(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="ff6000">hi everyone!

wow took me a long time to read thru all the posts cos was v busy yesterday and this morning at work.

icylemon - i think we won't feel any movement in first tri. Doc Wong said that will only feel heartbeat and some movements after 20th week. Now all I feel is BLOATED. purebliss - yup, lots of gas moving there!

choo: lol u so funny, come join us.. kekek #2 and they are exactly 3 yrs apart. both in oct keke.... tks!

Pure, i know abt the HP part, so the moment u interview, emphasis NO HP is allowed. but when they here, they will try their luck again. just said NO. dont barge in. As for the current maid, you might suggest to in laws to confiscate her hp while working during the day and then return once night falls.

Pure, my hubby also says the same thing... i stay with my ILs so when i go out for supper, my MIL will remind hubby not to eat. but when he reaches there, he cant control lor. He said, i am pregnant, he too is pregnant, but he can never give birth. lol

mousebb, dun laugh.. kekek ei am laughing louder. my hubby now in FULL TERM.. kekekekekek worse right.

when i was expecting #1, i felt it move at wk 16. hope this will abt same too

<font color="aa00aa">purebliss</font>,
ya the triple chocolate is very nice.

my gal's bday cake 1st tier is lychee martini, 2nd tier is triple chocolate. my guests prefer lychee martini.

rachel mom/purebliss/hp babe
i staying with my in laws. my mil say shouldnt be a problem abt coping cos by the time i go back work, the second one will be 3 months so easier to look after. but hor, i think i more worried abt myself cant cope...hehe...imagine have to tend to 2 at nights. what if both cry at the same time....what if one cry n wake the other up.....my mil offer to look after the elder one at night but he so used to me now at nigth n he cant sleep when i not ard....my mil had a hard time making him drink milk n sleep.....sometime he will wait for me to reach hm at night (if i do go out) b4 he willing to sleep....plus, i also prefer him to sleep with me. closerbond mah.......when the #2 come then see how ba.

Purebliss, Cheezel:
I forgot, how old are your kids already? I think after 6 mths or something, babies dun need night feeding right? With new baby/babies coming, it'll be siong leh. Try to break the habit now if possible loh.

When my girl used to wake up in the middle of the night, I gave her water instead of milk. Then evenutally, I'll leave the water bottle in the crib for her to help herself. If she wakes up early, I'll do wat Cheezel does, wait till 6am before I give milk. Then slowly drag additional 15mins everyday, 6.15am then 6.30am etc... So eventually, she dun bother to get up for milk which she will not be getting.

All 2nd time mommies, I also duno how to cope when #2 arrives. When #2 cry the house down at nite and wakes up #1 then i jialat liao. Not to mention waking up in the wee hours to pump milk. I tik i'll be v.sleep deprived! Duno how to go back to work aft 3 months maternity leave. Lack of sleep means low work efficiency + pump milk during office hrs, my boss sure face black black.

reichan
my boy 10 month old. hes better now...last time he used to wait up every 3 hr for milk, then i intro water to him n now only at midnight n 6am. then these 2 days i notice he sleep from 7-8 plus to 2 plus then make noise......i give him milk then. when i leaving for work, will give him milk at 6am so tat he can sleep till abt 8am. last time i didnt feed him n he wakes up as early as 5plus.

i hope he will sleep thru soon. but then teething also a prob....at times he will cry at night n have to give him pacifier to ease his sore gum. he reject teething gel now....

hazeline
i intend to latch on at night if possible. just like what i did for # 1.

rachel mom
u SAHM? whos looking after ur #1 now?

cheezel, hmm..gd idea, latch bb so that he dun hv much chance to cry hor. The tot of going thru the breastfeeding process again is reali sian..sigz..actuli its not the latching part, its the pumping in the morning (before rushing to work), during office hours (means rush thru lunchtime), and go home still hv to pump. Sian, sian, sian..

This time round i'll probably DONG for 9 months, anything aft that is a bonus.

heng!! i tot i'm the only one. hehe....so i have kakis here who also have the same worries as me.

hazeline
ya...i also dread looking forward to the pumping portion. I hope i can dong for 6 months only. urs 9 months is also a bonus liao.

Hazeline,
Your boss will give you black face because you need to pump to feed ur kid? That's so mean!!! I think BF working mums need a lot more support in this area. I mean, if you want to show black face, more reasonable to show to smokers who go out for smoking breaks than BFing mums right?

smoking breaks like every 1 hour 1 time. but pumping is like 4 hours to 6 hours once... i think if bosses are PRO-BF, they are ok. my hb's ex company very PRO-family, they even set up a nursing room for the Nursing mothers to pump and also a fridge to store.

i am consider fortunate to be able to BF my girl for 29th mths now. even when i am carrying my #2. though hubby is not happy that i am expecting n still BF, but he cant do much to stop his girl from latching. All i can do is to cut the number of times to abt 3 times a day, that before she naps and sleeps.

Thoughout the BF-ing period, hubby is very supportive and even invested in PIS advance for me. Well, he already cover back all the cost of the pump and even extra. thinking hw much a can of milk cost, scary... soooo expensive.

Carole,
Then wat are u going to do when the new baby comes out? BF the 2 of them together? I know can be done but quite tough right? Your girl needs to latch on to zz?

I do TBF because I'm a SAHM, so it's easier. When my girl weaned and I had to go buy formula. I was like, WOW.... so expensive.... hahahahah Didn't know my milk worth so much $$$$$

<font color="ff6000">welcome!

my colleague just offered me a huge stack of pringles. I told him wah this is too much, and wanted to give him back some but he walked back liao.

then before i know it, I finished it! I think that stack got at least 10... :p</font>

reichan, my girl latches to sleep. not sure will happen when #2 comes along... wil have to seee. hubby already said, BF-ing 2nd ok, but must bottle feed. kekeke.. if nt llike this jiejie, can die lor

even i am SAHM, hb says dun have to bf for so long.. just that my girl dun let me off. i tried so many kind of FM, but she just dun like it.

1st time mum,
Have u gals sort out who will look after ur bb after 3mth? Hubby say when nearer to date then decide, sigh.
All mum
Any one already started to book for Confinement lady?

carole
u still bf-ing? how old is ur gal? dun intend to stop? my gynae told me its better to stop bf esp when go into 2nd trim cos thats when the baby starts to draw nutrients from mummy.

lili
won be looking for confinement lady. mil do for me.

cheezel, she is 29mths. not that i dont have intention to stop, but my girl relies on it to sleep. so have to be sensitive to her as well. As for nutrients, i will eat more food and have more variety that contains more nutrients.

Carole,
Oh dear, so if no bf, cannot zz hah? Keeps crying? But when #2 comes out, bf #2 will be more impt since #1 is almost 3 yrs old so dun really need milk as source of nutrients right?

I had 1 fren also same problem, girl attached to breast, TBF for 27 mths. Finally, she went to Guardian to purchase this bitter solution to prevent kids from nail biting. Normally used to apply on the kid's nails, but she applied to nipples. ^_^ Kid stopped breastfeeding then. Kekeke. I went to Guardian to check cos my girl is a thumb sucker. The solution ok for kids 2 yrs and above. Maybe you wanna consider giving it a try.

reichan, i think gynae gave up asking me to stop bf-ing. i already cut down alot... last time she wants every 2 hours.. just for comfort or even when she is crying she looks for it. now at least she wont dare to. i know the supply is going down lots and there isnt a hurry cos i am eating quite well and many meals a day.

of cos i hope she can cut it off totally, but if she cant, then she will fight with her younger sibling lor.

Carole,
I read somewhere about a gynae who is supportive of mums bf-ing thru pregnancy and then bf for both older and younger kids. If I remember correctly, it's Dr Paul Tseng(?) at TMC. I agree that so long as you are eating well, shouldn't be a problem bf-ing both kids.

But now also not easy for you to be 'human pacifier' for your girl right? Hopefully, she will learn how to self-sooth and put herself to zz soon.

mousebb: Yah lo, bb like all this stuffs, no choice!! But I also crave for maggi mee sometimes.. Moderation so should be ok.

My fren keep telling me that there is no such thing as no milk. When there is demand there is supply so she say confirm can BF if you want... I abit stress, might be going ahead with Medela PIS, am asking my fren to check out the price in US.

Dr Woody is funny &amp; he joke with a straight face! Kekek..

Storeberry, yes, there is no such thing as no milk. Even if someone is small build or small boods, can also bf for 20+ months. I hv met many of such mommies personally. The problem is sometimes wif the MIL coz they scare we starve their grandchild and its not as pro-bf in their times.

Carole, my boy also has been relying on suckling for comfort to sleep. For the 1st 21months, there has not been a day when he can just sleep on his on. When i discovered that im preg wif #2, i tik its time to stop coz he's not drinking much, just habit to comfort suck. I heard from my colleag that using lemon helps. And it reali works for me. I squeezed alot of lemon juice and apply on nipple. And add more in from the side of his mouth when he's sucking. Within 1 min he unlatch. From then on, whenever he fuss for bf, i told him "nei nei spoilt alredi". And he got the message. But on and off he'll still fuss for it, but i always give the same ans. Now i alredi fully weaned.

But if u wld like to nurse thru preg and there's no preg complications, then there's no reason why u cant carry on. I hv read many of such cases, esp on western websites.

hazeline: my girl damn smart, she dun falls for tricks like tt. she nw bargains everynite with my hb on how long to BF-ing. she said 5mins, daddy said 1min, she says 5 mins.. daddy says 1min. she LL says 1min and she turns to me, OK 1min. and here's she comes.

Milk supply, milk demand = milk supply. but one has to bear with the low milk supply at the first stage. Mine was barely 10ml at the first pump till before end of confinement 1.2l per day. Some ILs and parents are very anti BF-ing, esp my mum always says not enough nutrients for my girl and started complaining. She said look, my girl so thin etc... But my girl considered the most healthy child in my ILs family and hardly fallen sick unless her cousins spread to her.

I got a friend, her MIL not pro-bf, always carries her baby away when bb cries for milk. My friend asks me, how is she gng to BF? I said simple, try to do it at nite when MIL cant get into the room. Its ok to start slow, but the moment you get the kick of it, the milk supply will start to kick in.

though it is very hard for working mothers to pump during work or even to pump during the midnite or even latch, but the moment you think of your child's good health, you will surely want to BF longer.

Hi mummies.

I am back in office. Was on MC for 2 days due to slight spotting. So happy the weekend is coming then can sleep more.

Hi Carole,

my MIL also against BF one. Still remember when my SIL (her daughter) was doing confinement, she tried to breastfeed then MIL kept making comments like baby keeps crying because she is not full, see the bb so thin, poor thing so hungry...those kind of remarks lor.

she is going to do my confinement for me. Have to make sure her snide remarks dun get me down

good morning mummies.

<font color="ff0000">lili</font>,
maybe you can start looking ard for nanny le. dun wait till the bb is born. sometimes good nanny hard to find oso.

as for CL, if can, try to book le. my colleagues has problem getting one now. she is due in early sept.

Morning ladies. Back at work. Sian. Lucky its Friday liao.
Hazeline,
you very funni le…tell ur #1 ur nei nei spolit liao. Hehe. Sometime ia slo dunno if wanna latch on anot le cos I klnow sometimes it wil become a habit n they begin to suckle for comfort. My boy very practical, not much milk, he will fuss n bite me n then after that slowly he wont want to latch cos no milk liao as I slowli decrease the no of pump session, else I think will become panda when still need to work in the day.
Carole,
ur gal 29mths quite big liao…prob can tell her she going to be jie jie soon, so cannot latch on liao? else what if both cry to latch on at night how ah….one each side…hehe….

Cheezel, keke.."spolit liao" is just a convenient explaination to him.

Carole, wah, ur ger still can bargain for bf. Hmm..i tik it gets harder to wean off when they gets bigger coz getting smarter and smarter!

My next gynae visit is next thurs, such a long wait~~~~

Good morning ladies!

I'm very happy today as I'm on half day today to bring my gal to watch Disney Ice later.
This morning, I told her I will bringing her out later and she told me "Mummy, I wait for you, ok" So touched

Hp_babe, hey, my gal also a bit colic during her 2nd mths but luckily it stopped after 3 weeks. Ya, very difficult to bf her due to her colic too. I also can't bear to let her cry so hard, so I will give bottle when she refused to latch. Anyway, I guess, so long as still got take BM, better than don't have.

Lili_fc, I already booked my CL. I think if you want, it is better to find one as soon as possible. My CL is being booked all the way from now to Oct (by me).

About nanny, it could be better if you can look into options now. Ya, like what Icylemon said, it might not be so easy to find a good one.

Diane, some old folks do not believe in bf. My CL used to say breastmilk is water! She believes all babies MUST have FM to grow. Anyway, I just let her continue with her belief and I believe in mine. I'm the mummy so I have the last say to what I wish to feed my baby mah.

Maid ===> I'm also looking into getting a maid. My hb said he want to get Indonesia one cos Philipiness one cost much more? Anyone knew what is the price for Indonesia and Philipiness maid?

wow, serious .... all so early to book CL, tot i might be early. still have to check out with mil &amp; hubby this evening, then decide.

how much? thru' agency?

For CL - better book fast. I called a couple good ones and all are booked. Finally found 1. Apparently everyone was doing the bb dance Dec - Jan, so a lot of Sep and Oct babies!!

<font color="ff0000">lili</font>,

actually can ask ard for help to look for CL liao le. ur colleagues &amp; friends.

i think now the market rate is abt $1.8K - $2K.

Mine are all through friends' recommendation. But all taken up

CL are good to help you take care of your bb especially at night. You can pump your milk out and they just warm to feed yr bb at nite lor. So you can rest. Some CL also do simple house cleaning. A gd CL will help you the above, cook gd food, and teach you how to take care of a bb.

My mum cld help with the food etc, but I dont think she can stay awake at nite to help me with my kid. And I also assume I will be in a mung-zhang mood .. so might yell at my mum etc.....

<font color="119911">purebliss>> wah u taking exam ah??? poor thing! good luck ya!! can't imagine dealing with our MS and fatigue still must study
jia you!!

pregnant hubbies>> lol my hubby oso!! i will crave this and that then wun wanan eat a lot so he have to finish it. i think he gain weight as steadily (or more) than me!! lol

cheezel>> sure!! where's ur blog? anyone else got blog to share? i was thinking of sharing only when i reach 2nd trim leh. haha pandang lah ;P

lili_fc>> i think cannot wait til then to decide who to help care for baby lah. will be very stressful, best is aga aga find out now. if parents cannot help, can source for nanny liao. Confinement-wise oso my PIL will be helping me. but like ruffles, they wun be staying overnight. at night feeding i do lor. costs about $2k for local, a bit less for malaysians etc. some are thru agency, some are direct. depends.

busybee>> think CL or not really up to individual. just that get CL got more time to rest and recover lor. coz dun forget u dun get enough sleep with all the night feedings. but some ppl cope very well without also.

jasminetea>> shiok!! have fun ya!!

all 2nd time mums>> need your advice. how long before you can go about your life as per normal? like go for wedding dinners at night etc? if wan to full breastfeed baby, is it possible to take a night off? how long b4 that can happen? thanks!

<font color="119911">o ya big news... today for the 1st time!i got my first seat in mrt (as in ppl give up seat for me!!) o no!! i din know i look pregnant liao! haha</font>