(2008/11) November 2008

Mosh,
No la, I am WOHM to 3 monsters.
FB too? Add me ([email protected]), so we can know each other better.
Am already connected to Snnowy on FB.
Indeed lots of sacrifices as SAHM but also rewarding which being a WOHM may not get.

Jes,
Ur hubby's response not +ve becos?
Just curious, what are his concerns?

Snnowy,
Same as you, I feel sleeping is waste of time.
"ding dong" already, can sleep FOREVER. LOL!
I also do not sleep much, I wake up at 4.30am, sleep at abt 11pm+. But when my body tells me I have to, I will rest la.
Main thing, stay happy & +ve!
So when are u expecting to have your #3?

snnowy: so funnee! but hor i find i'm even more careful w my 3rd child (rachel) than number 1 & 2. maybe becos her development is a bit slower, walking talking. so i try to spend more time w her & stimulate her mind.

the part about Going Out reminds me of my cousin. she started young so she also has 4 kids, 12 yrs from oldest to youngest. her maid actually called her urgently in office one day when my 2nd niece kept dropping my nephew till he had abt 3 big balaku. the maid said my niece was going to kill my nephew if my cousin didn't come home quickly

ah lian: oops, seeing u reminds me of the sneakers. don't sekali i forget until i have to pass it to alibaba as well!

ah Jo: all the more reason for u to have anor one then u can tell MIL, sorry must save money for number 2. & hor lucas' things must keep nice nice for number 2, so - sorry, cannot let niece use

Bear: thanks! i posted my order in her thread already. waiting for reply, gave her your nick & asked her to PM u for confirmation.

yup, the 4 yrs b4 2008 were a v trying time. i don't mind telling u all, i cried & cried till i thought i have no more tears left. went for all kinds of stupid treatments - HSG, hysteroscopy. saw the malay urut massage lady, TCM physician, my old gynae. all said i had no problem at all. but my husband's count was so low. so strange how we conceived the first time when we were trying not to have him. we went to see a counsellor as well. but, no offence to the non-christians, God is truly good. He gave me these 3 gifts when i really thought i would never conceive again. & my 3 darlings have really brightened up my marriage again. my husband is a good guy, just like yours Bear. maybe too caught up in work sometimes but i have learnt to appreciate him more. yours too, i find was so supportive in your BF. i remember he even stood up to your MIL. v few husbands would do tt. cos their mothers r always right.

ur links r great but errr...quote

"This effect suggests that smaller families lead to children with higher test scores."

"The fraternal birth order effect is the name given to the observation that the more older brothers a man has, the greater the probability is that he will have a homosexual orientation."

doesn't bode too well for u & me hor?

jes: slowly does it, rome wasn't built in a day. i think he will come round to it when V is a few months older. try & hang around ppl w 2 or more kids. tt's what my rachel's godma did w her husband. like me! i live quite near u leh. want to come play w the big blocks? where's moomummy? wonder whether D has big blocks as well?

RCB, mummy2nia, kkmum: thanks. i'm ok now. but errrr, what i meant was have children close in age. of cos as mothers we all want our children to be close to us

it's near the end of the week! who's taking leave next week? anybody bringing your kids fr CNY symbolic cut hair?

Olwen,
CNY symbolic hair cut?
What is it for ah?

Close of age ah? Oic....my boys are 3 yrs gap diff, my girl is the princess of the house, maybe now is queen le, #3 & #2 is 6yrs gap.

mummy2nia,
After hearing this, I decided not to buy anymore stuffs for the kids unless its their birthday or Christmas.

kkmum,
My hb dunnoe abt this. Never told him before.
SO far, they bought one lollipop for him as my niece has it.
For mi, I bought a toddler drinking cup for my boy and my niece wanted it. So I had to buy another one for her. And this time round, I bought a snack dispenser for my boy and I had to go get another one for my niece. The Munchkin snack dispenser cost me ard $10 eh.
MIL really thinks I'm earning big bucks like tt where I'm struggling to pay off all financial stuffs every mth.

snowwy,
Niece saw something new only, she will snatch away from my son and he will stand there cry till cham and my niece very stubborn also dun wanna give back unless u say u buy same one for her tomorrow.

mummy
do ur tink i can take pi ba gao? i having this cough recently & been taking pi ba gao.. shld be safe right? if not wrong i ever saw the catalogue showing pregnant women pic drink it.

ahWen, IVF was your last option?
i kept encouraging my best friend to go for IVF coz she and her hub really want to have kids. Her hub's count is low too, so chances of natural is slim.
I heard IVF is a tough process?

Where is ahKiki??? Dun hide. No use de.

ahJo, I have the Munchkin snack dispenser too. But not using it yet, cos my greedy girl tends to stuff her whole mouth with biscuits if she feed herself!

kkmum, i guess the main concern is financial burden bah, and oso freedom issue. i din really ask in depth cos i felt tat if he's not ready no point me trying to preach further lor...

olwen, mayb lor i guess, thinking may change later on. so we'll see how it goes. oh, where u staying huh? how u know i stay near to you, haha...

actually subconsciously i tink like peanut too, abit half heartedly oso, sometimes envy those with more kids but oso scare of the stress of straining relationship with hub. when my gal was just born i was very stressed for the 1st few mths too, and i threw tantrums at the slightest issues... so that perhaps made my hub tink i can't cope with having more kids, so why ask for trouble?!

Jo/lian, is the snack dispenser good? my gal always has a habit of putting her whole hand into the container when we offer her snacks, very greedy type.

Ali, if not sure abt taking bi pa gao or other medicine, suggest u get a prescription from the gynae, i personally find it's a safer option. hope u get well soon.

kkmum
i tink i am oso .. probably sensitive throat.. last pregnancy oso got one period of time cough til v jialat..

Jes,
Quite a nice snack dispenser but my boy knows how to remove the cover already so no use cos also end up biscuits lying all over.

Jo,
Can tell your sil? even if niece want the same toy, it should be her mum or dad getting it for her instead of u? Why not ask them to get 2 shares? 1 for your boy rather. Cos it think it sad that u stopped buying things for your boi due to your niece. Like so unfair for him.

kkmum,
Hoping for a rabbit bb. After 3 will close shop.

Alibaba,
Go and see GP for cough medicine. Remember to highlight you are pregnant.

snnowy,
My SIL, MIL, myself, Lucas and niece in the room. Niece snatch the dispenser from Lucas, Lucas cried. I asked niece to give back, she refused. MIL told her Ok, shen shen buy pink color one for you. Niece look at mi, I say Okay shen shen buy pink one for you. Then she return the dispenser to Lucas. SIL sit there never say anything. Only MIL say next time buy things must buy two sets ... like what she did to my hb and his bro when they were young. Next time second niece grows up, must buy three sets liao. I say by then, I wont buy anything. They all keep quiet.

Jo, yr MIL so weird de, she can jolly well tell yr SIL to buy since it's her daughter mah, why ask u to buy. yr hub n bro are both yr MIL's sons, but yr niece is yr niece, it's not the same.

Jo
yah... niece also not ur daughter why mus buy 2 sets like wat MIL did. on the spot u shd hav told ur niece "ask ur mummy buy pink colour one for u ok"..... piang...
Please do not buy 2 sets of anything, anymore! u'll make them take u for granted even further..
Keep an eye, when u see niece trying to grab something from lucas, quickly carry him away.. since they dun understand the impt of "sharing" best they dun stay too close to each other to avoid toys snatching

Jes,
nvm. I'm 'Proud' that my MIL THINKS I OWN the bank. Haha.

Maybe I should continue to buy stuffs for Lucas but I will keep it VERY low-profile.

In fact, I think my MIL very stingy. My hb commented everyday cook the same food for dinner, no seafood. Her reply was no need money ah. Then tried to explain seafood no good for health lah high cholesterol lah. Stingy say stingy loh.

peanut: i agreed with you esp my bb is also one hell of those difficult and cranky bb to take care. so the first one already like that, don know if my second one also the same behaviour.. very scared..

rainbowcandy: yeah went back to workforce.. one thing is i am a person cannot stay too long at home staring at 4 walls. then again, money wise been eating on my saving and sometime i want to buy clothings abit strange to ask for allowance as the respond from my husband is " u got already a lot of clothes wat". MEN DON UNDERSTAND WE NEED NEW CLOTHINGS!! so here i am back to workforce. my new maid loves my brandon.. she takes care reali well. so far so good.

olwen: what symbolic hair cut? i got a hair shaver esp for bb to help cut their hair.. hehe.. good la and save money plus save the emotions of the crying and struggling bb of mine.

jo: my MIL also think i am the bank. worst she think i own the supermarket. keep telling me coffee no more, this no more.. fed up..

Busy busy busy! only now got time to come in!

Who was asking abt Gain IQ 1.8kg ah? Last wk Giant was selling $49.95, i went and buy 7 cans. today's newspapers advertised Guardian selling at $48!! DUI!!! Gonna go get 3 more cans.. this whole yr dun need to buy liao!

Jo, ur niece is not ur kid wat.. next time if she ask u to buy anything for ur niece, u say OK, I buy then u tell SIL to pay me ok? MAKE sure MIL, SIL and hb hear u! :p

Olwen, no prob. any replies from the BP organiser? U know if i didn't strike jackpot in my first try, i would be a nervous wreck. this is how bad i wanted a kid then. i rem the few days before i can test, i was such a kan cheong spider. felt really anxious etc etc. haha.. that's the bad thing abt being a planner lah.. i need everything to go swee swee! I really peifu that u could have tahan 4 yrs. was it ur first IVF try that u strike? Haha.. my hb knows what kind of mum he has. some things he will side me and some things will side MIL. although he know MIL can be illogical at times and he would say her if he has the chance, but when me and him have personal chats, he will always defend his mum. :p

Abt the family size and birth order thingy, i guess there are simply too many factors coming into play other than family size to determine IQ scores. My uncle has 4 sons, all of them are in ACS (I)! Another uncle has 4 kids, all not doing well. hahahaha. :p depends on upbringing and how we parents teach the kids the value of learning (note i use the word learning and not education).
as for homosexuality, i really have nothing to say. haha..

Peanut, i think u have to sit down with ur hb and see if both of u want another. actually hor, if both of u dun mind another, but not particularly want one, then u shd try to have one.
i think unless both of u are dead set against not having another, otherwise have another! haha..

Snnowy, i think some things like character of a child is innate. no matter what birth order it is, if they are insecure, they are insecure lor. may be those ppl who say they have middle child syndrome are usually gals! haha.. :p

Lynn, i totally agree with u abt asking hb for money! for me, everything we have is split EXACTLY into half. I don't mind paying more, but i MIND PAYING LESS! hahaha.. my logic is if anything happens to us *touch wood* i can rightfully claim at least 50% of everything! so calculative hor? but really, if divorce, we gals are always at the losing end.

Lynn
Yes.. totally agree "MEN DON UNDERSTAND WE NEED NEW CLOTHINGS" esp in Cny....me n my hubby almost every yr we quarrel abt this issue...even tat time i'm working. He can't give me extra money to buy cny clothing this yr n i dun have enough to buy.
Bo bian lor, i go pawn sell off my gold u kw..then firstly he angry...after the next day he say ask me to buy our cny clothing. So i buy 2 tops for him n some for me n Jalen's. So next time need to buy cny clothing i won't ask fm him will find my own way.
Tat's gd yr new maid can tkc n like Brandon

Bear
wah....tat's cheap for Gain Iq 1.8kg..too bad we pocket quite tight this 2mths...if not can stock up.
haaaa....ya true too..If "D" we gals r always at the losing end...

wowowow was busy with work and didnt get to come in cause new work place cant surf web freely. Nw come in and it is filled with wonderful news

first was Jenn's delivery and now Alibaba is expecting and Mummy2nia got a complete "hao" character!! Well done mommies!!
Hope to hear more good news in the coming months

Bear, issac's poo has always been smelly whether he eat fish or no fish... i guess is because of digestive system. bt ya after eating fish he smell fishy lol.
so nw Z is fine with fish?

kkmum, lynn: yup, just b4 every CNY kids must have a symbolic hair cut. not sure what it's for, think snnowy will know better but for Kai, we did it every yr without knowing why. tomoro my hubby & MIL will bring the 3 boys to cut their hair at the barber. daddy already went to cut first last week. kkmum's big boy is 2000 or 2001? if 2001, same as me & Karin. haha, which school is he in? sekali also maris stella!

Jes: at the top u said mah, u r hougang mummy. actually quite a lot of NEL mummies here. i'm in serangoon. moomummy is v v v near me. but soon she will be happy & mildy's neighbour. enne, teenyweeny & kiki in sengkang. reminds me i haven't seen teenyweeny in ages. enne also quiet lately. but Baby L is doing fine i heard. so when u all want to come play w big blocks? haha....

actually on this second baby issue, since your current maid is good, shd seriously consider having 2nd one soon becos good maids r hard to find. i had only 1 really good maid in my lifetime & the last 3 yrs, i asked her to come back twice but she already promised her current employer. regret letting her go earlier but what to do.

ah lian: actually i did IVF just to show my husband tt his case is hopeless & we still have to adopt. really cldn't believe when it actually succeeded. if didn't succeed, i may still be in this thread w my rachel after doing all the adoption paperwork but wld be a little china rachel
sure, shd encourage your fren to do IVF if she has been trying for some years. no point waiting.

bear: thanks! she said cannot use points for CNY promo. cannot earn points either otherwise i will still ask her to use your a/c. oops, i will sound preachy again but God is good. He know u have to deal w one other pain in the neck so he gave u darling Z quickly instead of having to wait & wait. CNY coming, u got to zen again. poor Bear.

money.... interesting issue of the day. well, in my line we work v hard & generally our pay is a bit higher. but in my current co, the pay is average, bordering on low & for every busy month, there is one idle month. it's a trade-off i guess. still, i feel a bit bored on those idle months & i miss the days when i cld just buy stuff for Kai freely. on wed, i went to kimisawa at scotts & they were having the hokkaido fair. without thinking i just ordered 3 jap curry buns & my goodness it was $7! just for 3 buns. i got to learn to cut down. think it is the same for all the mummies here having 2 or more. & also those w 1 thinking of number 2 & having maid. when we had 1 child w no maid, i cld buy anything for him tt i wanted but now i have to stretch tt same amount for 4 kids. not so easy. but i think i can manage & so will everybody else here

Hi Olwen,
LOL! Tks for sharing re the haircut!
Sekali also Maris Stella?
BINGO! Yes, my boys (2000 & 2003) are in MS.
Class 4A & 1A.
U r Serangoon mum? Me too! Serangoon Ave 1!!!
You're on FB?

olwen, haha, think i mentioned that sometime ago liao so dun quite rem and thought how come you know... ya, the other day me and kiki were talking abt organising a NE mummies gathering after CNY. so now we have a venue ya? :p

re: 2nd baby
thanks for all the encouraging and positive words... i will really seriously re-consider again.

hi rainbowcandy & lynn,

hehe... ya i also agree. my hubby also told me tat we still can wear back the clothes for cny. but i told him cny is different. cny mean new start of the yr & also mean new clothes.

rainbowcandy: alamak, u shldnt prawn ur gold! women muz keep some savings for herself no matter wat happen. women finance shld nv controlled by men. ever consider of gg back to workforce so tat ur pocket $ wont be tat constraint?

Jo,
Ya, next time tell her "get mummy to buy pink colour stuff for you". She doesn't like blue colour stuff right? so you know you need to get more blue stuff.(I very bad hor) Hahaha

Olwen/kkmum/Lynn,
Ppl in the olden days believed that everyone need to get a symbolic haircut for cny. It is believed that it is necessary so that you 'cut' away all the bad lucks, poor health, unhappiness for the past 1 year and welcome the new year with a new look. Part of the reason is they dun step into a saloon as and when like we do now, probably once a year to prepare for the cny.

Old wives tales believed that there should be a certain date for the symbolic haircut e.g 24th of the twelveth lunar month which symbolised 二十四孝(filial piety) / thirtyth = 圆圆满满 (fully successful, everything goes well). To them even if you snip off a wee tiny bit also counted. One also need to trim the kids fingernails before 11 o'clock of the cny eve etc lots of rules and regulations.

But hor, I onli trim the fringe for my kids 2 weeks b4 cny so that it will not look odd after 2 weeks time.

Hi Mummies!!! MIA for long time again! Interesting topics going on I see

Am moving to serangoon gardens next month.. and I see quite alot of Serangoon mummies here
Can anyone recommend me a good PD in that area please? Am thinking of switching once we move there cos don't make sense to travel so far to see PD. Any recommendations will be appreciated!

nice to read all the posts everyone has posted...I like the topic abt 2 or 3 kids..I also always ponder 2 or 3 kids 3 is really nice to have but 2 like so little, when I was young I my bro always bullied me so if there was a #3 i could have a better companion. and better childhood always wished for a sister.

But finding it so challenging :

1. Is to TTC so difficult ley!!!
2. Taking care of #1 oredi so exhausted, so manja type, bad temper, dun give in

But like what a mummy said here...got more than 1 child gd no need to entertain so much..we will have more free time, sounds very true to hold!

soho
i know wat u mean wen u say 3 would b nice...im oso thinking carefully whether i shld close shop after the 2nd one or try again for 3. juz worried abt the financial issues (very imp cos i want the best for them). i dun want everything cannot this, cannot that. and yah, 2 is always better than 1. singapore gov shld b happy with wat we are thinking and tryin hor...heheh..

bear
3 cans of gain 1.8kg can last u for one year? u serious ah? mine can oni last for 2-3 weeks for one can...shiok leh...save a lot of $$$

financially independant
fat hope if i keep asking my hub $ to buy me clothes..confirm always fight one cos men just dun understand women, seriously! hahaha....yest i juz saw a nice push bicycle for $75..(i duno wat u call it) @ kiddy palace and juz grab on the spot. saw some things for my gal, grab oso..dun need to think 2x abt persuading hub. plus he's very cautious abt $ since no2 is coming. dat day so farni, he bght for my gal a shirt. on it was,"my daddy is not a cheapskate" wahahah....roflz!!

maid
haiz, i envy those family who can depend on their maid to do things. for mine, i can't even trust her to bathe my kid. yest, she wanted to bathe my kid with hot water!!!! i duno how the hell she adjusted the water...to her its fine. thank god, i stopped her before she put my gal into the bathtub. i told her,"stop!" then i checked and it was hot..like piping hot..this woman is mad to even say it's fine. later on she admitted dat she cannot feel or adjust cos her previous employer always ask her to cut chilli..
mummies, is it true dat after 2 years of cuttin chilli, ur hands can't feel whether it's hot or cold. now realli cannot depend on her to do anything! im so pissed, so stressed cos maid is supposed to relieve a bit of our household chores esp wen im at work, but i can't even trust her to do anything..how like dat??? i can't imagine if yest the maid were to dipped my gal in hot water. my whole fam are disturbed by this incident. if we want to change maid again, how to..no $$ to fork out already

oh ya one more thing to trash out here..im juz pissed when ppl exclaimed to me,"wah! so fast got no2...why are u in a hurry? relax ah.."
before this, the same ppl ask me, "so wen r u having the 2nd one?"
grrrr.............
it's seriously my own prob wen i want a kid...tui pu tui...hehe

mummy2nia: People are damn weird, u get those remarks while i get these from ppl, BETTER GO HAVE #2 NOW, ARE U TRYING..??

In conclusion,whether u preggy again shortly or not also will encounter all sorts of comments..

My grandma even funnier, tell me after #2 to close shop liao, waw rau as if her ddecision to close shop not mine..i mean if i want more its for me to decide.

Dun despair i think it's woonderful u have another baby now...i want also bo...hehe...the timing's right, you can also go thru it all at once, fun to have kids all ard same age grp.

3611890.gif

soho
dats why..im juz so pissed...sigh...precisely, watever it is, ppl will juz not be satisfied with wat we are doing...someone juz asked me whether i would like to haf a 3rd one?
woooohh..slow it down man...
wah, ur grandma said dat..haha..she's the manager of ur shop..haiz...

Hi Mummies, been busy getting used to taking care of a NB all over again and also making sure my gal is comfy abt having a didi now, most impt must make sure she still gets the attention needed =P oh~ here's my boy's pic

3614867.jpg

jenn: congrats! yeah definately have to focus attention on the elder one otherwise she gets jealous. do take care and rest wel during ur confinement!

Bear: yeah divorce is the last thing on every women mind.. unless the thing that HB did is unforgiveable. for me an affair is a good excuse. yeah hehe.. can pay less, then good. i usually take care on the groceries, for big item like maid's salary or electricity bill is my HB take care..

RBC: oh no.. money reali tight? hope everything turn out better in the Year of Tiger for the both of you.

Olwen: thanks for the advice will can him a haircut soon!

Jenn
yr bb so cute
COngrats!

jeanneloi
no choice...if not where i get $ to buy cny clothing...maybe gg bk to work..got to see hw 1st. Cos my new products arriving soon...
Hopefully can have gd biz like my mozzie patches.

soho
haaa sometimes old ppl talk very funny one la..
like me say ya ya ya will do:p
It's yr own decision..

mummy2nia
yalor some ppl talk very funni one...U having 2nd bb say y so fast then if dun have then ask when...aiyoyo...

Lynn
some hw ya...hope this yr will be a better yr lo..Hope u also la...thks so much!

morning..

Jenn-first time come in see ur bb pic.. brightens up my day.. so cute!!! what's his name???

Both my kids are down with cough and flu.. #1 more jialat, got persistent high fever and diarrhoea suddenly yesterday.. worried worried.. MIL will bring him see doc later.. haiz.

Jenn: handsome boy! what's his name?

snnowy, lynn: see, i knew can always count on snnowy to give us the story behind these things.

blustar: for u, i can recommend Dr Yap at Garden Clinic. cos u got money
where's moomummy? he's near moomummy, blk 317 or 318 ser ave 3. good bedside manner & his medicine generally works. my MIL loves him but my mum hates him cos he charges a lot. i think PD all do lor. how nice to have anor mummy near me. can we invite ourselves to ur house?

kkmum: wow, your sons r clever, 4A & 1A. my Ig is in 3F. saw on your FB tt your younger one's form teacher is Mdm Faridah. he's v lucky! she was my son's form teacher & she's really good. my Ig loved her & he did pretty ok in pri 1. p2 was bad. he hated his form teacher, so did i.

lilian: rachel's shoe is also size 5. i sms u later.

i got 3 gain iq kids vouchers to give away. who wants? it's for 3 yrs old onwards. so will only be the mummies with an older one. pls sms/PM/email me whatever. thanks.

i'm on leave this thursday! going to cut my hair. for cny, haha.

oh yah, anor tip. it won't work for your rat babies but those who r having second one now or soon, can bear it in mind. luke & gerard went for hair cut on saturday. luke screamed down the barber shop. gerard didn't even make a squeak. kai screamed like luke did when he was the same age. difference with gerard is he had his first hair cut at the barber months ago before he was 1. seems like if u bring them for their first hair cut before they can walk or talk, they won't find it such a frightening experience then subsequent times will be ok. can try it & see

lian,
u missed the deal. next time bah. they do such good deals occasionally. this is the 2nd time i really grab their FM offers!

Morning mummies.

Was busy over the last weekend helping my hubby with BP so din have time to post. His BP this time got really cute clothes. Heehee.

Alyssa had her MMR jab last Friday. Kiki, can help me update chart:
Weight: 8kg
Ht: 75cm
Teeth: 10

FM:
I also missed the Guardian FM special. I went to the Tiong bahru guardian and its all sold out. Sigh.

Jenn: Congrats. Javier looks really cute.

Jenn
congrats~ How's the feeling of having the baby on ur arms again? start all over again of taking care new born but challenging to take care an active toddler as well...

lian
okok.. sms u if i remember. ^_^

so sianz.. i am down with flu... -_- hardly slp well again.. tired.. tempted to take mc today.. but tmr gg for OSCAR at gynae clinic... 1 day mc liao..

ali
OSCAR??? i tot thats on e 5th mth??

Congrats Jenn.. May Javier be an easy bb so wont b too tough on u taking care of 2 kids..