(2008/10) Oct 2008

jjmom / vanilla - Haha. I am a born planner .. I dun like to take chances.

R&R - You joker lah. I dun like such places and havent been to one for God knows how long.

I suppose some pp dun mind PCF; I am just darn particular when it comes to schooling.

Hermes bag- can only dream ... even if can afford, I find it hard to part with that $$ for a bag

serious lah... i really tot was st james power station. at one glance. dun been to be joking abt the school. kekeke....

actually we really have to be kiasu now looking for schools.

juz like when my colleagues recently laughing at me abt sending my elder one, Rachel to Tien Hsia to learn chinese.

yes i agree she is too young.

but i think as parents, we always want the best for them.

any somehow or rather the educational system in spore is very challening now.

siong leh!!

compare our time... so different.

ya.. i told my fren aby my house buying plans and she being preggie w no 1 scorned me for my KS ways.. i told her.. it is not me wanting to be like that...it is the system. She said she will not worry. I told her i was like u before i have a kid...but when u have 1, u are in the race. u will be forced to be ks one way or another...

BBcream,
But how do u all decide which series to buy? I've one tube frm Taiwan spree but its too fair for me..if Hanskin not selling in SG, then hw to test? jus try n error ah?

<font color="0077aa">ruffles: ya, thats the reason why i am quite keen on Pat's 'cos it is a bilingual class - meaning 2 dedicated teachers and 1 in each language. I went to the Buckley branch last year and really liked what i saw. The kids looked really happy, the place is airy and bright. Big colonial bungalow house and even though it was air conditioned, they left the back doors opened for ventilation which was another plus point for me. Additionally, they have a large area for outdoor play (playground, sand, tricycles, water play and one more which I cannot recall). I also saw for myself how the kids eagerly sought out the teachers and how the teachers give me a feeling that they are v passionate about the kids.

St James: I called too but I did not bother 'cos I wanted a bilingual class.

KS: ai yoh, I received so many comments that I am pushing C or overloading her with the session and our signing. But seriously, I dun really bother. 'Cos C likes our daily session so much that she does not even want to stop to be changed into her PJs every night and each bub is different. C is a kid that requires and effectively seeks out stimulation so I am the one taking her lead rather then the other way round. After speaking to her in Mandarin for a month, she finally said "Yao", "Bao Bao" and "An Zhang" (dirty). So she seems to be sensitive to languages and I am just trying to nurture her. So, dun bother if ppl say u are KS 'cos like u said, comes May, you will have 2 so better to get everything locked and loaded.

<font color="0000ff">Re: Schooling

How come some parents ostracised PCF? Is there anything wrong with those kids attending PCF?

Apart from the curriculum offers btwn different organistions,, does that make a child feel less competent as those who attend the prestige kindy??

hi bluey - i think it is not really biasness..for me my youngest sister attended PAP but she really struggled compared to me and my other sis who went St paul's kiddy. It was the chinese and the attitude of the teachers then. My mum regretted putting her there. then she had to do worksheets and concentrated more academic and not much play.

buffy,
i'm still looking for a kindy for rianne. how much is it at pat's? a friend told me that queenstown good shepherd kindy is good. i'm also checking out arts kidz preschool since it is very near my place. have you heard of those schools? so difficult to look for a school. didn't know that it was so competitive here. back home, as long as you have the money, you can get into the best schools. which reminds me, i got scolded by my mom and sis this morning. they told me that preschool is the foundation for babies. so even if it is expensive, as long as it is the best then it shouldn't matter. haiz. i believe the same thing. but i'm not working. don't want to put so much burden on my hubby.

<font color="0000ff">Vanilla,

I've seen some extreme cases and I just can't stand the attitude of some parents who tink that PCF is poison haha ;p~

Of coz, if the parents have deep pockets, they definitely can send their child to the best schools.

Each to their own.

Vanilla
If you do buy an Hermes bag, let me molest it!!!

Pat's vs Chiltern
I'm also deciding between these two. Wanted Chiltern initially but now seems like Pat's is better, just based on the Chinese alone. What's so good about a bilingual class ah?

Like Ruffles, I much prefer a play-based curriculum now. So you all intend to send your bbs to school next year onwards? Yes?

<font color="0077aa">karen: are you well versed in Chinese? For my case, I am just average, conversant. Got only a B3 for chinese. And 'cos HB is not Chinese so Cate was not exposed to it. For the bilingual class, at all time, there is a chinese teacher in the class and so, the kids are exposed to both mandarin and english at the same time. Hence, exposure wise, it works for me 'cos it is not just they are being exposed to chinese during the 30 mins class but in this case, it will be the full session. So, thats my personal preference.
I have the forms from chiltern too so if anyone wants it, please let me know and I can fax to you. I sound like some psychomum hor? Forms also got liao. *so pai sei*</font>

<font color="0077aa">bluey: oh, i am not against PCF (not that i am saying u are saying that I am.hahahahahaa) just that when i popped by the branch near my place, I found the envt very classroom style and not as engaging. Meaning it was not play learning based and it was more like A is for XX and B is for XX. The teachers in that branch also seemed to be just gg through the motion and they also do not have much outdoor play except for a playground outside. The envt is also a bit run down and not as clean. so that was why I decided not to put C there.

Jelly
You just reminded what I need to say. You need sunscreen in your life!!! I"m sure your allergic to only one of the ingredients, most likely titanium dioxide. But you should try others, like zinc oxide. Japanese sunscreens are great. You MUST use sunscreen :p

Oh dear, sounds like it's too late for me to put my kid thro a 'decent' kindy.

It's scary how everything starts to escalate to an earlier age.

And I thought P1 registration is crazy.

Perhaps next time there will be a class on prenatal education of the foetus, teaching the foetus some stuff which I know not what it is and people who are getting ready for pregnancy also put their tummies on waitlist.

I'll most likely put my baby in a nearby church kindy.

lil bluey,
It's alot of difference between PCF and the better kindies. Kids who go thro them, with good home support, do alright in school but there're alot of them who graduate from pcf not knowing how to read and write still. But usually, people who enrol their kids into private kindies are also people who provide alot of home support to their kids, so perhaps it's home support that really matters.

Perhaps I could share my elder kid's experience:
I put her in the Nursery class under my parents' flat when she was 4, thinking that there's no diff between the schools and becos of proximity. The poor girl didn't have any friends as she soon found out she didn't understand her friends' mother tongues and her friends couldn't understand her. She felt really lonely and unhappy then. One year later, I transferred her to a church kindy where the kids spoke English, and she became happy there.

Re: being ks
I think people who say that others are kiasu are usually people who don't have kids yet or they are not that well-informed. When my kid was due for P1 registration, a friend told me that I was too kiasu to place her in a school far away from my place, 'just becos it's branded'.

Now that she becomes a mother herself, she has sent her barely-two-year-old kid to different classes and is finding out different schools for P1 registration. I asked her,"Do you now want her to go to the best schools?" She said coyly,"Yes, yes ..."

Re school- I got something to say. I intend to let claudia go PAP. Coz got a few reasons but this is my reasons of putting her there and hope this wont offend any mummies here.

Firstly, I went to PAP and I find there's nothing wrong with it.
For private schools, parents who put their kids there have deeper pockets and most of the time, u can find spolit brats there. ( I m not saying all but wrong association kills)
I believe that she got to learn the hard way. Not to always take things for granted.

Having to say that, firstly i need to convince daddy before i can execute the plan. Haiz.

<font color="aa00aa">re: school
Most probably will let my kids go PAP to attend K1 &amp; K2. My hubby's cousin who is a teacher told us it is better for kids to attend PAP.</font>

Re school, my elder son is currently at PAP, this is his first year. I also find nothing wrong with it. But then again dun think i can afford to put him at private schools like one of my colleague, 3 hours class and need to pay $800 per monnth.

My son class is the 3 hourly one with extra circulumn as they mentioned and cost me $170+ per mth.

Will monitor and see how his progress. He also like to speak in english...will ignore us when we speak to him in chinese

mousebb,
did the cousin say why better?

Joanne, PAP refers to People’s Action Party. Actually nowadays they are know as PCF kindergarden.

mousebb,

i agree with you.

coz my cousin who is a teacher in PAP also told me tat PCF now is in line with MOE system. so dun worries abt lacking compare to other kids who attended other private schools.

anyway, i will take Rachel out of MMI when she goes up to K1. will let her go to PCF, The Little Wings.

little doggie,

wat are the extra enrichment class ur son has @ PCF?

coz the PCF i asked is abt $95 a month for 3 hrs a day class. they din tell me abt enrichment class provided by them.

i count count count. yours is cheaper.

Tien Hsia 10 lessons $280 / 10 = $28.00 per lesson.

1 month 4 lesson 4 x $28.00 = $112.00

Total $112.00 + $95.00 (PCF) = $207.00

<font color="0000ff">Rain/Buffy,

Not every set of parents are loaded enuf to send their kids to the best pre-school/kindergarten although they wish they have the ability to do so.

There'll always be a debate ongoing about PCF vs Private. Pros &amp; Cons aplenty.

Penny,

I'm not taking sides but I do agree with you on some points that you raised.

Ultimately, we just want our kids to be happy and not grow up to be some selfish, arrogant brats who probably look down on others

<font color="0000ff">For us, it's important for our son to learn Chinese, so what if he can converse well in English and fail in his mother tongue?? In the end, he will be a laughing stock amongst his peers which we as parents do not want to see.

We dun expect him to be very well-versed in Chinese but we feel that the basic foundation is still crucial.

PCF vs Pte Kindys
I suppose both have their pros and cons. It's very much up to us parents what we want for our kids, how much we can afford, distance relative to our homes etc etc. To each his own. Afterall all the kids graduate from whichever kindy to the general main stream primary schools. The same logic goes for clothes ie. Tollyjoy/Pigeon brand vs Gap / Osh Kosh / Gingersnaps etc

There is definitely nothing wrong w PCF and they have groomed some of the best kids / pp in SG. Most of us went to PAP didn't we?

Just to share from frens' experiences, kids who go through PCF, Kinderland or Montesorries do well academically becos the pre school sys is so inline with the MOE sys.

Those who have yet to look ard for pre-schools etc, please dun get stressed by me &amp; Buffy hor? Take your time. I started early cos reason per above.

No mummy will find sending kids to pcf offensive. I was just sharing my experience of my first kid and why I probably won't send her there. I feel that the area which the school is in is also important. Ultimately, children are the ones who will 'teach' or motivate children.

Personally, the people I know who attended pcf gave me bad feedback. My husband told me he only learnt to sing 'san zhi lao hu', A to Z and watched a lot of tv there, so he suffered when he went to pri school. My younger sister also told me she didn't learn much there. So my kid's experience with pcf made me feel that they didn't improve very much with time then. When she came back from school, she told us that her teacher told them,"Sit down and learn your homework!" and asked them to line up in one straight line and put their finger to their lips, which I thought was regimental. But I must say the teacher was a nice person, and from what I knew from her, pcf was trying to learn from other kindies.

R&amp;R,
actually i din really ask :p, i only know tat the enrichment class is more focus on chinese. Cos for the normal 2 hour is more english based. M thinking 3 hours he can learn more things and my pil will have more free time. Last year he went to Apple tree (2hour class) it is very rush for us to go home then fetch him back.

For the Jan'10 school fees i need to pay for a Supplementary fees of $32+ (which i think is payable every half a year for the extra hour, if i rem correctly) Let me go back and check again.

On a lighter note, those who like Fox Baby, they are having a <font color="ff0000">CNY SALE!!</font> 50% off everything.

Gingersnaps has some nice cheong sam dresses for gals at abt S$58.90...

R&amp;R,
Fyi, my friend's gal in K2. She is learning creative writing, kindy cooking, theatre education, han yu pinyin and the usual one like phonics, maths and english.

haha karen... for pple who knows me they will know i will never get a hermes bag... but if one day i behave not my usual self and do break my son's piggy bank (haha the CDA account)...and buy a hermes, i will sure let u molest it...

<font color="0077aa">bluey: yup, agree with you. which is why i actually combed thru the schools near my place (carpe diem, learning vision, agape, pte ones like the children's campus and of course the PCF one). I made my decision solely on personal preferences - chinese, cleaniness, style, etc.
perhaps because i was home schooled when i was young hence there are some things which i am more into.
there is nothing wrong with PCF ones, just different envt, different styles, etc. and the one near my house was just not that suited for me.

Joanne: saw it. will reply in a bit.</font>

Just to share! There will be a Fun in the Sun Bazaar this weekend Jan 16 - 17, 2010 at East Coast Park Big Splash area. There will be over 70 stalls ranging from baby/ kid items to face painting. There will be new and preloved items for sale. The bazaar starts at 10 am on both days !

<font color="0077aa">bluey: i went ahead to buy the same BB cream 'cos my tinted sunblock was finishing anyway so it is good timing!

JJMom: you've got mail</font>

<font color="0000ff">Buffy,

Really? Just now I passed by the shop then was wondering if you bought it keke ;p

See if u feel the difference

<font color="0077aa">i just applied leh.feels a bit thicker than my normal sunblock... a bit oilier/richer too. cant see the results because i dun hv mirror! LOL</font>

vanilla

how to break into the CDA account? unless you ask your PD to sell you hermes bag and get the nurse to charge you... hahahahaha.

rains,
*kok ur head*. your ah lao's time in PCF is outdated liao lah. now the new PCF is different liao lah. how can you compare last time with now. last time "ma ta" wear shorts okay!

hahahaha...

Ruffles,
*kok ur head* FOX 50% storewide sales already almost 1 week.

little doggie,

those tat you mentioned is what MMI is teaching in K2. so i m more "fan xin" to put Rachel in PCF le. hehehe... monthly to MMI is $400. PCF only $95. i can save!!

little doggie,

hehehe... dun worry. no matter how i kok the mummies head. they won't kok me back de. the mummies here are nice ppl. hahaha....

R&amp;R are u sure is only $95 cos my son in Nursey i already paying $170+ per mth leh....

haha.....i agree, mummies here are indeed very nice ppl