bring baby out without me in e near future.

haru: so far i only know kiddy palace got.. another type is fridge-to-go bag but very bulky n not nice leh.. that's y i go online find... hee.. if u saw any nice one, tell me k.. thanks!

CDA acc
We had chosen OCBC

Had been asking around for baby 2nd does Hep B which should be one month after delivery, however, some clinic did suggest to take the 6-in-1 vaccination on 2.5 months, anyone know about this?

dymples,
no prob, glad u got that sorted out
can i ask if sweetest moments charged u extra for changing items? they din seem to allow any change when I asked.

haru,
wat pump are u using? thot the pump shd come with the cooler bag? anyway, I like the medela cooler bag, black, simple and nice, can put 4 bottles, but not sure if they sell it separately tho.
btw, yr confinement lady allow u to go and cut yr hair?? mine is so strict abt washing hair, i dun even dare ask her when I can hv my long-awaited hair cut, haha.

Hair Wash:
I washed my hair and bath on my 20 days.

Fifi:
Is your Dec spree still going on or end?

Massage Lady:
I will also only start to massage next monday, my CL told me as long as within 40 days, should be effective, hope so. My tummy is still "watery"