(2008/10) Oct 2008

yah, am so sleepy now also....

i am online chatting and checking thru other threads to see if other mummies are organising any BPs or sprees. Was complaining to one of my friends online abt the heat. So hot and humid but I din really want to turn on the aircon 'cos electricity tarrifs went up mah. Then he told me can use the dehumidifying mode. Wah, I din even know man... *damn gong*

Oh mummies! Just FYI. I was at Marks and Spencer yesterday and they are selling romper packs at $30 for a pack of 7!!!! Good deal lor, so much cheaper than Mothercare. You can go check it out lah.

Do you think what I have is enuff liao? A total of 14 pieces of the short sleeve ones plus 3 long sleeve and full leggings type of sleep suits for the 1st month. I heard that the confinement lady is supposed to wash and rompers everyday so even if one day change 5 times, I should have enuff to rotate right?

Dear Madams,

PLEASE HELP US BY COMPLETING THIS SURVEY:

http://FreeOnlineSurveys.com/rendersurvey.asp?sid=3q1i4mxe2ccm38v459808

We are five students from Raffles Junior College who will be embarking on our Project Work.

As our Project is based on the modernization of cures for blood diseases, we hope to raise awareness and funds for public cord blood banking.

We understand the significance of cord blood stem cells in curing blood diseases. However, not many others do. Through this project, we hope to raise awareness among the public and pregnant women about the uses of cord blood: encourage mothers to donate their babies’ cord blood to public banks (SCBB) and increase the extent of positive impact that cord blood has brought to the curing of blood diseases. We also hope to give support to public cord blood banks by raising funds from the public.

YOUR HELP WILL BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!

<font color="0000ff">Hi Mummies,

Tdy checkup was a gd one

First of all, I passed my urine test and I lost weight abt 2 kg!!

Gynae was happy that I control my diet and he said I look better as compared to the last round when he saw me! *happy happy*

He wants me to keep up the gd job! Initially I fear that I will fail tdy test again becos I shared 2 boxes of durians with DH last nite!! *oops*

Did the scan and gynae said the fluid level is still high but it shd ease down after a while.

Bb weighs approx 900 grams now at 24Wks, so gynae said bb is still on the big side but shd be ok

According to tdy's scan, seems like my EDD has been adjusted fwd 1-2 wks earlier...hee...

<font color="#342D7E"> Littlebluey,
wah!! happy for u leh!!! envy u leh.. i still got to wait!!
so kan cheong to see my 3rd bb.. hehe...</font>

<font color="#342D7E"> Littlebluey,
my nxt chk-up is 24 August.. but my doc like nth to tok abt my conditons n all dis de leh...</font>

Went for my checkup this morning, my bb is doing well, weight also average according to gynae. But he was shy and refused to show us his face  Have to wait til 4 weeks later then can see his “ru shan zhen mian mu” liao. And I will have my glucose blood test on next visit, coz I have family history for diabetes. Bad news is I gained 3kg within 4 weeks!!! So upset and doc asked me to control! I din eat a lot actually, so gynae said might due to my reduced activity, ask me to exercise more, e,g, walking for ½ hr after meal. Sigh…start to worry….

Btw, sorry to vent my anger about an established medical hall, F* H**! I bought few tales of birdnest from them during mother’s day promotion. I have boiled some of them w/o problem until today. The birdnest looks very yucky (dirty) after soaking in water for >1hr, it was full of fur and dirt! I continued to let it soak in the water for another 1hr and tried my best to pick all the fur and dirt out. After almost an hr struggling in my kitchen, I have to throw white towel! It was unlikely to be completely cleaned as many of fur and dirt were embedded in the birdnest. I called the medical hall and told them about it. Guess what, they told me it is common for this problem, there are always some “black sheet” in every batch of birdnest, and asked me to continue soak it for hrs and pick with pin. I told them is unlikely can be cleaned with their method. Then, they asked me to just boil it and “gurantee” me it wont cause any problem to bb’s and my health! If it will cause any problem, Singapore government wouldnt allow them to sell it! What the hell, they still have cheek to tell me, there is nothing much they can do for me in this case! I super duper unhappy, coz they told me last time before buying this birdnest, they are cleaned! I just need to soak for an hr, throw away the water, then can boil directly from there! I decided not to take risk and discard the birdnest. So disappointing about their attitude, really &amp;^*^%$^%#! Would think twice b4 I buy anything from them next time!

phtanus,

which medical hall did u buy? dun tell mi its yu ren sheng?

actually its very risky to buy birdnest,so i always ask my dad go buy..cos he noes hw to see n noe the owner..

rebecca,

yes, usually gyna estimated our EDD..wah..yr next visit still long way leh..usually yr chk up is once every mth?

<font color="#C24641"> Phtanus,
well.. understand hw u feel.. feelin is like bein cheated..

but actually, birdnest is common if u find dirt n fur. juz imagine that's a HOME for their baby.
n the baby actually SIT inside the BIRDNEST.
hw clean u expect them to be.. even if u bought the most ex frm the medical hall.. it'll still be the same..

my mum bought ard 10 pcs for my grandma.. n it cost her $1500.
but still.. whn she soak them in the water... there's still sum dirt..
guess that sales lady or whoever say it in a wrong way..
he/she shouldn't promise u that they are really that CLEAN.. coz they cnt gurantee u anytin..^_^

dun let dis matter affect ur mood.. bad for ur precious bb..

<font color="aa00aa">Littlebluey
Congrats on passing your urine test.
Happy for you!!!

Buffy
Brought my son to the zoo this afternoon. He was so excited when he saw the animals and kept pointing at them.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Mummies
Can we still go dental appt at this stage huh? One of my fillings like bo liao so I guess I better go see my dentist to fix it for me before I give birth. Asked the clinic asst and she told me is safe to do it but still dun feel at ease leh. </font>

mousebb,

i just went dental on 28 june..hehe..did ask my gynae he said ok as long as u tell the dentist u r preggie

Little Bluey / Phtanus:
Glad that your appointment went well for you ladies!

Phtanus: oh dear, am sorry to hear you had such a bad experience with them. My mum buys from them regularly, so far, we always buy Dong Yan &amp; Hua Yan (I dare not take Xue Yan
) and our experience is quite OK. Like Rebecca said, it is not like 100% clean but as far as I remember, my mum does not need to spend hours picking the nest. Actually, it is usually just a 5 - 10 min check thru, thats all...

Mousebb: ooooooohhhhhh!!! Zoo!!!! I like the Zoo! Am serious! My DH and I go there about 2 - 3 times a year. I am quite weird, I like heading to the farms too and dun mind the sun and the walking. So, we will head to Goat Farm lah, Bollywood veggies, Zoo, Jurong Bird Park, etc.
Is your boy scared of close encounters with animals? 'Cos at the Jurong Bird Park, there is an enclosure called Lory's Loft. The lories roam freely and sometimes would perch on your shoulders. And they sell diluted bread crumbs in water in like a globlet? So he lories would fly and land on your globlet as you are walking around - macham like u are carrying the bird like tat. He he... Very fun!

As for dental visit, I think it is OK but please make sure they dun give you mercury filling...

It is such a humid day today hor?

Littlebluey,
Great to hear the good news. Coz tat time, i rem u mentioning ur urine test dint pass. Glad that u pass today!!!

I went to the Breastfeeding workshop today. Its really beneficial to me. The faciliator is very good in terms of her experience and the workshop is not boring at all!!! Look forward to next week's workshop!!

Hey Ribenali,

I was just thinking abt breastfeeding workshop! Can you share with me again where you attended? Did you attend alone or with hubby? I prefer Sat classes 'cos my hypnobirthing class is on Sun... Thanks!

How are you after shifting back home? I will be seeing Dr. Ong in 1.5 weeks time for the glucose test. Have you done yr 4D scan already?

Buffy,

The Workshop is at 96 Waterloo St, SCWO Centre. U can refer to their website, www.breastfeeding.org.sg

U can join the workshop individually. Hope to see u in the coming workshop. I'm suppose to go wif hubby but he needs to work for today and next sat. So, he will be joining me on the 3rd workshop. My mum went wif me today, tink she should be very bored coz she cant understand english!!! Tink i'll attend it alone coming week.

Thanks Buffy, I feel better back at home. my MIL is really terrible. My mum is really angry when i told her my MIL give me eat canned food. My mum steam salmon fish, cod fish for me to eat. At least i noe my bb is getting good nutrients here and my mum is really excited for my bb's arrival. She will oso talk to her.

Yes, i did my glucose test and 4D scan on wed. baby Claudia was sleeping and she similed at us and she yawned oso. So cute...

<font color="#D16587"> Mommies,
whn u all do the glucose test?
hw many weeks preg den do the test?
my brain is so empty..
i'm like havin the 1st pregnancy..
dunno wat's wrong wif me.. </font>

Hi Ribenali,

Thanks! Oh, so it is OK for me to just start from lesson 2? Must it not be in sequence?

Am very happy to know that you are doing so much better at home. I also have some gripes with my ILs 'cos am having a girl too and there were not very nice comments passed. The most important thing is that my hubby and I are very happy with the BB and that the BB is healthy. And truth be told, we both prefer girls lah, so we heck care what others think or say.

Like you, my family is so excited about the BB and my mum is also very nice - making me tonic and nutritional food, can even call to 'take order' 'cos I join them for dinner 2 - 3 times a week after work when my hubby works late. So, we should count our blessings that our families and hubbies are so supportive.

Rebecca:
Both Ribenali and I and I tink one more mummy here are with Dr. Ong. His style is that he prefers for us to go thru the test. The test basically checks if we have risk of gestational diabetes 'cos in the books that I read, it affects ladies of minority races - south asians, hispanics, etc. And it is more common if one where to have either bigger or smaller than average BBs.

But for my case, I dun have any history, etc., but Dr. Ong basically encourages it 'cos better be safe than sorry I guess. I think the test supposed to be done nearing 7 months? It is up to individual and also, the docs. Not everyone needs to or wants to go thru it.

<font color="#D16587"> Buffy,
thx.. but my doc didn request me to go for the test leh..
i'll be 7mth preg on the nxt chk up..
n i hve a family history of diabetes..
i did go thru dis chk up durin my 1st n 2nd pregnancy..
i'm kind of worried leh.. coz my gynae didn mention anytin abt it leh.. haiz...
or mayb he tink that i hve a low sugar lvl blood..
so no need to go for the test.. hehe....

well anyway.. i hate to be poke by needle..
so if dis time round no need to go for the test, den thx God!!! ^_^</font>

Hi hi rebecca,

Its up to individual MTB and doc's preferences lah! Ke ke ke... So far, my pee sticks have not indicated any high sugar level and I dun even have a sweet tooth to begin with (am more a salt and cheese person that chocolates and cakes) but I still want to go for the test even if he did not suggest. 'Cos one of my GFs also like me, no symptoms and history but suddenly kena gestational diabetes. Also dunno why man...

I dun mind needles but I hate withdrawal of blood 'cos I get bruised v easily! *sianz* The nurse even joked and said its because my veins are so fine - must be I never do housework. Wah biangz...

Buffy,

No. Its ok to start from 2nd workshop. Tink the website got details like u can sign up for indiviual workshops. U need to call and register with them.

Yes, I agree with you. We are both very blessed to have supporting parents and hubbies. Staying at my parent's place makes my time with hubby becomes lesser. Really missed him a lot when he is not by my side. If not for my MIL, we wouldn't have to be apart. But my hubby promised to come over and stay once after my confinement.

Rebecca,

Buffy is rite. Besides that, my dad has diabetes so i tot its good for me to go thru the test.

wah!! ur nurse bad ar.. hehe.. ask a preggie to do hse work..
as for me.. i wont get bruised.. like nth happen lor..
den nurse say i veri skinny n can find my vein easily..
i love choco n cakes.. but that's only durin preg..
normally i seldom consume those sweet stuff..
still rmb durin my 2nd preg.. i ate choco everyday..
everyday muz eat 1 small pack of roche or kinder bueno...
is a MUST!!! no eat no slp.. hehe...</font>

<font color="#D16587"> RibenaLi,
ic.. my family history is scary...
both my grandma hve it.(both father n mother side)
third uncle hve it.. father hve it.. grandpa oso hve it..
so my percentage of gettin it, is exteremely HIGH!!!
kind of scare...</font>

Rebecca,
Hahahahahahahahaa... The nurse v naughty lor! Am actually quite small in build also just dunno why, the veins there are really hidden. Usually I need to have the band tied and flex my arms dunno for how long then it appears... But additionally, I also bruise v easily from small things so thats not new. And I always forget to take my Vit C (which helps me with the bruising...)

Ribenali:
My husband work hours are v erratic and sometimes does over night set up so I know what you mean. Your MIL also super one kind, see the son and DIl separated v happy issit? Does he come by and sleep over once ina couple of days? 'Cos till confinement v long way to go...

Ok ok, then I will call them to ask abt the class. BTW, can you share some tips / things u learnt today 'cos I noticed that the title is getting ready to breastfeed... Are there any things we can do? 'Cos I also hope to be able to breastfeed for as long as I can lor - express and direct. Helps to save $$ and most importantly, the nutrients lor. So need all the help I can get man.

ic.. i oso need to have the band tied and flex my arms but for awhile..
the nurse tied n turn away to get the tins.. my vein will naturally shown up by itself..
the nurse told me they perfere draw blood frm patients like me..
coz they no need to wait for too long..
sumtimes they need to actually so-called hit the vein to make it be clearly seen...
the den mummy will kind of nt happy..
the nurse told me they oso dun wish to do that.. but bo bian ma... </font>

Buffy,
My hubby juz changed a new job to interior designer and his work is picking up and his hours are terrible and tiring oso. Guess wat, I had dinner wif him juz now and he looks drained out coz of the running ard to his clients' place and meetings with them as well. He called me at 9 plus and told me he had juz finished his paperwork and is gg to sleep.So i tot its time for him to work real hard now and when bb comes out, he can take a bit of rest by bonding with her and helping me out a bit here and there.

For today's lesson is more on theory like the making of breastmilk and the colostrum ting. She kept on encourage us to go for exclusive breastfeeding, meaning no formula milk at all for at least 6 mths. First 6 mths for lifetime good --> by World Health Organisation. A bit of hands on, on the right way of carrying a bb and the position of carrying bb for breastfeeding. Think more hands on for future workshops. Its very good for hubby to join us coz the faciliator will tell wat r the roles of a daddy when the mummy is breastfeeding.

The faciliator mentioned tat she had a hard time doing bf for her son and her nipple was ripped off and she bf on a bleeding nipple but she never gave up. As breastmilk is easily digested, bb will cry for milk every 2 hrs and family members may not be encouraging by saying," ur milk is not euff lah..." but the truth is , we have to feed every 2 to 3 hrs. So, we muz preserve on. Believing bf is the way to go.

Which brands of baby bath and shampoo did u buy? Do we still need to use fresh water to raise baby again? Trying to understand now... :p

Littlebluey,
Really good news! Gongxi gongxi, so now no need to on high protein diet le? Wow, u still manage to lose weight during pregnany?! How did u do that?

Rebecca &amp; buffy,
Ya, i know is never 100% clean one. Like what u said, i used to spent 5-10 mins in picking out the durt and fur, but today's one really terrible. I gave up on it. Just feel unhappy with their response and customer service, Anyway, I am ok now, thanks.

Trace,
It is H**k Hua la.

Mousebb,
Yes, u can still go see dentist, I just went last month. Agreed with buffy, please avoid mercury filling.

Rebecca,
I have family history for diabetes, thats y gynae suggest the test for my next visit.

Hi Buffy

Thanks for the info!

Hmmm Din reali squat much lei...but still got low placenta, wonder if walking too much will cause it too?

<font color="aa00aa">Trace, Buffy &amp; Phtanus
Thanks! Actually i just gone for my dental routine checkup about 2 weeks ago and everything was ok leh. It was only until yesterday when I realised one of the fillings like no more liao. Will tell dentist not to give me mercury filling

Buffy
Me and my hubby also like to go to those parks too!
This afternoon my hubby even went to enquire about the membership which allow unlimited visits to zoo, jurong birdpark and night safari. The membership is $380 per year, valid for 1 year. We are thinking maybe next time when our children grow bigger liao, maybe can consider applying the membership...hahaha!!!

Have not brought my son to jurong birdpark before. Was thinking maybe we shall bring him there one of these days. This afternoon he was clapping all the way when we went to see the polar bears feeding show. We knew that he was very sleepy liao but yet he refused to sleep cos he was really feeling so excited and so scared that he would miss out the fun if he fell asleep. Now ko liao that's why I'm free to log in.

Phtanus
Cool down cool down!!!! I know which medical hall liao. My hubby bought birdnest for me from this place but not sure which branch when i was pregnant last year. Thanks for sharing so at least we would be more careful next time when we want to buy things from them again. </font>

Re: Mummies who ordered Desitin Creamy

I have just sent out an email with an attached list of the total amount for shipping and postage. Pls transfer accordingly.

POSB savings 032-29853-2

Shipping charge as per unit is $1.60.

Everafter: As I dun have your email.
the outstanding top up for the creams of $3.20 have yet to receive from you.
Dunno if you have missed out the post on the increase in price of the creams to USD 5.79 ($8.40). Total amount is $16.80 and you have paid $13.60 so far.
Plus shipping and postage, your outstanding is $7.40.

Buffy: yours is $4.80. Apologies, just realise your email addy is in my inbox. Hee.. missed you out.

Ribena Li: Up to you to transfer or pay me when you meet me up ok ? Thanks !!

Buffy, have fun at the class. Do update me.

Phantus, you're lucky that you can see the dirt and the fur. The more scrupulous merchants will actually bleach the birds' nest and you can't see the dirt which is worse after taking it. Try to buy from Eu Yan Sang if you can cos theirs is a more trusted brand. I'm not related to them in anyway but attended a seminar before and learnt that they have their own R&amp;D and QC so it's safer to buy from them than anywhere else.

whitepaper, thank goodness I saw your post. Was about to buy a preloved playpen for $75. If John Little selling at $69, I might as well get it. New one some more. heng ah! thanks for letting us know.

Rebecca, I also have long line family history of diabetes. That's why since Day 1 when I know I was pregnant, I've been so worried. Have been so paranoid with everything especially my diet. But on certain days, I just cave in lah. Sigh! Monday will be my checkup and gynae did tell me that will be doing tests to make sure I'm ok.

trace, wah your mil really 'sort plug'... heehee!

Littlebluey- Congrats on ur smooth checkup!!! ;D Keep up the good work!! ;)

lili_fc- Hey babe, I have managed to find and bot the Sarna lotion from Guardian pharmacy le! ;) Have oso applied onto my itchy belly liao...does help to relieve the itchness, not as bad le.. ;) Though sometimes still will itch but I will try to apply a bit again lor if v.itchy....It's ok to apply few times a day as required rite?? =)

Hi Prawnie,

I've made the fund transfer for the outstanding amt. My email add is [email protected]. Pls email me so that i can give u my mailing add as im unable to PM u. Thanks

POSB Savings
032-29853-2 Prawnie
Amount S$7.40
Transaction Reference 1787260503

LittleAlmond,
I bought Pureen head to toe wash yesterday at Cheong Choon...nt sure if need to rinse with fresh water after usuing but I think need to...

Littlebluey:
Good for you! Keep up the good work, and I am sure the situation is well under control.

Buffy/RibenaLi:
I am the mummy also with Dr Ong, can I check the 4D scan is it the detailed scan, after which he gave us a pic of the baby's face?

Low placenta:
Opps, went for prenatal yoga and I did some squats even though I have a low placenta. I also worry if walk too much will worsen the condition, but cant seem to cut down on walking leh, even shopping also need to walk haha.

<font color="aa00aa">re: Low placenta
Do take note: for those who attend Mrs Wong's antenatal class, during the warm up exercises, Mrs Wong would tell those mummies with low placenta not to do certain exercises.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">I do notice if I squat a lot during the day, I would end up have swelling at my v area. </font>