(2008/10) Oct 2008

COLIC
I was told that bf (esp tbf) mothers who do not eat enough for whatever reason (mebbe too eager to slim down?) may worsen/contribute to the colic as the breastmilk is affected.
Anyway I din wanna take the risk as I was tbf and I ate a lot alot and my baby did not have any colic at all.
But whether it's really cos I ate alot or not I dunno lah... Still having to listen to a baby cry for hours is very distressing!!!

Bfree - bisphenol free - bottles are quite good for first 6 months. i have been using that. problem is .. because there are quite a few parts to the bottles, washing can be quite a hassle. the tube in the bottle is supposed to help prevent baby from sucking too much air when drinking from the bottle. I'll probably use till baby's almost 9 months and change to avent bottles.

jess,
wow the Bfree/ Born free bottles sound so ex! $16 for one bottle?
Was still thinking of getting those my second kid but undecided cos I got the avent pump and the breast milk can be directly expressed into their bottles for storage.
Guess I'll stick to avent after all! =p

First preggie I also tahan tahan refuse to take any medicine until buay tahan liao. Now my second one, I kena flu now and gonna see dr to nite already. Dunno why I kinda more bo chap. Sometimes i feel it's a bit unfair to my second kid...
Any 2nd/3rd time mummies also like this?

Hi Isabella, me too. When I am expecting my first bb, a lot of attention & focus was on her. Now, having a 2nd 1, it is different. I feel so guilty.....

littleger
O ya. Feeling pressure when sleep at side.
Diane
It is a vy thick book, lazy to read. LoL. Can sleep on tummy? I cant and wont dare to, cos tummy abit pop out liao.
I tot sleep at side is good when tummy is bigger.

I was reading the What to Expect book religiously for my 1st pregnancy. About the sleeping positions, I double checked with my gynae then. She kinda scolded me for worrying so much. ^_^ I forgot her exact words but what she meant was that I'm a living person, my body will adjust the sleeping positions accordingly. And nobody stays in the same position for the whole night anyway. So relax, lie in whatever position which is comfortable and dun worry about the wrong sleeping position cutting off the blood flow to baby or whatever. Your body won't let that happen. ^_^

Hi mummies!! Jus saw gynae & he was surprised to see me again cos I just saw him on thurs for flu. Had to remind him that I was there for check up.. Kekeke..

Then as he was doing the scan, I casually asked him if can see boy or gal, he scan and show me a thing sticking out & is a bb boy!! I was so happy!! And Praise GOD, my blood clot is gone!

Hi Precious & Isabelle, I am still having my flu after 5 days of medication also but recovering. I am also taking vitamin C (but not daily as some says that too much vit c not good) The medication that Dr Woody gave is not so strong that's why it will take longer to recover.

Wow, bfree bottles sounds good yah? Will put it in my wishlist first. Kekeke..

Hey storeberry,
Congratulations! It must be a load off your mind. And now you can start buying boy's clothes! So how many weeks are you now? For my last pregnancy, I had to wait till my 20th week scan to know the gender.

Hi thanks Rei-chan! I am in my 14th weeks, I thot maybe 16 weeks then can see.. So I was surprised when Dr Woody suddenly scan & show me.. My bb was waving his hand at me as well.. BB is 8.6cm long.

I weigh myself at the clinic but not much weight gain, maybe 1 kg. Hope to gain a little more...

storeberry - it must be an exciting time for you.. to move into this stage of your pregnancy where you're able to tell the gender of your baby..
don't worry abt gaining weight.. it'll come as long as you're eating well.. and most of the weight gain usually happens towards the end -last trimester.

<font color="119911">Precious>> i dun think the cough will affect the baby too much. think taking stronger medicines might be more harmful to the child? maybe can take some honey or vit c? but i would advice against citrus fruit coz may induce phlegm? feel is best to follow advice of your doc.

storeberry>> congrats on your baby boy! =) i oso cannot wait to know baby gender hee... make me feel like moving forward my appointment but wait too early oso cannot see! aiyah, how? lol..

colic>> so for all mums who used avent bottles, how u find it? any colic problems? din know bottle so impt!

<font color="ff0000">good morning mummies</font>

<font color="aa00aa">jess</font>,
kekeke... B Free become Born Free.

nah.. u r not silly lah... we are juz worried for our baby. tats normal to react this way.

<font color="0000ff">storeberry</font>,
congrats!! so far can see gender le. u muz be very happy!! kekeke... ur PIL knows le mah??

<font color="119911">mummies.</font>
now as we are preggy, do u still attending ppl's baby full month celebration &amp; wedding dnr??

Hi storeberry,

congrats!!...wah so fast can see the gender leh...i can only wait and wait....heeheee...think bb boys easier to identitfy hor because for the "thing" sticking out?..on the other hand if dun have means gal lor?

wahaahaaa...so exciting...
then u can start to shop for boy's stuff already.

Hi rachel mummy,

I will avoid wedding dinners and full month. Or rather my PILs would not let me go...heeheee..anyway those people will understand if u tell them...u have dinners/celebration coming up is it?

storeberry
vy happy for you lei, can see gender liao... congrats! i also can't wait to see...
nx sat will be my next check up... yeah

rachel's mummy - attending other baby's full montha and wedding etc.. really depends on what you or your family believe in or practices. We don't have any particular practice. but i do know of some friends who are very particular abt such things. For example, when i was preggy with my first baby and when my classmate gave birth, she told me specifically not to go visit her. said something abt her baby being able to see my unborn child, and her baby will end up crying, etc. But when she had her full month, she invited me and the old folks there said i should carry her baby.. for good luck. something along those lines. so.. it really depends. i haven't hear abt attending weddings though. someone care to share?

hi pinky_brain

just know that "red" and "White" occasions should not attend. Red can be wedding/celebrations and white can be funerals etc. But it depends on whether u pandang or not.

hi pinky brain,

heard from my auntie that going to full mth and wedding is fine but just dun go funneral and hospital and also visit friend in their confinement period. only can see them when the baby is full mth.

chris Lin - that's what i understood too.. can't visit a newborn during confinement period. But like what Diane said.. it all boils down to whether you're 'pantang'.. my sister is going to pop before me. a bit hard not to visit her at all considering that we're so close and we share all the baby stuff..

<font color="ff0000">diane</font>,
ya. i have a full month celebration coming this 29 march. is my niece. and a wedding in june, my cousin.

<font color="aa00aa">pinky_brain</font>,
oh no! i visited my cousin who juz came birth when i was 9 weeks preggy. i know as preggies, the old folks said cannot carry baby. coz it will cause either the baby pantang or ours pantang.

<font color="119911">wow like so many rules... hee nvm lah, bu zhi ze wu zui right ;P so normally u all go this kind of event will u consult in laws or parents b4 going?</font>

Good morning ladies

Janey, yup I went to Disneyland in Hong Kong.
In fact, my purpose was to go Disneyland then. I spent all my 3D2N there and stayed in Disneyland Hotel too. I guess I was lucky. There wasn't much queue during my trip. We all enjoyed ourselves extremely. My gal first knew how to say the words "Mouse" and "Duck Duck" there 'cos she was seeing Mickey and Donald almost all the time those 3 days haaa..

I did bring my pram along but actually no need 'cos can rent for free in Disneyland. I went out to Causeway Bay one night but didn't bring along my pram 'cos the path and MTR of Hong Kong is not very stroller friendly.

I think I read somewhere when I was researching for Japan Trip that there is a fees to rent pram at their Disneyland. So maybe you shd really bring your own pram.

Haaa.. mine is very heavy too! And I really dragged it all the way to Hong Kong. I'm also considering to get a light one for this Korea Trip but then my gal don't really enjoyed sitting in pram ler. But it would be useful when she needs to sleep. So still thinking about it.

When are you departing for Japan huh?

Storeberry, so happy for you! Wow, it is so good to know the gender so early.
Congrats!!!

Diane, I went home to check my triple test report. There was nothing else except DS test ler. And oh yes, now I check my gynae's information, she did mention OSCARS test. OSCARS test at week 11 to 14 can be done earlier whereas triple test only done at week 15 to 20. But OSCARS test cost 2 times more than triple test. I guess, I will be going for triple test like last round as my gynae said since I'm not yet 35, the risk is not as high.

Icylemon, regarding baby's full month and wedding. I agreed with the rest, it is depend on your family's belief. For me, I did attend my friend's baby 1st mth when I was pregnant with #1. I was told that I can't touch the baby if I am pregnant. So I just don't touch the baby lor. Just see see look look.

<font color="ff0000">diane</font>,
ya lor. both oso my cousins.

<font color="aa00aa">jasminetea</font>,
ya. i was told not to touch the baby too.

Icylemon: For wedding banquet, i will still attend. I rem i attended 2 or 3 when i was pregnant with my first one. As for baby full mth, i don't rem if i got attend onot.. But then it's still up to u whether u pangdang onot and also if ur parents/pil dun like u to attend then just listen to them lor.

<font color="119911">jasminetea>> who told u cannot touch the baby if u pregnant? and did u have to tell the mum of the child 1st that u pregnant? i mean how we know if the mum will mind not?</font>

Hi Juz Me,

A lot of people told me ler. My mum, MIL, colleagues also. Actually, I feel it is pan tang thing but since they said I guess just don't do it.

I attended my friend's baby's full month and my friend already knew I was pregnant when she invited me. I did ask her she mind I come or not. She said I'm crazy haaa.. So I went. Anyway, I was already 7 mths pregnant, very obvious can see already.

I guess, you will have to ask if the mum will mind or not. I knew some people are more pan tang. One of my friend don't allow us to visit her in hospital 'cos me and my another friend are pregnant. Since that is the case, we just don't go lor.

Hi Jasminetea,

thanks for the info!. Ya heard the OSCARS quite ex lor...abt $200+...NUH is cheaper at $198. But NUH is very far for me,...heeheee...think will just let my gynae take the test for me then. Some of my friends never take because they think at our age, the risk of DS is low. I also the same age as them...haahaa! But i kiasu...dun want to save the $$ and cause unneccesasry worries. So i will go for the test. heeheee...

<font color="119911">jasminetea>> okie coz for us now, we still early, not really announce to all yet. but i guess i should let my frend know 1st, see if she ok. thanks for the advice =)</font>

hi juz me ,

just double check with my aunt.

she say can go to full mth and wedding.
but no visit to hospital to visit friend just give birth and not to carry baby during the full mth.

it also depend on the baby mother whether they are patang anot.

also better not to carry if the baby patang,

they will cry at nite

wah just learnt that one of my gal friend knew the gender of her bb at 12 weeks wor...its a bb gal....! i hope can see mine at the next scan...

<font color="119911">thanks chris =) i best check wif my frend 1st then.

diane>> u how many weeks? wow girl oso can find out so early!! X-fingers for my next scan too =)

pandang>> juz curious, anyone buy anything for baby already? coz for most of us, not yet 1st trim over. supposed to start buying only after 1st trim ya?

Morning Mummies,

Dimpletots, Juz_Me, Jess, haha!! I guess I am too paranoid liao. Maybe heard too much abt what ppl saying like " my friend lost one of her twins during her 5th mth expectancy etc..." and I read from books about "vanishing" miscarriage... My hubby even says he wanted to burn the books away if I think so much. Maybe I just let things be bah... just wait patiently for Saturday to come and see my 2 little darlings.

Rei-chan, maybe u are right... drink after BF... but for my case, I got to pump every 3 hrs arbo, both breast engorge until can cook cold cabbage.. painful like mad. I ask hubby give me Yomeishu this rd.. DOM very hard to drink.

Rachel_Mummy, dun worry.. take small meals instead of big meals... I am taking 6 meals a day now. All small meals. If I take any big meals, will puke too.

Diane, yah, cordyceps are "dong Ceng Chao"... suppose to cook with fillet meat. I took it last once when I was 15 weeks. Complexion? I dunno wor, cos the medical shop ppl say it is good for heart.

think i will ask my cousin see if she is ok for me to attend her gal's full month or not.

but i heard some preggy mummies will kena "xiang chong".

see how lah.. maybe send her a gift or wat. i dun mind attending. but i dun like the old folks nag &amp; nag. esp my granny will be there.

<font color="119911">Diane>> is it possible to see a gynae not in NUH yet take the test in NUH? $200+ is charged by your gynae? or which hospital? thanks</font>

Hmm... I attended a friend's full month last weekend, and going for a church wedding this week, and have wedding dinners coming up in April, Jun, Aug and Sept!

I guess it depends on individual beliefs... and whether the other side minds. I will definitely go unless they voice objections. I will keep a lookout for other preggies at the wedding dinners!

think i will ask my cousin see if she is ok for me to attend her gal's full month or not.

but i heard some preggy mummies will kena "xiang chong".

see how lah.. maybe send her a gift or wat. i dun mind attending. but i dun like the old folks nag &amp; nag. esp my granny will be there.

during cny period, I went to pray tai-sui, the lady told me that i can't go to both red and white events, so i juz listen, I have already pushed away 1 full month invitation. But I went for my friend's 6-yr old daughter birthday party. keke.

Hi, I will also attend wedding &amp; full-mth celebrations unless they mind. I think it really depends on how close your frens are...

Thanks to all the mummies for your well-wishes! I am so glad that blood clot is gone, meaning that pregnancy is stabalise now. Dr still ask me to take it slowly at work.. I really want to know the gender so can plan for names &amp; clothes... :p

Diane: Think boy easier to see cos can see the "thing" sticking out. Kekeke..

Hi Juz me - i am currently abt 10 weeks...my fren so lucky hor..12 weeks can see already. so happy for her.

My fren's gynae is not from NUH leh...but he can refer her to NUH to do OSCARS leh..maybe u can check with ur gynae see whether he got this type of "lobang" or not lor...

Hi Juz me,

the $200+ is charged by my gynae...cant remember the exact cost...maybe its $230 or something. Nowadays i cannot seemed to remember anything except, sleep, pee and eat.

I think your doc sld be able to refer you to hospitals that offers OSCARS test. My gynae doesn't operate at TMC but she referred me there for my OSCARS test.

ya, this wkend hv church wedding, i also don't intend to go as i feeling tired always.

how's everyone today? raining again... just had fried mee hoon + papaya for lunch.. sure hungry later. lol

hey ladies

Anyone get woken up by intense hunger in the middle of the night? I've had this for the past 2 nites ... maybe its because I've been eating small meals daily and have no appetite.

For those with ms, you might want to try a sip or 2 with the Swepps Ginger Ale. It works for me.

Also, for baby cot bumpers, any experienced mummies here to recommend if it is needed? I read somewhere that it can cause SIDS (sudden infant death syndrome). Is it true? Bumpers make the cot look so nice, and prevents head bumps? So I think...

Hi guys, Isetan private sale on Thur 13 March hehe. those who are up to it can go. i dun thnk i am up to it.

me having spotting since last Wed. stopped on Fri. then sat i went for facial, got facial massage only, at night got spotting again. sunday kick a few light balls with my son, also got spotting. monday went to see gynae she checked and said got fresh bleeding inside me. put me on weekly jabs and increase my hormone pills dosage. quite worried now. put me on 5 days mc. but today back at work coz got meeting i need to attend and too late to find covering. tmlw onwards will stay at home and work from home. though i have spotting with my first child, it stopped imm after jabs. but this one didn't leh....quite worried. anyone has fresh bleeding? dark red...

<font color="0000ff">Pantang visiting</font>. i heard about this pantang thing about not visiting new born during pregnancy, and not attending weddings. i was super pantang during 1st pregnancy lah, and avoid such thigns. but my friend who not pantang at all, attended so many newborn and full mth and wedding, also delivered a healthy boy around same time as me. so it depends on u lah...

<font color="ff0000">breastfeeding</font>. i TBF for 15mths...and it was so so hard to wean off. i can't bear to...sigh... but its a valuable experience i really treasure. my boy is close to me and the bonding is unmeasurable. so mommies, you can do it. for my 2nd one, i will TBF longer i think...

<font color="0000ff">Table</font>. Juz me, just a tot. all the talk about sympthoms and eating meat and MS...gave me this idea. coz now i very obsessed with the idea of what sympthoms means girls and tot may be fun to see relation. so instead of putting the zodiac now in the table, how about add a column "pregnancy cravings (can add if same as prev pregnancy which is a boy etc)" and "pregnancy sympthoms (nausea, acid reflux, bloatedness etc)" then when 16 weeks come and gender start to be know, we can addd "Gender of baby" to see if there's a correlation??? so fun right? hehehehe! to start the ball rolling, if u are ok with it..for mine :

pregnancy cravings - strong flavoured food mee siam, lontong, nasi lemak. sweet food e.g. wan ton mee with black sauce, chee cheong fun with sweet sauce, bread with jam etc. kinda same as 1st preg.

pregnancy sympthoms - nausea but only vomit once. morning sickness throughout the day. bloatedness more than 1st preg.

eerrr..is it too long ah? heheheeee...

rei chan and mommies, thanks for replying on the tonic soup.

<font color="ff0000">Precious</font>, I had bad cough and fever during initial stage of pregnancy. it was terrible as cannot eat cough syrup and eat antibiotics. so can fully empathise with u.
i cough like wanna die middle of night. what makes it worse to bear was my previous flu lasted 2-3 mths in aug-Oct last yr, so i was soooo worried it will be as long. my gynae refused to give me any med. and my GP gave me some med supposedly safe for preg, but when i check internet and my gynae's reference book, it says avoid during 1st tri. i decided to see chinese phycisian, who is very specialised in chinese gynaecologist. but i wun recc her to you coz i know some ppl not receptive to chinese med. but what else i do is i take buffered vitamin C. recc by a gynae. u can get it from pharmacis. buffered meaning it is less acidic. suitable for preggies coz if u take normal citrus fruits and normal vit c, it creats more acid in ur tummy and makes ur MS worse. so buy only BUFFERED vit c. dun take citrus fruits if u coughin! it aggravates cough. avoid oranges, kiwi fruits. gargle a cup of salt water every night before u sleep and after u brush ur teeth. it helps with throat infection. leave the cup of salt water in ur bathroom to gargle every time u wake up middle of night. and take lotsa of warm water in the day. if ur cough is caused by post nasal drop from ur nose infection, it helps if u elevate ur pillow when u sleep, so the mucus dun drip to ur throat and cause u to cough more. hope you recover soon!

thanks mommies for ur replies on Tc Chang.