(2008/10) Oct 2008

heya mommies

anyone has good recommendations for sandals/slippers for our tods? a little pricey okie. as long as it is safe and is good for their little feet

XY

rabbit then! i know same as your MIL but then maybe she'll be extra nice to #2 and continue looking after.

enjoy phuket!

jelly

if price not an issue, pedipeds has really nice sandals in the flex range. but personally kate is wearing some minnie mouse ones from metro sales at less than $20 and it's served her pretty well.

dimple
okie, will go metro chk it out too...she has a pair of pediped sandals but too big for her feet now. just wanting to get her a good pair for CC.

<font color="ff0000">Hi Mommies!!!

Mousebb, dimple
I already taught her mama but she just gave me monkey face whenever i repeat it, it's like a game to her leh.

Buffy,
Okay will read up more on it. I actually thought cod liver oil will be good enough.

XY,
When are u going to Phuket? My hubby and I will be bring all the kids in Nov. We even confirmed the hotel room reservation like 2 months ago cos the family suite "sells like hot cakes". Their kids room is decorated in pirates theme so i think my two older ones will love it, if not the room then the X-box ;)

http://www.phuket.holiday-inn.com/family-suites.htm

sax

i just can't bring myself to spend that kind of money on her feet lah.

maybe the day i start earning enough to buy myself ferragamo court shoes (macham standard issue - i see so many ppl wearing it, some have many pairs in different colours some more). which may be Never! haha.

how are you and lovely Jo? miss her smile.

<font color="ff0000">Dimple,
I'm like you too, can never spend more than $50 for a pair of shoes for myself. Hehe Skylar's shoes is just a simple pair of sandals and 'cover shoes" from Giant that cost less than $20..... of course she must have mickey mouse on it.... That gal is nuts abt Mickey Mouse at the moment.

Oh yeah, we booked that room cos the bed looks soooo nice. My kids are so excited abt it..... gotta wait until Nov though.

gio

plus they have kids club! i can't wait till i can go on holiday and kids can go unaccompanied leaving me to chill at the poolside with a book... ahhhhh....

my lousy rationale on shoes is that the shorter they last, the more i get to change designs. haha.

dimple
lol. i spend on shoes for rebby but i make sure i buy the ones on discount only... most of the pediped that rebby owns are discounted items... hee... i dun really buy full price ones...

re: holiday
creaming of 1 next year. planning to go HK after sydney turns 1 in July 2011.

<font color="ff0000">Oh yeah my two older ones are so happy they have kids club, they already planning on what activities they wanna join.

My rationale on shoes is it's something to step on dirty grounds (soils, dirt, craps, spit etc etc) so don't have to buy too expensive ones, as long as comfy enough will do....... Hehe.

Hello, ladies! Long time never log in Liao. Do anyone
miss me? Haha... I'm getting thickskinned here.

XY
if conceive this 2 months still tiger. I opposite of u. I die die must avoid these 2 months.

Gio
Skylar still better than my gal. She know how to call ma-
ma but hardly call me yet always ba-ba ba-ba non-stop. I am hopping mad especially I spend more time with her than my hubby.

Weekend activity
there is navy open house this weekend. Perhaps those with kids n dun mind braving the scroching sun can do. Place is at changi. Got shuttle bus from sg expo.

<font color="aa00aa">ypg
For my son, there was one stage when he kept calling me "ba ba"!!! I was so disappointed and upset since I spent 24/7 with him. But it was only for a while and now he call me "mummy" liao and sometimes when he is in good mood, he will call me "mummy mama" and my gal follows him lor.</font>

ypg

miss you!

thought of you a lot during the mother tongue debate.
Jiayou for good teachers like you who make learning mandarin a joy.

<font color="aa00aa">This morning I disturbed wenmin by asking her "Can mummy love gorgor a lot and love meimei a little bit only"? Her reaction was very 'big' and she protested by shouting into my right ear "NO!!!". Then I asked her "So how much do you want mummy to love you"? She answered loud and clear "A LOT"!!! I love to disturb her cos I like to see her facial expressions. Sometimes I would purposely kiss wenxuan and when she come up to me to ask for her share, I would use my finger to show her "no!!!" and she will be very smiling and laughing at the same time and forcing herself onto me until she got her kisses!!! Free entertainment for me and hubby!!!</font>

soooooooo cute. great advertisement for encouraging ppl to have more than 1!

I used to read mrbrown regularly and thought his 1 post on his 3 children did more for me in terms of encouraging having kids than a million MCYS campaigns.

mousebb
wm so cute... rebby will give a hug n kiss to my hubby b4 he goes to work and i get mostly nothing... but before she slps and when she wakes up, she will ask for me... sometimes, i dunno whether she loves me or not... hee

mousebb,
Reading what you posted on WM provides free entertainment for us too! It's a joy to read! Very heartwarming!

Jelly,
Of course Rebby loves you!

Dimpletot

i refrain from posting on smh n facebook during tat period cause was really disheartened at the possible decision n of course 1 of my student's parents reaction towards the learning of Chinese worsen it.

Though the crisis is over, lot have to be done. Top of the list should be lack of teachers. I try to make my lessons interesting but I have to spend alot of time doing lesson preparation. Yet, sometimes I can't make it cause I got to prepare for 3 different levels of Chinese. Honestly speaking, I have already involved my whole family in preparing lesson materials. My hubby, my maid, my FIL. Haha...

my former 老师 whom I greatly respect is chairman of the chinese teachers' association. it was nice to see him on TV!

what did yr student's parent do? whoop for joy? haiz, there will always be ppl like that. ignore him and continue doing what you believe is right.

我们永远支持你!*waves teenybopper fan placards in air*

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly
Of course Rebby loves you a lot!!! Actually hor, rebby is very fair bcos before she sleep, she will ask for you and when she wake up, she will look for her daddy
Sometimes when my hubby said bye bye to the kids, they were either busy playing with their toys or watching cartoons, too busy to "entertain" their daddy making him feel so sad. At times when my hubby called to my gal "daddy bao bao" she would say a BIG NO and then run to me!!! </font>

<font color="aa00aa">elch
Our kid at this stage is very fun to play with! However when my gal wants to give nonsense she can keep crying for half an hour or more until I ignored her totally.</font>

mousebb,
They are indeed very fun to play with at this stage! These days, I'll ask Dylan to kiss me and he'll say don't want...so I purposely say 'Dylan, you don't kiss mummy. Mummy don't want you to kiss!' Then he'll grab my face in his palms and plant a kiss on my lips! Darn funny!

Marcus also another funny boy.
I ask him kiss me, he won't.
Hubby ask him kiss him, also he won't.
But when i say, marcus, kiss daddy, he'll kiss.
Hubby telll Marcus kiss me, then he'll kiss.

He only kiss grandma when she ask for it. Sigh.

<font color="0077aa">gio: for sambucol no hard and fast rule la. Individual preference. Just like some people take Vit C and some dun, so likewise whether cod liver oil is enough or not is subjective.
if it's enough for Skylar then no need to buy other stuff.

YPG: wa wa, long time no see ah!!! *wave*</font>

Hiya Mummies,
Dimpletot, its great to be back in the workforce. My first day went well, lots of info to absorb but downside was Miki is unwell.
She will only start CC in June, but now with Bronchiolitis I am not sure if that has to be delayed.

Buffy, can share ur experience abt C's bronchiolitis scare?

XY, abt which carrer to fly to hk. I think u need to check if Jetstar allows u to bring food, snacks and hotwater for his milk onto the flight. I think there are some restrictions, if so u might want to consider CX or SQ. Last time I went on biz, my hubs flew jetstar and regretted it cos the diff in fare was really minimal.

Gio, how is skylar feeling now? The family suite looks awesome, i am sure ur family will have a good time.

Busybee,

Not me asking abt budget. It's Buffy lah.
Anyway, i flew via Jetstar to HK. Marcus was pretty well behaved.

Tmr flying to phuket also by jetstar, tickets cost me only 88 for return + taxes. Haha...

Hi Mousbb,
Yeah, I had to bring forward my start date due to some travelling that is happening in the team. So I am now on pt until she settles into cc. I go into the office a few times a week in the AM for now and my helper watches her during that time. This arrangment is just a stop gap till she goes into cc in June. Besides she is a late riser, she doesn't even know i have been gone for that long.

Good morning mommies!

XY,
Thanks for all ur efforts, let me know how much to pay you ya. Enjoy ur holidays! *babydusts to you*

busybee,
Poor miki, hope she get well soon!

Xy, oops. Hahaha. I think it depends on luck. My hubs was on a full flight on Jetstar to hk and stuck wt a big group of auntie prc tourists and they were really noisy. I flew tiger to phuket before, its a really short flight so no problem.

Mummies, i have been so worried abt miki, i keep waking up to check if she is still breathing. Sigh...

<font color="0077aa">busybee: this will be a quick one as I am about to hop onto a call...

Cate had a raging fever the last time and she was coughing v badly. Then she started turning blue right up to fingertips. I sped at 140 all the way to KKH. The doc said that because of the asthmatic tendencies in my family (bro and mum have it and I have bronchitis a few times), chances are, Cate's respiratory system is hyper sensitive.

He just gave me meds and gave me a bottle of steroid based med too. I refused to put her on the steriods and I basically monitored myself and brought her for a second opinion to one of my usual PDs.

Till now, with God's grace, no reocurrance so my advice is to get a second opinion. </font>

Mousebb, Phantus... thanks. I am holding up alright so far.

On a more postitive note. Next time u mummies have a lunch gathering at PS or City Hall, I can now join u gals!!

<font color="0077aa">busybee: one more thing to add. i do not know what your personal preference is but as far as I can manage and C is OK, I try not to give her too much med. Hence one of the PDs I go to is Dr. Belinda Murugasu at Mt E. She is those that really do not believe in heavy medication and does not give unless it is necessary.

Take C's diarrhoea for example. I brought her in only on day 5 only to have the doc tell me that I am doing the absolute correct thing with diltuing milk, BRAT diet and hydrating her plus giving her Probiotics. There was no medication given at all. If you are comfy with such an approach and such assurances, then you may want to consider visiting her.

But just to let u know, Dr. Belinda is v cold and takes v long to warm up. LOL.... But for those who have gone to her a few times, they stick with her for a long while. I do find her cold too. :p But she is good lor...</font>

Thanks Buffy, i am going for the second opinion today. I suspect her airwaves are sensitive too. Everytime there is haze she gets cough and cold thing but I was pretty disturbed that this time doc said its bronchiolitis as she only had symptoms for 1.5 days. Was wondering how the phlegm had worked its way down that quickly.... sian.

Buffy, thanks for the referral. Our usual PD from birth is also very pro abt letting body heal itself. So we are going to see him today.