(2008/10) Oct 2008

jen,
3.30am?? is tis d 1st time? my baby woke up at 5am wanting to play wif me too. but lucky only once if not, i can forget abt working. hee...

kylie,
i'm gg to lala land le. will sms u tmr. nitey

hihi mummies

I overslept for her dream feed again. 2 hrs late yikes. Jumped up when she cried. my poor bb...:p

Karen
think I mentioned that I haven't used video cam yet. All sitting pretty in box. Cos she is usually within earshot or sight. Thanks to the cot on wheels. It would prob have been most useful in the early days but now that she can flip and shift to breathe easily, no need to monitor so much? So can't tell abt interference .....

juz us
on outing place, yah either that or a pl where the food really lousy. I guess fig and olive at tanjong pagar cpf bldg will be deserted on weekend, kekekeke....

<font color="#C25283"> woo~ seems like all the night owl club mummies are turnin to bed early wor~ is it today is fri? hmm...

dimpletot
aiyo... *sayang* BB. nvm la.. coz i also like this. hehe... =P</font>

pil

How u strap abby when changing? And congrats on yr maiden poo changing experience outside! At least better than my friend's experience when his tiny infant poo jetted out on the changing room wall WHILE he was changing her. He had to hurriedly wipe the wall...

morning mummies

these days tanya keep waking up at night again. argh. for some time she only wake up once a night, now back to newborn days of every 3 hours. really hope is growth spurt and will outgrow it b4 i start work

diane
1 year so 'warranty' expire liao. yours leh?

dimple
true hor, tg pagar most places should be ghost town on weekends =)

penny
i'll be there at 2pm too =) cya!

Need Your Help

My email ([email protected]) has been hijacked and I need your help to report the case to Microsoft so that my account can be ceased immediately as i'm the real owner.

If you received the email from the person asking for money, please help me to email to Microsoft to report. Below is the email address

lv_id.wnlv.na.us.en.msf.sea.ts.t01.rtg.00.em@css.one.microsoft.com

Please indicate that me, your friend [email protected] has been hijacked. It will be good if you can forward the email which you received to Microsoft so that immediate action can be done.

Could you please copy me [email protected] when you reply.

jus us
managed to look through yesterday thread , saw you were asking me about Bee Choo.

Yes, i've been there, 3 times i suppose. everyweek during lunch time, will go with colleague to AMK branch.

My hair short $29 (the last time i been). Still dropping lei... but hope it helps ... i got their shampoo ($14) &amp; tonic ($20+) to apply

penny, forest

waner meet for lunchie on monday? Shall we go to tanjong pagar exchange?...feel like eating Lerk Thai..heehee...if not, then we can always meet at amara...waner waner?

springles
till 2-3 years even. Good supportive carriers can let you carry bb till they're 15kg. imo, a good carrier is def. worth every cent.

lili

my hair also dropping like crazy...like going bald anytime soon man...

Penny

the tonic and shampoo etc that we bought from happykae dun really work leh..not sure or maybe supposed to drop a lot more?..sian..zzz..my husband complains that my hair can go and use to make a big big carpet...sometimes both he and baby wake up with my fallen hair on their faces!

ok...i will get then...now the question is still which one which i ask u before...sorry ...i hate making such decisions...coz going to spend so much, want to make sure i get the best one rite..hahaa.....
so u still choose scootababy ? is that ur favourite?

springles
If you're only going to get one, then get ergo if you don't mind the lack of designs. It's not as complicated as the beco. And Scootababy, though very comfy, can only be used for hip-carry. The Ergo can be used for front and back-carry. Back carries are really useful when babies turn 6 months onwards. Lighter too.

The extra 10% for taka cardholder ends on Sunday, 15 Mar.

Gathering
Tanjong Pagar or some beach would be a great idea. But beach subjected to weather. Sigh... My place seriously kinda cramp lah. Alot will end up along coridor. Keke... Else, we can do swensens @ PS again. It's always empty.

oh okie...thanks so much karen...
hope taka sale has ergo??? buy from where? sorry me no experience in carries and not much time to shop coz of bb and work and i live SO FAR AWAY from town...goodness...jurong point is as far as i go daily..

diane
oic, but no use for me anyway coz my cornea thin, cannot go thru 2nd round le

lili
how long is the treatment? one hour lunch time enuf to do? then i oso go during lunch :p

beco/ergo
the beco can fold into a more compact piece ya? can the ergo? wondering wat to do with the ergo if not using. beco cannot back carry?

karen
might not go this week le, hubby not feeling well
prob next week. will sms u whether still got not. can share ur ergo story? =P

spring
u considering ah? check ur email.

XY
swensens weekend oso empty mah? weekday now packed coz of their 1-for-1 promo

Juz Us, now have 1for1 at Swensens ah. hmm... not sure, coz everytime i walk pass empty one. Keke...

Both Ergo and Beco can back or font carry. Ergo can hip carry, beco cannot.

<font color="#C25283"> dimpletot
though nt fully recover but is much more better den the last sat. i fall sick on last sat until today!! urgh!!!!</font>

hiya mommies - Yea it's the weekend!

Taka sale - I bot a FP Ring Stacker, FP shape sorter, zz positioner, a set of soft cubes books, combi spoon n noodle cutter, bowl &amp; grinder.

Robinsons - has additional 20% off items. Bot additional Nuk teats.

Pildough - you mentioned you got a car seat fr the Taka sale. Which one did you get? Am still toying btw the Combi Cocorro and the Maxi Cosi. Nd hb to go w me to see if it fits the car, and nd to try it out by placing bb in both seats; see which one she prefers

Anyone going down to the sale today / tmr? I prob need to go back again cos of the car seat.

Karen - heng I didnt buy the flower baby monitor! Now gotta source for a better one somewhr. Actually am thinking if can set up cctv type of monitor might be better ....

<font color="ff0000">RED ALERT: It was reported in today's ST Page C15
Baby Care Products Tainted - Cancer causing items include J*J Baby Shampoo and Magic Baby Lotion</font>

See the following full reports:

New Report: No More Toxic Tub

Getting Contaminants Out of Children's Bath &amp; Personal Care Products
by the Campaign for Safe Cosmetics

Despite marketing claims like “gentle” and “pure,” dozens of top-selling children’s bath products are contaminated with the cancer-causing chemicals formaldehyde and 1,4-dioxane, according to the March 2009 Campaign for Safe Cosmetics report, "No More Toxic Tub."

This study is the first to document the widespread presence of both formaldehyde and 1,4-dioxane in bath products for children, including baby shampoos, bubble baths and baby lotions. Many products tested contained both chemicals.

What We Found

The Campaign for Safe Cosmetics commissioned an independent laboratory to test 48 products for 1,4-dioxane; 28 of those products were also tested for formaldehyde. The lab found that:

17 out of 28 products tested – 61 percent – contained both formaldehyde and 1,4-dioxane.
23 out of 28 products – 82 percent – contained formaldehyde at levels ranging from 54 to 610 parts per million (ppm).
32 out of 48 products – 67 percent – contained 1,4-dioxane at levels ranging from 0.27 to 35 ppm.

Health Concerns

While a single product might not be cause for concern, the reality is that babies may be exposed to several products at bath time, several times a week, in addition to other chemical exposures in the home and environment. Those small exposures add up and may contribute to later-life disease.

Formaldehyde and 1,4-dioxane are known carcinogens; formaldehyde can also trigger skin rashes in some children. Unlike many other countries, the U.S. government does not limit formaldehyde, 1,4-dioxane, or most other hazardous substances in personal care products.

Where They Come From

The chemicals were not disclosed on product labels because they're contaminants, not ingredients, and therefore are exempt from labeling laws.

Formaldehyde contaminates personal care products when common preservatives release formaldehyde over time in the container. Common ingredients likely to contaminate products with formaldehyde include quaternium-15, DMDM hydantoin, imidazolidinyl urea and diazolidinyl urea.

1,4-dioxane is a byproduct of a chemical processing technique called ethoxylation, in which cosmetic ingredients are processed with ethylene oxide. Manufacturers can easily remove the toxic byproduct, but are not required by law to do so. Common ingredients likely to be contaminated with 1,4-dioxane include PEG-100 stearate, sodium laureth sulfate, polyethylene and ceteareth-20.

What You Can Do

Contrary to industry statements, there are no regulatory standards that limit formaldehyde, 1,4-dioxane or most other toxic chemicals in personal care products sold in the United States. There are signs the U.S. is gearing to catch up, but for now it's up to consumers to consider carefully before they buy. Here's some suggestions for safeguarding your family's health:

Simplify: Select products with fewer ingredients and no synthetic fragrance or dyes, and use fewer products overall.
Choose safety: Search EWG's cosmetic safety database, Skin Deep, to learn more about the products you use and find safer alternatives. Also check out EWG's Safety Guide to Children’s Personal Care Products.
Read labels: Select products for baby and yourself that don't contain the ingredients listed above, which are commonly contaminated with formaldehyde or 1,4-dioxane.
Take action! Can’t memorize these lists? Nobody can. If harmful contaminants and ingredients weren’t allowed in products, you wouldn’t have to. Tell Congress you want safe cosmetics for babies, adults and everyone in between.
Spread the word: Send an e-card letting friends and family know about this report.

Below are the results for all the products tested for formaldehyde and/or 1,4-dioxane for the Campaign for Safe Cosmetics report, "No More Toxic Tub." The company that distributes the product is shown in parentheses next to the product name. ND means that the impurity was not detected (though see "Why 'No Detect' Doesn't Mean No Problem" below the chart). A blank space means that the product was not tested for the relevant contaminant.

Product Name 1,4-dioxane (ppm) Formaldehyde (ppm)
Lotion
American Girl Hopes and Dreams Shimmer Body Lotion (Bath &amp; Body Works) ND* 310
Baby Magic “Soft Baby Scent” Baby Lotion (Ascendia Brands, Inc) ND* 570
Baby Magic “Soft Baby Scent” Baby Lotion (Ascendia Brands, Inc) 0.92 610
Baby Magic “Soft Baby Scent” Baby Lotion (Ascendia Brands, Inc) ND* 330
Johnson’s Bedtime Lotion Natural Calm Essences (Johnson &amp; Johnson Consumer Companies) ND*
Mustela Baby Body Lotion (Laboratories Expanscience) ND*
Tinker Bell Body Lotion (Goldie LLC) ND* 220

Shampoo
CVS Baby Shampoo (CVS/Pharmacy) 0.92 350
Johnson’s Baby Shampoo (Johnson &amp; Johnson Consumer Companies) ND* 200
Johnson’s Baby Shampoo (Johnson &amp; Johnson Consumer Companies) 1.1 210
L’Oreal Kids Extra Gentle 2-in-1 Fast Dry Shampoo – Burst of Cool Melon (L’Oreal USA) 0.95 260
Suave Kids 2-in-1 Shampoo – Wild Watermelon (Unilever) 0.69 ND*

Liquid Shower Soap
American Girl Hopes and Dreams Glistening Shower and Bath Wash (Bath &amp; Body Works) 14
American Girl Real Beauty Inside and Out Shower Gel – Apple Blossom (Bath &amp; Body Works) 6.3 210
American Girl Real Beauty Inside and Out Shower Gel – Apple Blossom (Bath &amp; Body Works) 5.7 220
American Girl Real Beauty Inside and Out Shower Gel – Apple Blossom (Bath &amp; Body Works) 18 150
American Girl Real Beauty Inside and Out Shower Gel – Sunny Orange (Bath &amp; Body Works) 35 ND*

Bath Wash
Aveeno Baby Soothing Relief Creamy Wash (Johnson &amp; Johnson Consumer Companies) 1.4
Aveeno Baby Soothing Relief Creamy Wash (Johnson &amp; Johnson Consumer Companies) 1.7
Aveeno Baby Soothing Relief Creamy Wash (Johnson &amp; Johnson Consumer Companies) 4.6
CVS Kids Body Wash – Blueberry Blast (CVS/Pharmacy) 0.75 54
Equate Tearless Baby Wash (Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.) 0.63 290
Gentle Naturals Eczema Baby Wash (Del Pharmaceuticals, Inc.) 6.4
Grins &amp; Giggles Milk &amp; Honey Baby Wash (Gerber Products Company) 2.8 400
Huggies Naturally Refreshing Cucumber &amp; Green Tea Baby Wash (Kimberly-Clark) 3.2 410
Johnson’s Moisture Care Baby Wash (Johnson &amp; Johnson Consumer Companies) 3.9
Johnson’s Oatmeal Baby Wash – Vanilla (Johnson &amp; Johnson Consumer Companies) 4.2
Mustela Baby Shampoo (Laboratories Expanscience) 2.8
Mustela Dermo-Cleansing Gel for Hair and Body Newborn/Baby (Laboratories Expanscience) 3.9
Night-time Bath Baby Wash (Target Corporation) 3.6

Bubble Bath
Barbie Berry Sweet Bubble Bath (Water-Jel Technologies) 0.65 440
Dora the Explorer Bubble Bath (MZB Personal Care) 1.5 130
Hot Wheels Berry Blast Bubble Bath (Water-Jel Technologies) 2.8 100
Mustela Multi-Sensory Bubble Bath (Laboratories Expanscience) 1.7 ND*
Sesame Street Bubble Bath – Orange Mango Tango (The Village Company) 2.8 340
Tinker Bell Scented Bubble Bath (Goldie LLC) 11 420

Baby Wipes
Huggies Naturally Refreshing Cucumber &amp; Green Tea Baby Wipes (Kimberly-Clark) ND*
Huggies Soft Skin – Shea Butter (Kimberly-Clark Global Sales Inc) ND* 100
Kirkland Signature Premium Unscented Baby Wipes (Costco Wholesale Corporation) ND*
Pampers Baby Fresh (Procter &amp; Gamble) ND*
Pampers Calming – Lavender (Procter &amp; Gamble) ND*

Hair Relaxer
Dark &amp; Lovely Kids Beautiful Beginnings No-Mistake Nourishing No-Lye Creme Relaxer, Normal to Course Hair (SoftSheen-Carson, owned by L’Oreal USA) ND*
Dark &amp; Lovely Kids Beautiful Beginnings No-Mistake Nourishing No-Lye Children’s Relaxer System, Fine Hair Types (SoftSheen-Carson, owned by L’Oreal USA) ND* ND*
Soft &amp; Beautiful Just for Me! No-Lye Conditioning Creme Relaxer, Children’s Super (Alberto-Culver Company) 0.27 ND*

Hand Soap
Pampers Kandoo Foaming Handsoap – Magic Melon (Procter &amp; Gamble) 0.49 310

Sun Block
Banana Boat Kids UVA &amp; UVB Sunblock Lotion SPF 30 (Sun Pharmaceuticals Corp.) ND*
No-Ad Sun Pals SPF 45 UVA/UVB Sun Protection (Solar Cosmetics Labs Inc.) 0.46

Toothpaste
Colgate Kids 2-in-1 Toothpaste and Mouthwash – Strawberry (Colgate-Palmolive Company) ND*

*ND means the chemical was not detected in the product; however, this does not mean the product is necessarily free of other potentially harmful ingredients. Many of these products contain numerous other chemicals with health concerns.

Why “No Detect” Doesn’t Mean No Problem
Some products tested for this report did not contain formaldehyde or 1,4-dioxane. However, that does not mean the products are safe. There is no guarantee that other samples of the same product are not contaminated. Also, there are no legal requirements for children’s products to be made with the safest ingredients possible. As a result, it is common to find chemicals of concern in brands marketed to children. 

Here is an example of a product that did not contain formaldehyde or 1,4-dioxane, yet contains other harmful ingredients:

Dark &amp; Lovely Kids Beautiful Beginnings No-Mistake Nourishing No-Lye Creme Relaxer for Fine Hair (by SoftSheen-Carson, owned by L’Oreal USA):
0. Contains at least 55 different ingredients.
0. 98% of those ingredients have no or inadequate safety data.
0. Contains ingredients that are associated with health conditions, including:
00. Methylparaben: On the European Union’s Banned and Restricted List and recognized as having links to cancer, neurotoxicity and skin irritation.
00. Fragrance: Ingredients not required to be listed on product, but can contain harmful chemicals.
Triethanolamine: Strong evidence of skin, immune and respiratory toxicity.