(2008/10) Oct 2008

juz us.. how come jaundice muz drink FM??? ur diet alot of ginger?? and FM dispenser no need to sterilise... but try to keep dry at all times.. other than when washing of cos..

Rebecca, I think that is engorgement. I experience that blue black feeling 2 and once I pump the milk out, I feel better. But I dun have this feeling everyday.

Lili, is the clinic at the Central Plaza? How u find the doc? Is his fees expensive?

rebecca, i also have the same feeling.. but havent been monitoring it. not sure if it goes off after i pump, coz after that my nipple feels tender then i forget abt the other brusied feeling. ;p

Enya, u are my idol! u can do so much things alone.

Now I think I'll have to eat 'air' when the CL leave cos no one to cook for me and I cun cook.

Trace
Hi your arielle is really cute!!!
Ok about Dr Sim, yes he is at Elias Mall - Pasir ris Baby and child. Hmm.. his jab price are inclusive of consultation so he dun charge another consultation unilke other clinics which I like cos it's cheaper. He does the routine check for baby during jab.
To be frank at first I dun like him.. maybe I have seen Dr Terence Tan from Mt A and as compared Dr SIm is so much more ermm... unfriendly and a bit inpatient. But my hb think he is ok straight to the point.
Dr Sim dun really voluntar to tell parents things too.. so if u go see him, prepare your questions to ask him..hehe...

ANyway there was a time I decided not to see him and went to kids clinic at seng kang. PD there is good and friend but the q is long and far from my place.
Finally my friend told me Dr Sim is his ex-classmate in medicine study and share with me Dr Sim is fine..I give it another try to see Dr SIm and he is better now..hee..

PM me if u wanna know more..I cannot remember his 6in1 charge how much but he dun have package and his price tho without package I think it's ok.
Pneumococcol jab is $166/jab (inclusive of consultation and fever med).I will bring my gal there this time too.

Enya
u are indeed very steady.. good thing u take it easy...possible to get PT cleaner to come in once a week to relieve you?
Ironing can ask your hb to help? I guess most should be his business shirt

Hang in there.

Re: Handling bb alone
I know some of you are worried once CL leave what happen? Dun worry really... things will fall into place.
I remember when I had my #1, it was tough ride with my MIL, we clash in many ways handling bb. she does my confinement and during confinement I din even bathe my gal but I hang around to watch.
Right after confinement.. my MIL told me she gng home to take medicine. I would think she will be back after a day.. but she MIA for 2 weeks din call , din turn up, no news at all. I was strong headed, I never call her up to check too and I managed bb on my own.
I was tired and dun even have time to pump but I have special bonding with my bb lo...
after 2 weeks.. my MIL called and ask in a smug way : " how ah.. can you cope?" I was proud to tell her, I'm doing fine and I can cope very well ( even tho I'm tired la).
And this experience really make me a "real mum" kekek and I know when comes to bb, I cannot rely on others but try to do things myself for bb.
p/s: I dun cook either.. SO I sling my bb downstairs to buy lunch and dinner hb will buy back

little almond
your colleague strange le.. if they are unavailable what make them think u are available? U are also unavailable.
I think colleague always THINK Maternity Leave is like holiday for us...
My colleague will say like wow u can rest for 4 mths.. but I always tell them.. taking care of babies are hard work.. even harder than in office..kekeke

<font color="#5E5A80"> Almond &amp; essanna,
but engorgement i know the feelin. i tink is my #2 la.. ytd she use her head to gve me a 'head' shot on my engorgement breast!!! and the feelin is OUCH!!!!!!! den aft that, the pain come liao.. haiz...

my c l left just as obama swept to victory today...

sad to see her go but never cry lah. My kate slept thru the farewell. So now it's just me, my mum and baby! Good luck to us!! Hee. very blessed that my mum is helping so I can pump etc. Must be less impatient with her... But sometimes I just can't help it!

Btw, how do mummies who latch deal with the other dripping nipple? Hold a bra cup with pad to stop the flow? Use lilypadz? Or just use tissue to blot? Dunno which is best... They should invent sth to catch the drops!

Looks like gonna rain...

Like to join in this thread. Delivered my second boy on 31.10.08! Intially was in the Dec thread but this kan chiong BB rush out for the Haloween Party!

End up had an E C section.

I have yet to purchase a pump. Any feedback on Medela PIS? Where can i get a cheaper one? I dont mind a re-loved item.

Tks for the help!

princessemma>> dunno, they say might be breastmilk jaundice? today i try expressing, cozbby drink formula. only 60+ml from both boob leh
so sad. very scared she go on formula liao i will lose my milk supply..sigh

dimpletot, usually i just use the disposable breast pad and sort of press on the other nipple to stop the flow. or if i am organised enough, use my AVENT breast shell to collect the milk!

Trace, Arielle alot of hair. Jealous.
Marcus very little hair. and seems like dropping somemore. Sigh... any of ur babies start dropping hair liao?

My right breast always leak. Got to change the breast pad like every few hours. The left side ok, whole day also nothing. But when i pump, left side got more. Diao!!!

allo mommies,

my CL got turned back at customs checkpoint (Singapore side), she'ld only be able to come back in Dec .. and hopefully to return us the money we gave her in advance. This whole two week go back stamp passport thing wasn't the biggest shocker, i mean if your immigration history details many entries and exits and you carry many bags of confinement herbs and all through to SG, sooner or later you'ld be questioned. It's a no brainer.. but i was soo tired especially during the weekend when we were hastily packing everything up to move to in-law's place because my mom still works and nobody will be home to help me.

Surprisingly, my mil is a big help. She took over nightcare and my hb takes the last feed by making a bottle of friso. The rest of the morning is ebm and i collect her at ard 7ish a.m. for her first morning feed. So far, a routine has been worked out and i feel more at peace.

P.S. Never knew baby clothes were so painful to wash, want to scrub like also too small to scrub the material against each other then when i hang the day's onesies, cloth nappies, hankies, tops and bottoms up, i feel like i'm a washerwoman for small small world.

I miss my mother terribly because i'm a self confessed mommy's girl and she misses (not me) but her granddaughter, Previously even after i got married i still commuted between mom's and in-laws.. somehow this move with baby definitely feels permanent. At least neither of us are overseas. We did have a good cry the day i moved though but the move gave me better rest. dunno i think it's because my mil is family and the CL is not.

I miss the CL's soups and dishes though... sigh.

tweety,
i'm bringing the lil girl in for her 6 in 1 when she's 6 weeks old.

cookie,
what sling are you using? i scared buy already, she too heavy, waste money.

Xinying,

abby also started shedding hair liao.. i'm not worried, i've always liked baldies. kekeek

issit true but the babies with less hair, the soft area inbetween the fontanels sometimes can see the brain throbbing from outside?

if you're bringing baby into the clinic, pls walk around outside. yes outside hotter, inside air con but inside also has more germs and sick adults. yesterday went down to check out the mystery insect bite on baby's bottom (turned out to be bcg scar .. lost 50 dollars to my husband as a result of the bet) now i'm having the sniffles because got lots of hacking,. coughing and sneezing adults (luckily baby is fine).. i remmeber lilbluey asking about this one, safe to breastfeed if you've got the flu? i had this sngaporean kiasi image in my head - think me in sars mask breastfeeding baby and caption title: breastfeeding while you're sick: take all precautions.

Hi Mint,

You can call up the Hokkien Clan Association and contact Mr Chua who can help with the translation. That's what I did for my son.

littlealmond, me n u same same.. but i better then u a bit.
my cols being calling me abt work also..
sunday morning my manager call at 9.30am ask me book hotel for last min guest then yst another call chking on her expenses then jus now i massage she call again to ask abt another expenses -_-""
tell her i bz she sms me like i very free to entertain her

hmm, my c l actually gets employer to pay for work permit, so more legit that way? No going back in two weeks stuff. We didn't have to pay cos one permit lasts 2 months and the employer the month before us paid.

jenny

I asked my fren abt the PD at Punggol Plaza...she said the clinic is closing down ler...dun know why though. U can try another PD at Rivervale mall.

Tweety

abt the jab, yes. If u are taking 6 in 1, then no need to take a separate 2nd dose Hep B because the 6 in 1 jab will have Hep B too. This 6 in 1 jab is taken at 2,4,6 mths. The first dose shld be between 6 weeks to 2 mths. I am bringing my boy for his first jab when he reaches 2 mths in Nov.

Juz us

I sterilise the milk poweder container as well. haahaa..just being kiasu..

Pildough

so long nver see ur posts...so u are bringing Abby to Polyclinic or PD?

Precious

We are supposed to change the bottles and teats every 3 mths wor.

Trace,
ur baby gal looks so sweet! lotsa hair! My boy's hair seems to grow more at the back of the head than the front!

Almond,
have u tried the whitening cream? Is it useful for the armpits?
I better go n buy!

rebecca,
i oso have the blue black feeling at times on my breasts. Extremely painful when i use my fingers to rub it...dunno why oso.

Enya,
u r my role model man! Can take care of a toddler and a baby, cook, vacuum n mop somemore! If only i can be like u!
now i am oreadi thinking if i have a 2nd baby, i must have my mum, CL, hubbie all to stand by. Reallie phobia now of babies! hehehe

Pildough... so u no CL now? Cooping well?
I can also sometimes see Marcus brain trobbing. Haha... Normal lah. BB skull still soft mah.

Jen, so when ur office call u, u still entertain them and do the work? If u do, then they will keep calling u to do it.

<font face="tahoma"> Hi,
how's everyone? am so tired after CL left, wish can engage someone to help with nightfeeds :p

trace,
your gal is so pretty!!!</font>

<font face="juz us">
my gal had jaundice 18.5 on day 4, had to re-admitted for light therapy. She still had slight jaundice now but PD said now it's due to breastmilk hence dont need to sun her.</font>

wah... princessemma, u so onz ah?
Looks like i'm the only slacker. Haha...
i secrectly check emails, but never respond to any. Haha...

<font color="aa00aa">Mummies
I'm very tired! Today dont know what happened to the kids, both refused to sleep. When one cries, the other one also follow. Now my head so heavy le. Am dying to lie on my bed but no more this luxury le

<font color="aa00aa">Mspiggy
Do you take a lot of gingers in your diet? I thought bm helps to bring down jaundice. That was what my kids' PD told me when I brought my gal for her first checkup. She said luckily I'm feeding her on bm and that's why her jaundice very mild.</font>

i read somewhere that jaundice will drop if the baby is well fed and pooing alot.
That's why, some PD will recommend FM if jaundice is too high. coz PD worried that bb is not having enuff from BM.

There's also BM related jaundice. let me go google. i read abt it too.

cookie,

u have a PM. And thanks for yr fruitful info!

its really tiring...my gal seems to b more alert in the day..this morn woke up at 6am, i m like latching on n off till almost 3pm..she din sleep the whole morn at all. n aft 3pm..she's drowsy n sleep till 5 plus..aft shower sleep again..n nw she's gog to sleep till 10 plus.... diaoz..

my gal starts to hv slight rashes on her cheeks liao..is it ok?

mummies, my gal today suddenly throw up milk 3xs..
nv happen b4.
i tot was my EBM but my CL feed her FM also she throw out n its like halfway thru feeding she throw up quite a bit.
is it reflux? colic?
i so worried, shd i bring her to PD?

Jenny,
My CL also does that leh... Wake bb up to bathe.

dimpletot,
they do have something to catch the drops. Milk collection shells. I got the medela one. Quite useful. Can give bb the milk after that also. Heehee!

Precious,
Thanks for the tip. Very useful and great idea indeed. Will call tmr morning.

jen,
dun reply the smses immediately. Wait like 2 hours later then reply and they will give up contacting you.

Jen, cookie, I think pple ,ust be thinking we are having a GREAT holiday man.... very free one. Kekeke...

Beary, I have yet to use the whitening cream cos am bfing. Worry will affect bm.... armpit too near to breast liao :p

don reply they will follow n call lor..
don pick up then will chain sms or chain call..
apparently my boss don disturb me but my inconsiderate managers *sighz*

jen>> throw up milk, ya is reflux. mine oso got b4. asked PD, say nothing to worry so long baby gain weight ok

breastmilk jaundice>> ya this kind of jaundice (my baby's kind) is due to taking breastmilk. and no, i dun eat ginger, even if food is prepared with ginger.

mspiggy>> can i know who is ur PD? coz my PD says can supplement, but i read online that breastmilk jaundice no need to worry leh, since my baby liver is ok. i would like to get 2nd opinion. can PM me in case I miss your reply? thanks

now we having problem introucing bottle to baby
(( anyone who been through same thing got any advice??

juz us, so if bb throw up milk but no other symptoms like fever/ fits etc shd b ok?
cos first time that i so worry.
next appt at PD is 2wks time.
how i know she gaining weight?
sorry i so many question

Precious,
Do you have the contact number? I only found the number of the Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan. Is this the same one that you were talking about?

LittleAlmond
Can get those tingkat dinner catering. i used to hv that at a point of time until i was pregnant. couldnt sniff anything, would throw up.

cookie
i got a new pt cleaner. she seems quite good but unfortunately she can only make it once a wk.

my hub doesn't know how to iron. need to iron all his clothes including underwear (he wouldn't wear an unironed one):-(

cookie is right. you dun hv to worry what gonna happen after cl leaves. you will manage, somehow :)

pildough
i juz bought a new maya pouch. pretty good. i got a sling, but it's too troublesome. unable to master it since hvg no 1.

you are funny!!!...about the mystery insect bite ahahahah.

dunno why i keep hearing my son making horse's noise..eheheh.

karen emailed me a few times, asking me about nursing shawl, that's all :)

beary
no idol. somehow you learn to manage when you are forced into circumstances (you force the dog up the wall:p). sometimes i feel like crying too. what to do, it's the choice i made. tonite is one of the times i'll lie down on the bed dreaming of my carefree days...:-(

mousebb
ahahha...dunno why, we are always on the same boat. today, my boy also refused to sleep, always want to be on the arm, screamed and cried when i put him down to give my poor arms a rest.
it's really a siong day. hv a serious bad headache too.

Enya
your hb must be thankful he has you such good wife!!
I cannot imagine if my hb make the same request!! I will ask him get a PT to do his ironing..kekeke...or send to laundry shop.
Once a wk PT also good liao.. at least can do the major task.. so other days got to do simple cleaning.
I think you are doing wonderful liao and it must be very tiring...so really kudos you!

Pildough
I have the maya wrap ring sling
http://www.mayawrap.com/index.php
No regrets buying... tho when bb gets too heavy can be taxing on the shoulder but the sling is very versatile.. I was slinging my bb during my pregnancies and also a saver when there just not enough hands around

dimpletot,
I use breast shell from medela to collect the milk from the other breast. I just wear it on the other breast before I latch bb.

Prinzton,
Welcome. I like my medela PIS and I think the let down feature is really good. Have not used other brand of breast pump so can't comment.

Xinying,
My Ethan is also dropping hair. Already very botak.

Anyone going to shave their bb hair and eyebrow when the bb is 40 days old? My MIL insist that we must shave, she already prepare the shaver liao.

Diane,
Thanks. Your reply is just in time coz' I have to bring Ethan to see a PD. Ethan seems to be down with cold. He has blocked nose and he is also coughing. Yesterday night, he throw up twice. My poor little baby. The PD in rivervale mall is so popular. I went there at 8.30pm and was told that the waiting time is 3 hours.
. So in the end decided to go back tmr morning.

Pildough,
Are you coping well without CL help? What about Confinement food? I am still eating confinement food. My MIL says must eat for 40 days. Luckily, I like confinement food. Yummy. I didn't know we are not allow to bring in herbs from malaysia.

Mint,
I thought suppose to wait till they wake up. Oops. Second time mum and I still so blur. Sometimes, I see him sleep so soundly and angelic really don't want to wake him up. :p

Juz Us,
How about spoon/cup feed your bb? The nursery in Gleneagles uses the following to feed my bb coz' I realise that he got lazy and refuse to suckle on my breast. I heard that you can also use this if the bb reject bottle. http://www.medela.com/ISBD/breastfeeding/products/softcup.php
Have you tried using NUK latex teats? It is suppose to resemble our nipple.

I also gave birth Oct31. Should have been due Nov. 6 but my baby wants to come out liao.

Question: I am totally breastfeeding now. Tried to alternate 15mins per breast but everytime I change, baby doesn't want to eat anymore and it is so hard to coax her to eat again. Tried to let her eat on one breast first but now encountering engorgement on my other breast. What should I do? Should I still try to alternate between breasts?

Lili_fc,
My gynae recommended Edmund Koh to me. Going there tom. Is he good? How about his charges? Is it ex?

hi Joanne, usually you can latch bb on the first breast for ~30mins, if bb wants to drink more, then offer her the second breast. Then for the next feed, start her on the last breast u fed her on so that that breast can be emptied.

In your case, when both breasts are engorged, you can always offer her the second breast after she has fed on the first breast in the same feed. If it is difficult to coax her to drink more, guess you have to pump out to alleviate the engorgement.

When I was at the lactation consultant, baby goes to sleep after she fed on the first breast and refuses to wake up. The lactation consultant took over and woke bb up in no time and put her back to my second breast. The engorgement in both breasts still took 1-2 days to clear totally though..