(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="aa00aa">LittleAlmond
The clinic will schedule the jab for us. Dun need to base on exact date. </font>

allo mommies,

hows the going? now that babies are out and we've compiled the birth order list right, maybe we should input in our thigh and tummy circumferences in to spur each other on with two columns (before and after).. ;)

i should sleep... but she's waking up in err.. soon.

bbgoh,
nurses not doctors usually jab the babies at polyclinics and i don't think polyclinics do 6 in 1 because they follow the vaccination schedule strictly from the health booklet. their priority is protection not convenience.

i asked a few gps from what i gather.. the 5 in 1 and 6 in 1 are for the parent's convenience and can be taken at some gp and pds as part of a package.

the plus about polyclinic is that it's cheaper and if they allow appointment basis for babies and young children, it's worth going to.

Done some research so just like to share but i'm sure the 2nd time mommies already know this..

standard jabs:
old version (free at polyclinics) =

3 in 1 - D (Dipthera), P (Pertusis), T (Tetanus) + oral polio - free because P is a less purified version to cover Pertusis. vaccine is cloudy. given free but P is the one that actually causes high fever.

new version -> 3 in 1 - D, Pa, T + oral polio - payable abt $45
Pa is a purified version of P vaccine, vaccine is observed to be clear. Minimises if not eliminates chances of jab causing high fever.

4 in 1 - D, Pa, T, injectable Polio - abt $45. injectable polio is essentially the same as the oral form except it is mixed in with cocktail of vaccines to make it 4.

5 in 1 - D, Pa, T, injectable Polio, HIB (Hemophilus Influenza B) - cheaper as a cocktail of 5 because HIB standalone vaccine costs between $90-100.

6 in 1 - D, Pa, T, injectable Polio, HIB + Hep B
- cocktail of 6. the most convenient option but a headache if like in my case and alot of cases, Help B is given during the first few days after birth along with BCG. That pretty much screws up the whole vaccination schedule the govt recommends because Hep B dosages have to be timed and it becomes useless if dosages have been delayed in between.

:
ptional (despite what Wyeth advertises)::

Pneumococal (3 dosages if started before 12 months of age, 2 dosages if taken after 12 months of age, each dose $168-180)

the recommended:

rotavirus (vaccine against severe diarrhoea) - is a childhood illness and is an add on (will cost between $50 - 100)

chicken pox (stand alone vaccine) to be taken after 12 months - cost about $75

hep A (stand alone vaccine ) two dosages to be started after 24 months

::Compulsory::

mmr (mumps, measles, rubella) - $35 to be taken at 15 months

P.S. i'm not that comprehensive but thought i'ld share. Mommies, do share your pd, gp or polyclinic's vacc schedules and how much are you paying for your respective packages?

thx

oh i should mention.. mommies i've been advised to stick to one doctor if you're going for the vaccine cocktails (4 in 1, 5 in 1, 6 in 1) because a number of companies manufacture the vaccines and although they're essentially the same, created to prevent illnesses, infections and diseases, the chemistry of vaccine chemicals mixed is not standard and may vary company to company, if in doubt ask i guess the practitioner or nurse i guess.

anyone still awake? anyway I'm sleeping soon.. just finish pumping...
SOmehow my left breast is pumping out lesser and lesser milk le.. why ah?
I use the double pump and should be the same ma..
haizz

Pildough
thanks for sharing.. some of the info.. even 3rd time mum like me also dunno. I usually follow my PD schedule..for 6in1.
talking abt chick pox.. I have get my gal to do that yet at kids clinic.. paid already and never go for the jab...

Morn ladies!

I will be bringin my ger for her 6-in-1 with her PD on 11 Nov when she is 1.5mths old. Am gonna stick with this PD for a while; maybe till the vaccines are done since they come in packages... then later change to another one near my place.

Yesterday, I brought her out on her 1st outing! Lunch at Man Fu Yuan for grandma's birthday lunch celebration! She slept mostly throughout waking only once to cry to be changed and drank a bit of EBM. Looking forward to having her grow bigger so I can be more confident of bringing her shopping!!!

<font color="0000ff">Good Morning mommies,
Yeah! Today is my last day at work &amp; I can start my 3mths ML liao

Wah...din know the 6-in-1 jab is so ex @_o''</font>

allo Rebecca!
How is Erin! She celebrated one month old last weekend~

cookie,
i gave up pumping in the morning, i just massage at random intervals if boobies become too rock hard. did bb suckle at left breast at last feed?

usually for me, that's the case but i just stick a pump there anyway otherwise it'ld leak when the other breast is being pumped.

i layman info, i think it pays to do some research and understand what the kid has to go for. chickenpox vaccine quite good, my 12 year old cousin had it when he was a baby, no chicken pox so far so it's one of those vaccines that will last till adulthood.

MORNING MOMMIES!

morning mousebb,
how are the kiddies, are you starting to get your appetite back?

Almond,
if i have a bottle, my warmer takes 7 min to warm then a few minutes to cool to desired temp so to minimise screaming, i let her suckle on the breast for abit. i think if i stick it into the warmer and put on min heat and monitor as long as dun overheat, i'ld still give it to bb. what did u do last night with the bottle?

thermometer: i bought this scanner one, what it does is it does a three second scan of the forehead and takes the average of readings gathered.

babe99,mousebb,enya,cookies, purebliss and all 2nd and 3rd time mommies,

Kudos to you. i don't know how you do it, juggling all the kids but you just do.

Wah.. JJmom,

pls eat some nasi lemak and anything lemak! and tell us allll about it..

i cannot wait for my 40 days to be up.. to have fresh cold milk! and i cannot wait for my 90 days to be up to have seafood. sigh.. although i have a feeling i will self shorten my sentence.

p.s. if you ladies care to google pamela anderson and tommy lee, you might be able to find snippets of the video online. warning: most of those sites can be abit buggy. hehehe, we so pervy...

Jess,
i needed help to roll on my sides or raise my hips to stretch after the c-section because extended periods on my back will make it go numb but like bbgoh said, after 2 weeks in fact after a week i can roll carefully and sleep on either sides but don't move suddenly lor, everything has to be controlled and careful.

Lochia wise: it's the beginning of week 4 for me, the bleeding is very slight with the occassional clot, blood has taken on bright color and the consistency of vaginal discharge but still smells stale lor. oh.. too much details? hahaha but i seldom get to come online already!

Morning Ruffles!

Ruffles ah, when you change pds, maybe ask for the co that they buy the vaccine from e.g. GSK - glaxosmithkline because you'ld need a booster for the DPaT + HIB after a year and if you're going to change doctors worthwhile making sure the kid is taking a booster manufactured by the same company as well

i actually am not aware of the specific implications but that's what i have been advised, i suppose i could go find out.

Abby's full month lunch this Sat, i'm hoping she'ld sleep through like yours. Oh man... What did your little girl sleep in? I'm bringing in the carseat because i have no basket or pram. Also thinking of where to change her and feed her, we booked a room for 3 tables so i expect it'ld be filled with people. Anyone with restaurant experience on breastfeeding and changing?

<font color="aa00aa">pildough
Thanks for your concern. Appetite still not back yet. Whenever I think of eating, I feel so sian!
The kiddies are ok. For the last two nights, wenmin slept thru after her last feed at 12 midnight and we hope this will continue so we dont have to give her night feed(s) anymore.

Taking care of more than 1 kid is really not easy. On last sat, when I asked my gynae how soon can me and hubby try for the next one, he looked at me with his eyes big big. Of course, this will not happen in the near future lah! Just want to get myself prepared nia. Cannot imagine if suddenly another one come along, think I will die lor! </font>

mousebb
after having my ger, i thinking twice to hv another one, though i love having children.

btw mommies
my PD reccommends that my ger comes in every month to do shots instead of the 5 in 1s and 6 in 1s. apparently, the combine ones have is of lower doses. True?

Hi pildough, very comprehensive info on the jabd man!

Now thinking shd I stick to the same pd until bb finish all vin??? But lazy to travel to Mt A to see pd leh... hmmm

Well, I went to disturb bb to wake up last night after having that bottle of ebm being warmed for an hour or so.... it is such a waste leh..... some more I dun producce a lot one :p

Littlealmond,
same sentiments as you... lazy to travel all the way to Mt. A to see pd... plus his waiting time can die lor.. faintz!

Was thinking of polyclinic at first but now after reading pildough's post, became more confused as to which is better. :p

Mint, which pd u seeing at Mt A? I'm seeing Dr Simon Ng but find him chai chai one..ask him then he ans, did saw another pd at Mt A checking on the bbs, think she is more pro. When she talks to the mummy, also explain in details..

PrincessEmma, hahah! hubby sleeping with my boy in the in laws room... He helped out one nite but realize he is old liao.. Hahah!! Cannot take it.. nite feed really very "siong" for twins. Last time imagine when I had Ignatius, I complain so much abt sleep deprive and now... I am totally "speechless". But I am glad that no longer bf liao ar bo i dunno what will happen. Now really "time not enuff".. fire fighting everyday.

Ruffles, my parents and friend were telling me that I will" auto lose weight" in this way... Everynite only ard 2 to 3hr of sleep and not one stretch of a few hrs, it is like 30 mins here and 45 mins there etc... Drinking chicken essence to keep me awake the nite.. then only ard 7.45am, then i can get a 2 hr of sleep cos my maid will come in and feed the bb. These pair of gers really diff from my boy... Twin 1 always need a bottle of milk after she poo despite she had one btl of FM before she poo. My Twin 2, poo poo in the bath tub when we bath her.. dunno y also..Sian.

bbgoh, Nescafe Gold and Chicken Essence my saviour now! Hahaha!! Me now trying to change their sleeping routine.. now still day = nite and nite = day to them. Argh!

Pildough, nite time fully for my twins cos only me and the gers sleeping together in the room. Day time, only feeding time and bathing, change diaper, then I go to them, otherwise, i leave them in the cot. The remaining time, I will give my boy like feeding him etc, or bring him to my room and teach him how he can be a small "helper" during diaper change.

Pildough, how come ur confinement 40day? Mine ended last Friday and so happy to see all the table food again but sad that cannot have seafood for 100days... zzzzz

Littlealmond, my gers will throw out milk sometimes when they stretch themselves hard after a feed. Even burp already also like tat... so I just leave it.

Littlealmond, my boy still vomits now even after we burp him, break his feedings with burping in btw..dunno wats wrong also..sigh~ we jus keep on burphing him and let him sit upright after each feeding lor..

anyone using california baby products? i'm using California Baby Calming Shampoo &amp; Bodywash.. does anyone know if we need to "rinse off" the bodywash?

I dilute it in the bathtub then use a washcloth to wipe her with the bath water. Then rinse off with water after. But i've heard its not necessary.

any advise?

very heart pain to see him vomit. Sometimes he threw out quite a lot. Hubby said it is bcos of wind in his tum tum but sometimes burp very long also no sound from him. Either he falls asleep while burping or dun want u to burp him. Haiz....

Heard there is a something that we can add into their milk to reduce colic

Just finished lunch. So sad to see those kinda of food that I'm eating. MY CL dun know how to cook... haiz... cun wait for confinement to be over

<font color="#461B7E"> Almond,
my gal will throw out too even if i burp her. her throwin out is like merlion. i bring her to my family doc. he told me if my continue to be like dis. mayb is due to her narrow stomach. if the throwin out got serious, den might need to go for an op. haiz.... so sianz....</font>

Sorry for the delayed update. My prince Xavier popped on 5th Oct at TMC, weighing at 3.28kg and 51cm.

I need some advice on breastfeeding. Why is it that baby always cry and push me away during bf? I got no choice but to express my milk for him cos his stomach got wind. Hence, we do not wish to see him crying for too long.

Also, it seems to me that when he's crying in my arms, then i transferred him to someone's else arms, he'll stopped crying. I feel so sad with this.

maternity leave
hr released 16wk continuous or 12wk continuous + 20days flexible. Which is good deals?
Hubby said dec have christmas and new yr day, so 2nd option is better if apply leave after 12wk.
Any advise?

Jab
I opt for 6in1 at Pd

option 2 total maternity leave will be 104 days as compare to option 1 maternity leave is 112days. But hubby told me to continue to take say 15 or 18 days maternity leave till jan. Still thinking lei

<font color="aa00aa">LittleAlmond
I'm ok. Just no appetite. After this pregnancy, I find there's a lot of food (used to be my favourite) which I dont like to eat anymore. I guess it is bcoc I dont have enough rest and sleep bah. Most of the days having headache. On some days need to pop panadol to relieve the pain.

Precious
Congrats on the arrival of bb Xavier!

Dont feel sad. It could be the 'angle' which you carry Xavier is not comfortable. I have the same problem with my gal too. My hubby always say the angle which I carry her is not comfortable and that's why each time when I feed her, she would refuse to drink and make lots of noise. The moment my hubby took over, she guai guai have her milk.

Purebliss
Next week my hubby going back to work le. I also will be left alone to look after my kids. Now already having headache (on some days having migrane too) almost everyday le. Cannot imagine if my hubby not at home, then how? </font>

Mousebb, my hubby already left me alone liao when CL is here... dun worry la. Take one step a time. Me also handling 3kids now and hubby happily sleeping soundly at nite. Still can tell me nid help call his hp and he will come to my "rescue".. end up never pick up and i got to do it my own.

They finally cross 3kgs plus... hahahahahaha! Happines! My wet wipes also used machiam like toilet paper.. very fast used up. Now use cotton and wash their bum bum.

Hello Mummies!!
Thanks for all the well wishes!!! My wait was finally over on 24 Oct with no need to induce my lil' one.. kekek!

My Birth Story:
23 Oct
------
Confirmed with gynae to induce on 27 Oct - since it was our wedding anniversary..

24 Oct
------
4am: suddenly felt a blop of watery feeling. woke up and went to bathroom.. n found my pantyliner all wet.. wondering if it was indeed water bag leaking.. but after peeing, there was still water dripping, and i knew that must be it.. woke hubby who was stoned..!! hahaha..

530am: reached TMC.. and confirmed that water bag had broke.. i was 1 cm dilated. put on the ctg and i was having regular contractions.. prob 5-10mins apart

830am: gynae came.. checked me and decided to wait since my contractions are still regular

1130am: gynae came again.. i was still 1cm dilated!!! and contractions had died down.. so, was put on the drip to speed things up..

530pm: contractions were fast and furious, but i was only 5cm to 6cm dilated!!! i was in so much pain, and practically gonna scream out loud.. and decided to take epi then!!!

9pm: gynae came and i was fully dilated.. but need the urge to push.. so epi was turned down..

1010pm: finally i had the urge to push..

1042pm: bb Kieran arrived.. phew!!!! i was exhausted!!

BB Kieran
Weighs: 3.9kg
Length: 52cm
Head circumference: 35cm

purebliss,
dun worrie abt ur gals' weight
its okie for girls to be pettite in size mah
They look so adorable!
Its good to hear that they can stay in the cot while u spend some time with ur little boy. If oni my baby can spend 15 mins in the cot, i will be so happi liao!

pildough,
why is it that we have to wait for 100 days to eat seafood? My god! i was still counting down to eating seafood horfun, salmon sashimi....

littlebluey,
rem not to be too close to ur little darling, coz i think little babies' immune system are not as strong as ours. Take good care!

precious,
my baby oso push me, scratch me, kick me when i try to latch him. Its like a battle field! my mum says his crying can be heard miles n miles away! end up baby perspire, i oso perspire.... so now i always pump rather than latch unless hes in a 'good mood'
Easier for everyone. haha
As for carrying baby, i oso experienced the same thing as u... when i carry him, he cried machiam like kanna tortured! then my mum or hubbie take over, he immed becomes quiet. alamak, i oso feel very hurt at times, but i guess it may be our carrying technique is not right, or our arms are too tense n baby is not comfortable
nmind, i am sure when they are bigger and learn to play, they will recognize mummy n noes we luv them the most!
so u must cheer up okie? Take it easy

forest!
u are so brave! no epi!
Hope u are recovering well!

Jabs
My pd oni ask me to go back in a mths time for baby to take the Hep B injection. nothing mentioned abt 5 in 1 or 6 in 1. Actually the cost of going for each injection individually and taking the 6 in 1 is almost the same? I pity babies, so many injections at such a tender age... poor buttocks!

Littlealmond
yeah you are still make your order.
I'll be placing order this friday.

I used braun thermometer

Posseting
sometimes cuz they have too much. depending on how much they throw up. but it's normal that they posset a little.

pildough
12.00+++ i'm already off to bed liao!!
eheheh..

Forest
brave mummy!!!

dumbo
you use only a few drops to the bath...anyway, baby doesn't sweat so they aint dirty.
usually dun need to rinse off.

Hi mousebb/bearie,

Thanks. Battlefield is the word here. I had exactly the same experience. Now, I'm also expressing my milk but the flow is not sufficient hence, supplementing him with formula as well. Hope that the milk supply can increase significantly to meet his demand. Jia you...

hi mummies, anyone latching on the baby directly? I am on Total Breast Feeding for my 2 week old and find that she wants to suckle almost every hourly. Sometimes she suckles hard for 5 mins, then sorts of slows down, suckling once in a while and seems to be asleep. If I try to pull away, she starts suckling again. Am wondering if I am doing anything wrong.

Should I feed her longer (making sure she suckle hard for at least 30mins) each time? But she feeds so often that my breasts are quite soft and I am not sure if she is even getting the milk.

Also problem with my left breast - shape abit out and she doesnt like to suck from it. Max is 10mins on that breast. And when I pump out from that breast, max I get each time is 20ML and it almost never feels engorged!

i think the all in 1s are just a matter of convenience for the parents but good for the mommies sticking to docs who choose to stick to traditional vaccination schedule, more systematic i feel. dunno about dosages, should be the same effect right? opinion varies i guess.. i'm ok lor, i don't think i can spare the time to bring down to polyclinic so i'ld prob go for the all in one.

beary &amp; precious,
right now bb listens CL the most but i also try, also the woman comes with alot of exp as compared to me. sometimes she will scream but i hold onto her and wait for her to calm down. We're the mothers at the end of the day wat, they'ld have to get used to us and we'ld have to get used to them. Like what Beary say, sometimes i feel she is bullying me.. with aggression and being more vocal and demanding with her food source i.e. me but babies are babies and they will grow up and grow out of it (i try and convince myself).

Children will always love their parents and i have time to reason with her when she grows up. My limits are rudeness, i cannot stand rudeness not even with my own students. My little girl can exhibit her own personality within reason and limits but she must not be rude, not with me, not with other people.

PureBliss,
so nice to see the twins getting big and healthy!

beary,
dunno about the 90-100 days rule but i dun care lah.. the last time i had my spine op, i was so miserable.. by the 2nd week, my jiejie bought me rojak, laksa and mee siam. i think they scared even though surface heal liao, inside wound might get infected because seafood is poisonous. no medical basis but i say eat in moderation lor.

forest,
congratulations!

lili,
i assume you're staying in your job. if so, i would prob keep the extra days handy but you also factor in your Annual leave so if your job is those hard to take leave type then clear your Maternity lor. what decision have you made?

Throw out:
Abby has been choking on the breast because i think sometimes maybe milk spurt out too fast for her or she gong gong fall asleep on the boob while suckling then suddenly suckle then kena flooded with milk. So far, throw out also little amounts will trickle out from the sides of her mouth. Today is the first day she throw out some milk (ON ME).. argh. when i tried to burp her.

I have 3 questions.

Does she have enough to eat after throwing up, shall we give a top up?

Is that due to wind?

what are your techniques in burping and how long do u usually take?

sometimes i burp her for a really long time.. good days she self burps.. the moment i put her upright.. she ERRPS then some days she takes really long.

pildough, I take ages to burp her too. Except for the good days which are few and far between, she takes up to maybe 5 - 10mins to burp. I sit her on my lap and pats her back with a cupped hand from her back upwards. Or sometimes i put her such that her head is on my shoulder and support her buttocks with one hand while the other hand pats her back. The CL has a mucher higher success rate than me when it comes to burping, despite the same techniques. So I think practice makes perfect...

now with the CL around, i take the easy way out and pass her to my CL to burp.. haha

sometimes i get lazy and do not burp her since she finally fall asleep. but then she will throw up a little milk and i will regret being lazy..

essana,

i'm facing the same thing and Abby suckles consistently for 10 min max then i let her suckle for another 5-10 min before she usually drops off to sleep. Sometimes after half an hour, she wants a top up. Sometimes at night, she just wants to nuzzle and suckle for comfort (think human pacifier), i can tell when she's feeding or just suckling for comfort even though there's still milk. Abby was taking 40-50 ml at week 2 every 1.5 - 2 / 3 hours but it varies.

even at week 4, Abby is demanding feeds by the hour on challenging days and in 2.5 - 3 hours on better days. The CL helps to amuse her while i sleep.. then bring her in to feed. When CL leaves, i'ld really be shitting myself but i suppose i'ld learn. sometimes i wish breasts came with measurements like a measuring cup according to mililitres.. then everytime bb drinks, the amount of milk liquid reduces and we can read and record the levels.

You know they say breastfeeding is demand feeding, baby demand, you feed and i hear from the experienced mommies that establishing a more consistent feeding and sleeping routine is much easier after they're 2 months. meanwhile essana.. join the owls club? hahaha... i'm getting good at typing with only one hand.

Pildough

I only realised I had missed Ethan's 2nd dose of Hep B yesterday. Supposed to be given on 20 Oct when he reached 1 mth old. Panic stricken, I called up TMC and they told me its ok. Just call the pd that I would be going to and make appt with them.

This morning, I called up the pd and they recommended the 6 in 1 to me. With this 6 in 1, no need to go for Hep B 2nd dose when bb reached 1 mth. Only need to go for the 6 in 1 when bb is 2mths, 4 mths and 6 mths old. So I decided to go along with it and bring Ethan for this combination jab when he reaches 2 mth old on 20 Nov.

Goshh....all this immunisation schedule is driving me crazy...and there is pnenmococal...rotavirus...chicken pox vaccine...

Burping

Same as Abby. Sometimes Ethan burps when I hold him up after a feed. Sometimes he refuses to burp no matter how long I tried. I put him over my shoulders or use the conventional method of putting him on lap and holding his chin and pat his back. None are fool proof. I dun top up after he throws up though..hahaa..too tired...though I am not sure whether its necc.

Does Abby farts often? If yes, then its one way of letting out wind from her tum tum too. Ethan is a big time farter. He farts real loud even when he sleeps...just like his papa..wahahaaa!!!

ok so i am not the only mummy who is feeling like a tap! I was wondering if i am getting over worried by giving in to her so often. I mean I keep reading about people feeding every 3 hours, at most every 2 hours, but I am almost like non-stop at it!

I am also thinking that when my CL leaves, I will be dead. At least now, CL keeps her occupied so as to give me some "rest" time in between. Heh we just gave her 70ML EBM and she went off to sleep finally!!

at night it is better, I can get through max 2-2.5hrs sleep before she feeds. And she feeds better at night. Steady for 20mins before dropping off to sleep. wah, can see your one hand typing skill very good. ;p