(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="119911">icylemon>> for oct oso taken up liao?!?!?! fainted... better step up my search. hey i found out there is a confinement hospice in singapore near kovan (near my place) http://www.muyingfuwu.com. any one know about it any comments??</font>

aiyo..this thread is moving so fast i cannot catch up liao..so many new mummies!

I am going for my scan this evening. Hope everything is fine for bb...
btw I am reading this book called" What to expect when you are expecting" ...seems like a really good book which can explains most of my doubts...
...u all may want to try and get one too. Its abt $20.00.

I din manage to sleep well these past few nights....always have active thoughts in my mind plus always get up to pee. Tired but cannot fall asleep easily. Anyone with the same signs?

RibenaLi: Personally i prefer Mt A to Mt E. First of all, I've heard not so good feedbacks on MT E service. I find Mt A service not bad. Another thing is Mt E is definitely going to cost more than Mt A! And then Mt E is at orchard rd, if u happen to deliver at peak hour then the traffic jialat liao. Just my personal view on the 2 hosps.

haha, lilybud, I also bought that book. but 2 weeks ago I oredi read till The Fifth Month. So i thot better stop otherwise later on nothing to read when i really get to the Fifth Month and beyond liao.

It's quite detailed, but think it keeps trying to be comforting - like everything also ok if you did it before knowing it was bad but now that you know just don't do it.

Last night i couldnt' really sleep after peeing cos kept burping. Realised I was hungry. so got up and drank some nestum. Didn't finish my dinner cos felt so bloated after eating half, then middle of the night tummy full of air sigh!

Juz Me, littlebluey, feel better that I am not the only one feeling so confused with my stomach. I am wondering when will I start to feel better and not so tired. I have history of gastric reflux and bloatedness, and now it seems worse.

CL>>> my friend giving birth in sept told me that if I need a CL, better book now coz her first choice was already taken up when she tried to book few weeks back.
But I have not decided if I should go back Spore for my delivery.

Can someone explain the oscar and nt huh? First time mum here abit blur. And I am a snake mummy.

<font color="119911">pinkimum>>can share who was ur frend's 1st choice and why?? haha so i can book her!! think ow still count quite early for us oct mums. but betetr be KS, since so many ppl out there KS oso! i think NT/oscars test for down syndrome, so recommended for older mums. but i dunno whats the diff. will ask gynae when next see her. anyone here can help?

ribena>> hey my gynae's package at Mt E seems comparable with Mt A leh (in fact a bit cheaper!!). i oso cannot believe it, but dunno if there's any 'hidden costs' not. and was quoted from 2006 prices. should have some change? but traffic may be an issue altho can abandon car and take public transport lor

what to expect when u are expecting>> ya i got this book oso. but i cannot see the part where ask us sleep on left leh. anyone enlighten where it is stated? thanks

~~Juz Me:thank you!didn't see it at all previously. don't know why turned stupid lately...also, gave the wrong info. in fact this is my 2nd baby.
~~Carole:I agree with u. better do what the dr asks. but my dr. seems v calm despite I had 2 miscarriages before. I was the one who actually asked for duphaston. I am also on Pregnacare multivit (suitable for thruout pregnancy &amp;even b4 &amp; 4 breastfeeding).My dr. said he never heard the brand br. but my gfs from UK swear by it &amp; sent them to me.

OSCAR NT~~: I don't know what is OSCAR but NT means nuchal transluceny scan which measures the baby's neck thickness. My dr. said can be done from wk 10 onwards till wk 12 and depending on position. I will have to see if BB cooperates. But knowing that I will keep the bb no matter what,I don't really mind if no OSCAR or NT at all....

rei-chan,

why dun u give your girl ester-C supplement? My 20m girl takes Ester-C supplement daily plus the korea ginseng powder I bought from my last korea holidays.

Diane, I also had not been sleeping well though I was very tired. So I thought its due to my afternoon nap. Yesterday I went out and did not nap, but at night still couldn't sleep, mind very active and alot of weird weird dreams. And never sleep through the night.

purebliss, chinese doc told me before about boiling ginger and red sugar water to drink when bloated or menses cramp. But I have tried tried since preggie.

Chris, where to get the device to listen to baby's heartbeat?

~~Juz Me: I think yogurt and vitagen are fine. I take them to help with my constipation and I heard live yogurt good for preventing yeast infection....

Chris,
OSCAR (One Stop Clinic fort Assessment of Risk) consist of the NT (nuchal translucency) scan and some blood test. The NT scan alone assess the risk of baby having Down Syndrome. I forgot what the blood tests are supposed to screen for. But because OSCAR tests for more stuff than NT, that's why it's more expensive. Your clinic should be able to provide you with more details.

Dimpletot,
We share the same problem. I've been burping like an Irish beer drinker and even my hubby is amazed by my burping abilities. I can eat 100ml of food, and burp up 200ml of gas, I think! hahahahahah Then when the burping stops, it's time to eat again!

Hi mspiggy,
Must be very excited? You could also go Taka baby fair since you are pop down Mt E.I always go Taka to buy the papa beard cream puff when go Taka. O no.... crave for cream puff now...

How many weeks old is your baby when u 1st visit your gyne? Don't want to go down too early as can't see anything and gynae will most probably give folic acid and currently still have alot on hand.

juz me, rachel's mum, I did not ask her which CL leh. She said will pass me the contact if I need. The one she managed to book cost $2k. Is that the market rate now huh?

Poohy,
Where to find the ester-C supplement?? I give my girl this cow colostrum powder with her food. Supposed to boost her immunity, but this past week, never give regularly cos rushing around.

rei-chan,

ohh heard about the childlife colostrum... not bad! I tried giving too but also not consistent. The ester-c is from vitakids... also can find from iherb etc.

rei-chan, during which weeks can the oscar test be done?

rachel's mum, what is the nerogain fish oil for? Currently, I am only taking folic acid and a multi-vit. Since i seldom eats fish here, am I supposed to supplement with the fish oil?

pinkimum,

in 2006 i manage to contact some CL asking ard 1.8K to 2.2K coz my 1st one the edd is near CNY.

i think the market rate still ard 1.8K

Pinkimum,
The OSCAR/NT scans are usually performed from 11 to 13 weeks + 6 days of pregnancy. Before 11 weeks the scan is technically difficult because the baby is so tiny and, after 14 weeks, excess NT fluid may be absorbed by the baby's developing lymphatic system.

Supplements: Once my family learnt about my pregnancy, my mum starts piling me with supplements, calcium lah, Phoschol (i have no idea wat this is) and so on. Brought everything to my gynae, and he told me to stop everything except folic acid and the pre-natal vitamin (obimin). Hahahahha... my mum so disappointed. I think better to let the gynae see and decide for you loh.

Hi mummies, wow the thread is moving at lightling speed!! Haha...

Yesterday woke up a few times last night to go toilet.. Hiaz... When will I get uninterrupted sleep?

Hazeline, I was there at about 730pm, gave me card &amp; left for dinner... Didn't see you... Ate the horrible beef hor fun &amp; vomit at the clinic.. Yucky!

<font color="119911">supplements>> wow i only taking folic acid leh... and lots of beef/meat haha coz craving. today had beef rendang rice. blur, u make me wanna eat the beard papa oso haha... ok when i visit my gynae at mt e i will buy ;P

CL>> i think the rate now seems just under $2k. like $1.8-$1.9++k thereabouts? seems better than just food not? since get someone to help out also. trick is finding a good one lor. hear so many complaints.

pinkimum>>pls do share with me your friend's 1st choice CL (and why) if u decide not to engage her yourself ;P thanks ya!

OSCAR>>heard there's some risk to the baby is it har? no risk i dun mind take.got risk i wil think twice liao.

joyousmumsy, icylemon>> okie thanks for the tip =) will try sleep on my left more and continue my vitagen =)

Rei-chan - yah! so gross and unladylike - burp and burp in office too.

Pinkimum - i think the market rate is about $2k. Apparently the Singaporean CLs ask for more. I heard something funny from my friend - she said that the really good CLs, you must book one year in advance. That's right - even before you conceive! So when you TTC can start booking liao, then once BFP then can 'activate'. But of course I don't think there are that many CLs who are so nice to let you book like that.

Mmm... i ate nice shui jiao mian just now. very full.... but still bought soy bean milk and snacks for later hee.

Can I join? I just saw my baby on scan yesterday and am 6wk today. EDD is prob 31 Oct or 1 Nov.

I hv been having very clear dreams these days and yesterday I even dreamt that I am having a baby girl with eyelids like hubby and big eyes like me! ANyone having dreams too?

Hi.

I'm from Jan 2008 MTB thread.

I have a small tube of Medela PureLan 100 nipple cream for sale. Still have more than 80% left. Bought at $9.10. Now selling at $6 plus 6 pcs of Avent breast pads FREE! Payment by bank transfer &amp; postage will be at $0.80.

Interested party pls PM me.

Hi Ruffles,

My hubby was dreaming a little boy waving at him before i know i was expecting (1st child) and i delivered a baby girl last year. This time, no dream so far. ;-)

Aiyo, last night i had a terrible experience. had crystal jade's duck noodles taopao home to eat. bloated till 11pm++ and dizzy. very jia lat.
But thank God, am fine liao. Now super tired &amp; bloated after lunch. Guess after dinner, can't go sleep, must rest for digestion else bloated. LOL

<font color="ff6000">Wow Jess, you delivered last year and expecting again this year? Your kids very close age gap...

Hi Ruffles, welcome! No specific baby dreams. even before getting preggie, I already dreamt vividly every night. So tiring man.

Thanks for the info on CL.
juz me, will let you know if I am not taking the CL. Anyway, my friend did not used the CL before, its just through recommendation also.

I took abit of macaroni just now, left some to eat later. Hopefully will not feel so bloated, taking smaller meals. I don't seem to have much appetite, and no cravings at all. I just eat because I need to...

Hi Ruffles, I also remember my dreams vividly. Last night I dreamt that I was rushing to the airport and there was a massive jam. hehe.... No dreams about kidos...

<font face="tahoma"> Hi blur_p,
I went to visit my gynae at 6w2d (supposed to be 7weeks based on my LMP) but somehow due to late ovulation etc scan showed that i was only 6w2d then. i could see and hear bb's heartbeat then

gynae asked me to go back in 3 weeks' time (today) instead of usual 4 weeks becoz i had a m/c last Jun. </font>

haha....i delivered in march 2007 and stopped bf around december 2007 then start planning for 2nd one as my mum said she still young can help me to take care...so ask me to continue...

Seems like I am the only one dreaming

Have you all booked your CL? I am not sure which CL from my friends' recommendation to choose from. How do you all make your decision? I want someone who can cook well, pro-breastfeeding, and sensitive enough not to barge into my room ...

<font color="ff6000">yah... i also think easier to one time go for it. initially i thot 4 year age gap is nice, but then the more i think about it, maybe after the first one, i just work a while, get the maternity leave and have the second one and can quit work forever! but dunno whether when the time really comes i can give up the income... esp when two kids incur more expenses than just one!</font>

Haha, you guys so fast dream of baby already hah. My dreams so far are peeing dreams. Going toilet lah, looking for toilet lah..etc. I think eventually I will be too tired to actually wake up to go toilet and end up peeing in bed. Wahhahahahahaha

Hey, I'm serious leh. Hope I'm not the only one here having this kind of dreams though. hahahaha Imagine one morning my hubby woke up in a wet bed. Yeee......

<font color="119911">me three... i actually took cat nap in office leh! haha shhh.. i really jia lat, tuesday took leave, ytd took half day, today still tired and slacking...fainted</font>

The morning before I tested positive, hubby woke up and tell me I'm preg cos he dreamt that we had a boy...straight after I went to test and saw a faint positive...my menses was suppose to due on the same day I tested...hee...

<font color="0000ff">Hi Ladies...

Elch..it seems like your DH oso had the prediction hee..so most prob u will be carrying a boy?? hee hee...

Oh dear, my eyes are getting heavier by the min</font>

Rachel's mummy - I took neurogain fish oil during my last tri during my first preg. My gynae didnt give me cuz she didnt believe in unnec supplements, so all she gives me r v basic, 1st tri - folic &amp; vit b, after that - only calcium and iron all the way to delivery. But my friend said neurogain was gd for baby's brain development and asked me to take, so i bought lor. She said she started taking fr 1st tri so i think can start earlier. I havent started yet this time, but thinking of starting..

Jess - Our first baby same age. Mine born in Jul 07! So good, your mom so energetic leh. My mom asked me to consider getting a maid to help her after my 2nd one comes out...

kimberly,
i m having folic &amp; calcium pill now only. gyne didnt give me vit pill.

i m taking nerogain fish oil myself too. got it from pharmacy.

my mum oso keep asking me to get a maid to help her. but i have heard too much of the scary maids stories.

<font color="119911">kimberly and blur>>what pills Dolly put you on? folic acid and some pink pills right?what type of vit b is it?

icylemon>>i asked this earlier, one of the mtbs say is ok =) u prefer yakult to vitagen? vitagen got less sugar version leh.