(2008/09) Sep 2008

Millie ,
will go up to shanghai in mid april for one two months first but am still waiting for the Natas fair to see if can get cheaper tics .. meanwhile considering if i should bring maid along ... cos hubby says he source for one ah yi there instead .. hmm .. then maid stay at mums.. cos maid visa application is a prob and then also must pay for her air tickets ... keke .. trying to save up one ticket price ..

Chewy,
Ya Aiyi is cheaper in China, but some are terrible i heard. U need to be careful of your household belongings esp those branded thingy. Like maid, it's a kind of luck issue.

<font color="0000ff">Hey mummies,

I'm letting go the swim tub which I bot awhile back coz Max is now swimming in the pool. It's the same one from Mambo.

http://www.sgmambo.com/tub.html

PM me if interested k

millie ,
am asking a eldest son shanghaiese godmum to source out for one ... she even offered her sis to look after the maid for me at home ..haha .. but i need my privacy with my kids la .. so i say no need ..

yan

haha..theres some improvement these few days..carine will flip 2/3x each day..my verdict is she likes to be on her back!

millie

hv u gotten the mead johnson vouchers for enfapro yet? u can call the toll-free no. to request once your bb hits 6 mths. it will save u some dollars!!

koras, you can try again for a few days..

when i let baby E try diluted apple juice, she had that sour face initially. after a few tries in a few days, she was ok and loved it! sometimes they have that response cos it is something new...

any mummies here the baby keep screaming? not crying , mine keep screaming every now and den. going crazy le...

what should i do ar? she seems cranky all the time , should i just let her scream?

mamyvelle - me me!! getting rather distressed coz she will screech n scream for a stretch and we don't know cause to make her stop! end up trying everything to appease her to stop it but i don't really fancy that method coz it is signalling that she can scream to get wat she wants.. but really piercing lor!!

lil s is rather active.. she keeps kicking and straightening her legs like wanting to stand in her bouncer. i tried her on my sis' bumbo and she straightened her body and threw her neck backwards so end up like 3/4 body falling backwards!
then last night sat her on my lap when we were at a restaurant. she kicked the table so hard that the table nearly flipped! thank God my sis who was opposite me held the table dowm. and that there was no food yet!!

Springz/mamyvelle - mine too. he is screaming at the top of his voice and cry on demand, in order to be cuddled. He will kick, rub his eyes and fret till he gets his way. With him much bigger now, it is also hard to carry him.My dad had such a hard time yesterday with him that he did not even have lunch.

Springz
Haha.. D sounds exactly like lil S, he also uses his feet to push the table &amp; many times, the table nearly toppled over! Also, he likes to do that rigid body stunt.. hehe.

He'll also scream, just for the fun of it. When I push him in his stroller at the mall, he'll just scream &amp; scream &amp; I know it's just for fun. Then everyone, especially those aunty aunty, will stare at me, giving me dirty looks like I'm a bad mother! I just let him be lah.. I think it's just a passing phase as D always has some new tricks up his sleeve &amp; after a while of doing it repetitively, he'll get sick of it &amp; stop &amp; move on to his next new stunt.. lol.

Babies this age know how to listen. When D gets out of hand, I'll be very stern with him &amp; scold him &amp; most of the time, he'll keep quiet &amp; give me the very sad face.

mamyvelle/springz, my bb has also been screaming and squealing a lot more recently. i think she's discovered that screaming works just as well as crying when it comes to getting attention. i'm not v sure if i'm actually reinforcing the screaming habit by attending to her but i can't tahan the screaming either. she's also a bit more cranky lately and doesn't seem to nap as much anymore.

another thing i've noticed is that she now loves to suck in her lower lip and make these loud mmmm sounds, which sounds like a pretend sort of cry and it would go on and on... definitely making a wider variety of sounds now. sometimes, it can even sound like she's complaining loudly about something!

Hi mummies!! Finally got some time to read the posts here! Miss you all so much...didn't have time at night even to log in, cos my job is really killing me.

Rachael is officially 6 mths old today! Started weaning her abt 3 weeks ago, she seemed to hate everything except her rice cereal. Saw from some of ur discussions that you all are starting fish for ur babies soon. Is it safe to start meat now only at 6mths??

So sorry didnt finish reading all the posts here, only got 5 mins on hand before going to my Primary 1 class again...tired!!!

Hey Jas!!! Miss you.. good to hear that Rach is doing well!!
Jia you!!!

xuanting - suck lower lip means no pacifier or thumb right? quite good what.. ya I'm also in same position on attending to the horrible screams..

Mei - ya ya!! They know one lor.. I also use stern voice and she will go quiet! I used gesture for milk milk and she tried to mimic too hahaha.. even reasoned with her 'look you still have 100ml, finish first then play'.. she sort of understands la hahaha

Thought my baby is the onli weird one cause mum say other baby won't be tis way de. say i expose her to much to computer. And the harmful rays cause bb to be like this

Everytime tried to ignore her screaming , but she will jus scream louder and louder till she choke . And most of the time i will go carry her , but really afraid tat she will get use to it in future. Anything she cannot get , she will just scream (even worst if she scream in public).

No leh , when I use stern voice she always look at me and smile de. so irritating de lor. so i tink perhaps mine still dunno i'm scolding her.

Hello Mummies!

It has been so long since i had time to log on. Had parents and relatives visiting Shanghai so was bringing them around.

Was also super tired for the past few weeks coz baby seem to have ear infection (found out it was relapse of ezcema on her ear). She was rubbing, hitting, scratching her ears and would cry hysterically every nite. It only stopped a few nites ago!

I see many mummies have started on advanced solids oready wow! I haven even started my baby on cereals since she just got a little more settled few days ago.

Was wondering if i can start to feed her brown rice cereal instead of rice cereal since i have HT brown rice cereals with me or it has to be white rice cereals first? can anyone advise?

chewy_ring,

you are coming to Shanghai in April? Can plan for a meet up if you have time. Weather in Shanghai now is not fantastic, has been raining everyday and its still cold! But i am sure April would be much better oready.

mamyvelle,

your baby sounds like mine. she loves my laptop and would want to play with it all day long. sometimes i allow her to bang on my keyboard but going to stop her for a few days at least since she got her finger cut from banging on the keyboard too hard. today she only wanted the laptop or the remote controls so i gave the remote controls instead. I am trying to stop her from "choking" every time she is not happy. at first i tot she is really choking but later on i realized its a method she uses to get wat she wants sigh..She will look very poor thing when i scold her if she is notty!! buey tahan :p

Manyvelle, my boy too, screaming too! He scream for attention and carry. He like to be carry and hug wan lor! He also screaming when I leave him alone in the playpen...He screaming like scolding me leave him alone!When I use sterm voice talk to him, he will 'bian zhui' and then start cry. It take long time to comfort him wan...

Springz: my boy flipped when he was on his bouncer which cause him to let out a loud yell (for help cos he kenna stuck under those over-arching toys), so we've banned the bouncer last week.

Banging tables: yep yep...mine also overturned his feeding bowl. I bought the suction-base bowls by Munchkin ytd from Robs. hope they are more stable...

Big toes: bed guards? My SIL has it and the bb quicly outgrew it, so it's a waste of $$. I just kiap him with two pillows like what chewyring taught me. It worked...and saved me from insomnia...

Ash : if my mum catch me letting my girl play with the laptop , think she will turn me upside down. haha. She dun like me to let my ger play with computer , watch too much tv (cause sometimes i carry her on my lap watch tv with me)

And once i let her play with my phone , I kana scold again. haha , I think my mum scold me much more den i scold my girl.

Mummies can advice.

I just brought a evenflo exersaucer for my girl ,anted to brought jumperoo de but mum against , say her feet not fully develop cannot jump too much(my mum veri naggy de)

But whenever i place her in , less den 5min she scream and shout , does'nt seems to like it leh , should i keep trying? or perhaps she will grow to like it when she's older? So many toy and she dun like , weird , her rocker seat onli got 1 chicken and sometimes she can sit for like 30-45mins without fussing.

Forget to ask
My girl is onli 6.2kg at exactly 5 mths , is it normal? should i check with the doc? and she's onli drinking 90ml every 3 hrs. I increase abit she also stop drinking at 90ml.

mamyvelle.. did u c doc cheng? can check with him. i think the PD at marine terrace will tell u that as long as ur girl is healthy, her weight &amp; appetite are secondary, esp if ur hubby or u are petite. at least tt's what he said of my niece..

mamyvelle,

i think ur mum is right about keeping babies from mobile phones, pc and tv but its very hard to keep my baby away from everything coz she will definitely watch tv when i carry her while i watch or answer the phone. I guess i just have to be more careful :p

I think you can try to put her baby in the exerSaucer a few more times to see if she will grow to like it. Sometimes my baby dun like a new toy at first but she will grow to like it after a while. I got my baby a jumperoo and she got sick of all the surrounding toys in 2 weeks but she still loves the jumping feature so that's keeping her entertained while we eat or need a short break.

Dun worry about your baby's weight lah, every baby is different and as long as she is healthy and not severely underweight i think its fine to let her grow naturally.My baby is 7.3kgs when she was 5 months old and the PD asked me not to over feed her (as in let her cry until its 3hrs form the last feed)but i still feed her when she is hungry. Cant really reduce her feed or dun feed her when she is hungry and crying mah :p

dmbb : no leh m I'm fat and my hubby on the pump side also. haha. dunno why she on the petite side. got leh , doc cheng also say ok leh. haha.

ash : will keep trying , brought for $300++ , cannot go to waste. 7.3kg 5mth not very heavy ma. how come pd ask u dun overfeed , hee... but ok lah , already feel she so heavy when carrying her but hor i like fat fat baby leh , so adorable.

ASh ,
would love to meet up so that would not be so bored there ....check out the weather in april .. says about 18 - 24 degree .. so fantastic time to bring the boys there .. that is y holidaying there then..... about the cereal , think either one is okay just start a small amt and slowly increase the no of feeds per day .

Maid issues ... am still thinking of saving money and not bringing her over .. but if i let her stay here also nothing for her to do at mums place for two whole months ..cos mum already haev PT maid .. should i give her up and employ another helper when i am back .. like that a whole 2k saved but it will cost her her job ...she is quite a good helper

mamyvelle ,
my zen also drink that much in the day only .. in fact he is 6.6kg .....according to the PD as long as bb is alert , smiling and happy and still growing = no worries

My zac kena high fever for the 2nd day already ... rush him to Mt A yesterday after the fever refuse to climb down after the paracetamol at 1 am ... so doc gave him suppository in the anus and ask me to monitor .. says that if fever persist for 4th day then need to check for other causes .. if not should only be viral .. have be attending to zac the whole day at fever of 39 ... only the last insert of pill bring his temp to 38 .. and he is still crying poor thing .. and the funny sight is Zen keep laughing when zac cry .. haha .. at least zen keep my sanity esp froom the lack of sleep ..

poor chewy_ring
*hugs* think must be the same kind of strong virus that my FB got. the fever lasted 6 days for us then followed by this terrible phlegmy cough. and ur hubby not around to help... dont worry if there are no rashes, at least it isnt dengue and it will subside...we also inserted the suppository twice.

bed guards
it is useful for very young bbs and older todds who are using children's bed. for bbs who are crawling to maybe 2 years old, it isnt really useful for them. coz many bbs dun understand you arent supposed to be leaning on the bed guards, and some bbs even make use of it to support themselves when they stand,do stunts..so got use lah, but not at this stage.

chewring
hugs for zac....

<font color="0077aa">Oh dear chewy ring, zac had fever cos of his vaccination?? Hugzz!! And yes, your zen is a smiley baby!! Must be tough on you!

Hihi Jas!! I have started my baby on rice cereals &amp; sweet potatoes for 2 days but Zane still don't like it.. Hmm..

mamyvelle,

Think the PD looked at my hubby and got a bit worried that our baby may be too fat in the future so advised me not to over feed her :p

chewy_ring,
poor zac, hope his fever would subside soon. Hugs for the both of you! let me know when u decide when you guys are coming over to Shanghai then we can plan to meet up =)

springz, she sucks all three! pacifier, thumb &amp; lower lip! she'll also put her stuffed toys into her mouth to gum them. i've been doing an extra rinse whenever i wash them too, just in case.

lil s can sign "milk" already? wow!

no la she stares hard at my hand motion then looks at her hand and curls her fingers down abit... then again it looks like her normal grasping motion somewhat.. just the wau she stares 1st at ny hand then at hers that gives me impression she is trying la.. won't even call it 'can sign'!

koras

these are what i have found...some of the same items vary in price at different websites..must do homework..

http://www.rent-that-toy.com/
http://www.rent-a-toy.com/
http://www.toyrentalclub.com/index.php
http://www.gogomummy.com/
http://precious-toy-rental.blogspot.com/
http://www.mygrowingtoys.com/main.sc
http://www.toys4rent.sg/index.php?option=com_frontpage&amp;Itemid=5

RE: Cereal

Mummies, any babies here got tongue reflex? tink carine still has that as she kept pushing the tongue &amp; cereal out when i feed her..just started on sat only..how long more do we have to wait b4 we try again har..

am thinking to get exersaucer for my girl. but do u think is too late now, she is coming to 6 mths?

And any feedback on exersaucer, which is good to invest?

Angeline Goh (angeg): think can try to use spoon to feed water to let Carine get used to the spoon. I think after some time, she'll learn to "cup" the spoon and keep the liquid and food in her mouth. My boy used to push it out last time when we started feeding him water with the spoon, after some training, he knows how to close his mouth after the spoon goes into his mouth.

Morning Mummies~

xuanting, do u wash the soft toys in washing machine?? the extra rinse means with the machine or by hand?? I dun like it when we have soft toys that can only surface wipe/clean only. how to just clean the surface of a soft toy???

rlrenn, i also wanted to ask this question!! Hb wants to bring baby to the movies~! But i think not very good for babies cos its loud and can hurt their ear drums..?

rlrenn
I won't risk it to bring R into the cinema to watch movies with us for sure! Dunno end up we might be watching HER instead of the movie if she starts whining for food! kekeke...but I've not gone for movies for the longest time ever!!

Storeberry
Miss you too! Don't worry, R gave me the disgusted look when I first fed her with organic rice cereal, but now, she loves it! I've also tried feeding her with the brown rice powder (traditional kind one with the si shen and ikan bilis). Heard that it's good too, and she loves it! You can let Zane try it too. I bought mine frm Giant..

Mrsseng
Tell me abt the fair..I signed Rachael up for the "Most Charming" category, and she was selected for the "Chubbiest Cheeks" instead. But the semi-finals is tmr, and no one can bring her cos me and hubby working so I had to drop the application...sob!!!

Seem like a lot of mummies signed up for the contest, I did send in application, but was drop out. sob
My ger not chubby n cute enough. Ha ha ha... never mind, as long as i find her cute. Hee Hee.... Self console.

yan : "cos its loud and can hurt their ear drums..?"

Oh dear...my MIL's neighbour is renovating these 2 weeks...how??!!! my maid complained my son cannot sleep due to the drilling and knocking all day long :-(

yan, i just dump into the washing machine. and ya, extra rinse in machine too. i don't find surface cleaning clean enough lor.

have anyone of you tried giving you baby cold/room temperature breast milk or formula milk? I think my baby is teething and she refused to drink (drinks very little when i forced her to or when she is really very hungry) her milk even from my breasts for 2 days now. Today she started wanting my breasts again but still hates her bottles. She loves to bite/suckle on my arm, neck until i have many love bites now! Trying to help soothe her sore gums but not sure if its good to give cold/room temperature milk.

I got scolded by my ayi (maid) for giving baby a cold teething ring but baby seemed to love it so i dun care :p