(2008/10) Oct 2008

Wah ladies, I have been in and out of the office for the past week 'cos had 2 events and when I came back, I din know where to start reading!!!! LOL!!!! I had so much to catch up on!!! *faint*

So, is the meeting still on?

Also, how many of you went for DS liao ah? Mine is on coming Monday leh... What do expect ah? Blur lah...

Hi JJmom:
Oh, I am a member at Pure Yoga and one of my friends told me that they have a one class per week package wor. So I dunno if this would help you for your pre-natal enquiries...

Gionna: ai yoh, I saw your website and your cats are soooooooooooooooo lovely!!!! I am one of the weird ones, like both dogs and cats. I have 2 dogs at home and wanted to buy a Ragdoll but my DH does not like cats lah! :p

What's everyone's plan for the weekend? My DH has to work leh, over night set up some more... So depressing... Sigh

mousebb

we are on the same boat..!!! got to look after 2. ARGH

ill be looking for confinement lady soon.

Tracee
I can help u to collect clothes from loripop. She stays at cck near me. I bought a few rompers and baby bibs from her. A very nice lady.

Buffy
Our package wif Dr. Ong has got 3D pic of our baby's face. Interesting. Expect that to happen. My bb's bone is very soft that har legs and hands are covering her face. So, cant take the 3D pic.

JJmom
I'm looking to attend this. Dunno the price.
http://www.birthandbeyond.com.sg/courselist.php?type=2&list=22

Gathering
1) 4th July -
trace
gio
mspiggy
jollyhoppy
Whitepaper
icylemon
forest
Ribenali

2) 11 july -
mspiggy
Trace
jollyhoppy
Littlebluey
icylemon
forest

Whitpaper
Seems like my bb is very small. Weighing at 420g at week 20..

I went to Cheong Choon with Tweety tis noon. Finds that the stuff there are rather cheap. Bought a lot. Got Avent Express sterliser, Bouncer and some other bb stuff. Seems like too many for me to buy..

Hi MTBs,

Sorry to intrude!
I have a supreme range snuggle nest (used, in very good condition) to let go at $50. It is good for baby with reflux and for parents who want to sleep together with bb and for travelling. If interested, pls PM me for more details and pic.

Hi Ribena,

I hv not order frm lorripop yet..i hv ordered frm 3 fellas this week...gog to stop for the time being if not my hubby will starts nagging at me

Trace
Me too, had bought too many stuff this month. Rompers for bb, bb stuff and Coach bags for myself. now can declare bankrupt liao

Btw, took half day yesterday to go shopping. Checked out on Medala breastpump. Think Taka got the best deal. Still thinking if I should get Medala PIS oR Swing

Hi LittleBluey, I still dun know the gender of baby. Cun see from the last scan cos baby hiding. Hoping to see during next week DS.... I cun wait to know the gender

Littlealmond
Cheong Choon Store
Blk 34 Upper Cross Street #03-132
S (050034)
Operating hours: 1.30pm to 8.30pm
Monday to Sat only.

They selling Medela PIS Advance at $660

How much is Taka charging?

Cheong Choon sells a lot of bb products cheaper than outside. they selling stroller as well. Heard from the lady boss, she mentioned that the price of the stroller will increase by 30% coming July which is next mth.

I went to SECOM centre and the medela PIS advanced is priced at $680.

Anyone knows where to get Neurogain at cheaper price? I remember someone posted that managed to get at $30?

I went to see my gynae yesterday for him to analyse my DS results and he said my placenta is slightly low. Anyone knows what causes it?

Thanks RibenaLi. Taka is selling at $719 with free storage bottles, cream and breast pad. Cheong Choon opening hours so short leh and Sun is not open

RibenaLi

You baby not small! It will grow very fast, mine was only 330g at 20 weeks and Doc already say it's on the plump side. So your is definitely growing well!

whitepaper,
happy for u that ur baby is fine!! heheh.. wow.. ur baby is really growing well.. 700g le!!

buffy,
welcome back!! same as u... my DH is working... now at home surfing net.. kekeke.. :p

everafter,
hehe.. whitepaper gave u the tel. no. first. keke.. yes, the cot comes with the latex mattress during the exhibition... did u already call Mr. Ang?

RibenaLi,
ur baby is not small lah.. my baby weighs only 311g at 20wks.. even smaller... :S is it true that prices of strollers are going up!?!?! dont scare me ahhhh...
:S

Littlealmond,
hope u'll get to see ur baby gender during ur DS next week!! hehehe.. am also excited for u!

regarding Medela PIS, did any of u check out First Few Years at Paragon? Thought someone else mentioned that the price there is also cheaper...

mint,
i do not know the reason for low placenta.. but so far, in most information i've read.. the placenta will usually move upwards.. of cos, gynae will be closely montoring this if u r spotted with low placenta.. think u should not have to worry..

for the nerogain, im not taking this brand now.. but will probably switch to this when i finish my current supply.. if am not wrong, can try NTUC pharmacy... hehe.. cant rem the exact name.. :p

<font color="119911">mint</font>>> $30 neurogain was only at the motherhood fair
i oso regret not stocking up then. that time oi thot i already got 1.5 bottles at home.. hai but use up so fast

<font color="119911">cheng choon</font>>> anyone know the operating hours? dun wanan make wasted trip down
anyone know neaby got what other baby stuff cheap to buy? heard the toiletries also? but where?

Whitepaper, thanks. dunno can get the same deal frm mr Ang or not. He sell alot of different kind of cot or wat? dunno how to choose leh..

Forest, i hvnt call Mr Ang yet..maybe next weekend. U reserve 1 set frm him but hvnt confirm buying yet right?

Littlealmond, i bought my Medela PIS frm First Few Years at $549 (2007 version), u might wanna check out. They hv 2 branch, one at Paragon and the other at KKH.

<font color="ff6000">wow, whitepaper - so fast 24 weeks and 700g already! I'm going to see gynae on mon... hey, actually I'll also be 23 weeks! haha, somehow mind always stuck at last scan keep thinking I'm bb still 20 weeks.

everafter,

i went shopping around for cots, and think Mr Ang's deal is pretty good! thinking of calling him to get too. maybe we can negotiate for the $299 price together.

mint,

neurogain from NTUC unity pharmacy is selling at $34.90... i just checked. but the DHA concentration is 250 mg, vs my current gynae's which is 350mg, so i've not decided whether to switch brands though neurogain is about $12 cheaper.

Ribena,

yr bb not small liao! mine was 370g at 20 weeks and gynae said it's above 95th percentile!

how much Cheong Choon selling Avent Express steraliser? i still can't decide between that and pigeon one. will be using nUK bottles. </font>

JuzMe,
Operating hours for Cheong Choon has been posted by RibenaLi. They close at 8.30pm on Mon - Sat, and is closed on Sun.

nearby u can go to Ocean.. think someone mentioned Pigeon breast pads there is cheap... but i didnt go there when i was down at CC..

everafter,
i confirmed my order le.. just need to send my cheque to him for payment.. n we told him to deliver only in Sept.. u might want to try, but that time, we reserve from him while its the last day of the fair.. he said after fair, no more priced at $299 already... maybe u and dimple tot shd really call n neg. for the deal together.. higher chance!!

wah everafter, ur Medela PIS is the cheapest!!

Low Plancenta:
Mint, I also got low placenta, don't know the reason for it too. Doc says will recheck at wk 36, but I was wondering isn't it abit late by then? Normal scan cannot detect low placenta is it? At least ur doc said slightly low, mine din mention how severe or mild.

DS:
Mine confirmed to be a boy, can see the face quite clearly, altough eyes are closed, seems to be a boy boy face.

Report shows a number of measurements of the head and leg, but I wasn't told whether is that the average length or wat.

Baby is about 500g at wk 23, I think the weight gain is slowing down, coz at 21 it was already 400g. RibenaLi, I think your baby is bigger than mine.

So buffy, when you go for ur detailed scans, u can expect to see the baby's face, organs etc.

Thanks for the welcome.
Just got back from a company CRM event for our customers. Damn tired man. Had a wine and cheese thing on Thurs night which was a standing networking / cocktail &amp; tasting. I could not taste lah, since cant drink and cant take unpasteurised cheese. Wah biang, I thought my back was gonna break man, after standing for so long!

Ribenali: No lah, yours not small! My bb was at 350gm, 13.6cm at week 21 and Dr Ong said it is average. They have a range de - 75 percentile onwards.

Wan Chuen: Thanks! Am getting quite excited about the DS now. Wonder how "true" the image is. Ke ke ke ke... Hoping she will have DH's nose, not be stuck with mine which is so flat! :p

everafter,

ok, let's try. if you're going to call him say there are two of us who are interested. I'll PM you my number too k? Then we can tie-up over sms if necessary.

<font color="119911">forest</font>>> wah seh!! how come i eyes paste stamp cannot see?? haha paiseh paiseh, thanks =)

<font color="119911">baby weight</font>>> hey how u all know baby how heavy har? my gynae never mention to me leh.. tink next visit i ask her

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Mummies
PC was down since yesterday evening. This afternoon went to PC show with hubby and baby. Was so crowded. Have to squeeze thru the crowd. Bought a lenovo laptop in the end.

Enya
Havent decided if I want to get a bigger diaper bag anot. Any good buy let me know hor!

Whitepaper
Wow! Really envy you have strong tummy muscles! Your boy have very good weight gain! </font>

dimpletot, everafter,
good luck!! ;)

Juz Me,
hehehe... no worries!

mousebb,
wa.. u can tahan the crowds to go pc show ah.. but at least good la.. u r back online!! n can continue speeing.. hahahah ;)

wah... today's weather really hot!!!! im having ice cream now!!!!!!!

<font color="aa00aa">forest
hehehe.... was nagging at my hubby the whole night yesterday, telling him die die also must solve the PC problem for me before Monday. Now good liao, cos he got the new parts to replace the current desktop and we also have a laptop. Wont fight liao!!!</font>

jus finished watching "my smart healthy bb" on Ch8..realli informative &amp; encouraging..on the benefits on breastfeeding.
1 working mummy even breastfeed for 3 years (and she has to travel regularly for work)..really a role model*salute*
<font color="aa00aa">we must all jia you and try to breastfeed our little bb!!..=)</font>
kao_smile2.gif

Just tot of sharing the stuff that i learnt:
<font color="0000ff">Things to Eat</font>
*Salmon/sardine/cod fish
*Avocado
*almond
<font color="0000ff">for more milk supply</font>
1)Boil Fish Bone &amp; Ginger for 15min then add in 1/2 ripe papaya. Boil for another 15 min &amp; drink the soup
2) Soak 'fenngreek' in water for a while..then drink the water..~some mummies started drinking even when preggie
<font color="0000ff">for those who still feel weak after delivery</font>
Boil 'tang-sheng', 'ginger', 'black dates', 'red dates', 'honey dates' and black rice(about a palm size..very high in vitamins like iron, zinc etc) Boil for 30 mins..and enjoy..

Hi everafter, does ur PIS come with the bag? Where is first Few Years near to in Paragon? I was there on Fri but dun know abt this shop, if not can check it out too

<font face="tahoma"> Hi ladies,
you gals can check out First Few Years branch at KK Hospital. i recalled they are selling very much cheaper compared to the other places.

littlealmond,
First Few Years is at the top level of Paragon, once you were up from escalator, it's on your left hand side. </font>

littleAlmond, I dun think SECOM is open on sunday. It's actually their main office. I didn't see any freebies attached.

forest, ya, my gynae will be monitoring but he said to refrain from sex in the meantime in case got bleeding.

Juzme, really ah? the neurogain at the motherhood fair so cheap? darn! I walked past then see the people at the booth like beat mosquito so didn't ask. :p did you get the name of the exhibitor? Maybe can call them and see if they can still offer us at that price. heehee!

dimpletot, like that then not worth it leh. Think the DHA concentration is important that's why got price difference.

Wan Chuen, I managed to find out about the effects of it but not the causes. One of the effects is that we may need to go for c-sect if placenta doesn't move up cos it's blocking the cervix and baby can't come out.

Just to share about the fenugreek seeds, when my friend had her contraction, her mother quickly boil the drink for her. Her mum told her that if it's a real contraction, the drink will help intensify it and if it's a false contraction, the drink will help make the contractions stop.

Went shopping today and noticed that some cots have one side that can be lowered and some are fixed. Which one is better?

Juz me: yes, you can go over to the next block to Ocean Toiletries shop. They are selling majority of toiletries cheaper. I bought Sebamed bb shampoo &amp; bubble bath even cheaper than JL &amp; robinson (even though both are having discounts now) Can also buy sanitary pads, disposable panties, pigeon wipes, bb detergent.

Jollyhoppy: I missed the show today cos went shopping at Robinson &amp; JL. Bought the Carlson wipes but find that its not very wet &amp; dry easily. Maybe cos that's why its so cheap.

Also bought ugly nursing bras at Robinson &amp; Vive ballet flats, very comfy!

Hi, where can we buy fenugreek? What the chinese name?

For those still sourcing for Capella stroller and Baby Cot, may be can try OG chinatown.

Stroller: The Capella S228 is now selling at $223.20. Was told by the sales staff that there will be another 10% off wor (not too sure is it true). Cheong Choon (CC) selling @ S$210. Was told by CC that the price of strollers will go up by 10 ~ 30%, effective 1 Juy. So, dont wait liao.

Cot: Saw one of OG current promotion. 4-in-1 baby cot going for $359 (was $600++). Free mattress, 7-in-1 bedding set, musical mobile.

Will drop by tomorrow to shop for cot, stroller n Avent pump.

Whitepaper- Wow ur baby is growing well at 700g at 24wk! ;D But at the same time, tummy still not as big!! So guess all the nutrients did go to bb!! ;)

Ribena- Hey babe, ur bb not small at 420g for 20wk!! Consider big/chubby le!! Mine only at bout 310g at 20wk... ;| Was still worrying bit small but sonographer said it's within the range for wk20 and not to worry..Haiz think I must eat more liao!!

Btw Cheong Choon not open on Sundays one ah?? ;)

forest- Hey babe, think our bb bout the same weight at 20wk... ;)

LittleAlmond- Good luck for ur DS next wk!! ;) Btw we are under the same gynae!!! Dr C H Koh ;p

<font color="119911">mint</font>>> aiya! i never thought of that!
i din get the name leh

<font color="119911">storeberry</font>>> thanks! =) u using sebamed for baby? any reason? so many baby soaps out there, dunno what to use. thinking of trying the J&amp;J head to toe for the newborn coz it says its the mildest soap in the market? anyone uses this? any feedback?

<font color="119911">Pappy2B</font>>> Is Capella good? noticed quite many ppl use this brand? anyone knows if CC can bargain? ;P for those who are keen on the S228, can check out kiddybee.com, selling at $210 also. free delivery some more so don't have to make a trip down. i considering their Capella S217 which is COD $175 only ;P same item selling $182.40 at both babytown and tokomama. haha can see i do most of my shopping from home ;P

Good morning, mousebb!

For all your reference, my Doc mentioned that at 24weeks, the average for baby's weight is 650g. So if your baby's weight is near that, it's fine le

Weight gain:
My Doc say it's really time I gained some weight, when I expressed concern that my weight went up 1.5kg in 4 weeks... and I was already fat to start with... but Doc says I only gained total 3.8kg, which is actually way below average so it's ok. Doc says luckily baby is absorbing and growing well, if not she'll need to force me to gain weight!
I really hope my weight gain is ok... coz I don't want to gain too much, then take a long time to lose all later on... haizzz...

Mint

Cots with one side un-fixed is better, you dun need to bend all the way down to pick-up/put down baby, which is really a strain
The one I got from Mr Ang is a cot bed, so one panel can actually be removed at the later stage to convert into a toddler's bed

whitepaper, the cot that i saw with the fixed sides not very low, dun really have to bend. It can also be converted to toddler bed. I also saw the one that Mr Ang is selling but dun really like it leh. hmmm...

LittleAlmond, i think First few Years at KKH and Paragon selling same price for Medela PIS. Mine came with the bag. I chose the sling bag. When i bought it, the stocks is already running low..esp. for the backpack. Do check them out.