(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="aa00aa">bbgoh
Just checked! Finally my xiaojie is teething le! I can feel that something is coming up at her lower gum liao.</font>

<font color="#C24641"> mousebb
check her gums got white white ant. if got ar.. means thse goin to start teething liao. n girls teething is more 'ma fan' den boys! my Erin n Gracia also gve me problem n trouble!!!

re:packing
i dunno y my hubby so lousy lor.. he is an army regular n i expect that he can pack better den i do!! but sad to say.. he disappoint me.

<font color="0077aa">mousebb
wah congratz!!!

mint
if i use big bone &amp; ikan bilis make the broth, is it good enuf huh? i thk this stage she still dunno to chew the meat puree bah. will the meat can puree till like fruit/vege so smooth?

congratz!!!
that explain y she cranky ba.. coz teehing is painful. that time my wisdom tooth burst out frm my gums n the feeling can kill!!! that's y when my kids all teething.. i can totally understand them. n try to gve in to them lo. but aft teething period. no more!! keke..</font>

Mint:
Did Mrs Wong share what other ingredients she added for the chicken broth? I think I too lousy cook, my mum "suan" me say that my chicken porridge taste so bland she wanted to vomit =(

Lili:
1st few time I gave baby spinach, I mixed with EBM. Subsequently, I mixed inside his cereal or with carrot.

Chua
how do you make spinach? totally no clue...

mousebb
wow congrats!

rebecca
why girls teething is more 'ma fan' den boys?

<font color="#C24641"> lili
i also dunno leh.. think 'xiao jie' lor.. my 2 girls are like this leh.. sianz de.. hubby heartache when see his 2 girls teething.. LOL!! for me.. nt a big deal. wahahahahahah!!! </font>

afternoon mummies, roller coaster nite fr me..
yst woek up @ 2.30am kyra fever @ 38.3 then gave her med n this morning fever shot to 39.5 n i kept sponging her..
so pissed with hb cos yst nite kyra spit out her med 2xs n i wanted to give anothr time but hb say if she don wanna take then leave it its ONLY 38.3!!!!!!!
i am so bloodly pissed n he can still say 40 then serious.. i pratically chased him out of the rm n ask him to get lost!
come back past midnite n tell me tat why i call him when my gal fever i am the mother n shd b able to make the decision myself cos he is not available tell him also no use!!!
i fume till tears also drop out!
speechless..
till this moring temp @ 39.5 then he know how serious n panic n brought my gal to GP..
lucky at GP temp lowered to 38.5 n after taling para n brufen, her fever down to 37.7 n guess wat stupid hb back to work while i took urgent leave!

most fuming is i can very confirm ITS THE AUNTY NEXT DOOR tat spread the viral to my gal cos GP says is viral fever n not due to teething!
n the aunty also have same symptoms n GP can even ask me why the aunty sick still let her carry my gal!
lucky MIL was there n heard it but know wat when i return n say is the aunty spread one she say no lah..
this age bb very "ma fan" one..
die also don admit is the aunty spread one!

<font color="0077aa">lili
maybe gal more manja bah hehe

Chua
the yogurt i cant remember the brand but its display on the yogurt/cheese chiller shelf. the packing got a baby pic de. only 1type there for baby one

<font color="aa00aa">Thanks, mummies! But I very scared to go thru the teething process with her. Really ma fan.
Just now I put her in the playpen with korkor. Guess what! She knows how to snatch things away from her korkor le! When korkor tried to take it back from her, she screamed!!! Win liao lor!

Jen
Hope Kyra get well soon!</font>

<font color="#C24641"> Jen
totally understand how u feel. guess ur hubby also same as my hubby. will ask me all sorts of stupid qns when my child fall sick. ur MIL is kind of selfish. so obvious that is the aunty spread to ur gal n still dun admit. really no comments. </font>

*hi5*
WM n Erin same same!! she snatch toys with her "man-eater" jie jie. den jie jie got fed up, BITE BITE BITE!!</font>

bbgoh,
Thanks! Will continue give him fresh one then!

mousebb,
Congrats! My son still bo gay! haha...but i like his bo gay smile lay...haha...

lili,
I steam the spinach for 5mins or so until it soft, blend and add into the porridge/cereal.

<font color="0000ff">Jen,
*pat pat* can understand where your anger come from...sigh

My PD also said fever 38 &amp; above confirm not due to teething liao.

Hope your gal get well soon</font>

yes... when u have porridge, cook meat in it and then when meat and rice cooked just use hand blender and puree.it will look like some creamy soup which bb can eat...if u want it more watery put more water if bb likes chunky then less water

thank god my kyra fever subside to 37 liao..
but scare tonite up again..

rebecca, jus now the aunty sick still come over.. she can still ask me why nv go work!
^#^&amp;$*^%(^&amp;)*&amp;

i know she concern n dote on my gal ut she sick shd even avoid going near her moroever she went to my gal's rm jus now *ARGH~*

btw any babies suffering from seperation aniexty?
my kyra seems very "sticky" cannot leave her alone at any time the moment we leave her sight she cry eventot we tell her we going to make milk etc n walk away in front of her n talk to her she still cry uncontrollable

if i were u, i would tell her nicely tat my gal has already kena the flu virus from her &amp; would ask her to come visit my gal only when she recover =P

when it comes to my gal, sorry but there is no 1 tat i wouldn't dare to offend even my inlaws =P</font>

Jen,
My boy also, super glue at night lo, he will cry the moment i put him down. Although i have already told him me just away to take milk etc, assure him I will come back to him soon, but he still refuse to stay alone, and wanna to be carried. Sigh...

JJmom, i don wanna ofend her cos sometimes MIL needs to cope alone with baby n the aunty will help by jagaing her for 10-20mins till MIL ready..
somemore she is my MIL's sister, wat u want me to say?
even hb also ask me don assume *haiz*
now i can only hope tat the aunty know how to "auto"

phtanus, my kyra is ok no need to constant carry but must constant have a person accompany her..

<font color="aa00aa">Phtanus
I'm going to miss my gal toothless smile soon.

Jjmom
My kids' PD mentioned to me that fever above 38 degree is not teething liao.</font>

this morning @ 39.5 my gal look so stone n lethagic till i panic n keep playing with her..
MIL also brain kuku.. i ask her to let kyra take med then goc dr but she say no need let dr c her then take the new med then go c dr, dr ask me why so high don let her take med this morning when last taken was @ 2.30am?

then i spoke to her in eng say is my MIL don want her to take..
crazy MIL/ insane aunty/ horrible hb..
think in runs in the family :x

Jen,
Icic, mine also lo. If u constantly stay with him, he can play his own. But once u walk away, he will cry until u pick him up and become koala bear lo. Then i have to "sweet talk" to him until he feel "secure", sigh

<font color="aa00aa">Jen
Last time when my gal was running a high temp, I gave her medicine every 4 hourly. </font>

<font color="#C24641"> Jen
aiya.. some ppl 'buay zhi dong' wat to do. 1 of my mother fren also like this. worse still she go inside my room n carry my Erin lor.. the doc already told her NOT to go near to kids liao lor.. really @#$%^&amp;*

my MIL totally diff frm ur's. she little bit only ask we all to feed her medication. coz she say kids fall sick vry poor tin adult also 'xin ku'.

jialat liao.. Erin diarrhea again?! WT....

mouesebb,
abby completely recover liao.. back to cheeky self. on wm's moods, maybe its teething, maybe it's just one of those days..

Phtanus,
separation anxiety

mint &amp; rebecca,
my hb packs last minute. he throws in a couple of undies (preferably one for each day so he doesn't need to wash) and some clothes and technically, everything fits in his haversack including his eepc when we go on holiday so luggage space is allll mineeee :D heheheee

but if he has to use the luggage, he's like your hbs. dunno how to pack.. also works for army like bec's hb .. how come army train them to be defence force for the 21st century but never teach them how to pack suitcase properly to maximise space productivity. maybe it's a woman trait.. to efficiently fold, roll and stack. hhehe

mint,
i think they don't get alot out of tactile books now, movements too fine to master to fondle the textured patch? ehhehe i bought her tactile and lots of soft cloth books, happily turning the pages, pulling the flaps, mouthing, throwing etc also can surface or gently wash so quite good.

<font color="#C24641"> pil
my hubby only 1 tin same as ur's. throw in his undies!!! the rest.. haiz...*shake head*</font>

Jen,
Wa that aunty really not 'auto'...sick still go near baby!

mousebb,
Finally got to buy the swiss roll during lunch time jsut now! Boss asked my colleague and I along to lunch at Arab St and I quickly recommended Good &amp; Rich Cake Shop at Kandahar St! Hehe...each of us bout a box of 2 rolls...can't wait to try it tonight!

<font color="#C24641"> eLcH
huh?! still till tonite la.. hve a swiss roll feast at the office la.. keke... =P

my finger nearly got chop off by the fan! Erin go pull the fan. n to protect her.. i quickly hold n block the fan. my finger nearly went into it!!! scary!! thanks God i still can type here!!! </font>

Rebecca,
Haha...still full from nasi padang lunch leh...most importantly is I paiseh la...go lunch so long already so don't dare to 'snack' anymore...don't even dare to pump though my last pump was at 5.45am...thought of just pumping later so that I can just pump once in office today...

Aiyo! Erin so adventurous!

mint,
LOL, think i really must go update my blog, some are oos liao. The sweet cherries is oos too..hehe..

Haiz, so sad cannot make it to the talk yesterday. Seems like i miss out a lot. The next time u come BTP, must pass me some tips ya. Got notes to share?

When's your hubby coming back?

temp above 37.5 must feed med liao, cannot wait too long leh. Will cause damage to the bb's brain de, pls don't delay, no pt to. Aiyoh...i so heartache for your gal &amp; u *hugz*

Been busy at work so haven't had the chance to read through and post till now.

Purees - Today I gave her Jap peach puree and she ate 1 whole peach up!

Organic - I am a junk food lover (Macs &amp; Carls Junior are my fav), but somehw w bb, I seem to be steering towards organic stuff. Maybe cos I think food w less pesticides is better for her. So have been trawling organic sites to read more. Will be grabbing a pack of organic brown rice soon, and looking forward to blending it, storing it, and cooking it w a nice plump Sakura chix for my darling.

Just to share an article on what to go organic and what you can save on given organic stuff is so ex in SG:

http://www.foodnews.org/EWG-shoppers-guide-download-final.pdf

Rich &amp; Good - So gd eh?! Think I must call them up for sample leow!

Men packing - This is an interesting topic. Somehow most men dun seem to know how to do this. Mine can haphazardly stuff his drawers with his undies and then proclaim he needs a new wardrobe becos there isnt anymore space! When we travel, I pack everything for the above obvious reason. He wears what I pack for him. He claims that he is the boss. And bosses dont pack. So Ms Secretary here will do it for the Boss
Not that I mind. I ENJOY packing. A bit psycho...

this is taken from hughes

first ed was in 1991, so try out whatever that works for you. don't take it as a guideline, just informal reading lor.

6-12 mths - colourful picture books, stacking toys, nesting toys, sponges for water play, mirrors, toy telephones with dials that move, toys that react to the child's activity.

intellectual characteristics: interest in the effects of one's actions on the external world

type of play: child repeats behaviors such as crumpling a piece of paper or banging on the table, that has a satisfying effect on the environment.

intellectual characteristics: appearances of intentional, goal directed activity e.g. when a child pushes aside a pillow in order to get the toy that is placed behind it

type of play: goal directed infant often abandons the end in order to play with the means. the act of pushing aside the pillow becomes a joyful game and child forgets about hidden toy.

ref: piaget's stages and characteristics of sensorimotor play
---------------------------

here's something that talks about tactile objects

research has found that younger babies engaged in alot of mouthing, looking and passing things from one hand to the other. by way of contrast, older babies tend to run hteir fingers across the surfaces of objects they know how to change their pattern of manipulation to accomodate the object in hand. when an object is followed by another that differed in textured, babies did alot of fingering. if successive objects differed in shape, babies would rotate them in their hands and pass them from hand to hand, looking at them from different angles.

hughes, 1991, pg 54 - 55 (children, play and dvpt)

<font color="0000ff">sigh...this early morning, this lousy mommy nearly din hear my gal's cry. When i finally heard her, her daddy is already at her cot, trying to get her to sleep. He told me later tat she has been crying for awhile liao, he said i must b too tired so he din wake me =P</font>

<font color="#C24641"> JJmom
scary rite!!! 'pa si wo'!!

eLcH
adventurous hor!! she is taking my fingers as the token!!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">elch
Haha! What flavour did you buy?

Rebecca
Dont play play with the fan. Luckily for my room, we are using the standing fans and in the meanwhile is still safe for the kids. </font>

<font color="0077aa">vanilla
which part of meat u give him? can share?
thking to try this wkend thanks

no matter what fa i'm using, it;s always NOT safe for my kids. coz they happen to get so excited n bump onto the standing fan! n the fan... fall!!! luckily not on them. is fall on the floor!!!</font>