(2008/11) November 2008

bb fart:
recently, my bb suddenly fart so loudly de. Haha. Hopefully he wont be like tat when he grows up ... so nan kan.

Happy, forgot to reply u.. heehee.. may be u can make some cards for me and i pay u lah. dun have to be those commercial standard cos honestly i don't have time to do it myself! if u can standardized everything on Adobe Illustrated then find a commercial printer to do it.
Just an idea lah..

Favoured, I also dunno how it got it. since i m down myself, my BM won't have the necessary antibodies against this virus.
gd thing is the fever is very mild. nothing higher than 37.5.

Here's a link for u http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2275826.html?1237960087 they sell baby cubes!

Haru, u might wanna invest in some baby cubes to store ur purees.

Bear, hopes Zach recovers soon!

Fifi - me want the swim suit hee. PM you!

Favoured: I have a colleague using u-like blender, she found it small and compact and easy to use. Thinking of that too.
End up didnt go CK Tang. Went back Taka fair again and spend more $$!! Bought the 'Baby can read' VCD, the Pigeon Food Maker - hope it would come in use, think will leave that at mum's place.

Peanut:

Agree with you that we have to train and socialise our babies, otherwise it's impossible to bring them out or for us to have a life. I was very frustrated when i was looking after the baby all by myself during my maternity leave cos my baby wanted to be carried even when she was sleeping. She ended up sleeping on my chest most of the time and i got a little frustrated after a while because i couldn't do anything except vegetate in front of the TV. So yes, it'll be very hard for your MIL if she's looking after so many children at one go.

Glad_gal, Lilian, Mosh:

Ya, i was very comforted by what my colleague said and that stopped me from whining about my baby's habits. What you girls said is true, once they passed this stage, we can never get it back again. When i see newborns now, I will look at my baby and try and recall if she was as small/as fragile etc and it all seem as though time passes so quickly now and our babies have grown from placid sleeping babies to the hyper active ones they are today.

Fifi:

I want to join the BP for wet suit!

Oh yah, forgot to add on since some of you were asking...I have the First Foods Book - just lent to my colleague!
Found it quite good and simple lor, since it's written in Asian/local context. Simple recipes and bright colourful pix to see haa...

Update on swimsuit
Postponed as now very few size 1 which we need. Wait for new shipment, new designs in April.

However, I am sourcing for iplay swim diapers too. As the thermal suits do not come with inbuilt diapers.

Does anyone here believe the old wives tales saying, if we carry baby too often, it is bad for them as we are 吸走baby气! I heard from my neighbour recently. But what to do, I am a CIO type while my hubby is the one who buay tahan and carry baby immediately.

jynnsan,
That is the most ridiculous myth i heard!!! So what if we realli 吸走baby气 ?? We are not 僵尸!
Ur neighbour so funny...

peanut:

that article is so reassuring
Makes me feel good carrying my baby now...hahahaha Shall tell this to my MIL and grand MIL who have been telling me that my baby will turn into a highly insecure person because of me.

Fifi,
I checked with a friend on the different brands of cereals. Personally her son preferred Happy Bellies and Earth's best but dislike Bellamy. I think i will get Happy Bellies to start on the brown rice cereal.

Actually my mil did say carry bb too much no gd.. cos of duno wat "qi"... wait bb cannot grow well.. anyway.. yah.. like wat u gals say.. now wan carry den carry, wait the phase is over.. we wan oso cannot liao..

Milk Supply:

Want to check with mummies here, anyone drinking MIM's Nutritious Tea 4 Two? I was drinking their nursing tea and stopped because i didn't like the taste. Switched to Tea 4 two because the description said it's for women who are planning to be pregnant or are already pregnant or breastfeeding so thought i should be able to drink it too.

After taking it for 2 days in a row, i have leaking breasts that demand to be emptied after 2 hours from the last pump since this morning. That has nv happened to me before and i am thrilled with the increase. In fact, i complained very often about my poor milk supply in the past. I can't think of anything esle unusual that i have done or taken and i have nv got this kind of effect from Fenugreek or Nursing tea before. So i'm wondering if any mummies here are taking this tea and have seen a sharp increase in ss. Want to find out what's causing this increase so i can keep it up Heeeee

Update on Swimsuit

Liferacer Thermal/UV Wetsuits
-> Will do a BP on this in April when new designs/stock comes in.
-> BP price is definitely cheaper than retail price at Isetan.

iplay Swim diapers
-> Similar to the BP swim diapers. We will be getting this from US. <font color="ff0000">Please PM me if interested</font>

--

Happy:
The BP dun have our size mah &amp; its ready stock.

hi Nov mummies

I've been following this thread since I was pregnant at the same time as all of you &amp; baby was supposed to be due in Nov 08. Though eventually I gave birth in Oct at 36 weeks, I still find myself coming back to this Nov thread instead of Oct. ;P Anyway just wanna say that it's been great reading all of yr experiences since our babies' arrival. Whenever I become paranoid about baby matters, eg mucus causing breathing problems, feeding/burping/poo/crying issues, baby needing constant attention, baby toys etc, I always find manage to find some answers in this thread.

Since I've been taking in all the good advices so far, thought I could just share my own experiences as well.

***Baby Self-entertainment***
Over the last few months, I've found some means to entertain him (so that I have time to find my own entertainment eg surf the net &amp; read the Nov postings, online shopping sprees etc *grin*).

1) PlayMat
- I bought a Tiny Love playmat for him and it works wonders. I regret not getting it earlier. There's a mirror that he's fascinated with, hanging plush toys/rattles, kick &amp; play pad w melodies etc to keep him entertained for about 20-40mins - good enough for me to take a shower, have lunch etc. He's at this stage where he's using his hands to explore &amp; grab things, learning cause &amp; effect so the playmat helps to keep his attention intact. He does tummy time on this too!

- I place the Tiny Love playmat on the Parklon bumper playmat in my living room (which has since become both baby/me/hubby's new play area). Putting him on the floor is the safest place since he flipped from back to his tummy few weeks ago. He takes short afternoon naps on it as well when he's tired out (like now..).

2) Baby DVDs
- When I saw how captivated he was by images on TV at 3mths old, I bought 'Yr Baby Can Read' DVDs etc to keep him entertained for abt 15-20mins /day (in moderation as too much TV is no good, 20 mins is his max attention span on TV anyways). I put him on my lap facing the TV directly in an upright position &amp; he will watch, coo and smile at the images (I can see his expressions thru the mirror I place on TV console..heh heh) Eventually I will put him on Bumbo seat when his back and neck is strong enough.

RE: U-Like blender
Bought this at Isetan @ $69.90. Can be used to make baby food, make fruit juice w/without fibre for u or ur hubby using a separate container. Comes with 1 big &amp; 1 small glass container - easy to wash up cos it's compact. We have a Philips Blender too but it's simply too heavy, consumes space and cumbersome to wash. I highly recommend U-Like Blender.

My key problems &amp; solutions so far, just to share:
1) Milk rash - California Calendula Cream
2) Feeding tantrums - baby feed from bottle left 1oz &amp; refuse to take somemore cos he wants to latch on. I will let him latch on, then switch back to bottle teat when he's not lookin'..heheh..Or simply let him rest for 20 mins (within 1 hr feed) then he'll finish the rest.
3) Too much wind from bottle feeding - I changed to Dr Brown BPA free bottles.
4) All that buzz abt SLS and carcinogens in baby shampoo &amp; lotion - I changed to organic pdts - California and GAIA.

I'm still in a learning phase in the motherhood journey, hope to continue to share and learn with all of u too...Of course what works for me may or may not work for u but it's worth a try. ;)

hi Fifi,

I think CK Tangs carries U-Like Blender too. For Isetan, some stores like Isetan Parkway may be OOS, so better to call up the outlets to check first before heading down..

JessLee
my house.. actually shd say my inlaw's house... no space for playmat liao.. so thats quite out..
TV: urs sound like easier bb.. mine ah.. dun say coo &amp; smile.. can't be bothered to watch tv even for 5mins.. -_-

This is my first time posting here too...

Like Jesslee, my edd was in nov but i delivered at 33weeks in early oct. I visit this thread more often cos oct thread is too 'advanced'.

re baby dvds, i have some Baby Einstein dvds but i have to watch it with him cos he will look for me. he gets bored very fast too. i wonder if 'baby can read' dvds are more interesting. There is a BP on this as well. keen to get it *i'm a ks mummy* :p
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2279817.html?1237974063

jesslee, is the dvd the same as yours?

re bumbo chair, my bb hates the chair! screams whenever we try to place him on it. moveover, he got elephant legs so his legs get struck (yes...he is gaining weight very well although he is a preemie).

the best buy is the cloth piano. i placed it on the side of the cot &amp; he will use his leg to kick to activate music. he can be left alone to kick kick for about 10 mins. whenever he cries or fuss, we will place him there too. this is our lifesaver! hahaha

will try to look out for the tinylove playmat. he loves mirrors and music.

re milk supply, i have a doctor friend who prescribe me with domperidone (doridone) today. She said the effect is immediate. I have to supplement it with fenugreek cos each pump about 50ml nia. so far can see slight increase after 1 pump.

Hi peanut00

yeah I read about your fussy baby problem...Can understand yr frustration...I was in the same position too when baby kept wanting to be carried &amp; I can't even go for a toilet break(I am a SAHM - "STUCK-At-Home-Mum", handling baby alone *grin*). But then I thought to myself, I didn't create enough play area to put baby down or edutainment in the first place! Thus the bumper playmat, tiny love playmat &amp; DVDs.

Tiny Love Playmats
Tiny Love has many playmats in different sizes from small to big..very colourful and nice.Can last till 10-12mths. Mine is this. I bought at $111 aft disc.

2286107.jpg

http://www.amazon.com/Tiny-Love-Gymini-Total-Playground/dp/B00068O1OC
Selling in Taka Fair with 20% discount. U can choose a smaller sized one but do make sure there are enough developmental toys on it to keep baby interested. As the playmat's material is a little satin-like, it's not warm, but as it's not thick enough, I suggest u put it on a mattress or bumper playmat for more comfort &amp; support. Can ask them to open up so u can see the actual size, no need to paiseh one..heh heh..

Yr Baby Can read VCD/DVD
U can get it at Taka Fair too, or Popular, or under Want to Sell/Buy in this website from other mummies, sometimes at even cheaper price.(Original full set of 5 @ $99.90) There are some 'replica' version at very cheap prices but no la, don't want to risk getting arrested over a baby DVD/VCD...haha.. Actually there are other 1-pc titles from Baby Brainy/IQ etc, think should be equally effective as long as there are interesting &amp; colourful images to attract baby's attention.

Hope the above info helps.

Hi Yokoh,

yes it's the same one...BP is VCD version, so cheaper. I bought the DVD version whole set then the BP came out....haiz.

I usually watch the DVDs with my baby on my lap cos wanna see his expression thru the mirror. I've got a rocker chair (but I call it a lounge chair cos rocking function hv like dont hv) and will sometimes put him there to watch by himself too. For Yr Baby Can Read, I think it captures his attention whenever images of animals, babies, colourful stuff are flashed. This DVD teaches baby how to read so there are words flashing across the screen followed by images then words again. I notice when the words come on the screen, he will look away. There are 2 nursery rythmes in between readings in the starter DVD too...usually begin with Starter DVD - show everyday once or twice for the first month, then show Vol 1 &amp; so on..

The cloth piano is a great idea to keep baby entertained. The Tiny Love playmat that I bought has a kick &amp; play pad too and he loves it...he'll kick it to activate lights and music..
When he gets tired of it, he'll roll over to his tummy and look at other hanging toys or around the house, or simply grin at us...

blessed11
So funny. Local book yet Popular doesn't carry it. Hmm, very ma fan to order through the form. But thanks for replying me.

karen, blessed11,
Popular @Sembawang shopping centre carries the title. But not sure abt the other outlets. But the link given by Glad_gal/Lilian is much cheaper than buying from Popular.

Peanut,
I'm a SAHM, but sad to say i can't stand it sometimes: when she fuss during feed, wants to be carried every time..etc. I really pei fu ur mil. Maybe she has the 'magic' touch as a nanny. Can ask her teach me or not.

jynnsan,
ya, i heard that myth too. But the version i heard is old pple shd not be carrying the bb too much. hmm.. maybe it is a form of excuse not to carry bb.

yoyosan
You, me and jjmom are straddling between the same two forums. Hee.

Baby carrying &amp; Qi
Anyway, if really can suck the qi from babies, then I will go around and carry every baby I can find. Does that give me eternal youth? Or immortality?

Yokoh, Jess: Welcome!!
Alamak - hiaz didnt see the BP earlier
Got the VCD just today, and yah more exp at $59.90 %$#@ Anyway just hope baby likes it!

Jess: Haa if I have seen your review of the TinyLove playmat, I would have bought it today! Been very tempted to get a playmat since ages but felt that it may become white elephant very soon since can only use till at most 12 mths rite. Rented a FP playmat for my boy but he like not very interested and will cry after a short while hiaz. But the TinyLove one seems more fun lah, with the Kick pad which caught my eye last time too

SUMMARY OF SPREES

#1 Drugstore Spree
www.drugstore.com
If interested, please PM me &amp; I will reply with terms and conditions. Deadline to PM me your interest is this TFriday 27 March 2009 9pm.

#2 iplay Swimdiapers
www.bambinomountain.com
If interested, please PM me &amp; I will reply with terms and conditions. Deadline to PM me your interest is this Friday 27 March 2009 9pm.

#3 Happy Bellies BP
http://www.amazon.com/HAPPYBELLIES-Contains-Probiotics-Organic-Canisters/dp/B000YSTGGW
S$9.40 per tin.
Stock will arrive end April (3rd or 4th week)
If interested, please PM me. Deadline to PM me is this Monday 30 March 2009 9pm.

#4 Liferacer Swimsuits
There are thermal ones and UV ones. Adult ones also available. Example of thermal is shown below.
2286689.jpg

Currently, supplier has few size 1 stock. So, I will organise this BP when the supplier gets her next shipment of suits. Designs will be adviced then. These suits are selling $59.90-$69.90 for the thermal ones at Isetan but our BP price will be cheaper than that.

alibaba: hey, I saw u got buy the thermal jar from BP. just to check with you, have you got it yet? I also bought it, I havent recieved it yet. it's my first time buying.

hi jesslee,yokoh,welcome

fifi,
did you received my payment for the drugstore spree? was so worried coz u didnt reply my sms nor email about the transfer
. i made the payment earlier,as i will be away this sat till 11 april. pls check ur a/c. thanks.

glad_gal &amp; baby23, thks for the warm welcome

glad_gal,
actually i hesitated too before buying the TinyLove playmat but decided to go ahead cos I needed something to entertain him on the bumper playmat, which by itself is not exciting enough to keep him there for more than 10 mins. Yeah the Tiny Love playmat can only last till 10-12 mths, but put it this way, to keep him occupied now every single day from 8am - 10pm is a real challenge. Even if the playmat keeps him in place everyday for say 30mins twice a day for 2 months only, I think it's still worth it too...
Moreover I plan for a 2nd baby so can still use it again, if it happens. ;P

I tend to look out for things that capture his attention at home, eg, mirrors, loves to kick, loves to gaze at the TV while we're watching our programmes. So I got him things that he's keen in and it works for me so far. *cross fingers*

Lynn,
I bought the thermal jar too, think the organiser is getting buyers to state their collection date/venue - see link below:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2233530.html?1237992357

mirror: She is not interested!!! i always put her in front of the mirror and talk loudly for her to look at it but she see a little while then look away liao -_- Why my bb like kindof different from the rest..

JessLee
thanks for the info! i'll look into those stuffs.. but really lor hav to think twice cos eveyrtime i buy stuffs for her she turn out not v interested.. so waste money!

yoyosan
err... my mil? No lah.. she also cant gaodim my rascal sometimes.. so u can imagine.. Before that she always say look aft bb e easiest, jus eat and sleep.. i was like thinking.. She take care more than 60kids before dun tell me ALL so easy mei.. sometimes she v exaggerating one..

Bear
yah i try not to compare but stil tend to like tt sometimes.. cant control

Fifi - Liferacer Swimsuits
Check with you, can this swimsuits hold babies poo poo? coz now baby still cant hold their pee and poo so if cant, when its out in the poo, its gonna be bad rite? How is this compare to those swimming diapers huh? any idea? Thanks

Favoured - baby cube
Where are you staying...I forgot the BP i bought from but I still have her number and email..Shes staying in woodlands...I got the baby cubes from her...petite creation brand...am going to get the ice cube tray from her too coz its smaller portion compared to the cube i bought which is 70ml...think for the start, ice cube tray should be sufficient.... she gave me special price for the cube hehe...shes a very nice seller/mum....taught me how to make puree etc and even ask me to join their mummies forum organised tea time

morning mummies! baby still sleeping so sneaking in to read all e posts..heh..actually defrosted milk to bring to mum's place today but decided to work at home today, so gotta throw away e milk later. coz i rather latch on when i am at home (she may not take e bottle if I am around too), so wasted oh..

peanut,
dun be too upset ok? i think every mum wil think how come their baby not like other baby. but e truth is that every baby is unique and different. that is the beauty of babies. we just have to learn to get to know our baby better and it will be easier.

waterbaby,
wow, i would love to know what is it that caused the increase~! i have tried MIM nursing tea but didnt do anything for me. have stopped fenugreek too as it didnt really affect ss when i stopped. nevertheless i would like to increase my ss a lil as baby has recently increased intake. =>

shop4stuff,
can you share e details of the baby cube with me too? think i will check it out. thanks!

re:blender
i saw the handheld blender at philips showroom e other day and it is very bulky. think i will go check out the U-Like brand one today if i have time.

hey welcome jesslee &amp; yokoh

wow, yokoh, u delivered ur bb at week 33? premature baby oh? glad to hear tat he is a healthy growing baby ;)

lynn> ermmm i didnt follow up leh.. &amp; i have not got the jar yet. becos i asking babyzel to collect on behalf for me.. hehe.. cos we're staying nearby.

peanut> not only ur gal dont like mirror la.. haha.. my boy oso.. he will look away after awhile. lolz.. the no reaction look.. guess he dont like to look at himself bah..
-_- but to me ur little one seems like got a v cool character hor! hehe..

Haru:

The nursing tea didn't work for me at all and i didn't like the taste. I will continue to drink the Tea 4 two today and see if the leaks still happen. It has never happened to me before and i didn't eat/do anything special except starting the tea. I will update you again later if it was just like yesterday when i needed to pump almost every 2 hours.