(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="119911">dimpletot, rains,
i m abt to order this book too. Did u ladies got it in the english or chinese version?

i m also hoping to gain some knowledge on how to curb my anger ard Nat...hahaha</font>

<font color="0000ff">JJmom,

He's at JG, want him to mix around with tods of his age, so that he can get over his fear of strangers...

I dun even want to feedback, my hb was saying like that call feedback session ah? -_-"" If it's one to one, I probably would say my piece of mind..

Nvm lar, just let Nat finish the rest of the lessons lar, another 4 more to go

So u are still continuing or switching her over to Evans?

Phatanus,

Hope u feel better soon! Remember dun force yrself to work ya, take things easy, BB J is coming!! Cool!!

jjmom

i got it in the chinese version. still ploughing thru. rains sounds like she's read quite a bit already! I'm not at the don't get angry section yet.

JJmom,
I bought the Chinese version. I happened to see it at a book fair so I picked it up. I didn't know there's an English version, but since the author is Chinese, it should be better in its original language. But of course, it depends on the comfort level of the reader. Dimpletot's is also in Chinese.

feedback - haha my hb attended it.. it was supposed to be some parents/teachers talk right... for our case it was more the mummies complaining abt the premises rather than teachers telling parents more abt the kids... in the end being the only daddy my hb went out to playground to play w E and even be parttime teacher assistant to other children (wash hands etc..hahah)

<font color="119911">bluey,
sigh...me too. After i heard their reply to Trace's hubby's feedback abt the class size, i know no need to consider liao, OUT! Actually Dee was the 1 doing most of the talking/answering in the end!

Will call to ask if there is slot then decide but confirm not signing up at EC next term

dimpletot,

Oh no no! I only read the first few short chapters. I don't have time to read. Imagine I don't even have time to email my HOD to clarify things with her for a week! I put it in the toilet so that I get to read it when I sit on the throne. But it's a very good book. Very practical. It corrects several of my misconceptions already. One of the chapters is about not to bully kids. I used to like to bully kids, especially my nephews, becos I like to see their irritated expressions. Very cute I thought! Yeah, I am so sadistic. After reading it, I realised that I've been a terror and have stopped doing it.

Then I was also guilty of beating the things that my baby knocked into to appease my baby, until I read the author stating that to a child, '万物同物'. It leaves a very deep impression on me. So from then on, I also changed from beating the things to sayanging them. The baby was confused by my act at first and tried to 'correct' me by showing me how to beat the things. Now, she seems to have accepted that we should not be so vengeful to the things that cause her pain.

It's also applicable for my elder kid in the reading of Chinese books area ie. '好阅读是读快快,坏阅读是读慢慢' (something to that effect).

Really very good leh, dimpletot! Must be the best parenting book I ever come across. Thanks so much for recommending it! Please do continue to recommend books if you think they are good.

<font color="119911">dimpletot, rains,
I m ordering the chinese version too. Nope, i m not sure if there's any english version so juz thought to check with u ladies...kekeke. Yes, i agree tat it's better to stick to the author original language

yes, dimpletot, do share any gd books with us here if u come across any
thanks</font>

<font color="119911">rains,
i agree with the author on the 1st 2 points too. Must make it a point to show the book to my inlaws!!!

what's the meaning of '好阅读是读快快,坏阅读是读慢慢' ? sounds strange...</font>

mousebb, vanilla &amp; bluey,
Thanks dear, he is better today, but the stubborn fever still doesnt go away completely. Heng he finally drinking his milk and manage to sleep thru last night. Hate the viral fever, hope he can off the drugs soon.
Will be seeing gynae tomo for VE check, hope can have better idea when bb J will be out, Hee...

dimple,
Yes, health is much more important! Please take care!

jjmom,
Where u order the book? Me interested lay.

<font color="119911">phtanus,
hope bb I recovers fast. Poor mommy &amp; bb I *hugz*

will order from dangdang spree, u r at punggol too right? wanna tag along with my order? Coz her collection pt is vy conv for me, at my inlaws place near Eunos mrt

phtanus,

I ordered from a smh spree. find that it's faster than ordering from the site direct. can share shipping, so cheaper too. can search for dangdang.com sprees.
http://product.dangdang.com/product.aspx?product_id=20464285&amp;ref=search-0-A

rains,

great that they actually sell it in singapore! which book fair were you at?

I also got the recommendation from other mums, just passing it on.

I don't always agree with everything she writes, but love her simple style of writing and her many anecdotes. some chapters are very simple actually, can be summarised as 'read more non-school books' 多读课外书, but her stories/典故 drive home the point.

sometimes i also think her techniques work on her child, but might not work on every child. cos some children have very very different temperaments from her child. but overall, worth the effort to read in chinese! don't think there's an english version....

Chinese... hmm... i hate reading chinese. Required alot of effort. Sorry to say... i return all my reading of chinese to my lao shi. I can speak. Read... slowly. Write... erm with alot of effort.
Haha....

rains
what was the reason the book said about not hitting the objects which cause pain? For me, I stopped my parents from hitting the objects that Jo knocked into cos I want to teach her responsibility. LOL.

dimpletot,

gong xi gong xi... (does it sounds like CNY, keke)

Kate will be big jie jie liao...

book:
what is the chinese title for that book... sounds interesting leh...

<font color="119911">purple,
《好妈妈胜过好老师》作者: 尹建莉 著
take note of the author coz there r some who tried to copycat this copy...tsk tsk tsk</font>

hahaha! yes yes i am trinket too.

saxo and XY

cos it's not the object fault mah! my fil used to do that, and hubby and i had to un-teach kate. cos you bumped into the table then hit the table, unreasonable right?

<font color="119911">XY,
my own thinking of y it is not right to hit the object :

Coz it's not it's fault that our kiddo run into it &amp; feels pain. By hitting the object, it's like telling the kid to shift the blame to another (yes, even if it's non-living) instead of him/herself. He/she shd b the 1 to watch where he/she is gng in the 1st place.

It may seems like a small matter now but if the wrong concept is inbuild in these little mind. Imagine how will he/she react when he/she knock onto some other kids when parents r not around? He/she will then raise his/her hands him/herself to hit. </font>

JJmom &amp; trinket,
Thanks for the info.

JJmom,
Aiya, me staying at CCK lay, so far from you else sure tag along ur oder. Thanks a lot!

whitepaper, congrats on your promotion!

Jelly, oh no, did I miss you email? I go check again!! sorry!

JJmom, if you ordering the book, can help me order one too pls??? thanks so much, muaks!

Hi mummies! ;)

dimple- Congrats and Kate's gonna be a jiejie le!! When's ur edd?? ;)

JJmom- Me keen on the book too!! Let me kw if u are getting it or kw where to get it!! Thxs in adv!! ;D

JJmom,
'好阅读是读快快,坏阅读是读慢慢' - basically the author is saying that it's wrong to get the kids to read word by word. Like me, I got my elder kid to read Chinese storybooks to me aloud so that I can check on her word recognition. This is bad reading habit, becos it slows down her reading rate. The author feels that we should cover more books and read widely. Whether the child recognises all the words or not is not important. And it's not right to ask the kid to check on every word he doesn't understand, becos it slows down the reading and kills the interest.

trinket,
It was just a pasar malam like book fair at Sun Plaza. Most of the books only had one copy and I chanced upon it.

I agree that not every method will work on every child. What I value more is the way the mother thinks and to avoid the pitfalls she's observed. Her child seems to be a gifted child. I'm not aiming to raise the same child as hers but parenting is truly a learning journey, so I hope to be a better mother by learning some of her ways.

Ya mummies, like what dimpletot and JJmom say, it's about the child's treatment to the world. A child views every thing as being the same, by teaching her to hit something that has caused her pain, you're teaching her to retaliate, and eventually, she'll adopt the same mentality towards socialisation. Thus, '万物同物'.

好妈妈胜过好老师:
Thanks for recommending the book. I've placed a reservation via the NLB and am No.1 in list. Can't wait to collect it these few days to read about it.

Hitting the object:

Am guilty of this. But I did it in an exaggerating tone to make Tong laugh instead of crying. This is the best way to distract her from the pain or rather the shock.

But after that, I will talk to her n ask her why she fall down or hit the wall. To educate her so hope she wun turn violent cause of us hitting the ground.

JJmom,

Do I have to pay alot of shipping cost for this Dangdang spree if I order 10 or more picture books? Picture books are so expensive in Singapore.

R.E. hitting objects, ya I just tell Jules it's ok, no problem, just get up. Or i will give him a hug if it hurts. I try not to make a big deal out of it.

My BIG problem is getting him to brush his teeth now. All of a sudden, he is refusing to put the toothbrush in his mouth, keeps squirming and crying...and man...his breath stinks!

nickypower

edd on 19 Feb. hopefully won't clash with CNY. apparently rates go back to normal after 12 or 13 Feb.

anyone has good CL to recommend? i can't seem to reach my old one...

<font color="119911">daisy,
ok, will order for u

nicky,
u staying near punggol? coz we don't get to meet up often so u might find it easier to collect from the organiser. This organiser has collection pt at TPY, Bt batok, woodland, sengkang &amp; eunos

elch,
din know our NLB has it

bigflamingo,
having same problem with Nat's stinky breath

After seeing ur review on the book, i went to placed a reservation via the NLB for the book too...but i m no. 4 in the list

elch, we need to pay $1.55 for reservation rite? i thou is free :p

<font color="119911">ypg,
i think even with the shipping cost, the price of getting these books at dangdang is still way cheaper than getting them locally. Yes, books in spore is really too ex

<font color="119911">doggie,
pay $1.55 to reserve, hmm...think might as well buy the book then. juz my tots

ok, who is the #2 &amp; 3 mommies? kekeke

only RMB16.80
Oops...juz saw the new pricing, it's RMB19.60 now. It was RMB16.80 when was still looking thru it's collection for more books 2 weeks ago. 1 thing with dangdang, pricing keeps changing (-___-)''</font>

mummies who are borrowing

it's about 340 pages.... think not easy to finish within 3 weeks (think cannot renew if there's a reservation queue).

yes, i confirm getting 1
think shipping for it shdn't b a lot de

current spree ending tmr