(2008/11) November 2008

Eh sorry for the Bebe Au Lait spree, I need to close asap as if no one else buying, I will tonpang someone to buy for me instead. So can I have a show of hands if you want.

bluebear

i had very bad experience with my gal last year when i latched her lying down... she will halfway puked out all the milk due to the flat position. I tried once with my boy this time.. he also puked out milk.

alibaba,

me same as u leh...sleep more impt. even if i wake up in the middle of the nite due to engorgement, i will continue to sleep as long as i can tahan. This morning woke up at 6.20am... Last Pump was at 11pm. Wanted to get up to express but my daughter screamed for mummy.So I had to sleep next to her. Unfortunately, after 30mins she was still awake. I only managed to express at 7am with her awake running around. Luckily hb fed bb at 5.15am. He slept for 5 hrs with 130ml of EBM at 12.15am !
I got 300nml this morning. My highest so far was 310ml. U got 320ml! Fabulous! heehee...

Btw, abt puking, after burp, try to hold him in a upright (angled) position for about 20 mins before putting down. SEe whether it helps?

Fabbie,
Wow, you have very good ss of BM leh. I think the itchness on the breast could be due to breast milk. Tried applying warm towel on your breast and air it clean before wearing a bra. I used to read that it could be due to breast pad too as it absorb breast milk and is damp so it cause the itchness. Maybe you want to try a day without breast pad to see if it help.

Feng Mo/ Hives,
Sunshinekid, I remembered my granny used to said one would developed hives after delivery if not kept warm. That mean the wind blow directly at you (not wind from the fan). Tat why the older generation wrapped themselves up like a China doll after delivery. Granny old method was to heat rice wine on a metal plate till it hot and use a mushroom (xianggu)and dip in the hot rice wine and apply onto the rash area. It will go away in a few days time. I used to see her do that for my aunt. Maybe you want to give it a try.

Haru,
I think your bb is too used to being carried to sleep. Try not to make it a habbit. For my #1 she was so used to being carried to sleep that the moment, she was put down, she will wake up or sleep less than 10 mins once we put her down on cot. Then no choice, I actually carried her to sleep till she was 9 months old. Those were almost the scariest days of my life that this time round we learnt our lesson that we dun carry #2 that much.

If you are nursing her, try to nurse her with both of you lying down in bed (lying position). Once she is done and dozed off, you can slowly removed your nipple and leave her in that sleeping position. Hope this help.

Mummies doing pumping,
I need your advice. How do you all tell that you have empty your breast during each pumping session? When I pump, there seens to be like not much output (originally my pumping was every 3 hourly with 140ml. Last sunday onward, it dropped to 40ml w/o reason) Could it be something that I have eaten or I did not fully empty my breast that cause the drastic drop?

Hi Jo

At least u r still trying and latching on, hehe.. for me it complete stop liao.. Wonder ur MIL theory is true not, cos i put on abt 17kg.. but think during pregnancy, i didnt eat alot of fish, that y no supply..

Lilian

For my #1, it the same as this #2, oso no supply, only the miserable 10-15ml.. so that y, i think my body is like tat, cannot produced milk.. hehe.. n the main reasaon i think shld be tat i didnt eat alot of fish during pregnancy..

D u all consume alot of rice wine, liquor? I only managed to finish 2 bottles of rice wine, 1 bottle of DOM, and abt 13/4 bottle of Martell..

Mummies with #2 or more

Does ur epistomy (wound) heal up? For mine, this time round seem to be slower.. Remember that for #1, it quite fast.. HB said that this time, the cut is longer than #1. So is it the same for ur?

<font color="ff0066"> Afternoon Mommies</font>
Aiyoh... I'm so tired today. Lst night was kept awake by BB from 1am till 3.30am. *aarrgghh* Tried to BF her... but after 5-10 mins of suckling, she'll fall asleep. Tried all ways to wake her up also no use. Then when put her back in her Amby bed, she'll wake up 30-mins later screaming for feed. Latch her back on... same story... suckle 10-mins fall asleep. *fed-up* In end... hub feed her FM but she take only 30ml. Finally she slept from 3.30am till 6.30am. Then hub feed her FM again so that I can get more sleep. She slept and woke up at 9.30am. I was so tired, decided to BF her whilst lying down. Haiz.... wanna faintz liaoz.

<font color="ff0066"> Haru</font>
Try not to make habit of carrying BB wor. My #1 was totally spoilt. Everytime also must carry. It got to a point where go out also problem cos she dun wanna sit in the stroller. So I learned my big big lesson and for both #2 and now this #3, everyone is not allowed to carry BB too much. If she cry... slowly respond by rocking the sarong first or pushing the stroller. Only when BB continue to cry then carry out. But once she's calmed down, to put her down in rocker/bed/stroller. HTH's

<font color="ff0066"> cutiemum</font>
I had episiotomy for all my 3 deliveries. The worse was for #1 cos I had a complete tear to my rectum. Tat one took nearly 3-weeks for complete healing. For #2 and this one, after the 1st week, the pain better liaoz.

dymples,
eh.. my girl nowadays also like tat. sometimes i wonder if i got sleep or not. wakkakka......

cutiemum,
my 2nd one the cut was shorter cos bb smaller.

Dymples/Milderina

For my cut, this is already the 4th wk liao, but still not completely heal yet.. But not much pain lah after 1st wk.. Just tat the wound not completely close up yet.. Cos i remember for #1, te wound closed up when i went back for my gynae visit ard the 3rd wk..
Worried cos my CL will be going back this sun.. and i have to handle all the chores liao but wound not completely heal.

Really happy tat confinement will be ending in another 3 days, but on the other hand worried cos i need to handle the bb myself liao..

Mildy: aiyoh..i never close up for you to see...she has allover her forehead and cheeks...only these two days slwoly slearing...PD gave me this cream called Bacidin to apply if she got pimple like rash..you can buy and apply for your baby.

Dymples, Sabre, Bear, Fabbie, thanks for compliments....she is such a darling...except for night! arghhhhhh hahahah

Cutie mum: same here..Cut by Doc A woody right...mine not healed yet too..but stitches going away soon....so glad your confinement ending soon..for me, though i love the food...but hated the perspiration due to the heaty food we ate...cannot blow fan and aircon..super hot...somemore got massage binding..peng sang liao!

anyone here got a lower adominal ache or not huh?
i realised sometimes when i walk got this pain at lower adominal.

cutiemum,
your wounds still pain?

<font color="ff0066"> Cutiemum</font>,
This is my 3rd week and my wound is closing up. The stitches also falling off liaoz. If at end of your confinement your wound is still healing slowly, I tink will be good to visit your gynae to chk out why.

<font color="ff0066"> Blessed Mum</font>
For this confinement I dun care liaoz. Bathe and wash hair everyday since I came back from hospital, every night sleep wz air-con and during day will switch on all the fans and blow at me. Or else so hot... cannot tahan man. If I get too hot and sweaty will become grouchy bear. hehhehe...

<font color="ff0066"> Milderina</font>
I had a lower abdominal ache during the first 2 weeks, especially when I press or massage my tummy. Towards the end of week 2, I suddenly passed out lots of small blood clots followed by heavy bleeding, then ok liaoz. Now not pain anymore. Maybe you wanna chk wz your gynae?

Kash,
i tried letting him to sit at the original drinking position for awhile sometimes.. but still the same..i guess maybe it's becos he got wind in his stomach..ya. for me slp is more important than anytin else. haa.. sometime SS like diff..my total EBM for one day varies from 680-800ml.. tink it's jus average nia leh...(
from morn 7am - 12am) recently bb drinking habit like cannot catch up with my EBM in the fridge. been throwing some away.. now i starting to store at least one pack into the freezer liao.... so heartache to throw away my jing hua! ha..

btw u gals store the full amount as the milk bag? example. a bag max amount is 160ml, i shld store it as 160 or 100ml per bb's appetite?

Cutiemum,
my wound pain has go away like 1 week ago.. now i can squat &amp; ev ting... izzit u did too much walking or wat, tat's y nv heal up yet?? u seen ur gynae &amp; wat did he say about it? better to check with him.

<font color="ff0066"> alibaba</font>
I store my BM according to BB's appetite. Currenly, BB drinks about 60-80ml per feed. So I will store about 70ml-80ml per milk bottle.
If I pump out like 120ml only, then I will split into 2 milk bottles and store about 60ml per bottle.

I have popped on 28 Dec, 8am via emergency GA c-sect
My bb gal weight 2.575kg, 47cm

Here is my birth story

28 dec
12.50am - woke up from sleep, felt something burst down there, heard a "pop" sound, suspect waterbag burst, went toilet, nothing came out, so continue to sleep

1am+ - felt a tinglish of water flowing out, went toilet, only abit of pinkish watery, not sure if that is waterbag leakage or bloody show, no contractions yet. woke hubby up, went toilet one more time to confirm, more blood, took a shower.

2am+ - check hospital bag, hubby took a quick shower. Went toilet, a gush of water came out, mild and irregular contractions

3am+ - Reach TMC, checkin at ard 4+, put on CTG, 1.5cm - 2cm diliated

4am+ - Gynae checking CTG readings, bb heartbeat dropped everytime a contraction occurs, suspect cord pressing on her

730am - bb heartbeat reading still not good, getting weaker, emergency c-sect

8am - bb is out

Abit disapoointed with the c-sect, thought I could go via natural, nonetheless bb health is more important.

Will upload pictures when I have the time.

Fifi,
thats in SG dollars.

Thanks mummies for ur advice. hubby and i have agreed to stop rocking her to sleep and start get her adjusted to sleepin on her own. so it may take a while but we will have to stick to it. will put her down when she is tired and just pat her (even if she cries) to sleep in her cot. unless she cries too long then wil pick her up to calm her and put her down again once she calms down. have to remind ourselves to hang in there!

lovedogs,
wow, i can't wait for the day my supply reaches that much!!

Milderina, Dymples, Alibaba

Actually there no more pain since Wk 2 onwards, just tat the wound is not fully close up yet, still can c abit of flesh. HB help me to check and said it healing up.. Just tat i thought the healing process this time round seem to be slower. Saw my gynae on 2nd wk, he was saying that the wound is gd, ok.. And my stitches already dissolved off liao.. Hope by these few day the wound can be fully closed up..

Blessed mum

Ya, me too cut up by Dr A.. but i found his stitching ok only.. think my previous gynae stitching is much better..

Cooling day today wor...

fabbie,
I also thinking whether to shave a not. Luckily for me, my MIL don insist de, she jus let me decide. Cause baby's hair is quite long, den was thinking wait he very hot. But then if shave I'm worried the new hair will grow out in patches...

haru,
just perservere ba.. Last night baby woke up at 3plus am den after changing diaper for him, he eye big big stare at me lor!! I rock him a bit, but he don wan to sleep, so I jus put him on the bed, lying by himself. Den he slowly drift off to sleep lor..But then usually I also carry him to sleep de... hahhaa...

Cutiemum,
I didn't even touch the DOM lor... hehehe

Mosh,
COngrats and rest well!! Hope to see your baby pics soon...

mosh,
I also had a Emergency Csect due to drop in baby's heartbeat. But it's ok la... Most impt is both baby and mummy r safe.

Anyone giving Friso Gold FM to baby? Any constipation problem??? Mine have lay.

Sabre
just spoken to my hubbie.. piew he agree not to shave my gal's hair! haha he say cut behind abit can liao. i told him if want to shave.. after 4 months when their head is hard abit =P

I think im going to change breast pads brands.. its so itchy! tollyjoy sucks. so pigeon breast pads is recommend is it?

fabbie,
I think i also trimmin his hair a bit.. cos getting long liao, and his sideburn very long lor.. Look like elvis liao..

<font color="ff0066"> Fabbie</font>,
I'm now using Pigeon disposable breast pads. Absorbent and soft. NOt istchy at all. The Mothercare breast pads also lousy... made my breasts itchy also. I tot of trying tollyjoy... but after reading your posting, tink I'll juz stick to Pigeon.

<font color="ff0066"> Mosh</font>,
Congratulations! Dun feel disappointed about the C-Sect yah. Most important is tat both you and BB are safe and the delivery went smoothly. Try to rest as much as possible and enjoy your new bundle of love.

<font color="ff0066"> Taka additional 10% Sale for members / Gucci 30% sale</font>
In case any of you are interested... Taka is now having additional 10% off for members. Gucci also having sale and if you're Taka member, get addtl 10% off.
Me will be going shopping tomorrow. Bringing BB along too. Too sianz at home... heheheh...

congrats Mosh!

cutiemum,

my both episotomy wounds for 2 births healed within a few days I think. Same day after birth no pain liao..juz slight discomfort. 2nd day onwards, no more discomfort.... My gynae said the stitching skills of the gynae very impt... so i dont think it is due to 2nd birth...hope ur wound will fully heal asap.

alibaba,

i store about 140ml to 180ml per milk bag for freezing. Think my milkbag can go up to 200ml even coz with 180ml, i can still see some spare space in the milkbag. Coz in the future, bb will sure drink more than now. BTW, dun throw away your EBM...so wasted leh... u shd see your "stock" in the fridge. Say u have 4 to 5 spare bottles for the next 4 to 5 feeds, the next EBM you shd immediately store in the freezer.

dymples,

so nice ah... going taka sale
i may go Isetan Scotts tmr morning as GAP kids and BB has sale too
But i going alone after sending my gal to my mum's place... leaving hb to look after bb :p
hahahaa....as for the sleepless nites, wanna try giving u bb gal EBM at nite instead? at least 1 feed she satisfied can sleep longer...u can ask hb to feed the EBM while u zzzz longer or u can take the time to express.

hello all! i hope it is not to late to join this forum!

i've given birth to a baby girl, Kayley on 18 Nov at NUH via C-section.

Hope to use this platform to learn from you all and also to share my experiences as a new mummy too cause I see all the friendly msgs that are in this forum!

1949764.jpg

<font color="ff0066"> Kash</font>
Wah you good leh.... can leave your BB wz hub. My hub already go back work liaoz. Then since my parents also going Taka... so we'll be bringing BB for outing lor. *LOL*

Thks for the idea. Me tried giving her EBM for night feeds but no diff leh. She will wake about 1-hour later to "drink milk milk" again.
In end gave up and now will give her FM instead so that she can sleep for 2-3 hours lor.
Me need my beauty sleep.... ZZZzzzz.......

kao_welcome2.gif
Michelle
Care to share wz us your birth story? Your BB really chubby and cute leh. I wanna aim to feed my gal till she got chubby cheeks like tat too. heheheh...

Fifi,
no leh, i ordered from local site, Bebelove.

Sabre,
thanks, we are still in e midst of getting her used to sleepin on her own which means lotsa crying, comforting and puttin her down again.=P no choice have to stick to it, if not wil be stuck with rockin her to sleep for a looooong time.

welcome Michelle!
ur baby is so cute!!!

lovedogs and dymples,
so shiok, going shopping.hahah..actually i also went to Tanglin Mall to shop a little during confinement already. coz its near to GlenE, so always go there when go to hospital for doc's appts.

Just put bb to sleep - hope he don't wake up so soon haa...tiring dayzzz. Luckily mum came to cook dinner.

Fifi: Will look thru drugstore and email you my order if you r still ordering? Think will get milk bags...

Congrats Mosh!

Fabbie: I also using Pigeon pads..not bad..

Welcome Michelle

Heya! Congrats Mosh! Welcome Michelle!

Dymples, hrmmm.. Janessa don't like to drink milk at night? wahahaha... My boy seems to be drinking a lot! he currently doing abt 720-760ml a day!

Kash, Alibaba, u guys got so much milk! sigh... i only finally managed to reach the amt he is drinking. my spare supply only reach ONE miserable Oz.. when can I leak like a tap?

Re: shopping
Lucky u guys! can go shopping! i wanna go and get a badly needed hair cut also cannot. if i go out, i can't milk.. no milk means bb has to go on FM.

Re: stitches down there
Eh, u all got go back for review one ah.. my doc just told me to go back in 6 wks' time. i feel my stitches half gone liao, but the wound is healing properly..

Re: lochia
Just a qn, how long did u gals that delivered naturally lasted? mine seems to be ending and its seems kinda short leh..

Just now baby was crying like crazy lor! Don't know what's wrong with him, cried for about 15 mins. Then its very very tong ku de cry lor.. Then I cuddle him, rock him abit den he go back to sleep liao..

Any idea what could be wrong?? Could it be wind or what??

He seem to cry everytime he stretch himself. And his legs wil be very straight...

fabbie: i went shopping at compass point today, bought the Medela breast pads 4 pcs $20.30 is thicker, and thicker than my current one i got from OG. Pigeon disposable is gd but long run more expensive...

Jes: I called Mdm Katijah to enquire abt her massage and Boy, was she rude...I was so turned off definitely won't call her for her services.

Sabre
thats cute! got sideburns liao haha

Dymples
Seriously i duno about jollytoy's pads.. but i use it i feel itchy le. and this brand is quite cheap! haha .. ya. i just bought pigeon. i hope it will solve my problems.. if not.. I really duno how! faints.

cc
think i use pigeon first ba.. and see how..

Michelle
hehee baby is very very cute!

<font color="ff0066"> Haru, Bear</font>,
Yah... going shopping cos cannot tahan being at home liaoz. I'm so bored! *LOL* But wherever I go... BB has to go as well lah... cos I'm her walking, portable milk bottle cum pacifier lor. *faintz*

<font color="ff0066"> Bear</font>,
BB Janessa likes to drink milk... juz tat at night she tends to doze off after suckling 1-side only for about 15-mins. Then when put her down to bed, she will wake up and cry to suckle again. Have tried making her stay awake to finish her feed... but to no avail. *faintz* Any tips? hehehhe...

<font color="ff0066"> Lochia</font>,
The first week, I had heavy bleeding. Then towards the end of 2nd week, it subsided. But now in my 3rd week, I will experience bleeding on and off.

<font color="ff0066"> Fabbie</font>,
Oic... no worries. When I use the Mothercare brand, my breasts also itchy. But now using Pigeon no more itch liaoz. Oh yah... dun wash your breasts especially the nipples wz harsh soap as tat will aggravate the itching. Use those BB or PH-balance soap better.

bear, for my #1 i rem my lochia only last for a week or so think the max 2 weeks... but for this #2.. I'm still bleeding a little now.. like spotting kind though already 5th week...

dymples, do u do breast compression while ur bb latch? i normally will do breats compression... so she'll drink more and faster... LC told me by doing breast compression is like having another let down.... so it can make bb wake up n drink... u can try...

cc, u bought the washable kind is it?

lilypadz > anyone here using lilypadz? gd?

can i join in?
my bb boy is only 10days old &amp; i'm having bad engorgement! =(
any advise from mummies here?
apparently i use the tollyjoy breastpad.. it's comfy.. not causing any itchiness.. =)

can ask any of u have milk stain on ur nipples after bf? how to get rid?any advise?

<font color="ff0066"> Amore</font>,
Oh thks for the idea. By breasts compression you mean pressing down on the breast with your fingers?
If it works, I'm more then willing to try it out man... hehheeh...

kao_welcome2.gif
<font color="ff0066">Dolphingal</font>
Care to share your birth story wz us? Any pics of BB?

To ease engorgement, I will massage the breasts and either get BB to suckle or else will pump out lor.
I dun use cabbage leaves cos got people tell me tat will reduce milk ss.
As for milk stains on nipples, I dun have tat leh. Maybe some of the other mommies here can help?

just fed and put my baby to sleep..

Bear,
i tot mine ended last week but it came back again 2 days ago..so its now my third week.

Sabre,
my baby cried for like an hour last nite too..end up i almost cry too..

are you still on doin direct latch now? i got so stressed last nite that i tried to pump, only managed 50ml aft like 15 mins on one side. makes me doubt myself if baby is getting enough. somemore now i doin single sided feeding so tryin to make her suckle for at least 20-30mins so she gets more (as she tends to fall asleep)..

Sabre
If baby cry for more than 15 mins sometime is wrong le.. For me if my gal keep on crying. i will carry her.. if she still cry i will change my carrying position.. Is she still cry! i will see her pampers.. If she still cry i will feed her like 1oz.. hahaha

But sometimes my baby cry because she's trying to POO.. and trying to POO takes sometimes.. its quite xin ku for them .. That day i have experience my gal cry quite long and after she poo 2 times.. she keep quiet. hehe

morning Sabre and Fabbie, yup soemtimes they cry because they are cold, pampers soiled, hungry or like wha fabbie said, they are pooing. When they poo, they will get tense up, the whole face will turn red...they become immobilised then once the poo is out...they relaxed and stop crying so no worries....but if cry like an hour, most prob is colic.

<font color="ff0000">Dymples</font>
Hi, I was thinking of getting a courier svc to pick up the BIO-OIL from your place. I think it's $7/- per trip. Cos dun think I will travel to CCK in the near future. Heheh.. Or anyone in Punggol has transport to go pick up from CCK?

Dymples
Think my Gavin also like your gal leh. Always wake up for feed, then suckle 10 mins, and then fall asleep... wake up v often lor. So wats ur plan at nite? I have been waking up every 1.5-2hrs to feed him, but drink abit, then fall asleep again.. not that I got no milk leh, I feel so engorged.

Amore:
I heard Lilypadz is quite good but its non absorbant hor.

Anyway, the nursing cover, Haru say SG sell. I think its better to buy from SG then. But they have $10 shipping charge. You want me to buy then you collect from me so that we share the charge or you want to buy urself?

Lilian

I m giving Friso Gold FM for my boy too.. So far his poo is ok, according to my CL.. it considered gd..

Kash

Ya, agreed tat gynae skills are very impt in stitching.. For mine, it not pain liao, just tat there is still abit of flesh not fully healed up... n i hv abit of those 'sting' feeling only.. Guess the skill of my gynae is not so gd as compared to my previous gynae..

today i took the 1st bath for my boy.. phew.. luckily it went quite smooth.. hehe. hv to start to learn today cos CL will be going back on sunday.. And today will be my last 2 day of 'enjoyment' with CL around!!

Dymples

the sales sound so tempting.. hehe. but then hb have warned me to cut cost liao..