(2008/10) Oct 2008

hi mummies, my princess came back to MIL place n jus 3 days n now she is having fever @ 38.3 + cough..
have gave her paracetamol + cough mixture + sponging..
praying tat fever don shoot up further..
dunno is due to MIL always bring her downstairs to meet her hair saloon frens or she have not fully recover since last sat like wat MIL claims..

maybe its jus teething but funny thing the aunty who stays next door n plays with my gal everyday today also down with fever..
did she spread to my gal?
i so heart pain *sobx*

<font color="#C24641"> Jen
*hugz*
understand how u feel.

just monitor her n see how is it. did u bring her to PD?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Rebecca
My bull terriers so far are quite friendly de.

busy bee
Cannot leh. Bull T belongs to the "fierce" group. So sad.</font>

<font color="#C24641"> Jen
*hugz*
understand how u feel.
feeling lonely n helpess n wishing that hubby will be by ur side.
my situation is the same as u esp when i cnt handle my Gracia. only hubby is able to settle her when she is cranky.

mousebb
ic. maybe din disturb them n make them angry ba. i heard frm others that once we make them angry, they can bite u to death!!! </font>

Hi all, am still trying to catch up on previous posts. But since there is a discussion on porridge I would like to ask anyone added soy sauce to the porridge? My son loves cereal but hates porridge, my mum said coz its too bland. But I tot not supposed to use salt until 1 or 2 yr old? Or what else can be added to make it tastier?

bbgoh:
what brand is the yogurt?

Does anybody know who is Jess Loh? I have a friend request from her in fb.

Jetudes
Read that it's best to avoid salt for babies. Maybe you would like to cook the porridge with chicken stock to make it tastier.

nannyli,
I rented my toy from rent-that-toy.com. Ya, it came in good condition and clean too.

Gioanna,
Dun vomit blood. Every kid develops at different pace.

XY,
I dun think Marcus is losing weight. His growth has slowed down which is normal cos average weight for 1 year olds are around 9 to 10 kg. (Something I learnt in today's weaning talk) Heehee! Now macham expert. :p

Anyway, as long as he's on solids 3 times a day should be fine. By the end of 7 mths, our bubs will be on 3 meals plus 3 milk feeds.

Re: Crawling backwards
Read from What to expect (my bible) that crawling backwards is normal cos of their arm vs leg strength.

Wan Chuen,
Dun add sugar or salt to baby's diet yet. Wait till after 1 year.

Joanne,
Your MIL so funny.. hahaha! Aiyah all these old people sometimes got funny thinking. My MIL said Regina should not stand but my girl keeps wanting to stand. That day when she carried Regina and she kept wanting to stand on her lap. My MIL kept forcing her to sit back down and kept telling her to sit sit... Finally Regina screamed at her. Hahahaha! I simply sat there and watched the show and waited for my darling girl to scream and she didn't disappoint me. hahahaha!

mint,
how was the weaning talk today?

Trace,
can you PM me your hp no? i sms u better..

Pildough,
i suppose u missed my email too? can PM me your hp no also?

mint, is the drug store the one in Tokyo? Where do u get it here in Singapore? Stayed in tokyo for a year many years back and missed the food, theme parks and shopping. Is there drugstore in Singapore?

Updated my recipe blog with 6 yummy new recipes for 8m-9m onwards =)

Just for sharing- Our babies enter phase 2 of weaning at 7.5 months- where they should be learning to chew and handle bits of food or bitesize foods. Chewing aids speech development, so remember to introduce bits and pieces, not just the pureed ones anymore =)

Give a pureed fruit or natural yogurt after every meal sitting, so you can be sure constipation is out. Feed baby water in a sippy cup now, and give them some plastic utensils to let them try out their eating motor skills - scouping, bringing spoon to their mouths, etc.

Scarlett now has 6 teeth- 4 tops and 2 bottoms, she is still sleeping through, although its the growth-spurt season (remember the 3,6,9,12 months growth spurts where they will wake for one extra milk during the wee hours) after this month, it will normalise again..

Lett always eat in her chair beside the dining table so she associates eating with the sight of her bowl, fruit baby cube, spoons, chair near to dining table and her sippy cup on the table (she shows her desire to feed by screaming! if we are moving too slowly...hehe)

Lett also takes gerber stars and organix as snacks while she plays to keep her sugar lvls up.. otherwise cranky fairly quickly..

- www.xanga.com/meetscarlett

mint and kiwiwfruit:
Yah lor, I am trying to avoid salt and sugar, already using chicken stock to cook, but he still doesn't like.

Kindermusik:
Who is interested in the trial? Karen and cheerbear? Mint, you only went for the trial and didn't sign Regina up for the course? I thought its good to the babies start "socialising". Maybe don't schedule the class too late in the evening to avoid crankiness.

Chua,
U can try to cook porridge with small ikan bilis.. I'm personally loves it.. v tasty...
but not sure if ikan bilis need to be soak, I just rinse with water..

tweety,

try it and ashton love it... Ashton so far so good.. he eat watever we put in his mouth..

i bring Ashton to kindermusik this sun. waiting for them to confirm with me

morning all

Oops.. Clare had watery stool yesterday after introduced new cereal (Oatmeal from HT). Will give today again to see if it's the cause.

Tweety
How about Ikan Bilis powder instead?.

<font color="119911">hi ladies, morning!

hey ladies, i noticed a few were asking about 1st year party. just fyi, my hubby is working in a hotel so if you happen to be keen consider it, please PM me lah...

teething/crawling:
ohhhhh.... Jo, you are not alone. Cate has not crawled yet but she is trying lah! The legs are strong but she does not know how to coordinate the arms hence her butt would stick up HIGH in the air. wahahahahahahahahahaa...

she also has not cut her first tooth though I noticed that her gums are harder now than before and she is drooling a bit more.

I dunno which mummy was the one who asked but yes, they are much more fussy when they are teething and they may have disruptive sleeping patterns.

as for porridge, I give cate a mix of brown and white rice (am not trying to be high class here but she likes brown more than white, think its because when i was preggie with her, i ate more brown rice than white 'cos i prefer brown too... :p) with white bait fish and another type of fish. We'd put in either a bit of carrots / a few leaves of spinach and cook in the slow cooker. when it is done, we'll blend it 'cos she has no teeth lah! so cannot bit or chew off the fish flakes! LOL</font>

morning mummies

think ytd my post was missed out..ok let me ask again.
for apple puree, after freezing it, will the vit be gone? how u mummies prepare? teach me leh..

chua,
i am interested in the kindermusik but maybe not now coz of the swine flu thingy since it will spread easily. anyway better be safe than sorry.

chris,

i called kindermusik yest too..was told its this sun..but i cant make it. gonna go on 24th may, to b cfm again

<font color="#C24641"> lili
ytd told u that i bought a new cereal for Erin rite.. wa sianz lor.. she spit out all the cereal lor. haiz...

<font color="119911">rebec: eh my dear. no need to be sianz... 'cos hor, Cate did the same thing to me when she was like 4+ / months old. Now, she can almost finish almost about 3/4 of a sachet... hang in there. just look for something she likes to eat and keep giving her that with a bit of variety. and then slowly re-introduce again. I have been trying for 1+ months lor before she took to the cereal...

is today's topic kindermusik? what is it about?</font>

Tweety:
Ok ok thanks! I'll try the ikan bilis.

Kindermusik:
Oh yah, I forgot about the swine flu. Ok better KIV 1st.

Cheer bear:
Sorry I never freeze apple puree before. But I think just steam with abit of water 1st then blend?

<font color="119911">lili: are the stools green? if they are green, then it would signify gastro probs.

cate had watery stools also, like diarrhoea when we first gave her cereal. so we stopped for a week and tried again. only recently, her stomach got used to it... but if she has a few soiled diapers and it is watery / green or she is vomitting or is in pain when you press her stomach, those would be the sign that it is more than intolerence... My MIL used to be a nurse lah, so I hv all these drilled into my head liao... Hope this is helpful for you.</font>

<font color="#C24641"> lili
nestle de lor.. mixed veggie. actually all the while she dun like cereal de.. is i force her de.. hehe... but now she really rebellious liao...

buffy
she is 7mths+ liao.. 24 may will be 8mths liao leh... haiz.. she is so small in size lor.. u can ask most of the mummies here.

i dunno if u went to any of the gathering ant la... she is so small size lor.. doc say she only 50percentile. just nice only lor..
was expecting her to grwo grow grow! i dun mind i carry/sling her until my back bone crack or broken. i really wish her to grow grow grow.

P.S: maybe i tease my hubby to much liao. coz my MIL told me that my hubby drink FM until 3yr old. n o always make fun of him. hehe... what goes ard, comes ard. LOL</font>

Chris,
How u grind ikan bilis huh??? need to soak??

lili,
I think powder is good, but I don know how to prepared yet.. and my bb haven start porridge..

chearbear,
I steam apple and blend it.. then keep in freezer.. not sure if the vit will be lost, but it's more convenience for me to do this way.. I even freeze pear and avocado and pumpkin..

Chua,
Hope yr bb like it this way..