(2008/10) Oct 2008

R&R's mum

yup agree that they are rather ex... but I think their classes are more creative. But anyway, each kiddo will take to different schools/ classes, there's no 1 size fits all situation. So Tien Hsia might work better for Rachel than Berries anyway

USA Grad Student Research with Singapore Parents - Quick Survey

Thank you to those who have completed my survey - I have already received 12 responses!! I am hoping to get 18 more in the next week so I can do my comparison study. Can you share this with other parents you know? I really appreciate the help and am so excited about studying in your country! Here are the details...

I am a graduate student at the University of St. Thomas in the United States (Minnesota), currently participating in a study abroad course in Singapore at the National Institute of Education.

* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?
* Do you want to share information that could help other couples transition into parenthood?

If you answered YES to these questions, and are 18 years of age or older, you are eligible to participate in this parenting research study. It only takes 5-10 minutes to complete. To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Participation in this survey is completely voluntary, anonymous, and confidential.

Robyn Maley

whitepaper,
Rachel is in her lesson 2 now. cant tell much now. maybe down the road when she is in primary school, i mite switch her to Berries. Coz I heard abt the results.

I have to agree tat their Berries's curriculum is much better than Tien Hsia.

<font color="aa00aa">re: Chinese
Wenxuan's teachers feed back to me that my boy doesnt like chinese!!!!! I'm hoping this is bcos he is still young and will learn to like it as he grow up. I realised he can take our instructions very well when we communicate with him in English but he would look blur whenever we speak to him in mandarin. How???</font>

mousebb

do you speak to WX in mandarin often? Try to do that. For me, my parents speak to CH in Mandarin and Hokkien and English. My maid speaks to him in English and Berhasa Indonesia. My hubby and me speak to him in English and Mandarin. And he can understand all! Kids are like sponges, can absorb alot! So try speaking/ playing with him in mandarin as well?

<font color="aa00aa">busy bee
Oh!!! Forum was down yesteday??? You know I force my hubby to go back to his office last night to get for me his wireless broadband for me..... Hahaha!!! Usually he would keep it in his laptop bag but yesterday he forgot to bring his laptop bag home so I told him I dont care I just need to surf the net!!!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">whitepaper
We do speak to him in mandarin leh but I notice it is just like what his teacher said this boy is simply not interested in chinese at all!!! I guess we have to speak more mandarin to him liao.</font>

<font color="119911">mousebb,
wah...&amp; your hubby really so nice went all the way back 2 his office to get for u
kekeke...</font>

<font color="0077aa">Whitepaper, thanks for the feedback. Likewise, I also heard good feedback about Berries. But their programme also starts a tad late - from 3 hence, for the moment, I will have to just do my best to speak to C in Mandarin so that she is used to the sound and tonation of the language lor.

Anyone knows the fees structure?

Joanne: I am not organising any trial for JG because they do not do group trials. You will have to call them a week before and check on availability.

Busybee: for those clans, I think should be able to get in la. Can try asking.</font>

mousebb

maybe you can also show him DVDs in Chinese or play games with him involving the language...

but anyway, no rush lah, let him take his time

Buffy,

yup, when I left, their programs are from 3 year olds to 12 year olds
for the fees structure, I cant remember liao, but you can call to check

buffy,

for Rachel is if were to enrol her to Berries.

12 lessons is $365.40. Reg fee is $37.45.

is a 1hr 45mins lesson.

purple

Yes I apply loose powder. I dont spend much on makeup so my loose powder can be anything from Loreal to Bourjois (using this one currently). Basically all mymakeup can be found in Watsons lah, except the Hanskin BB cream
try to look for translucent loose powder, will look more natural

Having said all that, I'm not an expert at makeup lah... I only use BB cream, loose powder, blusher and lip balm. Occasionally use mascara.

<font color="0077aa">Icylemon: thanks! Think when C is finally eligible to attend, the fees may change! LOL</font>

Marcus has 9 teeth now.
He has 2 upper molars. I didn't even notice till last weekend when he screamed and i looked into his mouth! No wonder he's been drooling so much. Bottom molar is trying to come out too. Ouch!

CH is eating almost half of his meals by himself now, so the teeth are helpful to grind his food well. And so that I dont have to mash his meat so much...

XY

I still mash his meat with a fork, for the rest I dont mash. Just want to ensure they are in digestible sizes.

And yes, he likes to feed everyone around him too, I think its a normal phase that every kid goes through. He wants to use chopsticks when he saw us using them too, so we bought him his own chopsticks, though he cant use them well yet

buffy,
oh dear. sorry. i think i read wrongly. thanks thanks! will call them up.

xy,
wow! marcus has a lot of teeth now. rianne only has 6.

not sure if suddenly...
or i never notice.
I seldom open his mouth and look at his upper jaw.

So mummies...
Time to inspect your bubs upper jaws see any molars there or not.

I felt kate's 10th and 11th, my hubby brushed her teeth with finger brush last night and he said he could feel 12th... hmm...

toothy girl...

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Wah... so many tots with so many teeth... They can enjoy more new food le.

Mine still 8 front... will go check out hers tonight.</font></font>

I am scared to go and put my finger in Julian's mouth to check. The last time I tried to fish out a piece of plastic he was chewing, he clamped down on my finger! super painful..the more i yell out in pain the harder he clamp! Swollen for 1/2 hour...ouchies

Bigflamingo,

Marcus also bite me before. Once, he cheekily took my finger and flash me his toothy grin and attempted to clamp down.

I screamed a NO, he laughed.

Another time, i tried to remove a plastic he bit off, he left 4 teeth imprints on my finger!

<font color="0077aa">re teeth. C is still relatively slow in teething. 2 bottom ones, 3 top ones with a 4th on the way. Ha ha.
Height wise, she is around 76-77, she was fidgeting so it was hard to measure. Weight wise last that we weighed her at KK s month back, she was 10kg. I wonder if her head circumference is still in the 80+ percentile.

Joanne: no worries. Am organising the Zoo trip though, r u able to make it? 24th Jan? Also, u planning to go for weekday or weekend class? I registered C for weekend bilingual playclub and it's like $550+ for 10 weeks. Weekdays r a tad cheaper. But am planning to finish up at Bibinogs from mar - may then take a month break and try JG for a term in end June. Reg forms are available on the website, u can download there.

buffy,
won't be able to make it for the zoo trip. my best friend is treating me to a spa treatment that day. i'm thinking of going for the weekday class but don't think my hubby will allow me to register there though. cause for him it is ex.
i'm currently looking for playgroups for rianne. so that can start to prepare her for when she starts preschool next year.

bigflamingo,
rianne always bites my finger when i brush her teeth. very painful! but i think she thinks it's a game cause she was smiling cheekily every time. i'm waiting which one would come first.. my nail to die or all her teeth to come out. hehehe..

<font color="0077aa">Joanne: actually it is pretty steep. That's also why I thought of changing her out of Bibinogs cos I am already reading, teaching, doing craft work with C daily so after a few terms there, I just thought to change and try something else since we are already doing those activities. It's actually more for me to take a break from planning our daily sessions! Ha ha

but for this bilingual session, it's 2 hours long. U looking around for preschool yet? How's yr search?</font>

need to off load emotions again.

am still at work but leaving soon. think about the little girl sleeping already, i feel like crying.

damn tragic right. haiya.. sian man.

k ciao liao.

take care yer alls!

i've been catching up with your lil ones via fb pictures

nickypower,
I am using skin79 bb cream. I ask my customer to get from korea website, as they dun accept international cc. There are also BPs on skin79 as well.

Nicky
They're actually pretty similar. I do find that most of them run on the fair side. And they're really thick so a little goes a long way. I have a few tubes lying around, so if you want, I can make samples for you and send them your way. LMK. I would hardly finish them anywhere since I have so many other foundations lying around.

Morning mummies!!

Nicky,
I'm using Hanskin as intro by whitepaper, so far so good.. I order from spree too..

Teeth:
my boy got mouth full of teeth.. kekeke..

R&amp;R,
The promo on again.. can go and have some good lunch there..

BYSI, GUESS, Mango:
There is sale gg on..