(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="119911">o my goodness, its such a relief to hear so many of you have similar symptoms! i oso get turned off by fish leh! last time i can eat fish beehoon or porridge, nowadays it just turns my stomach! scary how similar our symptoms are! as for lack of appetite during night time, what i do is eat when i can eat (day time) then night time just eat what little i can manage. so i stock wholemeal cereal bars, milo and soya bean milk packets in office.

Updated list here: http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=pKVGMcTKrhbLRfVUmNmxidw
BTW, anyone who wants to have write access rights to the table, pls PM me your gmail address =)

Carole,
Really hah? Too late already. Drank a lot already. Opps. But I checked with my MIL leh. She says ok. I guess ok if I don't drink excessively like everyday right? Anyway, too late for regrets now....

carole, reichan
I also had old cucumber soup for dinner just, cos mil said ok. Anyway since unknown and drank already, no more next time if really cant take.

Wow, I cannot stand the smell of milk leh.. Tried Frisomum with milo still cannot stand the smell. Jollyhoppy, did you warm up your meji milk or just drink it cold? I usually drink my soya milk cold but my SIL say not good to drink cold drinks.

Thanks mousebb, dimpletot, Precious &amp; Pinkimum! Yah really excited man, can plan for bb's name &amp; do some shopping liao..

Dimpletot: I am not wearing maternity tops yet, just maternity pants. My tummy not very big leh, I was so hoping that my client can notice so they will not bug me for too long. Kekeke..

Today don't know smell something fishy then vomit out my dinner.. My appetite is improving, hopefully will not vomit again.

Hi Reichan,

The bella band is versatile but I will still be getting maternity wear. Too vain! Hahah... I got my bella band in black. But only used it about 3 times so far cos the maternity wear which are looser fit is comfier as my bump is already showing although i am only 9 weeks plus. But would say its still a worth while investment.

Juz me,

Updated my details on the spreadsheet!

Thanks pinkimum and cheezel

Was quite sick and weak when i went to see my gynae last night. Waited for nearly 2 hours and almost feel like fainting liao. Was given 4 days mc and told to have plenty of rest these few days and by Sat still not recovered yet, have to go back to see him again. Bb is 9wk now. My EDD is now changed to 13 Oct liao.

mousebb
What happen to u? Sudden so sick?
All
I experiencing abdomen pain yesterday noon and so this morn go gynae to check up. Now, is better and no pain. Still prefer to go check up.

preggy woman who just got pregnant will have to avoid cooling drinks/soup. esp when the womb is weak at this moment in time. my MIL even read up and says preggy woman cant take almond stuff.

nice to hear all little ones growing fine and well, today my little fetus is at 9weeks too. hoping things will be well and fine and little fetus growing healthy.

think is the weather that why most of us not feeling well.

me too have running nose and coughing..

but can't reali take medicine...

hope everyone get well soon...

<font color="aa00aa">good morning mummies</font>.

wah.. topic abt food again.

recently i have cravings of luncheon meat. kekeke...

today i m in my 10 weeks.

<font color="ff0000">lili</font>,
recently i oso encountered some pain. like menses kind of cramp too.

cravings... yummy. i love the ipoh horfun with tonnes of green chilli, vegetarian beehoon with only vege goose and charsiew.

every nite, hubby asks me what i want to eat... and answer only Ipoh hor fun. he gng to faint soon. whahahhaa..

mousebb
i remember 1st 3 months of my last preg, i also feel weak n sick. prob morning sickness ba. u take care.....sleep well.

lili_fc
i experience aching yesterday too. going to see gynae later....at least wont keep worrying.

i heard abt avoiding cooling stuff during pregnancy. as long as eat everything in moderation, think should be alright. but if u dun feel comfortable eating, then dun eat. i avoid cooling stuff during my last preg. but this time rd i just eat everything in moderation.

i was at T3 on sunday, and i went ard looking for food. at the Noodles store, i ask for ipoh hor fun, the guy said sOLD OUT. i was so upset, till i kept craving for it. whahhahaa. from then on, nothing else... only ipoh horfun

<font color="ff6000">My gynae Joycelyn Wong was very clear - she said apart from alcohol, caffeine and raw food, everything else can eat in moderation. She said watermelon, cold drinks all that there's no scientific proof, so can just take moderately.

So I've been doing that lah... really opens up more options for food intake and makes the pregnancy more pleasant. Her words were very liberating. I guess impt to keep spirits up at this point! then bb will grow happily.

lili
Dont know what happened to me leh. When i reached home after seeing my gynae, i was actually running a temp of 38 degree. My whole body was so weak till I have no strength to carry my son at all. I kept asking my gynae whether will those medicines he prescribed for me affect the bb's development anot but he assured me that it wont and told me I have to take my medicines and have plenty of rest in order to recover.

Cheezel
Those medicine which Dr gave me made me feel very drowsy. Will try to sleep more and hopefully i can recover fast.

<font color="ff0000">blur</font>, i am a FTWM. i know of other FTWM that TBF for long too.
basically i maintained by diligently pumping. morning, after nursing baby, i pumped. go to work I pumped twice. once at 11.30am once at 3.30pm. at night nursed my boy for his bedtime feed. 1 hour later i pumped before going to bed. so during that time, i pumped 4 times a day. its better to have extra than to have just right, coz u wun know when illness or tiredness or menses will cause ur supply to drop a bit. so i always have extra, and i freeze it to give away coz my boy dun drink frozen milk.

<font color="aa00aa">Isabella, mousebb and precious</font>, i think Panadol is one of the safest med for either preggies or breastfeeding mums. my gynae say can take during 1st tri. its the other kinda med like cough mixture, antibiotics and others thats not safe. mousebb and precious, can imagine how you feeling now as i went through that few weeks back. worse still my boy was also sick with fever and flu and cough that time. when i was coughing and coughing, i was so worried whether it will harm baby inside. but i asked gynae, she say it the coughing will not harm baby. and my GP also said, normal bacteria or viral infection for flu, will not harm baby. its the chicken pox and rubella or shingles kinda of virus that will harm baby....

<font color="0000ff">busybee</font> thanks for the web. but i am looking for something else, not sure if u know where to get it? its a kinda of extension for normal jeans. to be buckled onto your usual jeans, to EXTEND the waistline. when its done properly, the fabric will peep through in a triangle shape between the buttons of your jeans. anyone know what i mean? i saw that in a mag during prev pregnancy, but i didn't need it. this time i need it i dun see it at all!

<font color="0000ff">Rei-Chan</font>, thats a very good way of explaining why our immune drop! i always heard preggies immune will drop, and i always heard 1st tri sure fall sick. but now that u put it that way it all makes sense.

<font color="ff0000">mousebb</font>, i also having spotting. wat doc told me is, if its brown discharge, its probably the remaining old blood inside you draining out. if its dark red, then its fresh bleeding. i had fresh bleeding on sunday, monday. if urs is tapering off and turning brown, hopefully its the "old" blood clearing out...

Juz me, did you see my post about updating the table with our sympthoms and future correlatipn to gender of baby? what you think ah? hehehee....

Mousebb,
You take care and dun stress too much ya. Just 'kuai kuai' take the medicine the doc gave and rest &amp; relax. Don't worry abt the baby. You'll get well soon.

Bunnyhop,
You FTWM and still can TBF for so long ah! Impressive. I TBF for 13 mths, my girl just stopped automaticially one day and giggled at my boobs. Kekeke. So I also dun force her to drink loh. I dun think I can keep at it for so long if I was working though. I'm lousy at pumping. Wat kind of pump did u use?

i have a bit of spotting today leh. This will be the 3rd time already. The last 2 times, doc gave me jab and dupahston pills. Very sick and tired leh...i am already in my 1oth week so more or les shld be stabilised right? Why still like that? Very frustrating.

I dun know whether i shd go see my gynae now or not...or just wit and see if have more spotting then go and see him.

storeberry, I am like you, can't stand the smell and taste of milk. I only tried soy milk so far, I take out from the fridge until it loses its coldness then drink. But now my mum says not to eat or drink any overnite food.

Rachel's mum and lili, I also get cramps, and it seem to be getting worse, esp at nite when I am in bed.

mousebb, hope you get well soon,

To bring up a topic that is not discussed here, any of the 1st time mums here intend go antenatal courses?

Good morning ladies

Diane, I think it is better for you to give your gynae a call. Any spotting, even one dot must bring to your gynae's attention. Take care!

rachel's mommy, my gynae say once cup of coffee or tea a day is okie leh. but now that i spotting, she say no caffeine at all lah. if u are okie, that one cup shld be fine.

Rei-Chan, oh you are a SAHM!?? so nice. oh hehehe so cute ur girl giggled at ur boobs? hehhee how did u feel at that time? must be funny and sad at the same time. i use Avent manual. it works very well for me. but during confinement when i first started using it, it sucks, and its painful. so i bought a Ameda dual automatic. but after 2 mths, and when i started work, i tried Avent manual again and its so much better than the Ameda dual. though its single manual pump but its more efficient and not so many parts to assemble so lay chay hehee. i am using that again for 2nd child.

Diane, did doc give u mc to rest? if freqeunt spotting, shld rest at home and more lying down and only getting up for food. thats what nurse told me lah. but yesterday i had important meeting, i bo bian must go. i think only after 12 weeks is baby considered stable....now 10 weeks still some time to go. maybe u shld call gynae clinic and ask the nurses what to do.

Diane - Try to be horizontal as much as you can and rest. Perhaps go see your gynae for an mc to allow you to rest. As long as it is not red blooding flowing profusely with cramps, you are good. But just as precaution, rest.

Busybee,
Thanks for the info. I was just worried that the bella band might be too loose or too tight over my bump. As for maternity clothes, will have to start looking soon. For my last pregnancy, a fren gave me all her maternity clothes. Then she had a unplanned pregnancy, so I gave all the clothes back. Hahahhaha... So it's shopping time again.

Rachel's mummy:
Luncheon meat not too good leh. High salt content and my GP says hotdogs, ham and I guess also luncheon meat got high level of nitrates which is not good. But moderation is ok lah, especially when u got craving. Just dun eat too much loh, like one whole can. ^_^

I walked past a 7-11 the other day and had this huge craving for a slurpee!(Another Forbidden Food!) Hubby and MIL around so I dun even dare to say a word. Hee hee... Sigh, the more Forbidden, the more you crave hor...

ok will call my gynae. Dun know why. Think i am a bit numb now. The previous 2 times i was crying all the way to the clinic. I think the nurses must have labelled me a "crybaby"...But today i completely no emotions...like very numb.

bunnyhop,
Juz Me has included your columns already... check out the link she posted. and the zodiac column also gone... but we can refer to the previous tables in the archive hee.

I've also asked for write access so i can help update and alter the info. Maybe you can PM her yr email too so you can update when necessary.

Diane,
Better get some advice from gynae. I was told to go hospital whenever there's bleeding, even not during working hours. then if really serious they will call my gynae to come down. but if yours is spotting then prob not very serious. Just try to minimise movement before seeing gynae.

Rei-chan,
I think you're brave to be a SAHM! Was it hard adjusting initially? I think i might miss being occupied by work and the financial independence.

Rachel mummy - Lucheon meat not good. I think recently got news that the "Maling brand" luncheon meat was taken off the shelf because of some toxic or something...Made in china u see so china's goods always got defects. Plus some of them were saying the meat is not pork but could be dog meat ok??.Even if its pork, think their pigs are not healthy...because they feed their pigs with some bleached food. .So gross right?
China people eat all sorts of meats...they eat rats too!...yucks!!..

So dun eat luncheon meat ok. Maybe try to find other substitute..

thanks dimpletot and Juzme.
okie i will PM juzme.

storeberry, can you update the table? will be interesting to know ur sympthoms since now know urs is a boy hehehee.

<font color="ff0000">wan chuen &amp; lili</font>,

my cramps are in the day.

<font color="119911">bunnyhop</font>,
ok, noted. thanks gal.

<font color="aa00aa">rei-chan</font>,
i took abt 1-2 slice. ops! i have ham with cheese sandwich almost everyday.

rachel's mummy, I had luncheon meat juz before I tested positive. oppss... And it was not just 1-2slices, but I cooked the whole can!

Diane, I have been eating china pork, china chicken, china beef leh. Not much of a choice. I try to get imported product whenever I can, but not for fresh food and vegetables. And sometimes I get paranoid when I eat out.

Carole, now I am also craving for horfun. Any kind will do. Beef horfun also kind. hehe...

mummies, my last check-up was when I was about 5+week. No heartbeat detected. Was thinking should I go and check again this weekend at 7+ week. Or wait abit longer?

hi storeberry,
for the meiji drink, i will warm it when i drink in at night..in the morning..w cereal,i will leave it for a while before eating..
just tried the packet annum (with honey), i like the taste too =) 3 packets of 220ml..about $2.85.. you can try that before you decide to buy the whole tin..
Jus saw my baby yest..now in 9 1/2 weeks..and the bb was waving at us..soo thrilled =)

<font color="ff0000">pinkimum</font>,
hehehe.... u greedy!! kekeke...

i think hor.. the food &amp; the speed tat we mummies are eating... going buffet or high tea is worth the $.

hehehe...

Hi ruffles - yah its not red blood. Its very dark brown color.

Hi Rei chan - my gynae's clinic today open from 6 to 9pm...so now i will try not to move so much and then go see him after work lor...will get my colleague to pack lunchie for me.

I am currently ard 10 weeks pregnant. Does anyone started to wear maternity clothes? It is too early to buy them? Where can I buy maternity clothes other than shops like perfect mum or spring maternity?

i m wearing back all my maternity clothes.. i cant get into my tiny clothes. haiz... my tummy looks like into 12weeks manz. maybe bcos its #2.

Hi Freya's mummy
i inherited a bag of maternity clothes from colleague but haven wear them yet because they looked v big. Now I wear my bigger size clothes and those that have more elasticity. Osmose sells skirts that are soft and can stretch. Some dresses are nice for early pregnancy too. Some are suitable for work too. Maybe u can check them out.

Carole,
I am wearing them too. Seems like it show eariler when it is #2.
My appetite is not good. Everything taste bland. I have been taking yong tau foo without sweet sauce for a few days. Anyone try the new similac milk?

i am also wearing maternity clothes sometimes liaoz. think #2 shows early like what some ppl say. my friend kept commenting very obvious. but i think also coz i more bloated now, so tummy looks bigger hahhaa.

Freya's mom, u can get from a lot of maternity shops...there's many in Suntec. there's also Cloud 9, Spring, Thyme, maternity exchange, shop in TMC, online SassyMom, mums and babes (united sq), Mums R Us (united sq), Moms in Mind (online), Dune (GWC) and some others i forgot... i have not digged out the rest of my clothes yet.... anyone else can rem other shops?

freya, ya.. looks soo big till my aunties got to see it and asked. appetite wise i am ok.. eating every 2 hours TIMELY! haiz.. if nt u will see me running to toilet. each tiny meals must be just nice, and not too much or little... if nt will also end up in toilet.

Rachel's mum &amp; Pinkimum,
Luncheon meat already in ur tummies, so no point thinking abt it already loh. I think they also advise that we heat the ham before eating to kill any bacteria, if any.

Pinkimum,
I also din see heartbeat at 5 weeks, but can see at 7 weeks. So should be ok for you too.

Diane,
You take care and dun move around so much then. And dun lift heavy things! Good thing you have collegues to help you out.

Bunnyhop,
I also have the Avent manual pump, but pumped until my hand ache also not as effective as my baby's suckling. Milk cannot let down as well. I just keep a few days supply in the freezer just in case I need to take medicine or am not around for feeding.

Got pros and cons lah, when baby stops TBF. Good thing is I can start drinking again (hee hee) and dun have to literally take baby everywhere I go. By the time, my girl got full set of teeth already, so also dun have to worry about biting. On the other hand, it's such a hassle with the bottles washing and so on. My girl rejected milk bottle, so we went from TBF to drinking milk from straw bottles. Funney hor.

Dimpletot,
About SAHM hor, I think I can write a book on it. ^_^ I became SAHM not really by choice but by circumstances lah. Hubby's job kept relocating him mah. But like everything, got pros and cons loh. Relationship with baby is definitely quite close and I think it helps her built her confidence level. So now I can practically leave her with other people and she won't cry the house down.

Most impt thing is to have supportive and understanding hubby. 2 things that you can very easily argue about is MONEY and HOUSEWORK. Definitely have to work out an understanding on money matters, budgets, allowances...etc. As for housework, very easy for husbands to expect you to do everything in the house and you end up becoming a glorified maid. Hubby gotta understand that taking care of baby 24/7 is tough and you need to have a break now and then.

Many of my frens also very tempted to quit and become SAHMs. But must consider carefully loh cos every family situation is different. It is not as easy as it looks. For me, after this pregnancy and weaning, I'll probably go back to full time work. (Wanted to work part time but opportunities and pay still sucks in Singapore, unlike US or European countries)