(2008/10) Oct 2008

Oh, swing is good ah? I got a netted bouncer for my baby and already her head tilts to one side. I don't know if she could handle the swing leh.

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning mummies

Morning mummies. Nice weather!

Mint
you brought Regina to a public swimming pool?

Latching on
My girl likes to latch on for a minute, let go, then latch on again, then let go. Very irritating. Most babies should latch on for a full feed, or only let go once or twice, right?

morn mommies!

karen
i'm taking peanut butter. count anot?

mint
i saw n i asked many questions... in the end, i dun wanna buy cos i think i will end up using it just a few times, but am interested to get the neck float for my Rebekah so that she can join her cousins in the pool soon

re: developments
my ger dun like tummy time. her head is still flopping n she doesnt seem like she is going to flip soon! but she coos alot n loves sucking n licking her tiny drumstick(s) n yes, she is starting to drool as well. she is also tracking a rattle well w her eyes and ears.

guess all the babies are now in exploration stages, some going faster and some slower

jellypurin
So it's ok. I thought peanuts are highly allergenic so so far, dare not eat. But I'm craving for them!

Developments
My girl just turned 2 months (one of the youngest in here) and she is beginning to smile a lot, mostly in the mornings. Haven't 'officially' tried tummytime but will soon. Still doesn't know how to suck her own fingers although venturing.

Karen,
I do take peanuts cooked in soup, mee chiam kueh and etc...

Developements:
My boy's 9weeks+ and he's:-
- Drooling,
- Sucking/licking his 'drumstick',
- Lifting up his head with his arm when on tummy time &amp; etc

I'm starting work next Monday and I'm not looking forward to it at all...the thought of not being able to spend time with my boy 24/7 makes me moody...

Karen, i haven't had peanuts since i found out i was preggy in Feb. Gynae advised no peanuts. So till now, still haven't eatten peanuts. Not even peanut butter. I miss satay sauce, rojak and peanut butter so much.

Mint,
I got my pool plus float at $85.

hi karen, my girl just turned 2 months 4 days ago too!
she also smiled most in the mornings, seem to be in a good mood on mornings.
just 3 nights ago i caught her sucking her tongue! i think she's self soothing hehe. oh yah i am taking peanut butter. if u do take, just monitor ur baby for that day to see his rxn. if alright, chances are its fine. coz peanut butter allergy is very fast and can be serious, but i not sure how does it work on bfdg babies though. but try to take the peanut butter in the morning, instead of night, so at least u have time to react if theres rxn in baby *touch wood*.

<font color="ff0000">moms who let baby sleep in swings</font>
I not sure which swing u use, coz i only saw one type of swing before, and the type i saw baby is nearly in a sitting position right? actually i read that its not good for young infants to sleep for long periods in such a position, coz of their back development. even for those baby car seat carriers, though babies sleep better in them, but as their back is not straight, its also not advisable for long periods. esp if your baby sits so upright until the head is nodding fwd, will have breathing difficulties. so pls watch them. but like i mentioned, i havent seen ur swings so i may be wrong lah. :p

<font color="0000ff">latching and bobbing off the breast</font>
My girl also tends to do that, but usually she does that at bedtime feed around 8pm. coz by then she's tired, but yet she wants to drink, so she grouchy and kept bouncing off and rooting again, the cycle repeats a lot of times, so quite tiring. but in the day not so many times. so you are not alone.
perhaps u observe and see if ur baby really hungry. e.g is it really time for his feed yet? and when he latch, is he actively swallowing or just nibbling. if just nibbling, then prb just nursing for comfort. if interval too short, then prob he not hungry. or perhaps he's just distracted by the things around him hehe....if so tried feeding in a place less distracting?

morning!

Hope everyone had a lovely time over Christmas...

Sometimes surprises occur. From exclusively pumping the weeks before Christmas, from christmas eve managed to almost exclusively latch. For past few days only bottle fed ebm when we were out at parties or when I was out w hubby and PIL helped to feed bb. Ss is also back after falling sick couple of weeks ago. With latching we found that bb could last longer-- 3 hours interval instead of 2. So jia you everyone!

On peanuts,
sure can eat. Gynae said cannot only if mum is allergic. Won't give kid allergy thru bm.

Pildough

U bought the 705?

Karen,
No, not to a public pool. To those type of place with big bathtubs.

I also still taking peanuts. At first I tot it might be the cause of my girl's eczema, so I stopped but it didn't get better so I continued taking again. Haha! My fav is peanut butter. How not to eat.

Regina also like to do that. Latch on and off. I wonder if that's the cause of her green poo.

jellypurin, enya,
ya, I also think will only use a few times. maybe just buy the float... hmm...

elchwong: me gg heading back work next mon..nt looking fwd as well =(

peanuts : i dare not eat..cos afraid of allergy..i'm so missing eating gado gado..

xinying: happy to know that you are able to pump enuff for marcus..hope i can keep up my pumping schedule once back work manz..

CNY studio loft : i wanna go !! but have to apply leave..keep my fingers crossed, if can, i prob go on the 12th Jan..cos bb gg for his 2nd jab on 10th Jan, then i take 2 days leave ..mmm..usually how long does the fever last?

i have a sudden urge to go vivo to walk walk today..hee..any mummies interested ? can meet about 2pm +..then be home to watch "little nonya"..c",)

jollyhoppy,
Was told by the nurse that fever due to immunisation will only last 2 days if any...
At my mum's place at Bishan today, else I may join you a Vivo...hee...

<font color="aa00aa">So many mummies going back to work soon? Seems like most of you have taken 3 months ML only.</font>

Heng Marcus no fever after taking his 5in1, pnemmo and rota. Keke...

Mint, my pool is diameter 90cm, height 80cm.

FOX Sale
Lunch time went to fox. Got myself 2 tops and a cardi. Cheap cheap. Less than $50. Wahaha...

<font color="aa00aa">Yesterday was the first time we brought the 2 kids to a wedding lunch. Initially was very worried the kids wont cooperate. Luckily my gal was sleeping in the pouch throughout and my boy also guai guai behaved himself. Phew!

Mamy Poko vs Drypers
Went to NTUC to get Mamy poko diapers for my son on last sat but cannot find any L size. In the end we bought a pkt of drypers to try and surprisingly drypers is very good. It absorbs the urine very well. May consider to switch to drypers liao since it is much cheaper than mamy poko. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">mummies,

i noe most of you are fans of bjorn carrier... but anyone of u uses pupsik carrier and sarong carrier? m currently using the sarong type... i thought of buying the pupsik one... so anyone has suggestion?</font>

Hi Enya, I have transferred the shipping cost and postage to you. Please check it out.

Xinying, tot there is always one side more than the other? Mine can be 100ml+ diff leh.... lagi worse

Hi mousebb, I find Drypers and Petpet similar and Petpet is even cheaper. Just bought huggies dry to try out and feel that the quality is also slightly the same as Petpet, Drypers except for the fasterner. I'm still trying out different brands cos my son has the habit of pooing after I change his diaper. He seems to like pooing on a clean diaper sometimes. Very costly if he reallt has this habit... haha....

purpleangel
some of the mommies here uses a pouch instead of a sling. i own a pupsik n soon will own a mod mom pouch. i like it even though it is non-adjustable as i feel it is easy for me to pop my bb into the pouch.

litalmond
pet2 is the same quality as drypers? in that case i must go and buy and try. drypers is great for day time use.

today i was at mediya - liang court
mamy poko is now $17.50 for all sizes. their pull-ups are at $16.50. i saw on the newspaper last week that pampers is on sale - 4 packets for $59.90. it comes in two cute boxes

<font color="aa00aa">Thanks jellypurin,

that's wat i feel too.. easy to pop bb inside... so i dun hv to pull and pull to adjust.. any other mummies to give suggestion?

diapers:
mamy poko - $17.50 for all sizes?? is it for the smaller pack..?</font>

lili,
Yes, green, black pixies and green mjb still available.

Mommies who bought socks:
The socks have arrived. I will be going to post office tmr to check on the postage charges then let you all know.

HI all, I am already back to work, now in JKT.... Boring sia! Only 2 months cos I work in the florist industry so now is peak period.

Regarding swimming, I let my boy swim in my house in the tub. He likes it a lot and I think its very good for developing motor skills.

<font color="#151B54"> hello all mummies!! how are u all?! hopin u all are doin well ca copin well between work and BBs

anyway,do u all noe whr can i get those waterproof mattress?</font>

allo mommies,

dimple,
yea i think i got the one you recommended, i'ld let u have a look one of these days. easy to use.. maybe bulkier for some moms but i'm a big girl so i can handle the bulky stroller but no good at one hand function yet. hows katie! hahahah licking one hand and scratching her head. Mine grasps her bib with one hand to smell and the other hand will play with her hair while she sleeps.

yea mommies,
who's up for a late lunch tm?

mint, where u staying?
if nearby sk or bukit merah area i don mind go pick up from u.
thanks for coordinating n do let me know the total cost

purpleangel
only size S is the smaller pack. i got size L for my bb, hehe...

pil
love to join u man, but i can't. will be at tiong bahru &amp; chinatown

mint
think i'll opt for postage

rebecca
i believe KP have as well as major n specialist stores, but can b v ex

Good morning ladies.... its been a while. Hope all of u had a wonderful Christmas.

Diapers....
Have also been using Mamypoko but recently switched.... a friend told me the NTUC housebrand diapers not too bad. So I tried and they were surprisingly very absorbant and the contact sheet to bb's bottom quite smooth. Plus I think the fasteners can be refastened (something I prefer). For day I use NTUC diaper so CHEAP only $10 plus for 66 and night/outings I use Huggies ultra ($14 plus when on offer).

CNY walk in @ studio loft! I want to go too....Any SKers or PGers going can go together.

Pildough
Tempted but since I am going out tomorrow, decide to stay in today.

Mint
Hee, I can collect from you at your place. Since we're so near to each other. You should do more sprees. :p

morning !

Pil
liang court a bit too out of the way for me...
abby's so cute. Playing w hair is so girlish.

On diapers
looks like I should venture to try other brands...

Hello Mummies..

Goodness, the thread moves so fast again!

Hey Xinying

Saw that you bring your boy for his 5in1 + rota and pnemmo? All on same day at private PD? I am concerned if to take all at once on same day. Let me know your boy's progress ok?

Talking abt pumping... mine also one side less than the other. Realised my dual electric pump cannot seem to milk dry my breasts after 30min pumping, i end up still hand express after that, both wrists are so tired. Thinking of getting phllips Avent manual pump, heard that it's good. Any advice from pumping mums here?

Yeah, am trying to leave the house to take a breather... went to do pedicure yest!!!... haha, but by myself lar. Left the bb at home with MIL, she will not allow me to bring bb out alone, so will want to come with me. End up I go out myself lor, but must rush home to meet my best fren - pump again.

Oh yes, forgot to ask something. My gal on bowel strke for a week liao! Never poo poo... BB supposed to poo 2-3 times a day right? She on total BM, thought shld hv no problem with poo poo..........any mum encountered such incidents?

Karen,
Yup, we could meet for a drink or something.
hmmm... do sprees ah? Good idea but my course starting soon so might not have time.

pildough,
will give it a miss today. Bringing baby to my granny's place.

surf,
The philips manual pump is not for 'heavy duty' pumping. More for travelling or pumping of one breast, etc. hands will be tired also but the strength of the suction is very good.

wow...surf, one week is a long time not to poo. I suggest u take your gal to the pd. I tot 5 days considered constipation already. My hubs very kan cheong even when our bb dun poo for one day. Her record so far is 2 days no poo and we were told by PD to dilute her formula.

DIY hairclips....
there is a thread on diy hairclips which is very very interesting. I so want to get back into crafts and baking (one of my 2009 resolution) So nice and economical. according to the mummies, a diy clip works out to be only $0.50 each as compared to what we have to pay in BPs and retail outlets. Think I will wait till CNY is over(to avoid crowd) to make my way to chinatown to buy my supplies.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449169/1974061.html?1228893752

JTS.... Free Flashcards.
tho i am not advocate of flashcards (prefer to help bb learn thru reading and play), thought I share this link which I came across for free flash cards.

http://www.britishcouncil.org/kids-flashcards.htm