(2008/10) Oct 2008

Hiya Mummies,

Thanks Xinying, indeed its a learning experience. Will know how to handle such situations in future.

Ruffles, today is slightly better. Thanks for asking. There were still some no shows and latecomers. But I set a limit of waiting 30 mins max. I will not try to stretch myself too much for future BPs.

Mint, yeah update us! Any good buys at Tagore? U mentioned your hubs set up a web cam bb monitor. Is it blue tooth/wi fi and can link up to ur phone? is it a specific brand bb monitor or regular web cam?? My hubs looking to set up something like that when we move minibee to her own room.

Springles, your bb can sit up unassisted already? That's really fast.

Venue: Tiong Bahru Condo
Interest:
1 Monyetnakal
2 Joanne Tan
3 Karen2711
4 lili
5 xinying
6 pildough
7 dumbo
8 dimpletot
9 jellypurin
10 whitepaper
11 Diane

I am so exhausted today. Brought bb out yesterday and today..yesterday he was an angel...was smiling all the way and then goo goo gaa gaa at everything he saw...then today was terrible...he kept wanting us to carry and dun want to sit in stroller...later i found out because he has runny nose...must be due to the weather and the in and out of air con malls yea?...

whitepaper,

Tat Ashley is a big bully. Poor Enya... was buliied by her so i decided nt to get from her. I getting from ebay. Butterfly II at $188 brand new. Collecting next friday due to delay in shipment. COD. the lady who is dealing with me is very nice. U may want to get from the person i'm getting from.

Diane,

tink Ethan could be over stimulated. Do give him lots of cuddles and i'm sure he will b better soon

I notice Claudia has been doing actions like riding horse and my mum was telling me she is learning to crawl!!

IT Fair
At first I would be adventurous today and head to the IT fair with baby. Nightmare! I went up the first escalator (queued up somemore) and gave up. Then down I went. Suntec was so crowded. Then on my way back, bb was crying so badly so I was carrying bb and at the same time, maneuvering the storm! (I dare not tell my husband that I was carrying the bb while driving or he may ban me for life!) Couldn't see beyond 1m. So scary! But it was an adventure.

RibenaLi

ISSIT???!!! can PM me the contact? How come I can't find any Butterfly II in eBay? Let me try again. Anyway you PM me k?

Penny
I know. But my girl was crying her lungs out. She's generally better but think today's journey and back from Suntec were too much for her. (not to mention I made wrong turns to and fro; I really hate that area) Plus the storm frightened her.

purple, whitepaper:

Tat Ashley can sell cheap to other pple by doing promotions and etc. But she dun allow Enya to do tat. Poor Enya...

Juz Us and XY,
If u want the ebay contact to get Beco, do PM me ya.

busy bee,
jus drop u an email.. so sorry that i did not turn up ytd.. wanted to inform u but dun hv ur hp leh.. my son was hving high fever (38.8) and bring him see doc and somemore raining so did not go compasspoint.. so sorry.

springles,
I loan it from a friend who got hers about 5 years back! Don't know how many mummies used it before me...hee...

Karen,
What you did take lot of guts but it's real dangerous! Can't imagine the scene!

<font color="aa00aa">Cheer Bear
Oh dear! Hope your son is feeling better now!

Penny
My gal is slowly "shifting and moving" her butt to crawl. At times when she is getting excited, she would swing her hands and kick her legs like wanting to swim. All babies look esp cute at this stage!

purpleangel
Congrats on bb flipping.

Springles
Your bb is fast! </font>

<font color="aa00aa">Busy Bee
Can you PM me your contact number so that I can go pick up the items from your tomorrow. Thanks
!</font>

karen,
U drove while carrying yr bb? n u did dat ard suntec area where there's a jam packed of cars...my heroine! Its very dangerous leh! Dun do dat...yr maid not not b gd to pacify yr gal,but at least she can help tp carry her..

diane,
Tik there's a flu virus gog on..arielle is having running nose past few days. She is so cranky n wakes up suddenly crying away..din sleep well past few days. At least tdy she is much better aft taking med...

Busybee,
great to meet up wif u! Thks again...
Glad dat tdy mass meeting up is gd,i tik u shld email those who din turn up to self collect at yr own plc! If not pay for their own postage...

Feeling soooooooo warm!! Cant on air con cos arielle still recovering...haiz...

Trace
I won't allow my maid to carry my girl. She's super careless. Oh no, her crying started when I was quite close to home. At the basement carpark. I couldn't carry and park so ended up calling my husband to come down to park the car. Hee.

Trace
Was the running nose constant ah? Because sometimes my girl also has fluids coming out of her nose. But once in a while.

Cheerbear, how's Shawn doing? Hope his fever went down already. U knw what? After we went bk hm, Bryan kept munching on his fists too! hahaa..must hv seen Shawn munching on his and thought its delicious! hahahaa

I went Taka today...ooo its madness still! Wanted to buy a new bumbo since couldnt find a gd pre-loved one but left PINK only...sigh.. I didnt see the bb monitors that u all were talking abt leh..

Karen, u're really brave! But sounds dangerous also! I believe the crowd were all at suntec cos the eating plc at taka were quite deserted.

Actually, maybe its quite silly but i found myself very adventurous today!! 1st time i went out alone with Bryan so far!! Previously the furthest i went was Cheer bear's hse lor :p My hb was on duty whole day and i dread staying at hm with in-laws the whole day lor..was a mad rush when i step out of hse cos it seems gonna rain and i was practically running while pushing the stroller! quite mad!!

i saw 3 PIS on WTS...2 bought from USA..so i guess no warranty...what do u think elch or anyone else? me haven't bought anything from wts before.

Mint - rush coz aiyah..want to get extra 10% discount mah..last day today..but too late lar..i didn't go down

RE. PIS Europe or USA.

supplier at taka (from mums and babes) says that theirs is made and assembled orignal..from switzerland.
the ones at FIRSt few years...made in USA..not orignal.parallel import coz parts are assembled from all over- something like tat.

model is different also i think.FIrst few years SAY theirs is the newest model
they have 3 types...shoulder/metro/haversack.
metro most exp, has a carrier for the removable unit for motor. the other 2 don't have, the other 2 not supposed to take out from bag..

Ruffles - yours is from first few years also or from mums n babes/mothercare? coz the EUROPE one from supplier is only sling and haversack , the taka fair only had haversack..for that one, the motor unit can be removed.

Mousebb, Bryan also seems like trying to crawl also. he would push himself up like doing push-up position then start moving forward! hahaa...quite a scene

karen,
Haha..u r still my idol. Admire u so much...haha..
Arielle running nose is constant,she got blocked nose too..its flu i reckon cos she got watery eyes..
See her having diff breathing,heart ache.. Cos she cant sleep well. Tdy went isetan, bot a walker..hehe...

ribenali,
haha! kaitlyn has been doing that too! didnt know that was her trying to crawl. she keep loosing her balance n falling face down though.. quite funny to look at. :p

karen,
omg.. xia si ren... i know exactly wat u mean by those rain conditions.. i also kena before.. it was at night some more! without the baby, it was already very scary... pls pls dun do that again.. i really would rather leave her to cry and concentrate on driving..

lili,
why canot use? i din see the news.

busybee,
PM-ed u.. did u receive?

Karen,
U better be careful, dun do it again! it's so dangerous leh. i think if i were you i prob will just ignore her and let her cry..

Dumbo,
Ruffles had posted the new on some of the baby products that had been tested with chemical that may cause cancer.

lili, i think shd b ok cos they say affected r the "no tears" shampoo made in US..
i'm also using the top to toe..
till reports say cannot use else i will continue..

Venue: Tiong Bahru Condo
Interest:
1 Monyetnakal
2 Joanne Tan
3 Karen2711
4 lili
5 xinying
6 pildough
7 dumbo
8 dimpletot
9 jellypurin
10 whitepaper
11 Diane
12 jengcc

mousebb, dumbo:
Its really fun to see our baby doing different tings at different stage. Guess we gona miss it when our kids grow older!!

karen,
pls dun do tat again. I'm so worried abt u n baby's safety.

Karen- OMG....Agreed with other mummies!! Dun even attempt to do tat in future...Oh I shld say nvm do it again...sounds sooo dangerous lah!! Really my idol!! ;p

Penny- I wan the contact for the BECO carrier pls!! Heee!! ;p

ribenali,
yalor.. i already miss the days when she was just born.. like everyday there's something new to discover. She's playing with her lips now.. lots of funny mouth shapes.
actually until today, i cant imagine im a mummy.. i still feel like a ... ahem... KID.. hahaha! even though im quite old liao.. :p i feel like a kid taking care of a kid. LOL

kylie,
oic.. hai.. so many things in the market are unsafe now.. duh..

Beco owners,
is the backing thick? like baby bjorn? my girl very scared hot.. thinking of getting the a mei tai.. ellaroo or baby hawk. think they not so thick.

hoot hoot mummies!

Springles
I never heard of original from Europe theory leh... Maybe google and read more on medela? All I know is that the latest is called PIS Advanced. I got the metro version from US, friend hand carried it over for me. Very much cheaper from US. But no servicng warranty for local service centre.

If I were u will just get cheapest new one, ie from first few yrs. Think quite a few mums got theirs from there. Otherwise, u can get second hand from WTS threads, and change the parts that come into contact with breast milk.

penny/whitepaper/nickpower...beco

Penny
Thank you very much :) I really appreciate that.

Penny/Whitepaper/nickypower
I feel you all should buy from Ashley (if price isn't the main concern) as she is the sole distributor and if there is anything wrong the carrier, you can exchange, or if there is another recall like butterfly 1, she can help you to send back for repair at her cost.

$200 is not a small sum, although (I REALLY !14@#$%% her!! :p) I feel you should think of the logical side. Unfortunately, she is the local sole distributor, she can do whatever she wants. no choice. all of us are at her mercy.

I really really appreciate you mummies for your kind thoughts. thanks!

Yes, she had stopped me from doing bp, she told me I cant do it, I had a long argument with her and she withdrew my retailer account. And by her doing bp herself, she is merely slapping her own !@#$$ face.

I also buay song Ashley. If I were to buy next time, oso dowan to buy from her. Haha, I think its a girl thing. Rather risk some inconvenience than transact with someone I don't like.

Ok I try not to have a next time. Hee. Just hope she will not have a bad experience with the car all over again.

Dumbo
I have a mei tai. The material is comparable to my beco. But really, all the effort to tie the thick straps makes me sweat buckets each time. If you really really want a mei tai, why not consider a buckled one? Like the Calyx or the Connecta? I am tempted too but they are pricey.

thanks all of u for ur help re PIS. i was thinking of getting the metro fr first few years, coz can just bring motor out.its hard for me to lug pump ard as im on my feet all day n no where to reall dump it. may haf to use battery aso some times if the nursery is too crowded, alwas too many pple pumping, the no pump left to use so mayb shld bring my own liao.

i dun mind getting 2nd hand fr wts except no warranty. any one had to service their PIS before??

Morning mommies..

Been missing out on a lot of posts since I started work. 1st day of sch hols.. get a short breather at last!

Regarding beco:
I was lucky as I managed to buy an almost BN Beco II at $150. Beco was bought in late Oct 08 by the first owner, nvr used and sold to me in Dec 08 tgtr with receipt and warranty from the sole distributor. Mommies, who wish to get Beco, I suggest put up in WTB section as that was how I secured mine. If not, make sure your bb enjoys being in the carrier before parting with $200. $200 is a big investment for a carrier. If your baby doesn't enjoy being in another carrier before that, chances are, your baby may not even enjoy the beco..

For those who intend to buy, I find the material to be thin and comfy for both mommy and baby. Weight distribution is good. I can last hours carrying my bb with the Beco, as compared to my previous Chicco carrier. Now thinking of getting another Beco as a gift for my cousin..

OG is also having their 5th birthday sale this week. I'll be heading to their private sale on Wed evening.. from the mailer, even net priced items like FP, Maxi Cosi, Peg Perego are discounted by about 10% - 20%. For those who are keen, The FP Jumperoo is going for $199.
Less 10%: Combi
Less 10% + 5%: Fisher price, Haenim, Capella
Less 15% + 5%: BabyBjorn, Medela, Little Tikes, Maxi cosi, Peg perego, Quinny
Less 20%: Avent, Babysafe, Pigeon
Less 20% + 20%: Poney
There are also good buys for Thermos and Zojirushi food jars..

20% off storewide applies to all stores from 19th - 22nd March.

Can't wait for Wed!! I only listed the more popular brands. In fact, almost all the brands sold there are discounted. I shopped for my baby's stuff at OG before she was born during their Anniversary sale and the discounts are huge.. so looking forward to another great sale!