(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning mummiesc

anyone knows how long we can keep formula milk? Eg. I make already then bb goes back to sleep before drinking or drink halfway then sleep. Can keep for 2 hrs till next feed?

Hi Prinzton! I am using a Medela PIS and loved it compared to my earlier manual pump. My friend bought a secondhand one from online forums, so I guess you can keep a lookout on the Want to Sell thread.

Good morn!
My CL called me yesterday to check how bb now. So nice of her to call even in KL now. She gave angpao to my bb on last day when we drop her at train station to catch train to KL. She coming in this wk to singapore to work again.

joanne
So far only visited twice to dr edmund clinic, cant comment if he is good. He is near to my home so this is good enough. Money not an issue, so long bb is well taken care. So cant comment if he charged exp. Think PD sure exp compare to normal polyclinic.

<font color="0077aa">hi mummies

my naughty girl start to be alert at night.. 3night liao only can sleep 2hr. her eyes is big big after finish her milk
day time then sleep so sweet... sigh!!

diane ,
ok got it thanks!

Bbgoh,
heh heh, now my kate swop with yrs. Sleeping well after most feeds. Last night feed and sleep, feed and sleep. Phew.

Lili ,
wah, yr cl so nice, u must have given her huge ang pow too huh? Wink.

<font color="ff0000">Update for dreamyjo</font>
She smsed that she had given birth last nite in TMC at 11.20pm via e-Csect. Had epidural and her bb boy Kayden weighs a good 3.25kg and is 52cm long :)

She thanks everyone for their prayers and concerns.

Congrats to dreamyjo, finally given birth and have her bb boy in her arms.

Jen>> yes i think so. but best is ask ur PD again in your next visit. meanwhile monitor and see if happens often? to see baby gain weight not, weigh baby lor. we will carry baby and weigh then minus away our own weight. baby should gain about min 100g/week if i'm not wrong, and be pooping and peeing well.

Jenny>> ya we try spoon before and it spills all over the place when baby is crying and struggling. nightmare... anyway we found that baby usually refuses bottle at night; but day time ok. so we think night time she more fussy. gonna stick to breast in the night and day time transition to bottle first. once she more used to it then intro bottle at night. X-fingers...

bbgoh>> wah my sympathies!!my baby oso went through that, then we try to keep her awake in the day, so night time she be more tired. limited success. last night still woke about every 2 hours, then from 3+am feed, dun wanna sleep. i had to carry her until i oso fell asleep with her sleeping on my chest.
hopefully it won't be a habit! so tiring!

dimpletot>> if i'm not wrong, formula mix liao can keep a while leh. so long as baby haven't drink yet. can keep 24 hours max. but think must put in fridge. mabbe u can google it. but once baby drink liao, must finish within an hour. something about being exposed to bacteria

congrats to dreamyjo, and wecome kayden

hey enya, i transferred liao, pls check your email
pls keep me updated once the bags are mailed out k? now start formula, must pump out liao
i hope my supply can be maintained and won't drop leh

<font color="0077aa">juz us

my girl yst also keep awake at 4 after feed, so hard to keep her awake in a day, she can just sleep &amp; bor chap how u ga jiao her de..

<font color="aa00aa">Dreamyjo

bbgoh
Your gal has slept too much in the daytime le so come to night time, she is full of energy lor!

Last night I was super tired and I missed out one pumping section this morning again
! Already set alarm but it is either the alarm din work or I couldnt hear the alarm. If this continues, my milk ss sure going to further reduce le. Recently my milk ss already not too good. I think must be bcos my body lack of rest hence not able to function well.
Btw, I thought my menses has finished 2 days ago but this morning come back again. My whole body system like upside down le! Help!!!</font>

<font color="0077aa">mummies

my girl recently keep vomit milk
she chg a lot after had full mth party.. night feeding, vomiting, sleep while drink half way which is all nvr happen b4
wondering wat happen to her, queit worry but she look everything okie so i keep tell myself she is fine
vomitting is it bcoz of i nvr do 'burp' well after feed? sometime i just lazy do abt 5min watever got burp or not then put her on bed le
is it a MUST pat till they burp? </font>

bbgoh, my boy also keep vomit! He doesnt like to be burp, will always struggle when we sit him upright for burping. Then he will vomit straight away lor..sigh~ sometimes he burped twice liao, but later on still vomit!!

<font color="aa00aa">bbgph
Yesterday, Wenmin also vomitted twice. I guess bcos I din burp her well cos when I was feeding her, wenxuan was crying for his milk too. Hence I only burp her for a while (normally she takes her own sweet time to burp) and put her back to her rocker and go prepare milk for wenxuan. Should be ok lah. Monitor the situation and see how it goes.</font>

Mousebb, u muz b tire out taking care of 2 kids lah...so far i hardly wake up to express as i also cant hear the alarm clock!! But now get to express in the middle of the night as need to feed bryan. But then i will missed the morn pump after that! hahaha

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
Nowadays, I let wenmin's head rest on my shoulder when I burp her. I think she is more comfortable in this position. You may like to try this position for Bryan.</font>

everafter,
I havent open tat acc yet. My hubby lah, ask him to photocopy my ic, he took years to do it. He everytime forget, he only remember when he reach home at nite.

Diane,
I gotten the bundle set- Blue.wat abt u?

Congrats dreamyjo!! do upload ur bb's pic!!

We mummies are very cham! I always struggle to get out from my bed to express milk. But I also feel bad when I miss out a pumping section. Yesterday my 2 kids were so naughty, both refused to sleep and gave me a tough time. </font>

I will put a small towel or a cloth diaper on my shoulder just in case wenmin vomit on me. </font>

<font color="0077aa">mousebb
u r more xin ku handle 2 at the same time huh
i also often try this position but when she press my boobs then ll leak out haha, so i avoid this position liao

everafter
yah they like to struggle loh very tao yan, rite?

mummies.. thk soon my milk ll dry le.. recently the pumping section drag fr 3hr to 4hr still get same amt only, sometime at night lazy to pump after feed also wont get engorge anymore </font>

Mousebb, u dun latch wenmin hor? I was thinking if we want to go out how? Bring the EBM out still need to bring hot and cold water out. But the main prob is, if engorgement HOW??

everafter,
Like mousebb, I also put Regina on my shoulder to burp her. She only struggles when my hubby puts her over his shoulder. Then he will tell her to stop doing the worm dance. Haha!

Precious,
Thanks for the number. Will call now. Kekeke!

<font color="aa00aa">bbgoh, everafter
In order to make sure that wenmin can breathe properly, I let her chin rested on my shoulder so that I wont block her nose. She doesnt struggle when I burp her in this position.

everafter
I dont latch wenmin. Whenever we go out, I will prepare fm for her and put the bottle in a thermal bag which can keep the milk warm for a few hours. I never brought ebm out cos it is more troublesome cos like what you said, need to bring hot and cold water out.
Till now, I dont have any engorgement leh. Even this morning when I woke up at 5.15am (supposed to wake up at around 1am), I din have engorgement too. My breasts were super hard and heavy. After I pumped out all the milk, I felt so relieved. Usually I only pump for 10-15mins but this morning I pumped for half an hours to empty the milk in both breasts. </font>

Seems like all of us are facing the same issues on burping.

My bb also dun like to sit upright to be burp, I always have to put him against my chest and he always vomit into my clothes... esp he like to struggle when I burp him. Then sure will vomit some out.

I thinking the burping help, now I tried to burp him myself and I dun feed him with ebm, the vomitting is not so bad. But when the CL feed him with fm, after that the vomit is also cakey. I realised once bb burp, the CL like to put him down immediately. I think it does help even when bb burp liao, we still pat him for a while upright b4 putting him down.

<font face="tahoma">mousebb,
once i know she had jaundice on day 4, i didnt take any DOM or ginger already. i also wondering why...

dimpletot
O yes, i gave her $218 cos she is really good.

BB Vomit
Baby not burp enough. Heard from my PD that bb have to burp after every feed else will feel bloated or and even vomit.

My CL taught me if bb dun burp but fall asleep, let her sleep. If heard her cried, quickly carry her, and she will burp. It happen times for my bb. Try it out.

Bfeeding
Is it a Must To feed bb at least 6mth? Was thinking only to 3mth

So i guess all babies dun like to sit upright for burping! Mousebb, when wenmin rest her chin our your shoulder, her face is facing sideway right?? guess i will try to burp Bryan on my shoulder also

<font color="aa00aa">lili
re:Bfeeding
It is not a MUST to bfeed bb for at least 6 months but it will be good if you can bfeed your gal for as long as possible. I stopped wenxuan at 4.5mths when I went back to work. It is your personal preference.</font>

It depends. Sometimes she is facing sideway and sometimes she will just look straight.
I guess most babies dont like to sit upright for burping is bcos their necks are still not strong and firm yet hence it is not comfy for them.

Mspiggy
Dont worry if PD says it is ok. </font>

My CL just left. I cried and she cried. Boohoo! My bb slept through the farewell. My hubby drove her to the MRT station. So sad to see her leave. Sobz!

Precious,
Called Mr Chua le. He's very helpful indeed. Rui xin is rui hin. But we are thinking of making the spelling unique like ray hymn. Heehee!

<font color="aa00aa">LittleAlmond
I'm still swaddling wenmin with her hands free. She feels more secured when we swaddled her.</font>

<font color="0077aa">mummies
normally how u do burp ur baby? pat up or down?
i used to pat down ler, is it correct? </font>

<font color="0077aa">mousebb
swaddling they wont easy to get scare, is it? i find my girl easy to get frighten as i nvr swaddle her since bk from hospital. how u swaddle wenmin with hand free? wrap from armpit there huh?

bbgoh, I pat upwards but sometimes just pat.

Does any mummies give bb Ba Bao San or Jin Feng San? Just now my CL told me to give some to bb cos he always gets a fright in his sleep then he will keep jerking.

littlealmond,
I put the beansprout pillow on bb's tummy when she sleeps so that she won't get a fright.

If your bb too warm, then dun swaddle. I only swaddle her at night. Day time just wear long cotton pants can le.

<font color="aa00aa">bbgoh
I pat upawards. I was told swaddling the bb will make bb feel more secured, maybe like what you said, wont easily get scared. I swaddle wenmin (wrap from armpits) with the kiddopotamus SwaddleMe. She likes the material.

LittleAlmond
During day time cos I worry she feel warm, so I swaddle her hands free with the cloth diaper.</font>

Mint,

Mr Chua is really helpful. He also gave me a few options for my son's name.

I check with PD before, pat upwards or downwards are both fine. I've already started giving my bb Bo Ying Compound from Eu Yan Sang as he always get a fright and it helps bb to sleep well. I've also gave him the Gripe Water (Fei Zhai Shui) as it helps to remove wind from his stomach.

My mil always swaddle my son with the arms all wrapped. Though I feel that its very warm for him but she claimed bb like to be warm and with arms free, they'll still get frighten easily. I just follow her instructions and relieve him when i change his diapers.