(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0000ff">Morn All,

All the talk about the BB cream makes me so curious the "magic" of it and I went to browse the shop ytd and got one frm Beauty Credit. And I must say I was pretty impressed with the result, sort of "restore my dying out skin" lolx ;p~

Icylemon
When does the promo from Swensen end?

mint
ha ha, good too. Husband was complaining that we're sending Jo to so many classes.

<font color="119911">mommies,
pls give me a heads up if there is any offer on pet pet diapers

my nanny insist tat it is beta than NTUC diapers...sigh</font>

rains,
ya me too! this morning already sent mass email out to my colleagues. coz we always go in big groups for such promo. kekeke... chiong ah....

trace,
sorry yah. i seldom make up. wat is bb cream? i heard my colleague telling me abt his wife went to korea &amp; bought alot of bb cream back. he said cheap like siao. oso bought from faceshop in korea.

tweety,
yeah!! only if i can eat beef, i will sure order their mega burger!! hahaha...

karen,
promo ends on 28 feb. you can go west mall or IMM branch.

jjmom,
i prefer NTUC then pet pet.

anyway i found another cheap pull ups. huggies dry pants. strange is only giant got sell. i cant find it at ntuc.

<font color="0077aa">yaya, pls share this thing about the BB cream. I am also clueless 'cos my daily 'work' face is sunblock, concealer and if I am tired, eye shadow. I am too lazy to use foundation or powder. Is the cream a base / moisturiser? For what skin type?</font>

<font color="0000ff">Buffy,

It's a liquid based 'foundation' which has a 5 in 1 properties like sunblock/conceal blemishes/minimise pores etc...practically dunnit for any other makeup base etc..but like some of the mommies here can top it off with some loose powder/blusher/lipstick/gloss for that finishing touch

Not sure abt the other brands, but the one I've gotten oni have 2 types - 1 for more problematic/oily skin and 1 for dry to combi skin

Mommies who are using the BB cream for some time, do correct me if I'm wrong ;p

<font color="0077aa">ohhhhh... thanks for that bluey. where is Beauty Credit? if it has sunblock in it, I do not mind trying out since that is what I use as my "base". :p</font>

<font color="0000ff">Buffy,

Think they got a couple of stores in SG, the one I bought has SPF 46+ not sure if it's sufficient for yr coverage becos prior to tis I dun do any makeup except when attending weddings ;p~

BBcream... Thanks Bluey. I was totally lost with all the talk abt BBcream yesterday! I thought it was some sort of night cream. Now I am tempted to try. I am currently using Mac Studio Fix a 2 way cake( so 1 step for coverage) but no sunblock. This sounds good! I shall go check it out.

Buffy, promised to update you abt branches for the medical hall where I buy GainIQ at $49.30. They only have outlets in NE (Sengkang, Punggol and Pasir Ris).

mommies who want to find out more about BB cream, can go google it.

If i didnt remember wrongly, BB cream started off as a clinical treatment product for skin grafting patients, to cover the graft as well as to heal it. The Germans (i think) are the first ones to recognise BB creams' potential in the mass market (coz got beautifying and healing properties, with superb coverage) and adapted the product as makeup available to everyone. The Koreans (being the leaders in cosmetics in Asia) are the next to follow, with Hanskin being the first brand to introduce BB cream in Korea.

For Hanskin, they have a wide range of BB cream, with different properties and different coverage.

<font color="0077aa">bluey: woot hoot! they have a branch in OUB Centre.Later during lunch I go kay po. :p Thanks!

WH: thanks for that too. :</font>

<font color="0000ff">Whitepaper,

Cool info! Will give Hanskin a try next time after I finished using this tube keke ;p

The salesgal told me it can last me a year is that true? tis morning I used abit and it's more than suffice to give coverage to my face.

Buffy,

Think they have sample satchets, if you want to try it out maybe u can ask them for 1 pkt first.

hi R&amp;R mum - i sms rae that day she is ok.. v busy cos rachel going school etc... she also say rachael v active now... we both say the surgeries do the kids wonder cos they are so active, naughty now!

jellypurin:
don think all BB cream have SPF.
My sis bought a tube for me from korea.
it did not state the SPF.
Even the one selling at waston, don think it have too.

Buffy - I also signed V for the weekend Bilingual Class! Which pre-school are you now looking at or confirmed already? Am going to check out the schools at Pats', Kiddy Winkies, and Chiltern.

And I didnt know you work in Raffles place! We can lunch!!

Ruffles &amp; Buffy, which JG are u gals enrolled for billingual playclub?

Tweety, thanks for the link too. The online store sells Hanskin.

<font color="0077aa">ruffles! oh u too?!? which building? i am in the lau kok ocean towers.
and yes yes, WE CAN LUNCH!

I am more or less looking at Pats. For Chiltern, if you are not already aware, only N1 has a chinese teacher attached to that class. From N2 onwards, the class has a core teacher and an asst teacher so it is not a bilingual class anymore. For CL class, they will walk to the class to have that lesson instead.

I will still go St J's Kindy to kay po 'cos that place is v close to my home, just around the corner - 5 mins drive. But looks like Pats will be it. But deciding between 2 branches and will visit both branches on Fri (if my HB's timing does not change!).

For the Bilingual class - which time slot / branch you signed up for? I am gg for Evans 'cos seems like it has a bigger outdoor area and of course, parking is loads cheaper. :p</font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">aiyo... u ladies made me very busy... looking at the BB cream.

Do notice some are price like $25+ &amp; some coming to $50. Some much differences. Not sure which one to choose from.

Me also like LilBluey, only put on make up when attending weddings
</font></font>

<font color="119911">BB cream :
I have been using 1 from guardian for abt a yr, can't recall the brand name. Like Karen, find BB cream to b a tad fairer esp if i put on a little too much. Mayb coz korean women r fairer. Nowadays i only apply over certain areas

i m too lazy to use any loose powder over it =P but i find tat the 1 i have is not giving me enough oil control, thinking of trying hanskin but there's still so much in the tube

Just to share - a friend's SIL went to Nanyang kindy at 7:30am last mon to put her 10 month old on the waitlist. how crazy is that?!

buffy,
you &amp; me can start to use bb cream liao. works as a sun block &amp; conceler. is wat you &amp; me will need!!!

hahaha....

<font color="119911">buffy, ruffles,
the bilingual class tat u guys have signed your bubs up for is from JG or bibinogs?</font>

<font color="0077aa">Icylemon! I think I may still need a concealer for my dark eye rings! LOL... But I am so gonna go see later. On a conference call now. Heh...

Dimpletot: babe, thats not crazy. my nephew was on the wait list when he was 6 months old and he still did not get a place! he is now in another hot school on barker road. :p</font>

vanilla,
thanks for the updates. i will try to sms her again this week. happy to hear tat her Rachael is doing well. yes yes yes!! after the op, both Rachael &amp; Rachel seems very very notti!!

JJmom,
You can buy sample to try.. 1 tube is too big for trying..

I like bb cream as it's really convenient.. Just 1 layer can go out alr..

<font color="119911">buffy,
u try covering your dark eye rings with the bb cream 1st, tat's what i do for mine, passable &amp; my panda eyes r really jialat kind...kekeke</font>

i am always amazed to see mummies w bbs with full makeup...how do they find time to do massacra and eyeliner? my son screams his lungs out when all i do is put on lipstick!

re waitlist - i called st james last yr when my son turned 1 for registeration. they told me i am too late. i shld register when he is born. the waitlist is hundreds of pple..so even if those registered failed to join the school, the waitlist will fill the classes 2x over! so i no chance. reason why i choose there was it was really near my old plc... now when i shift to new plc, the other school i went too is also fully booked and i am on wait list. i think running a childcare/school is good! so many waitlist..longer than those wanting a hermes bag!

<font color="119911">waiting list :
(-_-)'' when did this start??? think my mom juz bring me down to the PAP kindy on the 1st day &amp; tat's it!

Now even the 'lousy' 1s have q! Argh...

Vanilla, at least your hermes bag can afford to wait lah but your boy can't leh...kekeke

&amp; u r right abt the full makeup, if i give my teeth in a gd 10min brush is a blessing now.</font>

I heard that st james is moving from dempsey back to the holland V church...

I think one reason why st james is popular is cos they are not pricey and the children there are really happy. my friend went to visit and she was bowled over by how the kids who had just joined that week were all so well-adjusted and HAPPY.

<font color="0000ff">Vanilla,

Getting a Hermes bag is definitely easier/faster (becos there's always ready stocks on hand), however those "Q" for those childcare/kindy hahaha

*Good Luck*

Buffy

I am at Lau kok Sing Land tower. I can lunch this Fri or next Thurs or Fri.

For Pats, I am deciding btw the Halifax and Chancery outlets as they are near my HB's workplace and he will be the person ferrying V to and fro. Will be meeting the principal tomorrow and to check out the venues, curriculum and how happy the kids are. I spoke to the lady over the phone on the program and I like that the program is play-focused rather than academic. My frens who have sent / still sending their kids to Pats / Chiltern rec both places as these are play-focused and have good bilingual teacher combis. At any 1 time, there is always 1 Eng and 1 Chinese teacher with the kids. I also like that there is no time wasted on sleeping and bathing for the half day sessions. A gf who sent her 1st born to Chiltern and 2nd to Pats feel that although both are play-focused, Chiltern is even more so and some kids have difficulty adjusting to K1 / P1. I also like the teacher-student ratio. For Kiddy Winkies, my Hb went to the school yesterday and he said he liked that it was clean, high security and of course, next to his office. Will need to chat with the Principal on the program though. HB darn excited now.

On the Chinese teacher at Chiltern, thanks for the alert. Will check that one out too!

St James – Heard the waitlist is darn long. But gd to satisfy yourself with a check at the school. I’ve already waitlisted V Nanyang Kindy when she was 6mths so will have to follow-up with them again on spaces. Dimple.. not surprising. When I waitlisted Vic, she was already the 100th+ waitlisted student. When I enquired when pp waitlist their kids there, the answer was ‘during gestation’… sooo.. lalala.

JG Bilingual Playclub (Sat) – I signed up for the Big Splash one cos parking foc along the road. Chose the 9-11am one as 1st choice, then the 2-4pm as 2nd choice. If good, will cont with just this bilingual weekend class till she starts pre-school next Jan. I want her to enjoy her babyhood and not overly stress her. Then maybe when she is older and shows interest, will send her for Act3 classes and or ballet .. only if she likes.

I suppose some may think me damn KS, but I want to sort all these when I am still able cos come May, I will pop and be grounded at home w 2 kids and wun have the luxury of time to run these errands. Plus, maybe no more slots at these popular preschools then.

BB Cream - sounds like a miracle cream.. you gals make me gian to go check it out.

<font color="119911">ruffles,
wah, sounds like u have done all your homework (^_-)b

there's a JG near Big Splash, if so, this will b a beta location for me? I only see forum &amp; Evan branches at their website?</font>

haha ..i think the parents whose kids manage to squeeze into st james also HAPPY..cos it is like striking 4D!

Haha jjmom..think my boy will have to skip nursery then.. haha

imagine for nursery already the competition for places is so keen..how abt P1? SCARY!

<font color="119911">R&amp;R, Vanilla,
think it might b easier for our kiddos to go st james power stn!!! wahahaha...</font>