(2008/10) Oct 2008

morning morning,
woohoo...i can feel the excitement of the mommies with tots starting school today

even my helper is gan chiong, chasing me for my gal's uniform, socks & stuff (-___-)'' made me do the iron-on name tags last nite =P

JJmom

your helper arrived? wah so soon, seems like just a short while ago you were mentioning hiring one to place at your in-laws...

kate is starting sch tmw... only a short orientation. the real test will be on Wed!

mint

Kate chose the penguin! I'll get that, and a few more. When is the cut-off to inform you?

Hi JJmom

Thanks for the links. I ordered mine liao through lamkins before I checked out your recommended links. So a little more ex than those you recommend.

My girl also starting school tomorrow. I very gan jiong. my girl cries whenever she sees people ever since we came back from Oz. Even in church or with my dad. sigh not sure how she will be? hope to hear and share more with all of you with your tods going to school this year.

Dimpletot,
hmm...had some drama saga so the plan kinda fast forwarded (-___-)''
Praying for the best & m kinda letting things fall into it's place as times goes

Woohoo...excited for Kate! But m quite sure, she will do well even on the 1st day
I tot parent can accompany for 1st 3days, nope?

Nat will start next week =P *stress*

Calla,
price at lamkins not too bad too, quite a few mommies bought stuff from her b4
she is a nice lady to deal

Gd luck with school tmr

<font color="0077aa">catching up on all the posts 'cuz did not activate my data plan in BKK.

Calla: was abt to recommend lamkins too. I got my LF DVDs from her. Her sets are pretty standard in terms of pricing but individual DVDs are quite reasonable.

Am enjoying my last day of break (Universal Leave) at home before heading back to the corporate jungle tmr and chasing for numbers. Dec was quite a good month. With God's grace, hopefully this year would be a great year for me.

Here's wishing all of you mummies a Blessed New Year - to great health and Happiness!

jjmom

kate's sch is only 3.5 hrs, so not really cc. think only full day or cc the parents stay for first 3 days. hopefully with cold turkey she'll adapt faster heh. she's very gu niang these days... so also dunno how.

so yr maid gonna stay with you?

calla

what's yr gal's personality like? was she more outgoing in Oz? moving countries is a big change, so not surprising that she'll take a while to adapt... all the best! will she be in CC or just a few hours preschool?

hi mint - thanks i will get that sesame street munchkins. If can choose color - the less girly one pls..thanks

oh yes rem i also wanted the owl lunch box (skip hop)? can i also add the penguine skip hop bag as well? thanks

just attended E's school orientation. Tom will be the day! I am not going to school w him (daddy doing it) cos he is super sticky if i am around. But i promised to pick him up from school.

hi buffy - enjoyed ur hols? i see ur fb pics i drool over ur buys
how nice if we ever plan a mummy-child trip and just go shopping and makan

Hi Buffy

Yes, they are also very fast in delivery. Ordered on Friday and received on Sat already although it was new year day.

Hi dimpletot
I think she's an introvert. Its been about 6 months since we moved back but she's still crying and say no no when adults try to say hello. (so embarrassing sometimes). She'll be going preschool for 4 hours. praying hard she'll be ok.

vanilla

gd idea... a friend was telling me, getting someone that she is least sticky to to drop her off is a good idea. but doesn't work for us. one of the reasons why we chose the sch is cos it's so easy for us to drop her off in the morning on the way to the mrt as we go to work. the gramps can sleep in.

we're going to let grandma pick her from first full day of sch on Wed. so she takes that as the norm, and doesn't get upset if she sees us pick her up for the first few days and not later.

fingers tightly crossed! praying that she takes abt a week to adjust, at most a month of crying for the first 5-10 mins (seems to be the norm even if they love going to sch)... and not the extreme of crying for a year, or crying till vomit (some horror stories i heard)... on the other extreme of the spectrum there is minibee's wonderful experience of only crying at the end of her first day cos she didn't want to go home!! I can only wish!

calla

give her time I guess. so exciting that our little ones are going to school, even if it's for a short while!

dimpletot

where's the school that she's going to? its a cc?
yup so exciting. camera's all ready to capture the moment. school allows us to sit in for 3 days. but we'll try to slowly fade out...kekeke

<font color="0077aa">Calla, my girl C is also quite resistant to new faces and environment. It took her a while to settle down in her playgroup previously and that's one of the reasons why I let her remain in her current place too. Even her teachers had the same feedback. Whenever there's a relief teacher, she is extremely wary.

Plus at the age of 2-3, they have separation anxiety so that adds to the equation I think

Though it took a fair bit of crying and tantrums, she has settled down much better and socializes with her classmates more. Saw a few pics and video clips of her interacting with her friends, going up to announce her name and age etc. So hang in there.

<font color="0077aa">Vanilla: ya food was great and shopping was even better. I only wish I had more time there to buy and buy and massage! LOL. I have not finished uploading pics of my loot yet! Some are small souvenirs so a bit lazy :p

JJmom also had the same thoughts. Ha ha. Think will have to wait till they are a bit older cuz BKK is v stroller unfriendly. Had to alternate carrying her with my helper. Arms and back were so so sore.

But yes, would be so much fun! Food wise, C was quite ok cuz she likes noodles soup and we got that from foodcourt. And when we had steamboat at MK and Coca, she had the same thing. Only thing I was v careful about was drinks - Bo roadside smoothies for her, just bottled or can drinks where they are sealed.

Vanilla,
Hi^5, tat's what i suggest to buffy when i saw her BKK fotos. Let's do a Oct mommies BKK trip soon!

Dimpletot,
Nat is also gng for 3.5hrs kindy but the school allows us to sit in on the 1st 2 days &amp; obv outside the classrm on the 3rd. So real test on the 4th onwards *shivers*

Ohh...how i wish she will the same reaction as miki's too

Dimpletot,
sorry, missed out on your qns. Nope, she is with my inlaws coz they r the 1 who needs help with caring/fetching of Nat while i m at work

calla

nope, not cc - she's going for preschool that follows MOE timetable... just 5 mins walk from my home which is one of the key reasons for choosing it.

Hope u had a good new year.
Was watching the mini fireworks display at Punggol on eve and counting down with Marcus. He loves fireworks.

BKK - oh... i miss the shopping and food there.

Afternoon mommies

Hope everyone has a good break. Am glad that I am returning to work tomorrow even though I am super apprehensive about leaving rebekah out of school for a week as she still has a good 4 days of antibiotics to finish before she returns to school.

There is a mycoplasma bug around so if possible, try not to get ur tods out too often. Those going to start sch/cc tmr, hv fun!

Jelly,
Sounds like u are having a tough time back at home. Hugs...

SOrry... no time to go get the cotton candy machine and pass u ur items from JJmom.

Happy new year!

My 2010 din ended well...sighz...my boy, fall and cracked his front teeth last friday and now he is down with flu.

Like to check if any mummies have brought their toodler to dentist? Any good ones to recommend? GP ask me to bring gabriel to a dentist to do something abt his front teeth. Say due to his friday's fall, his teeth's nerve will be injured, will be more prone to decay and easily cracked.

No mood to work today...sighz...

<font color="0077aa">little doggie: I have not brought C there but intended to bring her to either of these 2 places: The Kid's Dentist and TP Dental Surgeons.

www.thekidsdentist.com.sg
http://www.tpdental.com.sg/

One of my GFs brought her 4YO kid to TP and told me that they are good with kids. Supposedly specialises in it. TP is at Ngee Ann City while Kids Dentist is at Camden. HTH</font>

buffy,

thanks for ur reply. i have actually juz booked an appt at the kids dentist. consultant fees is btw $90-$110. Do u have any idea how much is TP?

wonder what sort of treatment is necessary for gabriel. consultant fee alone is already $100, think the treatment is going to cost a bomb! wonder if i m over-reacting.

Little Doggie,

Try getting referred to National Dental Centre at SGH. See if can go under subisidied patient or not.

But u know lah... subsidied means might have to wait.

XY, ya i know....but i think cant wait that long...so mostly need to go the kids dentist for a consult and see what the doc say liao.

Earlier when i called up the kids dentist, earliest appt was 24 feb but when i say my son had a fall, the nurse told me can go on this wed....so i think the NDC will be super long queue also.

<font color="0077aa">little doggie, I think TP is about the same cuz they are privatized. You wanna call and check?

Mummies: on a different note, got a DVD for C - Cat in the Hat knows a lot about that. I thought it was quite an interesting DVD to introduce the young ones to simple science stuff. Birds migration, how bees make honey, etc. in a v simplified manner. The disc has 5/6 stories if am not mistaken.

For kids who have been introduced to the characters, they should find the Cat and Thing 1 and Thing 2 entertaining. JTS

Kids dentist
Jo is seeing him and personally don't find him very friendly. Maybe I don't shout $$$ cos I know some of his clienteles are super rich. Just my 2 cents. Can't afford more.

I read someone's blog before and they spent a lot to redo the teeth that was chipped quite badly (to the root).

will PM you the link.

Saxo, not friendly...hmmm....then wonder if he can handle my son or not...cos gabriel dun even like to have his hair cutted. really headache!

Dimpletot, thanks!

buffy/XY, now not convenient to call...later try to call.thanks!

<font color="0077aa">Vanilla: yes, Dr Seuss.
his books are quite whimsical but C and I delight in the rhyme (and for me, sometimes the pun). Some of his books are too cheem for C but there are still a few which are quite easy - Green eggs and Ham, Marvin K Mooney, Hands Hands Fingers Thumb, etc.</font>

Little Doggie
Really depends on your perspective. For me, on both visits, he's polite but there's this air of snobbery. He did talk to Jo but I can tell he's just going through the motion, and not entirely genuine (or maybe Jo didn't catch his fancy). Facilities-wise, not bad. There's a TV installed on the ceiling to keep your boy entertained (Barney on both occasions). He did express mock surprise when Jo didn't know who's Barney. And he gifted Jo with toys on each visit.

thanks Buffy - i am wondering if i shld start him on Dr Seuss...maybe getting the dvd is an easy way out for me first... if he likes then i buy the books

buffy,
hee...i was juz bio-ing dr seuss ABC dvd at amazon last week too. Did u get them from lamkins? How much r these?

Yah we love the catchy rhyme &amp; some of the silliness too...kekeke

<font color="0077aa">am waiting for a courier delivery and it still has not arrived. V rarely my experience with these companies are good. Annoyed...

Vanilla: the DVD is quite different from the books for me. The DVDs were created to introduce the concept of science so the 'stories' are quite different from the disc. I thought to try cuz I stumbled on a book in the 'knows a lot about that' and thought it was quite interesting. Plus it's quite a good way to do inquiry based learning. Just my thoughts

JJmom: got it from Bubuchan. A bit ex IMHO. Not sure if sprees are much cheaper. Anyone amazon sprees you frequent? </font>

didn't had a nice start for 2011 though. LY was down with high fever since NYE and fever was hovering between 38.5 to the highest at 41.2 degree this morning. brought her to KKH on new year day and was only prescribed with paracetamol and brufen. Fever had still been up and down and we just came back from her pd. temp even went back to normal at times but it shot up again like 10 mins ago to 39.1! haiz... was told that it was a throat infection...

buffy,
i m thinking of getting quite a few so i think spree will b much saving for me =P

i join nick 'dreamz' coz she is near to me at hougang coz usually books r too heavy &amp; bulky to mail so i prefer to self-collect
plus she is a nice lady to deal with too

hmm...oh...the dvd is vy diff from the book? then i better juz get 1 to try out on Nat 1st.

purple,
aiyoh...poor LY &amp; u

must b vy xin ku for LY &amp; worrying for u *hugz*

so scary with so many tots falling quite sick recently.

like what jelly warned, there must b some nasty bugs
shoo shoo...

went to rianne's playgroup this morning... not very impressed with the place. and there was a boy there who throws toys at other kids (including rianne). so i'm a little bit worried.

Vanilla,
tell me abt it man...Nat is on full blast at elmo &amp; cookie monster tat i m a little wary of introducing her any other new cartoon char (*_*)''

tat's y i hope gng back to dr seuss will 'tame' her down a little...kekeke

Joanne,
Rianne goes playgp today too? Din hear u saying abt it b4 today
Which 1 is she at?

Did u try to highlight abt the boy to her teachers &amp; ask them to take note?

Joanne
Teachers never did anything? Change to chiltern?

Purple wow 41!! That's high. Hope ly recovers soon. Is she still active though?

sax,
there was one assistant teacher beside us. she tried to tell the boy not to do that but he simply ignored her. her voice was so soft even i won't be scared. the mum tried to tell him to say sorry but he just ran away.

haha! how i wish! but hubby definitely will complain.

thanks mummies, really hope her fever will go down soon!

saxo> yes! 41! and that was like 3am lor. she was still active during the day when the fever was abt 40 ytd. and as i'm typing now, her fever shot up to 40 again! she also shivers at time. so heartache when i saw her shivers...

Hi ya mummies,
Orders noted for both skip hop and sesame street bots. wan chuen and busybee, have placed orders for you.

For the ss btls, it's very ley chey to buy. I can only buy 1+1 at a time. Cos each transaction is entitled to only 1 50% off. So I had to check out a few times. Waiting for them to reply to consolidate my shipping cost. If not, it's not estimated to be US$4.80 per btl with the shipping to vpost.

Just went for Regina's orientation. Parents can accompany them till Friday. But I'm hoping that I can go off by Wed. I'm so excited in dropping her off so that I can line up my massages, facials, tea, etc... hahaha! Then after I have 'relaxed' enough, will start looking for something to do part time. In the meantime, I shall be more 'on' with BPs. Heehee! Maybe tmr I shall be the 'ringleader' and try to 'pakat' with the other parents to just drop our kids off and go. Muahahaha! But hubby told me it's going to be tough looking at the parents today and hearing their type of questions.

mint
care to share with me what's at the Orientation? Because I believe when I enrol Jo in July, there will be no orientation for her.

<font color="0077aa">vanilla: heh... I din continue much with Elmo's world cuz I personally found it a bit boring. I do like the CDROM though. As for Barney, have never watched it and do not intend to let C start on that or Hi-5. Am still quite anal about passive tv exposure. Bleah

JJmom: thanks. Will join her spree. My ILs are not travelling till maybe mid year to states so I pai sei to order so soon and send to hubs' aunt's place. Heh...

Mint: good question and the answer is no. Ha ha. But I what's app her already so will wait for her reply and let u know.
Good luck with R though I think she should settle in beautifully. Am planning to head for a massage but sigh not sure when that will be. </font>