(2008/10) Oct 2008

Happy New Year.
Have been lurking but haven't been posting because I'm usually nursing or carrying my baby. Baby is now 3 months old.

Buffy - Koalatot loves watching "The Cat in the Hat Knows Alot about That". I don't own the DVD. They show it on PBS Kids everyday. There's another science based show called "Sid The Science Kid" which I like more because they do experiments there which Koalakid always wants to recreate. Koalatot likes watching that too.

Purple
This is a guideline that I am using now for fever. If ly's fever does not break by 5 days, she may need antibiotics. The throat infection is likely caused by virus. Looking at ly's condition, v similar to rebby's. The fever did not break even after 1 week n it keeps going up even after meds had been given.

In my opinion, u can ask Ur pd to start her on the antibiotics now rather than wait. If not, go for a blood test.

jelly,
PD had prescribed the antibiotics today... so cross fingers now... she had asked us to feed ly with brufen for 2 days and start paracetamol from the 3rd...

saxo,
basically, it's the briefing of the timetable, the library and reading programme and their show and tell. Then the rest was more about what's gonna happen the first few days in school and what parents should expect, such as managing the crying, things to bring. Then Q and A. Nothing major really.

<font color="0077aa">koala, ya it's by PBS. Check out their website on the extended activities you can use at home.

Oh!!!! How coincidental! I bought 2 Magic School Bus DVDs recently and I saw Sid! I thought it was v interesting but thought may be a bit cheem for C. Any particular titles u recommend which is a bit more digestible for their age? Thanks dear. Oh I wanted to send u a FB message on a Lois Ehlert resource.
Check your inbox.

Buffy - Actually I think Sid is easier to comprehend because they go right into the topic. The Cat in the Hat can be a little "boliao" sometimes. They do simple experiments on Sid which can easily be done at home, sing songs about the topic and bring it down to a level that's easy for a preschooler to understand. Koalatot loves Sid (we watch entirely too much PBS Kids here). I'll look at the DVDs to see which episodes are on it and get back to you.

I love to hear about all the first day school jitters on fb. Coincidentally many friends have children going to primary school for the first time today.

Mummies, a question. What do you all do with dry diapers? Jo wakes up a few night with dry diapers. Should I throw or can I reuse it the next night? I have been throwing but what a waste!

<font color="0077aa">koala: thanks dear. wait for your "recommendation" then, am all for experiments as you probably can guess. gonna work on saving some $$ for a simple microscope so that C and I can use it when she is a tad older - micro organisms in ponds, dissecting of simple insects / bugs, etc. I think my hubs would be grossed out. :p

wow, today and tmr big days for mummies ya? how many of our tots are starting today? Hope everyone did well!</font>

sorry for interuption, mommies-to-be! helping a friend to post this:
Note the spree opens till 10 Jan 2011 at 6pm sharp. This is for the Japan local website spree which has all designs for Japanese local purchase only (NOT open to international buyers) and NOT the international nissen.com which everyone can access to. Arrival to SG is approximately in second week of February 2011. Self collect at Bedok or registered postage to arrange with spreeist.

To take part in this spree, please register your email via http://www.goms.webuda.com/Xrate/XcurrencyRate.php and send your order to [email protected]

For baby till 2 years old SALE clothes website link:
http://search.nissen.co.jp/nsrch/sale/search.jsp?ipg=60&amp;category_main_name=sale_ba_000&amp;2nd=cate002_006_001

For 3 years old and above SALE clothes website link:
http://search.nissen.co.jp/nsrch/sale/search.jsp?ipg=60&amp;category_main_name=sale_kd_000&amp;2nd=cate003_005_001

The main japan website is www.nissen.co.jp

Have a safe delivery and enjoy motherhood ahead!

Any of u playing Fishies on iphone or ipad? Marcus loves to play... and keep asking for more fish to be added. But i have no friends so cannot increase my fish tank space.

So... if u are playing or dun mind playing, go download FISHIES (it's a free apps) and pls add me a friend. My fishtank is called MyKENteen.

Gosh... i feel like i'm advertising for this game. It's veryu boliao... but Marcus loves it.

xy,
Regina was so funny today. Asked whether Marcus will be in her new school. Didn't expect her to ask for him... hahahaha

Regina misses my cheeky boy ah...
haha... So how's school for her so far? She enjoying herself? Anyone else i know in her class?

The washable markers i ordered with u right? We shd catch up soon. Maybe next week for lunch. u free?

yes... she wants...
Erm.. pass to me at Magic treetop can? Or if i can... i drive to ur place.

PLAYtime!
The Magic Treetop

DATE : 23 Jan 2011, Sun, 11am
DURATION : Approx 40 mins (no intermission)
VENUE : Esplanade Recital Studio

1. JJmom + Nat
2. XY + Marcus
3. ypg + Tong
4. Jelly + rebby + Hubby
5. Jolly's hubby + Ash
6. eelyn + kaitlyn
7. Bluey + Ashten
8. Forest + Kieran
9. Daisybutton + Jaz

All tickets with me. Dun forget to attend hor.
10. Mona + Jo

xy,
hehe.. i downloaded it again. deleted it last time cause it kept on hanging. i added you as a friend already.

appletree:
rianne started her playgroup today. i guess my expectations after JG is higher.. i found the class boring.

joanne
maybe u can consider switching to chiltern then...i think rianne will be very happy at chiltern...

re: weaning
mommies, am going to waen bb s off breastfeeding... my supply is dwindling and i thot i should do that soon. quick question... how should i do it? i can't remember already...

Brought gabriel to my dentist this morning. Dentist din managed to really see his teeth cos gabriel refused to open his mouth...sighz....

Dentist advised to monitor and leave them alone, cos gabriel will not sit down and he cant do anything. He even say something like GP is not a professional dentist so what GP say is not quite right

Found another dentist recom by some mummies in bbsupplies forum, Dr. Ong Yean Sze. Think is the same dentist as the blog link dimpletot gave me. Consultant is ard $98+.

In dilemma, should i bring gabriel to a kid dentist??? the kid dentist or focus smile??

Saxo, ur dentist can handle uncooperative toddler like my son. I m afraid gabriel will not open his mouth and waste my trip/$$$ there!

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD> Magic TreeTop </TD><TD> Magic Ocean </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD> 23 Jan, Sun, 11am </TD><TD> 12 Feb, Sat, 11am </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1. JJmom + Nat</TD><TD> 27.00 </TD><TD> 27.60 </TD><TD> Mail by Jelly </TD></TR><TR><TD>2. XY + Marcus</TD><TD> 27.00 </TD><TD> 27.60 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3. ypg + Tong</TD><TD> 27.00 </TD><TD> 27.60 </TD><TD> Mail by Jelly </TD></TR><TR><TD>4. Jelly + rebby + Hubby</TD><TD> 43.00 </TD><TD> 43.60 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5. buffy + Cate</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> 27.60 </TD><TD> Mail by Jelly </TD></TR><TR><TD>6. cheerbear + shawn</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> 27.60 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7. Jolly's hubby + Ash</TD><TD> 27.00 </TD><TD> 27.60 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8. vanilla + E</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> 27.60 </TD><TD> Mail by Jelly </TD></TR><TR><TD>9. eelyn + kaitlyn</TD><TD> 27.00 </TD><TD> 27.60 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10. Bluey + Ashten</TD><TD> 27.00 </TD><TD> 27.60 </TD><TD> Mail by Jelly </TD></TR><TR><TD>11. Karen + Jo</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> 27.60 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12. Forest + Kieran</TD><TD> 27.00 </TD><TD> 27.60 </TD><TD> Mail by Jelly </TD></TR><TR><TD>13. Daisybutton + Jaz</TD><TD> 27.00 </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14. Mona + Jo</TD><TD> 27.00 </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD> 286.00 </TD><TD> 347.20 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Magic Ocean, i only have 13 tickets. The other 12 (ie 6 pairs ) have been mailed out by Jelly as indicated. Pls check that u all have your tickets.

Thanks Joanne!

Any other fun apps to play or download fro ipad? My ipad like under-used leh.
Haiz... i'm not a very tech person.

Marcus still prefers the iphone (which i dun have) to the ipad. Wonder why...

xy,
lunchtime i can't leh. My freedom time is now from 2pm to 4pm. Or i mail the markers to you?

saxo,
Ok.

joanne,
ya think rianne will love chiltern.

Jellypurin,
just cold turkey method. When your breasts feel engorged, just pump a little out to ease the engorgement then leave it.

ok here's the thing... I can't stop smiling. I'm sitting in picotin with a silly grin on my face. This was easier than I thought. Giving up breastfeeding was tougher. Hahaha!

hi got my magic ocean tkts - mailed by Jelly.

Thanks Jelly

I am glad E is happy in school. think my hb will just drop him tom and pick up after class.

mint
ok, he's not hooked to me... haha... just that i wish to stop so that i can start my diet plans and exercise regime. need to lose all the weight by this year if all possible!

xy
rebekah likes the shapes app as well as the flashcards app.

JJmom,
So ur nanny no more? Can PM me the contact of your nanny? My colleague due in Mar11. She will need a nanny to care for her infant in June11.
What are her charges like? How u find her? Or u have any nannies to recomment in Punggol area?

mint/jelly,
yah.. i think she will love chiltern too.. and i will love chiltern too.. but hubby says chiltern too ex..

xy,
no problem.. my touch is over utilized.. have to keep deleting apps to make way for new ones.. hehe..

little doggie

I had been bringing my boy to the dentist for the past 1 year. The dentist is not a PD dentist so the charges are much lower (think $25 only for consultation + check-up + wash). The dentist is famous on the internet for treating kids, though not PD. Personally, I dont see a need to splurge on such treatments coz this doc that I went to is good with kids as well (they use strawberry flavoured stuff to clean my boy's teeth and is very patient).

You may want to try:

Hosanna! Dental Surgery
Blk 123 Toa Payoh Lor 1 #01-515

The doc that I went to was Dr Chris Yang but the other doc is good as well (more experienced).

hi mint - i think playgroup helped. how many classes of N1 does turf city CH has? Mt Sq is running full cap at 3 classes in morn.wah the toilet training time is mad house! hahaha...

joanne
$ can be earned lah, tell ur hubby. his daughter should be a happy girl in a place where she can learn and grow... hee...

vanilla/mint
happy that ur kids are doing well in sch.

Little doggie
I guess since he's a kid dentist, he should be able to get Gabriel to open his mouth? Plus with Barney to distract, perhaps he may just open his mouth unknOwingly. I had no problems with Jo opening her mouth because she is generally good in front of strangers. What he dentist asked me to do was to lie down with Jo and then lie Jo on top of me, with her head above my chest. And then my hands cross hers so that she can't flail.

Hths.

XY,
yes, no more with nanny.

She charge $600 then another $80 when bb starts solid food.

But she is very very strict on timing. MUST pick up bb no later than 6pm. Can your colleague make it in time? If not, she wont take in even if u pay extra OT pay. She is quite yaya papaya 1 =P

We like her when Nat's young coz she is :
1. clean/hygiene
2. strict on discipline (might not suit your friend if she dont like nanny to scold/punish with notti corner)
3. routine
4. neat

She is the no nonsense kinda ppl so quite inflexible in some ways.

If your colleague still keen, i will have to check with her 1st.

omg! Regina has a super rich classmate. The boy's father owns Muthu's Curry. Hahaha!

Vanilla,
ya, tmr i'm going to just drop and go. Turf has 2 N1 classes per session. Yup, JG has definitely helped alot.

Jellypurin,
that makes it even easier.

mint,
so next time it's muthu curry for all school celebration parties lol

mayb next time the boy becomes regina's bf then u can have muthu curry FOC for life! wahahaha...

jelly,
hahaha.. i know. i'm crossing my fingers that hubby will say yes. i'm listing everything that i don't like. hehe.. hopefully he gets the picture.

whitepaper, thanks for the contact, will keep it. yes i agreed no need to spent extra so long as the dentist/doc is good.

Saxo, the bad news is gabriel is not into Barney...haha...

Anyway, conclusion, after talking to my sister(she shared her gal and her friend's kid fall down + teeth experience) is to juz monitor.

Thanks mummies for giving me ur valuable feedback and support

mint, can't help laughing when i saw Jjmom's msg:p, u can start training regina to eat curry now...keke

Pediped maryjane shoe :

In case other mommies getting, i bought size 22 for Nat's 13.5cm foot size &amp; it's fit juz nice...phew!

But i would prefer to get size 23 &amp; put in the insert for longer shoe life

jjmom,
yeeee! cannot cannot... haha!

jellypurin, xy,
next gathering I see if I can get discount on the curry then I bring. Hahaha!

Kate's first day at school went surprisingly well! considering that she's such a sticky chewy choc these days...

I think the teachers are quite experienced, and they brought more teachers in so it was full force for the first day. It was also a short introductory first day, and the parents were given a briefing by the principal for 1.5 hrs, so no one got to peek (although the room was near so could easily hear if a kid was crying), which i think is good, cos the kids don't get distracted / weepy. Very good advice I felt on managing the first few days/weeks of school, was this: to minimise separation anxiety in your child, you as a parent must first LET GO. trust the teachers and internally as well as externally (in what you say to your child, how it shows on your face) LET GO. Think i can do that quite ok, might be harder for her daddy haha.

Kate cried initially (as did most of the other kids upon going in and leaving their parents) but when she came out she had a bright bright smile on her face (some other kids - for some reason mostly boys- were bawling or red-eyed) and merrily chatted to us when we asked her about 'school'. Am hoping this will be the case tmw and going forward! Guess the tears in the first 10 mins are expected for a week or so, but this is really much better than I expected. Was even bracing myself in case she became one of those who bawled till she puked haha.

Morn mommies.

pediped spree
any1? Their make a wish sale is back. If any 1 keen, pls let me know. Will take 6-8pairs of shoes. Shipping should be about $6-9/pair

Dimple
Yes, I agree w u. I think it's easier if parents let go first. E kids will adapt eventually