(2008/11) November 2008

ah Jes, the food so-so nia. A lot of malay/halal food.
No la, go hougang pt like once a wk. Other times, eat at shengsiong or techplace
Having siblings is always better la. Share t laughters and worries

Jes dear,
So we stress on "uniting & bonding" my 3 monsters since young! If parents have favouritism, will cause fights among siblings.

I stress cos I need to think of my parents & DH's parents. Taking care of them during old age, etc. So I feel stress emotionally, physically & financially. Many have challenged me to this fact b4, haha, but being an only child I really feel it. parents of 1 nowdays will say, "I do not need my child to support me or take care of me, in fact I will provide for him/her.". I guess it depends on how one thinks. If parent is unwell, e.g. hospitalised, u being a child will not visit or take care meh? Although, even if have siblings, I know some will siam or eventually may fall on 1 person, but this will depends on upbringing and bonding of siblings le.

HTH, hugs!

kkmum

that's rite.... eventhough parents say i dun need u to support me. but when they are really ill etc, we are naturally worried and with siblings to confide and share the problem with... i suspect one will not feel so "alone" in that situation.

btw, it is not easy to have 2 at close age gap even if #1 is above 1YO. My gal was 17 mths when my boy was born.... but also the same... lots of fights. my 2 are fighting everyday. It is really strange that the younger one is the bully. My boy bites my gal a few times a day. I really do not know what to do as no one is free to be present to monitor the 2 of them all the time. however, i hope when they are older, things will get better.

lilian,

ur gal will have a companion too if u have another bb soon

hello mummies! thx for ur well wishes!!

alibaba
my first one is a gal and i had a difficult pregnancy cos always MS and takin mc..no choice..admitted to hospital..now having a a boy, MS is much lesser can enjoy myself more so i dun think got gal MS is okie...i guess it depends..diff pregnancies diff experience. my colleague who has a boy has MS like urs. but her gotto admit hospital too like me, dats why till now she phobia dun wan anymore kids...

joyce
u still giving sambucol then? yah, happy cos hub happy..im fine with both gender as long as bb is healthy.

lian
i turn right leh...right is wat ah?? girl right? hehe...

oh yah, for the mmr, can i request MMRV on the spot? mite as well take the chix pox vaccine also..

mummy2nia

sometimes they love each other, will hold hands when they are in their respective carseats behind...but i dunno why, my boy loves to bite his jie jie...and jie jie gong gong let him bite and cry,.... the marks are very very bad...

think it is impossible without fights leh...esp when they are young... when is ur EDD?

i gave my #1 sambucol when she started CC at 22 mths... i find it useless leh...

Peanut,
I remember the old wives tale is no line or 1 line = boy, if 2 lines = girl. But all these I think are all 50-50% bah.

Jes,
Last time I also onli wan 1 b4 married so tt I can give full concentration and groom tt 1 but at the end of the day, I keep thinking if onli 1 and smething happened to us then the 1 is left alone w/o sibling.
In fact we aimed for 4 kids but mine c-sect so gynae advice 3 and also hubby said standard of living high so cut down. (I think I remembered Bear wanted 5 right?)

Olwen,
Save your energy with ignorance ppl. I saw the thread a few days back.
To answer your Qs, what I did was to dry up the umbilical cord (make sure it is really sun properly), put in placstic bag and created a scrapebook. Anyway i love scrapebooking and do it in my own cheap way using thick coloured paper and bind them together. I'm also 1 crazy mum who keep everything relates to preggy like HPT kit, test reports, ultrasound, 1st hair cut, hospital tag, Photos of bb at every month etc. My scrapebook is 118pages thick and the shop assistant told me to start another 1 for #3 kids cos they have used the thickest binder liao.

Some example of what I did
3596425.jpg

Umbilical cord of #1 and 1st hair cut;

3596426.jpg

HPT kit and u/s report of #2

3596427.jpg

Umbilical cord of #2 and 1st hair cut;

3596428.jpg

BB's hospital card

3596429.jpg

My wrist tag and bb's leg tag

3596430.jpg

Bb's milestone like when is 1st smile, 1st tooth erupted, 1st semi-solid, 1st sit up, 1st walk, 1st time calling papa etc.

kash, will have will have. But not now. haha

mummy2nia, RIGHT is BOY ! One more success testimonial for kkmum

oh btw, u know of kkmum's logic before or after u strike Toto?

kash
still long way..25 june..hehe..

yest after a good news, something bad happened later. i blame myself till now..cos sigh, my hub oso kinda blame me. my gal's jeans is very loose yet i let her wear cos the old one is very tight..we went to my bro's house after kk visit cos wanted to swim at his place..juz opp kk mah.@ his place, being the active gal, she tried walking, then tripped on her jeans and knocked her head @ the side of the wooden table...sigh..she cried and cried..got mark..i feel soooo bad....haiz.......

snowwy
i wish im hardworking like u...hahah...til now i dun haf proper album with my gal's pics..so far, pics of the first mos printed out but none like photobook, scrapbook kind etc...for my gal's first bday, my aunt even had to do scrapbook for my gal and she's been grumbling to me like wen will i give the bday pics to her so she can paste in the scrapbook..aiyo..

snnowy, u power!
How u find t time??? Got to do housework and take care of 2 kids. U super power.

Where is ah mosh??? She anytime will pop

snnowy, ya lor finances really play a large part oso. i oso scare of having more than a kid and then it drains our finances out, dun wanna to hv to argue and quarrel with hub cos of $ issue, haiz...

you very hardworking doing all these crafty items for your gal! i never did any of these. i'm lazy and oso cos my art & craft work sucks, haha

ah mosh popping on 12 feb leh she said.

mummy2nia
ur EDD is 25 june ah.. tat's my bday leh... kakaka

snowy
good job! i am a lazy mummy... dont have such xin si to do these things.. even pics are all in pc nv develop at all..

Lilian,
I do all these in the middle of the night when the kiddos are asleep. Uusally start around 12am and do till 2-3am. When them around, I cant even finish 1 page. They will snatch all my stickers etc and I end up chasing after them more.

Mummy2nia,
Do it together wif your boy's u/s

Tri_angel,
U also like scrapbooking right

Alibaba/Jes,
Actually I prefer blogging so tt I can note down everyday things abt them and also dun need to spend $$ in developing their photos monthly but then i dun know what to do wif all the u/s scan, detail scan film HPT kit etc, Throw away also not right so might as well spend some time on it. At 1st hubby said I bo liao but when he saw the output he was super impressive that I keep all those things. I told him next time when the gers are married off, these shall be my memories

Heya!

Re: fishy qn
Thanks for all the responses. i think it is becos i only recently intro Z to fish hence i m not used to the stench he produces! haha. Kash, the fishy smell is on his back too leh.. gross lor.. heh..

Olwen, i saw who u were arguing with. ignore this fella lah.. my fren was in the same thread as her also commented that this person is a bit weird. said she was afraid her bb she is carrying now will clash with her hb's horoscope (hb is pig, bb is tiger). then one mummy told her that it is kinda late to be worrying abt clashes and that she shd be more worried abt the bb's health. end up that gal scolded this mummy for being a busybody etc etc.. really a superstitious idiot lor. some ppl just wanna show everybody that they know everything, but end up exposing how bigoted and shallow they are.

Re: breakfast
Last night while showering, it dawned on me that breakfast is the most impt meal of the day. I recommend u guys not to skip breakfast. even a little food is better than no food.
just my thoughts ya? This wkend i m gg to try cheesy scrambled eggs. Add a dash of milk tog with the eggs, beat and scramble it. Add shreds of cheese (cheddar) just before u turn the fire off. mix the cheese into the egg just as it melts.
may be u all can try. oh ya, add a dash of pepper too!

Here's a gd shop that actually sells frozen bb food. u can get some to try esp if those things are a big hassle to cook. http://www.petitbowl.com/

Kash, no lah. i m so pessimistic that i keep thinking my 2nd kid is gonna be tough. or that i will inevitably compare the 2nd one with Z. cos by that time i will forget all the probs i have with Z and only rem the gd times! haha..

Re: more than 1 kid
Snnowy u rem! i want five kids. honestly i feel that it depends on what u want to give ur kids. as parents, we will want to give the best we can to our kids. if we want to send our kids to many enrichment classes, then of cos having one or two will be just nice. if we decide to forego such things, i m sure we will be able to have more kids. Its a matter of prioritizing lor. it also means we parents cannot splurge on ourselves too. get low end car, nearby holidays (if we can even afford one), no branded stuff etc etc.
it also means we are slave to our jobs. cannot quit unless our hbs are earning super a lot. haha.. anyway 5 kids is my ideal, but most likely we are settling for 3 or 4. If my 2nd one is a gal, then i wanna have 4 kids. if 2nd one is boy, then 3 kids will do. :p

bear, olwen,

wat thread is that? makes me curious now wanna be busybody go read....

bear,

wow!!! what fish did u feed Z? heehee...the smell lingers for so long? regarding many kids.. i guess it also depends on the time the parents have.... i think it must be really challenging to spend time with every single kid every evening if u are a full time working mother.... if u need to travel or work weekends...worst.... that is also a challenge...

snnowy

u r indeed a super woman leh!!! no need to zz ah??? housework, cook, wash, mop, 2 kids.... and still can stay up late! I salute u! supermummy!!! Well done! I honestly will go crazy if u ask me to take care of kids everyday.... it is really not easy! u are really superb!

muumy2nia

oh dear..but dun blame yourself..accidents on toddlers are very common...most impt thing is that they are ok...

alibaba...

how many weeks now? If boy, 3rd mth check shd be able to see a little liao... if cannot see anything....possible to be a gal. if by 16 weeks still see nothing...heehee...most like is gal... my #1, my gynae confirmed the gender at 16 weeks while for my boy...he told me 80% boy at 12 week check...then at 16 weeks, he told me 100%... must remember to prepare trysten abt his sibling early

Bear,
Of course I remember. Cos when I told frenz we want 4 kids, everyone around us (except family members) commended we are crazy eapecially in today's living standard. So when I saw someone mentioning wanting 5 kids I feel you are so courageous to go beyong the 4th line. But I dun understand why 2nd gal then u want 4? U want 3 boys is it?

Jes,
I do agree with Bear on what you prioritize in life. Plan for another only when you and hubby are ready and comfortble with it. I do agree that there are too many issues in triggering a quarrel in a couple so $$ shall never be 1. Anyway my MIL's favourite saying "天生天养" but of course I dun depend on tt la.

Mosh,
Your gal is super close to you right? Will u be staying in 1 bedded? If not, can ask your MIL to take care of your gal at hme. Actually last time when I had #2, I told hubby not to bring #1 to hospital to visit me cos I'm afraid he will have a hard time getting her to leave. Morever mine is c-sect so I know I have to spend 3 days getting enough rest in hospital and be ready to hands on with 2 for 1 month. So u may want to consider fully ultilising the 3 days to really rest well in hospital.

If my 2nd one is a gal, then i wanna have 4 kids. if 2nd one is boy, then 3 kids will do
Bear, whats the logic? chim lay...

Kash, i feel time is really more of how u manage it. Like Snnowy, she is able to manage it so well. I m not saying i will be able to manage my time well with more than 1 kid but i have to try to find out lor. nv try nv know. haha.. who knows, aft my 2nd one i might swear off kids! hehehe.. anyway i see the situation around me, having 2 kids seems too little. Like me and my sis, always at loggerheads. also pains the parents to see such disagreements btw their 2 kids. hopefully having more would mean closer ties btw them. That said, the opposite might happen! Anyway i find that sacrificing my time for my kid is one of those things u do liao then realise it. e.g. i used to spend my wkend reading. now i hardly finish a book a wk. It is the only way i spend more time with Z. also i stopped gg out in the evenings with frens liao (though tonight i m off to my first rock concert in a decade!). my time to myself is at work lor.. haha..

Mosh, i love kids! hahah my dad went to see my life and it was predicted that later in my life, i will be surrounded with many kids and grandkids.

Snnowy, ppl think i m crazy lah. i m wat most consider as a modern career woman, want the best for myself etc but i m like the opp hor.. want more kids! hehe.. i find them a joy to be with. Have u read abt the middle child syndrome? I read somewhere that gals are more prone to middle child syndrome (not scientifically proven) hence if have a gal for my 2nd i wanna even the numbers out! haha.. gals are a bundle of hormones to deal with when they reach puberty! :p

Lilian, if i have a gal for my 2nd then having 4 kids will mean the 2nd and the 3rd one are in the same boat. middle child syndrome is this: the eldest kid will be old enough to be independent hence more reassured. also they might be in sch hence parents will pay attention to them to make sure they finish homework etc. the youngest will have the parents' full attention cos she/he will be utterly dependent on them. Hence left not much attention for the middle one. middle one will feel left out and alone. gals seem to suffer it more acutely hence if i even the numbers out, no 2 and 3 will have company! hahaha.. my weird logic ya?

snnowy

yah my gal quite sticky to me.. my MIL and the new maid will be taking care of her. oh, I also tot she will have a hard time leaving , will see how, maybe will not bring her to visit me.

Bear

u will be a very happy grandma by then

Wah Bear, tats t logic ah! U really think ahead alot!
Oh, thanks for the link to t frozen bb food. It interest me, cos most of my gal's food is frozen.

Thanks kash & snnowy for the suggestions! Errr, I think I go w kash’s suggestion cos I’m too lazy to do snnowy’s. haha.

Snnowy, borrowing kiki’s phrase, 你是不是人
doing so many things at home & still can prepare such beautiful scrapbooks. I feel so shy next to u.

Mosh: happy mummy counting down!

Jes, Ah lian: ahem. My two cents worth. It is all from my personal story which may be boring to some ppl. Kai was happily growing up w my niece (same age) till they were 4.5 yrs. Both didn’t ask for siblings & v close, like bro & sis. Then my sis in law became pregnant again, same time as I m/c becos of my dengue. Plus I’d been trying so hard for the preceding 2 yrs. Suddenly he had to spend much less time w my niece becos evil jealous mummy me did not want to see my SIL, pregnant tt she was then. My MIL, rightly or wrongly decided then she had better leave to go look after my sis in law’s 2nd baby to avoid more conflicts between us. Made me even angrier. Even less opportunity to meet & poor kai spent the next 2 yrs of his life v lonely. Daddy hid himself at work. Petty mummy brought him out most of the time rather than mope around at home. But at the pool, at the playground, everybody else had siblings to play w & he was alone. He came to me & said nobody wants to play w me. I literally just cried at the poolside. Not kidding u. the experience was a v painful & sad one. So my advice to all is pls have your kids as close together as possible. Your children will thank you for it. Now is a good time to start

Bear: tt’s my impression of tt weird mummy too lor. She didn’t sound like one who had been thru all those difficulties. But since she is pregnant, I will try to be understanding of her
preggies sometimes have strange mood swings. I want to encourage ppl adopting cos I personally went thru such a trying journey to have a 2nd child. Wanted to adopt but so much discouragement from my frens, mother, MIL etc tt my husband also changed his mind. Which is why if I see anybody wanting to adopt & they have the means to, I always want to encourage them. Cos their parents, frens etc will always discourage them. Why add more cold water? Eeeks! Now I c u, reminds me I haven’t ordered the big blocks yet. Can I use your name to order then?

Olwen, yes can! else i can order for u.
if it is not transferrable then i order first then u pay. so annoying if its the latter.

I know how u felt except for me that time was i couldn't have my first child. every night i will stay up to mope abt it. wasn't becos i tried and failed but for me it was becos i was on meds and was comtemplating if i shd further my studies. some nights i will literally cry myself to slp. for my case, hb was very supportive hence he was very patient with me. that's partly why we got cody! haha.

Was it the same period when u had probs with ur hb? rem u mentioning that in the thread before.
its ok if u are uncomfy to share!

Lilian, i m a born planner! at 12 i know what i wanna be in life. At 16 i planned my life till 30 yrs old. down side of it is that i get very stress when i dun achieve my goals!

Here's some articles on middle child syndrome.
http://parentingmethods.suite101.com/article.cfm/the_middle_child_syndrome
http://today.msnbc.msn.com/id/14335112/
http://www.mychildhealth.net/what-is-middle-child-syndrome.html

Here's an interesting one on birth order!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Birth_order

bear, i got middle child syndrome..my fren oso got so we always share probs..hee..

olwen,
ur story made me teared a bit..my cuz is the onli child and she had to find someone to confide to, nearly went into the wrong crowd..then she got close to me (lucky got me..hehehe) and now married with kids...so the thing is, sometimes wen u are too lonely u juz need someone to tok to and u become desperate and can go astray if u become frens with the wrong ppl.

HI EVERYONE!! *Waves*

Been MIA for very long time!! been busy as I am back to workforce.. Wow.. so happening here ah.. so many mummies got pregnant, congrats!!

peanut: hope nini get well soon.

rainbowcandy: oh no.. hope Jalen get well before cny. i got a good PD, his medicine very good but a bit ex, can use CDA account.. u want the no? i can PM u? cough with phelgm. my mom say yellow color phelgm is heaty. clear phelgm is cold.

rabbit bb: any one trying? i hope to try maybe next year or end year.. hehe.. :p

Jenn
Congrats for yr newborn
Rest well...

Mummy2nia
happy for u...congrats!

Bear & lian
wow..u all want so many kids...then quickly go for it..Jia You!

Mosh
counting down....so excited for u

Snnowy
wow...well done le for the scrapbooks...
Lynn
long time no hear u posting...oh u went bk to work ar? Why ar?
ya...PD very ex...it's ok..thks! I can't see his phelgm col..cos he still dun kw hw to spit out.

BTW...Jalen no more cough n running nose...
just having phelgm...I boil apple water for him..seems better le..Reali hope he can completly get rid of the phelgm b4 cny.

re: BB rabbit
emmmm if financial allows..i also hope to have a BB rabbit
cos goes well with me(dog)..lol~

Olwen
dun be sad..abt the prob..

Bear,
Thanks for the links to Middle Child Syndrome.
Feel my #2 is hot temper, these links will let me "study" him better.

Olwen,
Thanks for your sharing too! I agree, wanna have kids, be close to them, else why give birth? But then again, try to balance your life to still hv some time with hubby & friends. Easier said than done? LOL! Nowadays, I achieve this by using internet & FB. I am close to my 3 kids & never regret. Especially to my boys, I think it helps, as they grow, they've someone to confide in.

Snowy,
I like your energy! It's inspiring!
I must find my energy back again!
Nowadays more slack with my girl around le.
BTW, how old are your kids?

In conclusion, PARENTING is CHALLENGING & FUN!
It's how we want it to be!

lian,
One is enuff for mi ... but I already seems to be having two kids! Whatever I buy for my son, my niece will wanna snatch from him ... MIL tell mi next time buy things must buy two sets! She says like dat ah, from now on ... I wont even buy things for my son loh! For nothing I gonna buy two sets ... MIL somemore say next time my second niece grows up, gotta buy 3 sets. I say straight ... by then, I wont even buy anything liao.

kash,
My boy bites my niece twice, on her thigh and her arm... she was in pain and cried so badly. Maybe he knows this jiejie also disturbs and irritates him, so he bites her. Haha.

Bear,
My cousin loves kids and planned to have 3-4 kids too. But she surrendered right after birth of her second gal.

Hi Jo,
Ur hubby no speak up to MIL?
Does niece's parents buy extra for ur kid too?
But then again, becos of this u decide to stop at 1, hmmm, not fair to your kid lei....JM2C

morn ladies

Jo
Im also in same situation as u but hor I dun care, I only buy 1 set. They have to learn to share, if my niece keep snatching toys I told her I will keep the toys away or give another toy to my gal to play lor.

kkmum
u SAHM as well? I also keep intouch with friends thru FB nowadays, or meet them during lunch time while my MIL help me look after my gal. But now with my #2 coming think its difficult for me to go out liao.

Lots of sacrifices for SAHM but I like the closeness I have with my gal. Just tat sometimes need some personal space to breathe.

good morning!

olwen/kkmum, thanks for sharing your personal experiences and thoughts, sounds very inspiring.... i ponder on this thought for the whole of y'day evening... sounded my hubby out, but response not very positive, hmm...

Bear,
Erm I wouldn't say I manage well lar. So far coping ok with them. It is because it is my personal choice to have kids so I jolly well weight what I want and give them lots of TLC. Like what you menetioned sacrificing own personal time for them. To me sleeping is a waste of time (mummies here dun bash me). So long I can get 4-5 hrs of sleep is enough for me liao.

It is good that you are a born planner. You plan what you want rather than being so lost. Salute Bear!

I've read abt the mid child syndrome before. But all along I thought that girl is usually more matured than boy hence we will not be facing so much of these problem down the road (It did not occur to me abt the puberty age till u memtioned)

Olwen,
Dun say that. I feel shy next to u cos of your life experience. Thanks for sharing your story here. U must have went through a lot then, but now you are a proud mummy of 4 *pat pat olwen on shoulder*

kkmum,
My gals are 29 month and 14 months respectively.

Jo,
In my opinion, do continue to shop and buy things for your son. But buy onli 1 set. If niece like, teach him the art of sharing. If MIL ask, tell her, they are not twin or triple, why must buy 2/3 share.

Something to share... Just for laugh----------

When you have 2nd or 3rd child..

1st baby: You begin wearing maternity clothes as soon as your OB/GYN confirms your pregnancy.

2nd baby: You wear your regular clothes for as long as possible.

3rd baby: Your maternity clothes ARE your regular clothes.

1st baby: You practice your breathing religiously.

2nd baby: You don't bother because you remember that last time, breathing didn't do a thing.

3rd baby : You ask for an epidural in your eighth month.

1st baby: You pr e-wash newborn's clothes, color-coordinate them, and fold them neatly in the baby's little bureau.

2nd baby: You check to make sure that the clothes are clean and discard only the ones with the darkest stains.

3rd baby: Boys can wear pink, can't they?

1st baby: At the first sign of distress--a whimper, a frown--you pick up the baby.

2nd baby: You pick the baby up when her wails threaten to wake your firstborn.

3rd baby: You teach your three-year-old how to rewind the mechanical swing.

1st baby: If the pacifier falls on the floor, you put it away until you can go home and wash and boil it.

2nd baby: When the pacifier falls on the floor, you squirt it off with some juice from the baby's bottle.

3rd baby: You wipe it off on your shirt and pop it back in.

1st baby: You change your baby's diapers every hour, whether they need it or not.

2nd baby: You change their diaper every two to three hours, if needed.

3rd baby: You try to change their diaper before others start to complain about the smell or you see it sagging to their knees.

1st baby: You take your infant to Baby Gymnastics, Baby Swing, and Baby Story Hour.

2nd baby: You take your infant to Baby Gymnastics.

3rd baby: You take your infant to the supermarket and the dry cleaner.

1st baby: The first time you leave your baby with a sitter, you call home five times.

2nd baby : Just before you walk out the door, you remember to leave a number where you can be reached.

3rd baby: You leave instructions for the sitter to call only if she sees blood.

1st baby : You spend a good bit of every day just gazing at the baby.

2nd baby: You spend a bit of everyday watching to be sure your older child isn't squeezing, poking or hitting the baby.

3rd baby: You spend a little bit of every day hiding from the children.

Swallowing Coins:

1st child: When first child swallows a coin, you rush the child ! to the hospital and demand x-rays.

2nd child: When second child swallows a coin, you carefully watch for the coin to pass.

3rd child: When third child swallows a coin, you deduct it from his allowance!

Lynn,
thanks! little peanut has recovered fully and back to her appetite.. she's like having revenge now for not able to eat/drink well that time.. always arrm arrm and nen nen.

About having more than 1 kid:
actually i'm a weird creature.. dunoe wat i wan.. always say i dun wan anymore but get envy/jealous that so many here are pregnant liao (with many more in near future).. When i go thomson medical for checkup or bb's pd appt, and see those preggie women i also v envy and kind of sad...
Problem is i could stil remm the frustrations and stress when she's borne becos she's not an easy bb to start with.. Even thou its better these days but mus admit that relationship with hubby has somehow being affected as we always hav differences in opinion.. besides i'm someone who get easily affected when something dun work my way so hav more "black face" episodes.. and its adding strain to the relationship.. I really dunoe wat wil happen if we hav another one.. Back to sq 1 again.. besides my hubby also tink 1 is enough…

Jo
Ask ur MIL dun b silly.. or tell her to sponsor for the extra sets lor.. kaka…

kash
i am today week 12.. doing oscar at gyane's clinic next tues. hopefully noting come in between. haha.. how to prepare Trysten with younger sibling ah?? he seems to dont understand leh.. haha.. probably when tummy is more obvious den start to ask him sayang bb aka my tummy...

ali

tats what I do, ask my gal to sayang my tummy. Keep telling her bb or didi inside must sayang. Now when I tell her sayang didi, she will rub rub my tummy. Dunno if she understand or not but atleast keep reminding her must sayang didi.