(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning mummies

Sleeping baby
Hmm usually my girl wakes up by 7. But this morning, she's still asleep. Wonder if she is ill. Otherwise I hope this is the new timing.

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
I can imagine bryan doing all those actions! Must be very cute! Cant wait to see him on next Mon!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Karen
Check her temp. It's quite normal. At times my gal would wake up as early as 7am but sometimes she still sleeping at 9am.</font>

Morning Mommies!

Enya>
I maintain my position of not buying from Ashley. Can't stand this kinda ppl!
Support you all the way

Springles>
My PIS Advanced 2008 version is a backpack, and can take out the motor in its own bag. I'm lucky coz I got it for $550 from WTS section. It's brand new. Seller got extra set as a gift and wanted to seel off. Came with receipt from Robinsons (original cost $738) and full warranty.

El>
I'm gg OG private sale too, got the mailer

Mommies thinking of buying scootababy>
After using for 1week+, the scootababy is wonderful, comfy, and CH loves it (well I suspect CH loves any kind of soft structured carriers, he's too big for slings and pouches). But I found one bad thing - there's no head support if baby falls asleep, unlike in BBjorn, Ergo, Beco, where theres a panel for support or a hood. Luckily for CH, he can fall asleep easily in a carrier, and doesn't mind his head dangling... hahaha... so ok for him. When he's older, think he can just rest his head on our chest or shoulder to sleep.

white paper - if urs can take out means its from europe.
from what i know..the US backpack motor not meant to be taken out but the europe one is meant to be taken out if u want.

i work in hospital mah..that why got PUMP..but always in use..damn jia lat.

OG private sale? i also got OG card...hmm..maybe should wait till then to buy my PIS.
but i'm quite keen to get the metro coz i want the carrier to bring motor ard.

Enya and whitepaper,
At one time, I exchanged emails with Ashley as I was keen to get the Beco. Through the exchange, I felt that she was pretty inflexible and as a result, I eventually did not buy directly from her!

Whitepaper,
Where did u get ur scootababy? is it meant for bb who can already sit unassisted? Does it put a lot of stress on one side of your body? keen to get it if it allows my girl to see the world.. for Beco, the only world she see, is me! hee.. have yet to try the Beco, backcarry as she is still too small.

whitepaper
what went on with Ashley?

springle
u work in hospital? btw, my take abt PIS is that as long as it has a local warranty in SG and it is serviceble in SG, can buy! i went first few years recently and saw the medela freestyle was like $799. its v cheap!

trace
what happened?

Springles

Yup. Din you receive the mailer if you were OG cardmember?

Anyway just flash your card at OG Orchard Point on 18/3/09 from 9 am to 11 pm. I'll be heading there very late at night as I'm supposed to be on school duty till 8 pm tt day. sighs..

<font color="aa00aa">The rashes on wenmin's face and body cleared liao. Her face looks smooth smooth once again! So happy!

El>
GOt scootababy for $198 at Medela Service Ctr at Toh Guan. It's meant for babies who can hold their head steady already or from about 5months. It's good, doesn't strain one side of my body. But best is bring baby to try first, coz babies all different mah. Works for my boy doesn't mean your baby will like it

Jellypurin>
Ashley bullied Enya! Scroll up and read Penny's post and Enya's post... terrible girl...

everafter>
Ok will check for you!

<font face="tahoma"><font color="119911"><font size="+1">Good morning!</font>

how's your weekends?

for me, didnt do much just relax at home. </font></font>

Jelly,
Yup.. Must control.. esp if you already have the stuff that you need..

Mommies..
Need your opinion on walkers.. Basically we grew up using walkers.. Now with the reports on walkers delaying child's walking ability.. I can't help but worry. Since my mom is the main caregiver while I'm at work, she would want my girl to be in a walker someday as people believed that walkers help babies to walk.. My husband also has the idea that walkers are fine. Any mommies who have used walkers on their other kids, pls comment on the safety and usefulness of walker.

El

Personally, I will not use a walker. I believe babies will learn how to walk by themselves, and at their own pace. Some may be faster, some slower, but it's fine with me. No rush. And walkers are quite dangerous, other than the damage to spine and delay in walking ability, baby may also knock here and there, and banging into furnitures etc. My hubby's sister, when young, even had her walker toppled while she was in it!!!

whitepaper,
Thanks for your info. Currently enjoying my Beco.. will see if girl gets restless as she becomes older. Glad to have a girl who can sit still in strollers and car seats..

now jus need advice on walkers..

Btw my girl is 5 mths today and still refuses to flip on her own.. guess at 7.5 kg, she is too heavy to flip? But when I land her on her tummy, she can already lift her front half of her body up. and she is capable of sliding not forward, but backwards!!

From KKH website:

Baby Walkers

The myth: Baby walkers help babies to learn how to walk.

The truth: Prolonged use of baby walkers can slow down baby's ability to walk.

Babies go through many stages of development. As the infant grows, the central nervous system matures and muscle bulk increases in size gradually. This allows the infant to move from a lying down to an upright position.

There have been no studies to prove that an infant will walk at an earlier age if he is put in a walker.

Putting an infant in a walker allows him to move around and explore his surroundings. It encourages the child to extend his legs, allowing weight bearing to occur. At the same time, the muscle groups in the legs of the baby are strengthened.

In addition, the infant should be about 5 to 6 months old before being put in a walker. This is to ensure that he has developed adequate head and upper body control in an upright position.

When the infant further develops and starts to crawl or pull himself into the standing position, other muscle groups are developed in these activities. Putting the infant in a walker then might not allow development of these other muscle groups.

As the child grows stronger, a single push on the walker might propel the infant in the walker far ahead. This may lead to headlong collisions with furniture, or falls down a flight of unbarred steps.

Baby walkers have been responsible for many injuries and deaths in children as:

•Babies in walkers move faster and reach higher than are appropriate for their age, putting them at risk of injuries

•Babies in walkers cannot see where they are going or what they are running over well

•Walkers tip over easily

•With the `aid `of walkers, toddlers can run into hidden dangers, bump into furniture, pull on hanging appliance cords, topple over, and fall down stairs

el
when a few of us were at the gathering at taka... this was one of the subjects... think many of us doubt the safety and usefulness of walkers though we grew up using it, however, i think i will only put my ger on a walker if she is able to hold all her weight on her legs... now her legs are still jelly...

El

Your girl not too heavy lah. My boy is 9.79kg at 5 months!!! He did his first flip at 2.5 months, but never did it again until 4 months, when he flipped and flipped. By then he was already 8.65kg.

Your girl may be lazy. My boy too... he can flip but doesn't like to flip!!!

The main thing is to convince my mom that my girl does not need a walker.

I had a bad experience myself. gate was unlocked. I "walked" out of corridor and toppled down a short flight of stairs.. m lucky to be alive!! hee hee..

if she insists that I get a walker, I'll just get one for her place.. I'll jus let my girl cruise around at home on weekends.. it's times like this that make me think of quitting my job..

Any view on jumperoo?
Currently my boy like to "jump2" when i hold him in standing position. Now OG have rainforest jumperoo for $199. Tempted to buy but dun know whether is good for the baby.

monyetnakal, u got let your boy try the jumperoo b4? i wanted to buy but tried to put Bryan in it yesterday at taka and he jus stared blank and not interested at all! hahaa

Jellypurin,

I just delay the purchase of the walker, best is if I don't even need to buy one. Sometimes I don't wish to appear more knowledgeable than my mom, as after all, she once looked after me before.. Must be careful not to hurt their feelings.

Whitepaper,
yes, my girl is plain lazy.. at times when I assist her.. she'll just lie flat after holding the side position for a few seconds. sigh.. now she'll just carry her butt and legs to the side, and simply stops there.. no attempt to turn to her tummy..
Boys tend to be heavier due to their bone mass.. but at least, he's one active little boy.

Monyetnakal

Jumperoo is another device that may lead to injury. A very small percentage of babies that used such devices ended up with fractured bones.. Scary thought. That is why I nvr considered a jumperoo, esp when babies start to jump violently in it.

Actually come to think of it, all baby devices, if not used properly, may lead to injury. but I know that a lot of mommies are using it. i think, when used with supervision, it should be alright.

I was initially keen to purchase it a few months back, but ever since I read tt report, I changed my mind..

El>
hahaha same lor... lazy lazy!!! but dun worry lah, she'll flip soon!!!

Beco back carry>
Think I won't try till he's older. Can't see him with him at the back leh... and he'll be happily sucking his hands away, coz I can't see and can't stop him mah!!! somehow, my instincts tell me he'll be super carefree and happy if carried that way........

hi springles - can i ask how fussy wld hospital be in loaning the pumping machine and bottles to mummies whose child are in hospital? My son will b admitted and i will be staying w him in hospital but i dun want to bring my PIS along cos washing and sterilising v ma fun...thinking of borrowing from the maternity ward..not sure if they allow. can advise? Thanks

good morning mummies.

<font color="ff0000">whitepaper</font>

i agree with what you posted.

walker somehow or rather delay my elder child walking. she only started to walk when she was coming to 16 mths.

i think the SSW playmat will be good.

the baby can learn to flip. can even learn to sit up by themselves. dump the toys on the mat let them play.

wat a baby needs is to have things for them to play to keep them busy.

Booked my slot for Easter photo shoot at Studio Loft! 10.30am on 23 March! kekeke... they say best is can dress him in pastel colours... I like don't have paster colours leh........................

Good Morning Mummies.

My ML is stressing me out so much that I am weepy yesterday. Or is it the hormones again.
Anyway, Ethan has his last 6 in 1 at 5mth 2 wks last saturday. He has not put on any weight since last checkup. We suspect that it is due to the infrequent milk feed and the infrequent poo poo. PD suggest to start him on rice cereal.

Ethan teeth is out and he bit me twice yesterday.

Busy Bee,
Your Hubby sayang you. it is just that their way of showing it, is sometimes beyond us. Also if you want to offload the cereal I can get 1 box of white and 1 box of brown rice from you too.

Pildough, Mint,
me too have mentally pack my luggage many times. The latest packing is yesterday and it is still packed. I was too tired to mentally unpack it yesterday. Sigh.... so disappointed with myself.

Pildough,
You are doing fine with a screaming baby and all the housework. I din even get the time to read posting.

whitepaper,
haha, i juz bot the walker frm isetan..its 2-in-1 walker...can fold up the wheels n become a rocking chair...

wooooooohooooooooo!!! heng ar! CH has a pastel yellow polo tee and a matching checkered shorts! shall bring these for the photoshoot!

kekeke...

Think I bought too many clothes liao... CH cannot finish wearing them... some not worn yet but already too small...