(2008/10) Oct 2008

Buffy,
Marcus was under Dr Belinda's care at Day 3 as his PD was on leave.

She was the one that insisted Marcus stayed 1 more day due to jaundice and that i rented the light bed home for 3 days and let him sleep in that if i insisted to discharge together with Marcus.

When my PD returned, he told me that was totally unncessary as Marcus jaundice readings were not that high. !@#$%^&*

Hi mummies...good morning!

Can ask u all, my younger son juz taken his 18th mth booster jab, it is possible to have fever now? i called up my pd, the nurse tell me its possible lor.

Reason i ask is becos my elder son and hb is down with fever/cough/flu, now dun know if gab had gotten their virus or is having fever due to the jab. jialat

Busy bee, can understand ur feeling...cos i also kept waking up last 2 nite to take my kids temperature....now i m feeling giddy....

Busybee,
i using ear to check. Pd say above 37.5 leh. 39 is high. Haha. My PD got higher treshold.

Buffy,
i'm A, marcus is O.
I know mummy and child different blood group, chances of jaundice in child is higher.

<font color="0077aa">XY: i was about ask if yours is the combination!!!! 'Cos ya, the chances are not just higher but it would possibly be a bit more yellow and also last longer... So maybe thats why Marcus was placed under the light lor.

C was also under the light. But only for 1 - 2 days or something. But we are both O so I had it easier... My rabbit year SIL is A and kids are O, just like you and Marcus and my nephew's jaundice was wow, quite bad and lasted quite a while...</font>

Busy bee
hope miki gets well soon. According to medical professionals at hospitals, 41 is worth a trip to the emergency and anything below is still ok. Jo has gone up to 40 twice already. We were panicking but the hospital people were still very calm.

I am also a believer in letting body heal itself. That's why I hate it when husband insisted on feeding meds to Jo for a very mild case of running nose.

xy, when did marcus have fever, immeidately after the jab? cos gab took the jab on 14/5 and yest start to have slight fever...it is like 4 days after the jab leh.

busybee, i give brufen when temperature is 38.5 and above.

Buffy, we are seeing the same PD! I have changed PD twice, finally settled on Dr B, for the same reasons you have!
but the only gripe is, she only see sick children on Thur coz of her well baby clinics on Tue, Wed. sometimes quite inconvenient.

This time, Jaz's mild dry cough became chesty cough so she put her on inhaler flexotide (initially when it was dry cough she didn't want to medicate, only agreed to let me give kalooba and zrytec). 1.5 weeks still not better, but also not worse. I dun want stronger meds so just brought her see TCM yesterday. sigh.

Thanks saxo... i am still not used to calling u that!! hahaha.. anyways. When it comes to fever i rather be kiasu as any damage caused is irreversible. So i would have reacted like u if fever hit 40!

Hmmmm... seems like pds all have very differing advice huh. At least gynaes advice more or less pretty standard.

Buffy, interesting insight, i never knew mummy and baby's blood type affected the jaundice.

<font color="0077aa">daisybutton: i go to Dr. B and Dr. Ng who is from Mt A...

Eh, Daisy, you ok to meet on 30th for the playdate? morning? OK to do Yoga too? I need one more mummy leh...

Busybee: u available to join us? I have not replied to your email yet but yes, Yoga is good for the back BUT go to one who is trained in therapuetic stuff like Nadia</font>

buffy, yes 30th is ok for meet up. sorry didn't reply you. baby and mommy yoga? or just mommy?

busybee, tcm say just mild case of flu, keep telling us not to worry. gave med loh. actually Jaz dun seem bothered by the cough like I mentioned to you before. just that gorgor has hyper reactive airways and allergic rhinitis, so i worried for jaz, dun want it to develop to that too. and she been coughing 2.5 weeks (dry + phelmgy), so hoping it can be nipped in the bud soon.

Buffy, 30th is bad for us. I doubt she will fully recover by then, from the pd's info sheet, the condition takes 2 to 3 weeks to fully recover. I am going to start a swimming regime, hoping it will save my back.

<font color="0077aa">daisy: mommy and tot yoga so high energy class... heee... join us lah...

busybee: ok ok... no prob. in case u are able to make it later, just let us know ok? u are always welcome... In addition to swimming, do try Yoga because it helps with realignment and make you more aware of your posture and body. Hence, should something be misaligned, you will know before it flares up even further. Also, for your case, your nerves may be pinched hence readjusting the back, etc., is good - thats why you need to go to a Chiro lor... thats about all I can recall from my anatomy course... LOL</font>

Buffy, u are right.... my problem is indeeed a pinched nerve. With Chiro sessions, chiro said swimming really helps, so i am going to try it out. once i stop feeling i have been ran over by a truck, i will be keen to try yoga. now i prob can't even do the tree pose. My hips are locked. I struggle just to put on my jeans!

<font color="0077aa">busybee: yoga is not just tree pose and seriously, tree pose is for balancing and strengthening of legs... for sciatiatic it is another series of exercises altogether... it would depend on which part of the spine and all these, a good yoga teacher would be able to advise.

<font color="ff0000">XY,
Can let me know how u find Holiday Inn when u come back? I just heard from my colleague who just came back that their service wasn't that good and the breakfast buffet spread was very limited.

Buffy,
What steriod did the PD prescribe? Is it Seretide? My son is asthmatic since young, he will get attacks especially if he has a bad case of flu/cold. He's like Cate, cough until his face is blue then we have to rush him to KK. So we have to let him take puff Seretide to prevent asthma attacks when he was down with cold. My PD (Dr Terence Tan from Mount A) said before that it's better to use the steroid to prevent an attack than let the attack happencos everytime there's an asthma attack, it will cause scarring in their lungs.

I gotta say that the steriod didn't affect his growth in anyway cos he only use it when he is sick....

Gioanna, Jaz used flexotide, which is actually seretide but less some ingredients. what i heard is that for inhaled steriods, a very very very low amt go into blood stream because it goes direct to lungs, unlike oral steriods which a large amt has to travel through blood stream. thats why its safer and doesn't stunt growth. thats what i heard, so though i was a bit hesitant in giving her inhaler, i figured its still safe. In any case, nebuliser also uses steriods if pulmicort is prescribed. Buffy, any comments? the bottle of steriods the doc gave C is oral issit?

<font color="0077aa">Gio/Daisybuttons: that time when it was suggested for C to use it, she was less than a year old - i think only 9 months or so which I thought was crazy. Also because the PD at KKH said it is a "suspected" case. Hence I had it on standby and I did not use it at all.

Rather, she took some meds to dilute and thin the phelgm and mucus which allowed her to breathe better and that was that.

I cannot recall the name of the steroid based med at all because I think I threw it out... :p

Saxo: I think when u added to the list, it was typed as 30th... I saw wrongly ah?

I am still trying to get a sense leh... 'cos not everyone replied yet</font>

buffy, the med was supposed to be taken orally, not through nebuliser or inhaler right? and do you rem what med was it you took to thin and phelgm?

busybee,

Pilates is the safest and most effective way to help sciatica pain. Yoga helps too, but you have to be careful not to overstretch with yoga.

I get pinched nerves too...chiro says besides Pitaes, a cheaper option is doing crunches on an exercise ball to strengthen stomach muscles to help support the back

Buffy,
Dylan had jaundice for a long time too and was even re-admitted to be placed under the light on the 2nd day of discharge...and he's an O and I'm a B!

<font color="0077aa">daisy: ya, it was an oral med but I seriously cannot recall the name because that was about 9 - 10 months back. sorry about it.

Elch: ya, usually when blood group of the bub is diff from the mum, the jaundice will be a bit more serious...

<font color="aa00aa">Kiddy Palace is a having 20% storewide discount from now till end June on regular items for all members. For non-members is 15%.</font>

<font color="ff0000">Jelly,
I also thought ventolin is to open up airway, the meds that my pd usually prescribe for thinning phlegm is Vasican or Bomexthine (think the spelling is wrong)

<font color="ff0000">Jelly,
Maybe ventolin has more than one use bah. As long as it works and our little one gets well, it's good medicine.

Btw any mommies here giving your prince/princess Pedisure huh? Wanna ask if u have tried the new strawberry flavour yet. Saw it at Cold Storage the other day so thinking to get for Skylar to try but they don't have small tin

<font color="ff0000">Okay i just went to google on Ventolin so thought to share on it.

http://www.medicines.org.uk/emc/medicine/106/SPC/Ventolin+Syrup/

Nicky,
When your PD prescribed Ventolin, did he prescribe other meds besides that? Cos my pd explained to me before that Ventolin is to open up the airway so that the kid can breathwithout feeling their chest congested. The other meds he gave was Vasican which is a type of Bromhexine which thins out the phlegm

http://www.mahalo.com/bromhexine

Gioanna, thanks for the link. my pd also told me ventolin to open up airways.
Usually when my PD give med, I will kaypoh google for it first hehehe. May I know for Vasican or Bomexthine at what age did you PD prescribe for your kids do you rem? got less than 2 yrs old? it sounds effective, so wondering why my PD has never prescribed it for both my kids.....

hey mommies
like to let you all know that Leapfrog website is having 25% discount up to 24 May US Time. There is free ground shipping too for purchases $40 and above. If you are interested, will be glad to give you the promo code for you to save some money thru your orders.

<font color="ff0000">Daisybutton,
My pd prescribed Bomexthine for Skylar when she's was down with a bad phlegmy cough due to a cold last Nov (she was 16mths). It really works but I think he must have diluted it cos to what I know the more concentrated ones like Vasican (which my asthmatic son always take) will cause heart palpitation (heart beat faster) n tremors in some kids so not suitable for kids below 2yrs I think.