(2008/10) Oct 2008

whitepaper
last time i was so stupid. worried the FBM expired then i clear it & store new EBM in the freeze -_- tat time din noe abt FBM ll spoilt the antibodies thg

my dad keeps scolding for not giving bb enough water, causing her to have constipation..sigh..is that true? we give water but sometimes she doesn't want to drink..

<font color="aa00aa">My gal is on diet these few days. Her intake is about 600ml nia. Dont know what on her mind now? Think she is patang cos each time when I called her fei niu then for the next few days, I can expect her milk intake dropped liao. My grandparents told me never mentioned "fei" in front of a kid cos some kids are patang. I think it could be true for my xiaojie.</font>

<font color="0077aa">Springles
is yr gal under TBM? if yes then its normal no water needed &amp; not pass motion everyday de.
my Seline had 6days record last time. only recently pass everday since start solid.
they dun need water if on TBM unless u give FM then normally i ll give some water after milk</font>

<font color="0077aa">only 1day is okie lah.. doesnt mean 1day no poo then its constipation. as long as their stool not hard &amp; they squeze all energy when pass it.
u got give her any fruit puree? eg apple? it ll help if u worry then can try.</font>

rebecca,
Tell your sis you will hang pig's head at her house and spray paint o$p$ if she don't pay up... heehee!

trace,
Stomach flu is contagious. Maybe ask your mil to be more careful when preparing the bm for her to drink. Maybe take time off if possible to go home.

mousebb,
maybe you can let wm try oat or barley cereal.

springles
I donate to Breastfeeding Org. Contact was from mint... PM me if you wanna know more
Otherwise, I'm also donating direct to other mommies who require my FBM

mousebb
WM's intake less but she got some solids already right? normal for milk intake to be lesser mah...

rebecca,
damn shame for your sis to treat u like this because you're a real decent person. i would like a meimei like u
albeit a very fertile one.. kekek.

tonight,
i finally get some time off tonight without bb, would any mommies like to meet me with or without bb, i want to take a trip down to town maybe get my brows done and get something waxed, dinner, maybe movie?

http://www.hungrygowhere.com/singapore/cafebiz*featuredten_click/

http://www.hungrygowhere.com/singapore/alegro_spanish_street_food*featuredten_click/

http://www.hungrygowhere.com/singapore/mykii*featuredten_click/

tempted to treat myself.. ;)

Rebecca/trace
*hugz* be strong

maid abuse
maid looks very young.
anyway, prob lies with parents in my opinion.
you can expect a maid to do some many things, look after 2 young kids and do housework though

Summary
if you want to get a maid, okay only to do housework. put your kids at infant care or childcare whereby the people are more professional. at least, you wont catch them sending your kids some flying kicks and doing thai massage on top of the kids' back.

agree with EY, i havent met a teacher who hasn't shouted at her students at least once her entire career but most of us teachers bound by a certain code of ethics, professional and moral to care for the child. although quality of teaching and care vary teacher to teacher, centre to centre. def no flying kicks or thai massage.

on maids,
i think it's an issue of motivation. they have no sense of belonging here, items in the house don't belong to them, they are not related to anyone

having said that, have i mentioned that my father (before my parents split up) was a maid agent for 2 decades. I was filling up fiction in the biodatas for the maids when i was in primary school and my favorite section was hobby and interest and i vary between 'skipping, collecting stamps, swimming and reading', certainly called for much creativity.

The agencies still do it so be skeptical of what you read in biodatas particularly when they write 'like working with children and the elderly' but can't speak a shred of english to save their lives but at least they have alot more training options for maids these days.

back then, my father acted as a direct supplier to supply indonesian maids to local agencies after the flor contemplacion case and when phillipinos got more expensive. alot of maid over declare their age and passports can be made with money to certify the legal age of 18. alot of them also have young children and good for nothing husbands/ younger siblings and old parents to support. When people are desperate for money, they do anything.

Back then, maid conditions were bad and most illiterate so agents exploit that. there was this agency called apple, the agent my dad's friend used to take advantage of the maids and brag about it. these girls are really young and naive, i've seen them come in hoping for a better future, they go back beaten, pregnant, with hiv, hep, stds. there are also fortunate cases of some who stay on for years. so it varies. nowadays the maids have better education, they are aware of their rights and options (to ask for transfer), they are also bolder, they want to go out and make friends. it's isolating to be the only outsider in the family.

Ruffles' strategy works, some of my friends give their maids an off day regardless of whether they ask for it or not and they have an agreement with the maid that they can go out and make friends and be responsible with themselves and not bring anyone back. there has to be give and take if trust were to be built but don't tempt the devil by leaving anything valuable around. i noticed that as a rule of thumb, motivation wanes after a year of service. it's alot of people management skills when you're boss to someone whom you see almost 24 hours a day. everyone has mood swings but we learn to work through that.

i identify with the isolation even as a daughter in law. when my pil, sil and hb speak in tamil among themselves and they have little private jokes that i don't understand, i still need to ask for a translation. so maybe life is alot about learning how to live with others, i'm still trying.

<font color="aa00aa">whitepaper
My gal only take 1tbs of cereal nia. Today only about 0.5tbs. If she eat more solid then I can understand why her milk intake reduced but funny part is her solid intake also little bit. </font>

hi mommies

Taking break from scrapbooking and caring for Vicky; she playing on her own now.

Jelly / Trace / Dimpletot - how long do you gals take to do 1 page? I can take 1 hr leh. Siong. BUt vvv fun and fulfilling .... now I nd to head bck to MwL to get the transparencies and more embellishments!!!

pildough - wah biang. Scary to have a child (like u) fill up the biodata ..I didnt know there is (was) such practices ... no wonder all the bios read alike! I mean when I was choosing a maid, I was wondering how can 5 different maids all coincidentally enjoy reading, cooking and playing w kids woh! Now I know. Thanks for enlightening me...

jelly - thanks for mailing the romper; just got it. It's vvv nice. Think I will use it for 1 of her seanlau pic. Do u find the size a bit small? Looks small to me.

ruffles
yeah, the size i ssmall.

re:scrapping
me will take the same time as u... do u want the notes i got from MWL? i am going back on monday to get my stash ... double stamp day!

Jelly - Hey what time are you going to MwL on Mon? Will go during lunch. Can pass to me the notes then? How do you know it's double stamp day??? Sorry v sua teng.

Victoriajust turned 360 in her cot! Pengz.

ruffles,

sorry juz nw got d/c frm my msn...
for 1 page, hmm...depending wor..usually ard 30 mins? or more than dat..din really time myeslf though..yest wanted to do ..but am too tired..

ruffles: you are into scrapbooking too!!it's fun..have got the materials but yet to start doing for ashton..too many pics to choose from..the thing abt digital camera...we jus keep snapping..hee...ooo, at least you found an outfit for the PS..i still searching..boys attire not soo exciting leah..

trace: ashton had fever..and it shot up to 38.5..oso vommitted, brought him to PD, no ear infection or urine infection..so PD dignose as viral infection..i tot it was so vague only to realise that many bb are oso having that..was having fever for 2.5 days..luckily fever subsided..but his throat still looks inflammed so abit fussy when come to milk time..other than that..still ok. i was soo worried initially, you should have ask jelly how i looked when i met her that day...realli heartpain when our precious fall sick..

ruffles
if you are a frequent shopper of MWL - double stamp is mondays! i can meet you there at lunch as well if you want. but may be like late lunch cos i am going to see gynae at RH or i can email u!

jolly,

can fully understand hw u feel! *hugz* hope ash is getting well! u try to get more sleep oso.. same goes for me..

IC! I hv the stamp card too!!! My lunch is from 12-2pm. You call / sms me if can meet me for lunch ya
Can't access yahoo mail from office.

Trace - wanna come??? ngek ngek

trace : yupz..sleep deprived..imagine setting alarm clock every 1.5-2 hours to check temp and sponge him..hugz to you and arielle too~ hope her lil tum tum is better and shoo shoo all the nasty virus from our lil ones..~~

everafter : thanks alot =0) done =)

ruffles
ur lunch so long! so gd! i try and "siam" work for a longer period. told my manager i will try and be backby 2pm... hiak.. see u there...

i better pm u my num...

jelly : prob mid may..adelena say to call her and check again cos their schedule v full..

ruffle : you gg during lunch time ?? mmm..i'm a lil tempted ~~

jelly - Yes I hv to be back by 2pm too
See u Mon. We can have a quick lunch b4 after MwL.

trace - I can fax or scan-then email the notes for u.