(2008/10) Oct 2008

ypg
so tong tong will be in the arts next time? So it's the first thing they pick that counts? What if they play with everything? Jack of all trades, master of none?

nickypower,

$250 for 2 kg 2-tier cake? So expensive. I paid $150 for 3kg 2-tier cake from PG (after adding in the delivery fee & designer fee - a way for them to chop me carrot head)

Karen,

Yes, today I more eng. Better dun let my HOD know. Haha... No la, cause today no remedial class mah.

I got my bubbles from the toy shop at Bugis there (near to the KFC there). I got 1 whole box of 30. But cant remember how much.

I doing the 踏龟 n 抓周 ceremony on marcus chinese birthday. But dunnoe what items to include leh. Last time i pick money.

YPG, where u buy the huge any ku kueh from?

Cut & paste from Sep thread.

Zhua Zhou (抓週)

意義

書: 會讀書,適合做學者、專家
Book: Studious, May become a scholar, professor etc.
筆墨 : 會成為作家、畫家
Pen and Ink: Writer, Artist, Publishing
印章: 有權勢,會做大官
Seal: Has Authority, Politician, Judge etc.
算盤/計算機: 會當商人、會計師,適合從商
Calculator: Merchant, Trader, Broker, Financial Officer
錢幣: 將來會很富有
Coin: Will be extremely wealthy
雞腿: 有福氣,表示一生將不愁吃穿
Chicken Leg: Prosperous, A life of satisfaction
尺: 表示將來可成為設計師、建築師
Ruler: Architect, Product Designer, Land Development Surveryor
蔥: 代表聰明
Spring Onion: Very bright (May amount to any careers due to brightness and braininess)
蒜: 代表善於計算
Garlic: Good in accounting for and calculating (May amount to any careers or personality that requires this trait)
芹菜: 代表勤勞
Celery: Hardworking and Steadfast (May amount to a personality that values hard work)
稻草: 適合農事工作
Wheat Grass: Agricultural, Horticulture, Natural careers
刀劍: 能當軍官、警察
Sword: Soldier, Policemen, careers in the airforce, navy, infantry
聽筒: 適合醫護工作
Stethoscope: Health Services, Doctors, Vets, Nurses

I din use all. I deliberately miss out the sword, wheat grass. Also, in the midst of chaos, I miss out the coin & chicken drumstick (though my mum got prepared) Haha...

<font color="0077aa">morning mummies.

Cheerbear: am sorry to hear abt her passing on. I hope your family is coping well. My deepest condolences.

Playdays:
Date: 24 oct &amp; 31 oct
Time: 3 - 4.30pm
Cost: $45 + GST

Playdays Trial for Mini Bubbles
1. Buffy &amp; Cate (24 Oct)
2. Karen &amp; Jo (24 Oct)
3. Jelly &amp; Rebby (31 Oct)
4. Daisy Buttons (31 Oct)
5. BBgoh &amp; Seline (24 Oct)
6. Eelyn &amp; Kaitlyn (24 Oct)
7. mint &amp; Regina (Is 31 Oct Ok?)
8. nickypower &amp; Kaelyn (24 Oct is fine)
9. Jolly &amp; Ashton (Is 31 Oct Ok?)
10. Christina (Is 31 Oct Ok?)
11. BigFlamingo + Julian (24 Oct fine)
12. Chua Wan Chuen &amp; Kaijie (24 oct fine)
13. ypg + Kai Tong (31 Oct)</font>

<font color="ff0000">Mint/Christina/Jolly: is 31 Oct ok for you ladies? Max size per class is 11 so Please advise as I need to let the school know. Thanks</font>

cakes:
Toking bout cakes, just to rant, initially I emailed eCreative on the query of customisation of a 2tier, 2kg bday cake and they are so slow in replying to me despite hearing good reviews on them. Haiz. And I ve to call them twice b4 someone finally attend to me and the price they quote me is so so ex lor. $250 for a small 2kg 2tier cake! *faint* I rather go order from PG or the Patissier. Tsk tsk. :p
Anyway managed to find another bakery who is able to do for me at less than $130 and with delivery somemore! :p Lucky din just go ahead to order from eCreative! :p

XY,

I bought it from a nonya cake shop at Bedok. U stay nearby?

Karen,

Got scissors meh? Mean what hor? I dun remember got scissors. I cant find abacus so use calculator. I even add in a false laptop. Improvise my own. IT is a modern profession.

XY,

Any cake shop or shop inside wet market near ur place got sell ang ku kueh? Most likely they got sell.

Time to go home liao. Feeling sleepy in such a weather.

<font color="0000ff">Hi mummies,

First day back at work concuss! -_-""

Cheerbear,

Sorry to hear abt the demise of yr grandmother. My deepest condolences.

Everafter,

I cater the food from Neo Garden but the portion was huge! I still have leftovers after the event hee..I order their nonya laksa sedap! I muz say their food has improve!

You wouldn't believe what I just did. I called Sean Lau and asked him if the pics were overexposed, becos my sister was quite sure they were. And I stumbled upon another mummy who went to him for photo-taking and her pics with the same setting seem to look better.

Feel so lousy feeling like a difficult customer.

I haven't decided on the birthday cake for my baby. Part of me want to order from Pine Garden becos of its lychee martini. Another part of me screams 'logic' and 'be practical'. We're just going to invite my family to have a get-together dinner and so it seems frivolous to have a 2-tier, more-than-a-hundred-dollar cake.

<font color="0000ff">Rain,

So wat was their reply??

Perhaps u can consider one tier if u think 2 tier is too frivolous, in that case u can still have their lychee martini, I ordered my boy's bday cake from them and the most of the guests were impressed, in fact I think their lychee martini and blackforest taste better w/o alcohol

Rains,
i'm not a pro lah. But same settings doesn't mean can get the same results. Have to look at the angle and lighting also. So wat was SL's reply to ur comments?

rains
i think sean lau does quite abit of editing... my guess is that the editing played a part. u can try asking adelena to give you back pictures in its original form but not raw files...

hi rains - one of my son's pic - the angel wings w SL was abit overexposed cos i cannt see the wings..i told adelena and they fixed it up for me...

bluey
bcos my hubby dun like the editing, we asked for unedited copies in JPG instead of .raw so in essence we are still getting back the original

rain
speak to adelena... she ok de...

<font color="0000ff">Jelly,

Ooh, I din know I can request for that, all I know is adelena told me there's one round of editing done.

It's easier to pp yrself with the jpeg/raw files

Hi Buffy
Just realised that i hv forgotten to add my name in.... and max class is 11.. i'll put my name in the waiting list den....

Playdays:
Date: 24 oct &amp; 31 oct
Time: 3 - 4.30pm
Cost: $45 + GST

Playdays Trial for Mini Bubbles
1. Buffy &amp; Cate (24 Oct)
2. Karen &amp; Jo (24 Oct)
3. Jelly &amp; Rebby (31 Oct)
4. Daisy Buttons (31 Oct)
5. BBgoh &amp; Seline (24 Oct)
6. Eelyn &amp; Kaitlyn (24 Oct)
7. mint &amp; Regina (Is 31 Oct Ok?)
8. nickypower &amp; Kaelyn (24 Oct is fine)
9. Jolly &amp; Ashton (Is 31 Oct Ok?)
10. Christina (Is 31 Oct Ok?)
11. BigFlamingo + Julian (24 Oct fine)
12. Chua Wan Chuen &amp; Kaijie (24 oct fine)
13. ypg + Kai Tong (31 Oct)

Mint/Christina/Jolly: is 31 Oct ok for you ladies? Max size per class is 11 so Please advise as I need to let the school know. Thanks

Waiting list:
14. soudez &amp; vel

Tue lunch gathering at PS Cafe Cartel on??
I'll be taking leave. Who else free???
1. XY + Marcus
2. JJmom
3. Daisybuttons
4. mint + Regina
5. joanne + rianne
6. kare2711 + Jo
7. Busy bee + Miki

Shall we meet at 11.30 hor. See u all. Woo... seems like it's an all girls affair! Lucky Marcus once again!

Xinying,
I know same setting may not get the same result la, but it seems to me the other mother's one better leh - colour more vivid, natural, and sharper. I thought since it's the same studio, the lighting would be the same.

I just asked if it's overexposed which of course he said it's not lah. If he said it is, then no need to do business liao. He said their pics are on the bright side and if I want, they can make the colours more vivid. I'm not sure if he got what I meant, or maybe he got it, but averted it by pointing to colour issue. He also said that if we wear white, the colour tend to be very white lor *...*. I didn't tell him that Studioloft pics didn't end up very white altho we were all in white against a white background.

Jellypurin,
How you know they do 'quite abit of editing'? And how do you know how the unedited JPG files look like? Do they look any different from the first soft copy you bought back? Pray tell. Sean told me the originals will look like the colour version in the CD I bought back, which I thought are abit 'washed-out' looking, altho they are not the 'washed-out' version.

vanilla pod,
Can you tell me how they fixed the wings? The wings became very visible after the fix ah? My baby got a pic with a bear. The bear's face almost invisible.

lilbluey,
Did you go Sean Lau too?

I didn't know lychee martini got non-alcoholic version. Thanks for sharing that!

cheerbear,
Condolences to you too. My grandma also passed away last Friday.

XY,
Yes, still have the voucher. Thanks for the reminder. Will call gymboree tomorrow to book.

Tmr's lunch date: 11.30am too early for me too. 12.30pm would be better for me.

Buffy,
Prefer 24 Oct. Thanks.

Karen,
I got the bubbles from the party shop. About $1 per bottle.

Re: Birthday Cake
I ordered Regina's birthday cake from Cake Avenue. 2kg 2-tier cake. $123 incl. delivery charge.

<font color="aa00aa">Hello, Mummies!

I used to think that when wenxuan starts school, I would have some free time for myself and wenmin. It seems like I'm wrong. I'm feeling more tired than taking care of him at home. For the past few days I walked with him to school at 8.30am every morning and waited for him till 11.30am. The challenge starts tomorrow cos I'm going to leave him in school and fetch him at 11.30am cos hubby needs to go back to work liao. Each time when I heard him crying so badly calling mama, my heart really hurt so much! Today I heard him cried non-stop for nearly half an hour so I decided to check out what happened. I saw him standing at the gate at the dinning area crying for me until his uniform was soaked with his tears. The moment he saw me he ran to me quickly and hugged me so tightly. At that moment I was so so upset and felt like crying too. All my baobei wants is mummy! I really pray hard that things will get better for my baobei son.</font>

mousebb,
How come the teachers didn't try to console him but let him stand at the gate for so long?

If he's not ready for school, then dun force him lah. He's still young. Can always home-school him.

I went to Sean Lau too, but after getting the pics quite 'disappointed', I'm not a professional but just think that some pics dun look too right..however, it's an experience

Yup, they do cater for non-alcoholic version

mint- I oso got my cake from Cake Avenue! Hi five!
u choose from their catalogue or customised one? Think customised one flavour of cake quite selective, they gave me chocolate fudge, how bout u?

Hi Ladies... Watching LOST and reading up on the archives...Had an extremely busy weekend.

Cheerbear &amp; Mint, sorry to hear abt the passing of ur grannies. Hope u guys are ok.

Mint &amp; Nickypower, wow cakeavenue Choc Fudge cake is Yummy. I wanted to get that but we decided against it as we wanted to keep to a small budget for her party. We want to only indulge when she can tell us what she wants for her next birthdays. Good choice!!! Do share the pics of end product as I am definitely going to order from them for her next party.

Rain, abt sean lau pics. You are not the first mummy I heard from that was disappointed with her pics. For us, we enjoyed our session and are rather pleased with the pics. Maybe cos she has only been to 1 other PS at studio loft. Plus even if they were over exposed I wouldn't know. I know nuts abt photography.

Mousebb, Hope WX settles into school soon. Maybe u need to just go cold turkey? Or work with the school on how to help him adjust?

Dimpletot,
Leapfrog table... Saw a diff version on promo at ToysRus from the one I had previously came across which was a English/Spanish or English/French one. Is the musical one the one u got? I am still toying with the idea of getting an activity table for minibee

Mint,

I get it from BP here but BP is closed. Think u can email her instead at [email protected]

I confirm the design on Wed &amp; the banner is ready for collection on Sat.

3069051.jpg

My cake from Pine Gardens:
3069052.jpg
top view
3069053.jpg
side view

Cake avenue cake, at where? Perhaps I can order it for Kai Tong's actual birthday on Thursday. Another excuse to have celebration.

Paiseh for the small photo size. If u want to see clearly, u can go my FB at [email protected] to see. Hehe...

Morning mummies. Beautiful weather.

Dimple
maybe I am biased. But I love it. Prefer it to stage and such. I also love the initial 20 mins of play time/warm up. Thehaves so many engaging toys. Jo warmed up right away. Then it was followed by a welcome song which was fun. Lots of action and intonation from the teacher. Song was long as teacher said hi to each and every baby, followed by mummies and aunties. . Then the introduction of a train soft toy which went around every baby. Then story time. Teacher tried to illicit simple responses from pupils like getting them to wave bye at bear before teacher turned page. Snack time was apple purée. Jo did not like the purée but had fun playing with the spoon. Then off to change down to swim diapers for a swim. More like playing in a backyard pool. Water reached their knee level. Jo enjoyed a lot, sitting down in the pool, playing wih the many toys in the water. After which they were washed with a hose, dressed up and sing song time. Then it was bubbles then farewell.

Not bad. It was past jo's nap time and she was not exceptionally cranky. She got a little bit cranky during reading time but was all happy during snack and swim time. When she was starting to get cranky during song time, the bubbles came out and made her happy again. Thinking of signning her up Next term.

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning

Mint, busy bee
The later I send wenxuan to school the more difficult it is going to be for him and me. If I withdraw him now, he would use the same method when he go to nursery or even P1. I guess there's no turning back liao.
The teacher tried to console him and carry him but he struggled and cried even louder. It was lunch time and the teachers needed to feed the kids so I cannot blame them for not trying to console wenxuan. He refused to be fed by the teacher too. Sigh!!! I guess he just need more time to settle down. </font>

busybee,

Oh, I'm not very disappointed with the pics as per se. I think the pics are well-taken. I bought back soft copies from Studioloft before and I thought Sean Lau has alot more better-taken pics. He has a way with babies I guess. Just that I thought maybe the lighting is abit too bright, resulting in some pics being overexposed. Studioloft's pics are more vivid in colours and moodier. If Sean Lau's lighting is not so bright, I think he might have won Studioloft on every count. Perhaps if I don't pick up dslr, he would be perfect for me, except that the colours are on the light side. I'm a colour person. So perhaps Nikon is really a better choice for me.

ypg,
Ooo... your cake looks cute! That's another reason I keep wanting to get from Pine Garden. Sigh! I can hear the rational me protesting distinctively,"But you're not having a party!!!"
*struggle*

mousebb,
Oh, pls don't feel so worried.
I sent my first kid to a 3 hour playschool when she was about 2 yrs. And she couldn't live without me. The teacher had a hard time distracting her. She carried her and swinged her and sang songs to take her attention away from the departing me.

I took her out after a week or two becos my father was agst the idea of early childhood schooling. He said I might as well give them the money to look after the baby. So I didn't get to send her to any other form of school until she was 4.

She was well-adjusted in nursery when she was 4. She didn't have separation anxiety. I think age does play a big part as the child is already very assured of your presence and would want some friends to play with. So don't worry on that.

I think more importantly, don't make him feel repulsed with school. If that happens, it's worse.

morn mommies

rains
can tell...bcos basic photography will not produce "exposures" in the colours Sean Lau had showed us... oso just to share if u guys dunno... sean doesnt do the editing, adelena does and we have to admit she is not a professional, hence what you see is not always the best in ur eyes

Think there will always be hits and misses for studio photography. Some pple will think it look fine and vice versa.

Sean Lau is using a very gd camera body and from reviews I read and tested for both Canon and Nikon Camera. Both produce good quality images, if one is more of a colour person, Canon actually provides more vibrant colours whereas on the otherhand Nikon wins on its 'sharpness'.

Jelly,

Thanks for sharing, it's always tough doing pp work

Today's lunch gathering at PS Cafe Cartel on!

1. XY + Marcus
2. JJmom
3. Daisybuttons
4. mint + Regina
5. joanne + rianne
6. kare2711 + Jo
7. Busy bee + Miki

Shall we meet at 11.30 hor. See u all. Woo... seems like it's an all girls affair! Lucky Marcus once again!

Mint, don't worry, i'll be early as JJmom and Daisybutton have to get back to work after lunch. U and regina just try to come asap. Hope sleeping beauty wakes up early today.

hi rains - i am photography dummy...i showed my fren the angel wings pic and she said it is overexposed and asked me to let SL know. I told adelena and she adjusted the pic so the wings are more visible...

mummies - can i ask any of ur bb have been vomitting? My son's appetite has gone down alot, he is refusing milk and solids (except biscuits and fruits)...for the last few days he vomited quite a bit..last night, he puked his entire fm and dinner.. i am not sure if he is too full, tummy too much wind or cos we give fm for the 9pm feed instd of bm. me so worried!

ypg,
Heehee! Thanks for the contact. I emailed her liao.

busybee, nickypower,
Yes, their choc fudge is delish... I also like their mango cake so I'm having that as a top tier and bottom tier is choc fudge. kekeke! Now I'm thinking if I should increase the size to 3kg. Mine's a customised cake.

mousebb,
I agree with rains. When he's older, he'll be more receptive to going to school so he might not be crying so much. Take him out first. Don't create the fear in him for school cos in the long run, it's not beneficial.

Perhaps you can start by bringing him to those classes that allows parent's participation to let me get used to being with people.

XY,
Sleeping beauty has been waking up at 11 plus these days so low chance she'll awake earlier. Heehee!

mousebb, oh dear, i understand what u are going through. Jov has a struggle in that initial few days too, and i also worry did he eat his bf or not in school.

try to appear happy and cheerful whenever u talk about school to him. dun let him see ur worried face. and.. i not sure whats ur school's opinion, but for Jov's prev and current school, they discourage you from showing ur face halfway through the lesson. the reason being:
1. He may think you are bringing him home, and when u don't, he will feel even more crushed coz his hopes went up.
2. Subsequently, he will get to expect you every now and then to show your face, that makes him harder to settle down coz every moment he expects to see you.
3. You may affect other kids if they are also new, coz when they see you, they tot its end of school and they expect to see their parents

have u tried the scrapbook? take photos of happy kids in school and show him every day? photos of him playing? photos of teachers so he get familiar with their faces and names and thus make them more approachable? I noticed my boy sticks to one of the teachers during those weeks, and he often asked to be carried. i guess thats his way of managing his anxiety.

Having said that, i know there are cases where the kids reaction is simply too traumatising to leave him in school. like rains whom had a compelling reason (her father) to pull her child out, my friend also pulled out her boy (same age as my son, enter school same time) after a few weeks coz he repeatedly cry until he vomits. so do observe him and see how he's taking it. if there's signs however mild, of improving, then it may get better.
if however, he's so traumatised he lose appetite, behaviour change, cant sleep (but its normal for children to wake up more often during that first few weeks of new school), or any others, maybe u can reconsider.....give him 2 weeks and see how...

Karen, JG is great isn't it??
i love it too. great enthusiastic teachers, interesting creative ways of teaching, lots of music and play. am putting Jaz in bilingual playclub when she turns 18mths.