(2008/10) Oct 2008

RibenaLi.. thanx for the link.. so i should be abt 6 weeks now lehz.. strange how come still cannot see anything cos when i was preggie with my first child, we could see the sac on week 5 or 6...

emma: each pregnancy is different.. thus dun worry. just wait for ur next scan!

Emma: According to my calculation, my bb should be 6 weeks old now but Dr says its 8 weeks old. Think it is measured by the size of the sac and the growth of the foetus for the Dr to determine the no. of weeks.

hi millie,

I also ate orange during my 1st pregnancy, i think one a day ba. so far no problem for me and my daughter now. But according to old ppls, orange is cooling stuff - eat alot will create pheglm for yourself or your little one.

I think one a day shld be ok. Moderate ba...

like i curve for pepsi / coke during my 1st pregnancy, maybe due to the "heart" and i drank once a week. So far ok. ;-)

<font color="ff6000">my favourite new hot drink is Horlicks.
No caffine, got malt barley... hopefully it's an 'approved' drink.

brings back nice memories too cos i used to drink it every morning before going to school haha.</font>

littleger/Ribena.. thanx.. i guess i can only wait patiently for the next scan.. 2 weeks more.. such an agonizing wait! hehe

Hi porky

The third blood test, the blood level went up but cannot see the sac. Dr Adrian told me the sac is still not healthy and ask me to go TMC for scan this morning.

But I went for second opinion with my first gynae that delivered my first child. He told me more detail. And even told me that I might have a sac outside the womb. So I will go TMC tmr for the scan and wait for the result, prepare for the worst, I might need to operate to take out the sac if it is outside the womb rather then D &amp; C.

Sign....

lili_fc, it's like those sleep bras like that; short singlet with elastic under the breasts. i think they should be more comfortable than wearing a normal bra ba. i'm using a bra extension now but even then i still feel suffocated and can't wait to get home and get out of my bra!

dimpletot, i've seen them in the lingerie dept before. under the brand jockey i think. i'm going to look soon too.

hi cally, sorry to hear that...so tmr u will be gg to TMC for the scan ? i also will be there to do my D&amp;C...wondering if we can see each other there...my appt is 7.30am take care and rest well tonight alto i know it might be another sleepless night...

Hi Porky

I will do a scaning first, so i will be there about 8.30am.

After the scaning result ,then will know either need to do a D&amp;C or operation.

Hope everything is fine.

Do take care too.

hi cally, oic...so on the spot Dr Adrian will tell u need to do D&amp;C or operation ?

storeberry, i heard ppl say is symthoms or MS getting worse is good. cos that means bb is progressing well. if symthoms suddenly reduce, then must be worried liao. take care and hang on ya ! i have confident that u can carry ur bb till full term.

Hi Porky,
I dun think Dr Adrian will be the one as I dun really feel comfortable with him lor.

I had opt for my first gynae to do the operation if had to.

tks

hi porky, bunnyhop,

thanks for the concern, Dr Adrian didnt gave me any med, but gave me MC to rest at hm. Last nite i had very bad gastric. couldnt eat dinner but felt v hungry. eventually vomitted but felt much better aft that. i noticed that i usually get very bloated and bad gastric pain during evening onwards, i wonder y...i dun hv any more brown spotting, i've stopped taking the hormones pills, cause its making me nauesous and i really hate that.

<font color="aa00aa">hi everafter, ya, i get that from the hormone pills too but Dr. ong told me not to stop. Rather, he gave me the green light to drop down to 2 tablets a day instead of 3. Also gave me some med for the gastric. it is helping me a bit. but i dun have nauseousness though, just that my gastric pulls are very very bad. check with your doc if he can give you something for the pulls and if you should continue with the hormone pills... Hang in there.

Morning all...

everafter...I've got a history of gastric but tis 2 yrs I've recovered fr it until these few days...tend to have gastric pains in the evening after dinner...but luckily it's jus a short bout of pain n it will jus go off miraculously...

Hi Cally,

I m shocked when i saw ur posting. and kind of worries. Please update us after your scan today. My last scan also cant see the sac and i m worried also. I think i will go down to see Dr Adrian later instead of tomorrow.

Regarding Dr Adrian, he is kind of person that wun take the initiative to tell you details unless you ask.

hi MTBs,

does anyone of you feel any cramping currently? I felt cramping when i was in my 5th - 6th week. Then now cannot feel anything anymore...so i dun know whether it is good or bad. Am in my 7th week now.

Diane...I feel cramping last wk n beginning of tis wk but since yest or so the cramping has become seemingly lesser....fyi...I'm only in my 4.4wks tdy...

<font color="ff6000">Hi Cally, do take care... all the best for today...

Hi Diane, i think mild cramping throughout is expected, and nothing to worry about. it's almost like for the whole of first tri we are permanently in the 1 week before menses, having bloated stomach and cramps. But severe cramping is not a good sign.

So if you don't have cramps, give thanks! It's not a bad thing!

Hi Diane,
Me too le. But I keep having tummy ache instead.Let's pray that the embryo will develop properly &amp; healthily. Can't wait to see the foetus ...

i keep burping! I guess it's a form of nausea. cos when i burp i feel like it's a mild form of MS.

I have a sudden craving for curry puff. heh heh, going to buy now.

has anyone tried drinking ginger tea?

Or the red dates with Dan Sheng(herbs) boils with water?

My mom keep telling me the latter is good for pregnant lady. I doubted her, but when I ask the medical shop assistance she says it's true. anyone tried??

Good morning,

Cally, please take care.

Diane, for me is I just experienced some mild cramping this morning. I'm also in my 7 weeks. I think the cramp will come on and off is normal but if you worry, do give your gynae a call.

CH Lee, I also burp a lot esp after a meal.

<font color="119911">Porky and Cally>> sorry to hear the sad news
pls take care and recover well. hope to see you join us soon ya =)

storeberry>> wah 11 weeks still nauseous ah?? hai i was hoping past 8 weeks it'll get better. but so far i still manage to keep my food down. just a bit nauseous. do take care.

Millie>> i taking orange also leh. i thot is good. only mandarin oranges not so good. that one dun take so much.

elchwong, diane>> ya cramping only at start. i oso no cramping le

hey i got no noticable change in breast size leh...faint... is that normal??

and i heard that iron pills affect digestion leh. so those having bad MS/bloating or appetite may wanna ask ur doc about lowering or eliminating iron from ur supplement?

<font color="ff6000">I burp on empty stomach (no food = more air?), burp slightly less after eating.... i think those sitting around my cubicle think i'm gross. haha.

I've also been drinking orange juice. think i eat too little fruit, so figured florida natural orange juice might be good way of getting required vitamins etc.

Juz Me - maybe you're already quite well endowed so increase not noticeable? hee hee. </font>

hope cally's scan this morning is a positive one.

dimpletot, i'm very envious that you can still eat curry puffs! i stopped eating spicy stuff a few weeks ago when the ms started. really, really miss my appetite.

thanks for sharing your experiences with me...heehee...hey btw i have been burping all the time too!...gosh...and especially after i ate the DHA pills, even worse coz got the fish smell...so far i managed to keep my food in my stomach too...even though certain times i will really feel nauseous and feel like the food has reached my windpipe kind of feeling...

btw can share with me your weight and height...i am afraid i am putting on too much weight too soon elh...i am 1.58cm...and now weigh 55kg...2 mths ago...i was abt 52kg...i dun know whether it is water retention or because of the food that i eat lor...i too have a lot of cravings!

btw my gyane told me the worse we feel, the better it is for the bb.... i feel nauseous and very tired but i am not like some of my friends who puke and puke and felt realy really terrible...so i wonder if the saying is true?.

<font color="119911">jlow> personally i think stay off herbs 1st trimester leh. coz not so stable yet mah. wanna take anything, best after 12th week? not sure oso

CH Lee>> reverse, mine very very small hahah mabbe grow liao oso no visible change ;P

Diane>> if i'm not wrong, shouldn't gain much in 1st trimester leh. on average is 1kg per month, but most will come in in 2nd trimester. for me, also nausea only, havent thrown up. but i heard very bad MS cases have higher tendency to be gals...mabbe u can observe see if true ;)

<font color="ff6000">i think different people just have different genetic make ups... like before getting pregnant, some have worse cramps than others.

think feeling tired is cos a LOT of energy is taken up into growing the baby. apparently a pregnant women at rest is exerting more energy than a non-pregnant woman climbing a mountain!!

not sure whether the worse we feel is better for baby. some women just don't get MS but their babies are also growing well...

yah i feel better after eating the old chang kee pepper O. a few days ago also suddenly v hungry around 10:30am and just felt like curry puff dunno why. i need chili in my food leh, otherwise all very tasteless.... even though sometimes feel nauseous, still can take a bit of chili esp for soup noodles.

according to the gynae i visited, it's normal in first trimester NOT to put on weight! i also put on about 1.5 kg already... cos the baby is only 3mm in 6 weeks and the water sac is tiny too, so really the baby doesn't account for much! But other books say that for first tri it's ok to put on 2kg. But i guess we don't have to deliberately eat more to put on weight cos at this point the baby doesn't really need more 'bulk' of food.

sorry very cheong hei hor....</font>

Hi Juz me,
I shall observe if it is true then! but now can only wait until the detail scan then can know the gender...

Hi dimpletot

I also need chili in my food....and got craving for tom yam especially..then my MIL kept saying cannot eat so heaty food wait baby has a lot of "eye shit"...heeheee...so funny

Hi CH Lee,

I also craved for curry puff! And was alredi hungry at 10+am. Haha..pregnancy is a gd excuse to eat more without feeling guilty =p

Anyone heard of food cravings to guess the gender of ur bb? My mum told me that she must eat a curry puff everyday (those triangle type from Indian stall) when she was carrying me. And she switched to eating sweets when she was carrying my brother. If this time round, mine is a girl, wld be gd. But if boy again, im fine too

Diane
I love chilli too.. When I order noodle I add alot of red chilli.
My mum says eat too much chilli bb will have spots like me. Because when my mum has me she ate alot of chilli too. No sure if it's true. But I have never cut down but increase in spiciness..

i would like a ger!!!!

yesterday i was shopping for clothes for my friend's baby boy, and there are so many more varieties of pretty girl clothes than boy's!

walau, pepper O and tom yam some more. i'm like eating sick people's food now. porridge or v dry sandwiches only. chinese food is almost totally out cos of the garlic and onions. last night, i had a half a whopper (no pickles/onions) and it's considered a feast liao.

really miss my spicy korean soup. still got half a box of the chilli paste in my fridge but won't be able to make it till later. i used to love spicy stuff also but life is really boring now.

<font color="119911">hey how come cannot eat spicy thing meh? i still eat my noodles wif chilli leh...?i thot only cannot have blachan (coz dirty) still eating kfc, chocs etc haha... horrible.

Jlow>> i really not sure leh. any reason must take now? if not, mabbe safer to wait til 2nd trimester? but if u feel like taking mabbe can ask gynae?

hi jlow, i read somewhere that belachan is one of the most unhealthy food around but i don't think anyone has suffered from eating it. can eat in moderation ba, i think. sambal belachan must be one of the tastiest things around!