(2008/11) November 2008

He mummies,

Dymples,
Possible to try to request to get back the result tomorrow?

Kash,
Wat is the chinese title for The Sweetness in the Salt? I wanna see ley.No nice drama for me to see after finishing the gems of life.

Both my kids better nw,still having slight cough at times

Btw,when do u intend to sigh up your lil boi to shichida? I wonder if i shld secure a slot for him now,as the waiting list is always tat long.

Bear,
keke...I hav the same tinking like snnowy.You are like a walking dicitionary superwoman to me! If i will hav any qnes regarding certain medical thingy,i sure will ask you too.

Lilian
hahaha... same lor.. i'm the one who always ask mil if bb got guai guai drink milk not.. -_- tink she also fedup i ask tt everyday..

Jo
how so far? Lucas intake better than yest?

My boy is having a fever since this morning after his 6-in-1 jab yesterday evening. What's the normal temp. range for babies? Cldnt find info from website for babies using ear thermoscan.

Again, anyone wants Similac?

Sorry to interrupt. am from the Sep 08 thread. I have 24 tins of Friso 1 Comfort to let go at $11 each. Pls PM me if interested. thanks

Jo, tats good.
now i veri scared of fever coz my gal reached 40.2deg when she had t infection.
Since he juz has his jab and having slight fever, his milk intake may reduce.

jo
im using ear thermometer. my pd told me above 38 considered fever and must take the panadol prescribed le. not sure about other pd. did your boy have fever for the 1st n 2nd jab? coz heard that if 1st jab no fever, then shouldnt have fever subsequently le. my boy both jab also fever, so i gave panadol. btw, panadol for baby

RE: friso
hi mummies, jus to share. i gave my bb NAN HA one mth ago, after 3 weeks on that, from everyday he poo to once every 2 days.. then 2 weeks ago i changed to friso comfort.. i find it very difficult to dissolve leh.. no matter how i stirred, there will be lumps of milk powder left over in the bottle.. and also alot of bubbles..

my bb last few night 12am drank 120ml i thot can tahan till morn, who knows he want milk at 4am+.. last time on NAN HA he not like that one.. he can at least tahan till 5.30am+..
so i intending to change to mamil gold.. ;p

New Sprees

Spree #1: Drugstore
If interested, please PM me &amp; I will reply with terms and conditions. <font color="ff0000">Deadline to PM me your interest is this Thursday 26 March 2009 9pm.</font>

* More to come. Stay tuned *

dymples,

oh dear! must be a stressful period for you. I sincerely hope ur maid doesn't have TB, but just some benign fatty growth on her neck. Am sure everything will be alright ok...be positive!

happy,

the chinese title is 勝雪鹽棧 or 碧血盐枭.
I already registered my boy liao but only intend to start for him next year. Yes i think u better register early if u really r keen coz their waiting list super long. For my case I do have sibling priority loh..i juz made the registration payment in advance since that day was settling the next term schoolfees for my gal. Also, it is very impt for me that I get the same timeslot for both my kids so we dun have to make 2 trips per week. Hb and me can accompany 1 kid each

Glad to hear that both of them are better. Guess what, I brought my gal to attend the term end party of her playgroup last friday since she has fully recovered.... then sunday, she started coughing yet again! HIAZ!

Joyce

how was Yu-Fei's 1st day at his playgroup? did he enjoy himself?

Btw, I checked again, it was my mistake on the price of the singulair... heehee... $3 per sachet...not $7 at the PD clinic... i have to let my gal take for 3 mths ah... siong...

Jo

its normal that some bb may develop fever after certain vaccination. as long as above 37.5 u can feed some panadol. Fever shd not persist for more than 2 days.

liv: friso very thick tats why i stop giving and hard to drink too..like milkshake..i use similac.

jo: 36.8 is ok temp just monitor closely if u wanna be safe then just feed med again in next 4-6 hrs, i gave me gal fever med but she still got fever even after taking med after her 6 in 1 jab...the other time.

Good afternoon!
I know this question been asked in the thread many times but am really lazy to refer back cos dunno which page but can you all tell mi how much your bb drinking now n weight? my girl is only drinking 90ml since NB till now n refuse to take more then tat. she is now 6kg at 4 months. i use to think she will drink more as time goes by but like not leh, n quite many times she didnt finish the 90 ml too.......

Expensive Bibs but dunno if its really that useful
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2279829.html?1237874422

Jo,
for 6 in 1 jabs ussually the fever wont go higher then 38.5 degrees.

lilian,
i also very scare fever de. it is my number 1 enemy. last time wheneve my girl got fever i dun dare to sleep de, cos it can keep going up n down.

blessed11: ya lor.. very thick leh... really can see e difference from NAN HA.. hope mamil gold is good.. any comment on Mamil gold?

liv,
thanks for the reference, my girl drink 90ml every 3 hrs, so i guess its pretty alright ba. just tat i c babies drinking 140ml, 180ml like compare to my girl so little though i know i shouldnt compare as long as they are gaining weight steadily it should b fine. but i just need to know leh. so tell mi ppl! lolx

milderina: ya, me too.. use to keep comparing with other bb who are younger and drank much more than mine.. but now no compare le.. haha.. my bb belongs to the lighter weight bb category..

Kash,
What is this singulair? Got to give your gal take for 3mths? Why?

OK.noted abt the title.Will try sourcing it

Ya i had always wanted to enrol my gal to shichida but was away to twn then.Now she is 3YO,dun tink is gd time to enrol liao.So,i got to start my boi early.I have started my boi house practise ysday.Seems like his attention span is rather long as compare to my gal.SO i guess,i shld enrol him fast.Did you do any house practise with your gal?

Mildy,
But 90ml can last her for how many hours? 3hourly? If there is wt gain,dun tink is a concern rite.Seek PD advise.

Hi Mildy

i saw the way my PD calculated was she used the weight of the bb for the month...say for example if at 5 mths, bb average shd be 7.5kg, then it will be 7.5 x 30 x 5 = 1125ml per day. I do not know whether this is correct but this was the formula she used when I asked her. Please bear in mind this is for bb boy...normally bb gal will be lighter. i am now feeding my boy 230 to 240ml per feed. trying to increase him to 250ml if possible. Coz he zzzz a lot i can only manage to squeeze in 4 feeds in a day. he is very small only.... 6.9kg due to the recent bout of illness spread from his jie jie... if he still doesn't gain weight, i think i can throw away all my BM coz think my BM lousy... no fats or something..maybe I should start to introduce FM...perhaps he may gain more by drinking FM..... hiaz

Thanks mummies ...

Ard 12pm, his fever was ard 37.7 ... body quite warm leh ... was wondering if ear thermoscan is useful for infants. I juz checked his temp was 36.5 and body still warm. He wanna play now and refuse to sleep. He is playing so well now so not so worried.

He didnt get any fever after his 1st &amp; 2nd jab woh. Dunnoe why this time got it.

blessed11,
do you wan Similac? I juz bought one can and open it .. given 6 feeds only ... I dun wanna throw it away .. so wasted.

happy

singulair is a type of lung tonic.

no leh i hardly got time to do home practise for my gal. How u manage? U do flash cards? Coz base on the SM method, u can't flash the same set of cards for more than 2 times. So it is impossible for me to find or DIY new topics to her. I juz let her go to class. I dun even have time to let her do her SM homework! sad.... 3YO is not too late! u shd consider still... speak to the people there...i think u shd still start ur gal.

<font color="ff0066"> Jo</font>
Yup. I brough Janessa along. But luckily my dad followed. So my dad n bb wait at Starbucks whilst I brough maid to the SATA upstairs.

Oh dear... for bb.. if using ear thermo, I see if 37.5 and above, to me tat is fever liaoz. I will juz give the bb panadol first and monitor.
But if it hits like 38.8 and above, then I will give bb neurofen.

<font color="ff0066"> Liv</font>
I tot Friso Comfort is for those bb's with colic? Maybe cos it's special formula for colic tat's why harder to dissolve?
The Friso tat I'm now trying to give bb is the normal Friso 1. So far quite easy to dissolve in water.

<font color="ff0066"> Happy</font>
I check wz SATA liaoz. They said will put it as priority. But even then, they said to expect 2-3 days wait. Haiz...

<font color="ff0066"> Milderina</font>
At least you know amount your bb drinking wor. I dun even know the amount my bb takes cos it's always direct latch. Janessa is 6.5kg at 4-mths so not much diff.
Most important I feel is not comparing the amount of milk bb takes. As long as bb is growing well and is active can liaoz.
If you worried, maybe can raise this subject to your PD during the check-up? Some bb's are naturally smaller. Like my #2... till now also fussy eater. *faintz*

dymples: tat time i tot buy friso comfort coz he nv poo poo and kept spitting out the milk.. maybe friso comfort is different from the normal one?

liv,
yeah, think becos mi n hubby not very big size too, but somehow thinking of 90ml like so little. lolx

happy,
yes, she drink 90 ml every 3 hrly sometimes 2 n a half she wans already but if we make 120ml she confirm dun drink de. we just brought her for jab last week n i forget to ask. i always forget to ask things then come back n make myself hu si luan xiang.

kash,
i think my girl 1 day only drink 540ml nias.

dymples,
i use to direct latch her till i go back to work then started giving FM then realised how little she drink. maybe cos before they are BM drinking directly so they drink less. anyway i also dunno. kekeke....

Mildy,
Ya,pick up the phone and make a call!
But as long as she is active with wt gain,dun tink is a concern.I guess your gal hav your gense lar.. small size de.

Kash,
Wow.. your boi drinks alot ley.Mine onli drinks 170ml the most.At times,cant even finish it.Now worse, 100ml oso cannt finish.And his wt is 7.6kg @ 19wks.If to cal total he hav drink,onli 850ml/day.Dun knw when can hit 1125ml!

I do flashcards,some worksheets &amp; photographic memory everynite,1hr b4 bedtime,with my gal.It has become a rountine for her,and every nite she will auto,sit and wait for it.And Ysday,i pop my boi onto bumbo n started him too.
I bought flashcards from tensai,online shop &amp; mostly DIY

Ya,cannt repeat the topic 2times per session.And gotto retired the set of cards once she gets bored.So is a headache for me at times.Got to source &amp; tink of new topics.SM oso request to flash 1000words a day too rite? Till nw,i can hardly flash 100words coz my gal dun like it.She onli enjoys the pic cards.
Hav tout of sending her but she wont b able to sit still for hours de.
Mayb u can try to set a std timing and let the session be a 10mins one

<font color="ff0000">Sitting Up</font>
Once a baby can roll over, sitting up isn't far behind. Babies have a whole new view of the world when they learn to sit up. So it's as exciting for them as it is for their parents!

By about 4 months of age, your baby can sit when propped up.

By 6 months your baby may have some success sitting in a high chair, and sometime before 1 year of age, she'll perfect the art of sitting unaided.

To help baby practice sitting skills:
Place him in your lap, facing outward, while you sit cross-legged on the floor. Your stomach and legs will provide the necessary support for his back.
Prop baby on a standard pillow or a U-shaped pillow. Let him experience the sensation of sitting with your supervision.

my gal these days also.. i always make 160ml for her but she auto-refuse after ~120ml.. When i see her start kicking and going to cry i know can stop feeding liao.. sibey zun one lei... dun understand.
So.. its.. stressful before feed cos afraid she reject.. Then.. stressful when she drinking cos afraid she drink halfway dun wan liao -_-. Guess if i'm a SAHM i'll go bonkers..

<font color="ff0000">Rolling over</font>
While gaining control of their unwieldy head is a gradual process, turning over is one milestone that seems to appear out of the blue in babies -- a milestone that parents anxiously await.

At 4 or 5 months, your baby will be able to roll over in one direction only (either back-to-stomach or stomach-to-back). She probably won't be able to flip herself in the opposite direction until 6 or 7 months.

You can encourage rolling by:
Providing baby with plenty of space and opportunity to practice. The floor is always great for this.
Praise baby. Talk to her and encourage her as she practices rolling.
Hold an object of interest, such as a rattle or a baby mirror, next to her. This can catch her attention and entice her to turn her body to see it.

<font color="ff0000">Reaching and Grasping</font>
Most infants start waving or batting at objects by 3 months of age, an impulse that quickly becomes more refined.

By 5 or 6 months, your child should master visually directed reaching, which means she's able to see an object and reach for and grasp it with her hand.

By 8 or 9 months, as your baby learns to grasp with her thumb and forefinger, she can pick up surprisingly small objects -- crumbs of food, for example, and, unfortunately, bits of dust and dirt from the floor. You'll have to keep a watchful eye on baby, because she'll be tempted to taste whatever she picks up.

Try these four suggestions to encourage development of baby's hand-eye coordination:
Install a crib gym. This allows him to bat at the objects overhead. (To be safe, remove it from the crib as soon as he can sit up.)
While your baby lies on his back on the floor, dangle eye-catching objects above him. Shake them three to eight inches above his head, giving him the opportunity to swipe at them.
To help your 4-month-old baby practice grasping objects, hand her rattles or other safe items to hold. Things that make noise when she shakes them, or have a nice texture to gum on, may encourage her to keep her grip.
Place several toys within reach. Let her grasp for things as she lies on her stomach on the floor.

peanut,
yeah lor, its like they have a guage in them n know when its exactly the amt they drink lor. if i make 120ml my girl also zhun zhun 90ml stop de. i also like u, make milk for her scare she dun finish, n sometimes when i feeding her i dun dare to move or make a sound scare she will b distracted then mai drink, but there is always my elder girl ard to distract her. kekeke....

<font color="ff0066"> Milderina</font>
heeh... I also looking at tat bibs BP. Seems really good hor. So tempted now. *LOL*

Thinking of getting the long sleeve ones cos those are really useful when feeding bb outside n scared bb dirty their clothes. heheheh....

shop4stuffs,
good info on milestones! thanks

mildy,
i always think my gal drinking too little.. Urs also so little! Haa...
Fifi mentioned yest tat milk intake shd be 120ml per kg.

Mildy
yah lor!!! sama sama lei!! mus be as quiet as possible.. dun move also.. except for rocking the rocker a bit.. if she suddenly gena distracted she wil cry and no wan milk liao..

mildy &amp; peanut,
sometimes when my boy really starts drinking ... I also dun dare to move at all ... even nose itchy wanna sneeze also must try endure or sneeze softer and cannot affect my hands. Haha.

Jo
whahahahaha!!! i wan to die from laughing.. YAH MAN!! tts exactly the same.. when my nose itchy feel like sneezing.. i'll be like.. OH NO.. mus ren!!!!

<font color="ff0000">HOW MUCH FORMULA DO I FEED MY BABY, AND HOW OFTEN?</font>
As you develop a bottle-feeding routine for you and your baby, the two of you will work out which formula is best, how much, and how often. This routine may change as your baby grows. As a general guide:

Between birth and six months of age your baby will need an average of 2 to 2.5 ounces of formula per pound per day. So, if your baby weighs ten pounds, she will need 20 to 25 ounces per day.

Newborns may take only an ounce or two at each feeding
One to two months: 3 to 4 ounces per feeding
Two to six months: 4 to 6 ounces per feeding
Six months to a year: as much as 8 ounces at a feeding
Small, more frequent feedings will work better than larger ones spaced farther apart. Your baby's tummy is about the size of his fist. Take a full bottle and place it next to your baby's fist and you'll see why tiny tummies often spit the milk back up when they're given too much at one time.

IS BABY GETTING TOO LITTLE OR TOO MUCH FORMULA?
Signs that your baby may be getting too little formula are:

slower-than-normal weight gain
diminished urine output
a loose, wrinkly appearance to baby's skin
persistent crying
Signs that your baby is being fed too much at each feeding are:

a lot of spitting up or profuse vomiting immediately after the feeding
colicky abdominal pain (baby draws his legs up onto a tense abdomen) immediately after feeding
excessive weight gain
If these signs of overfeeding occur, offer smaller-volume feedings more frequently, burp baby once or twice during the feeding, and occasionally offer a bottle of water instead of formula.

Mildy:
My gal is drinking about 600+ml of BM a day (estimate only as I latch on when I'm at home). Sometimes 700+ml when she's in the mood. At 4 mths 1 week, she was 6.25kg. I read somewhere that FM need to keep increasing amt. BM is ok de coz the milk will change to contain the correct amt of nutrition our BB need.

Guidelines (i think is for FM) if you want to know the amt to drink is 120-150ml per kg per day. But this is only an estimate and not an important guideline. Weight gain, poo and pee is more important. Last time my PD day weight gain average of 20-35g per day.

RE: Insensitive dad

My dad seems to be very insensitive to my feelings as he is always comparing me and my SIL saying that she sleeps with baby and latches baby and they are very close while my baby sleeps with the maid and is fed by maid, however he does not understand I stay home everyday to oversee baby and keep her company, altough my maid carries and takes care for me doesn't mean I am not close to my baby.

My baby also yearns for mummy's attention and company.

How do I put it to him that I am no less as close as my SIL and her baby?

blessed11,
Same as Jo, i'll not try to explain to him anything. Time will tell.

I know it's hard and it hurts, esp it's from our our parent! My dad is also v insensitive in his actions and words.

Re: Bibs
All the bibs have been mailed out by the shop. Those who ordered 1 bib, the shop owner cut the cardboard tag holding your bib by a bit so that the postage is 80c as quoted. Coz if not, miss by 2g and you would have to pay 20c. Only the cardboard tag holding your bib is affected. Not the bib.

Babyzel &amp; olwen, you can collect your bib already. Try to collect by this week as they juz told me that they will be closed next week for 1 week.

Those who have yet to pay me, pls pay me before I have to hang pig's head. *Grinz* I already paid up for you first liaoz.

jo and lilian: ok thanks..thats why i am doing, but sometimes really feel like flaring up. Very insensitive towards people's feelings. I know when both our kids grow older surely will also compare other things like school grades and all..damn irritating. And yes lilian, worse so, esp is our own parents, i always thot they understand their own kids but they dun!

Next time I move house move further from them oredi..dun care.

Fussy baby: My bb also now so fussy and cranky.. is it because now is the stage that they get distracted easily and get cranky? My bb needs me to feed him and my maid has to keep shaking the rattle in front of him to calm him down and he will drink his milk.. urrgg..

Exersaucer: I rent an exersaucer.. think now this toy is not the time for our bb at this age to play. he cant sit long for a minute and cry to be carry up. End up I have to call to exchange for another toys.. so mummies if u thinking of getting one, i think is not the right time. waste of money..

blessed11
i think im like you,stay at home but maid does most things of bb. but bb still as close to me, he sleeps very fast when i make him sleep/sleep with him. when im near him, he will cry if i dun carry him etc. when he cry n i carry him, im able to soothe him lo...he will still 1 me lo. dun worry, guess we still play with him, sleep with him whole day you see....

Hello, finally got time to log in.

Dymples, i forgot to ans ur qn abt u sending the maid back. Ur first priority is ur kids, not ur maid (i'm just stating the fact). don't feel bad abt it. at most u give her a bit more money before she leaves? Do update us on the results of the scan ya? Find it a bit funny. ultrasounds can be seen there and then wat. why need to wait 2-3 days???

Snnowy, Happy, erm.. thanks for the compliments. i just happen to like reading abt such things.
may be i shd go overseas to pursue a medical degree! heehee... Anyway i like to clear up misconceptions and give up-to-date info cos i find that nothing beats being informed abt the latest things in science.

Re: drinking
I agree with Fifi abt the intake amt. its not the amt that matters, but if u kid is well and gaining wt. If ur PD dun find it a prob, then u shd rest assured that ur bb is fine ya? I have my own theory abt this. For me, my boy takes 140ml per 3hrs but he only poos once every 3 days! I haven't increased his feed for 5 wks already but he is still gaining weight steadily. My theory is that he has a better absorption rate than other bbs! heh.. may be u guys also have bbs with better absorption rate!

Happy, why dun u start a biz doing flash cards for other mummies? hahaha.. i dun mind buying them from u! :p

Kash, thanks for the tip on the blender. will go and look for it!

I have a qn for u guys. My boy loves to scream. He has been screaming so much that he developed a cough, esp when he slps. No fever, no runny nose, just dry cough. If he is awake he won't cough unless he just finish a bout of screaming. I brought him to the PD last wk (he was already coughing) but she said it is nothing. But today, i can hear a bit of phelgm inside.. what shd i do? i m tempted to leave it alone though but dunno how it will develop.

Kash,
haha.. the first day he was alright cause i accompany him throughout his class. But today i try to leave him and he cry till vomit.. You are right! See them crying and u feel like crying too.. **sad**

Dymples, happy,
How many days or weeks your children takes to adapt to the new school? I mean those playgroup, nursery type??

Dymples,
hope that ur maid will be alright!

RE: Haenim playard
Ya, kash is right, seems like years back i bought at $180 for 6 panels only, but now selling at $210!

Shop4stuffs, fifi,
Thanks for your info regarding the amount of milk each baby should take.. At least i know my gal is drinking enough milk

Peanut, Jo,
Hey, we are in the same boat! Everytime when my maid start to feed, my heart will be pumping twice cos normally my gal will cry and refuse to drink!

Bear,
hope that u have recovered from flu!