(2008/09) Sep 2008

Been a while since i posted, just came back from korea round 1.5 weeks ago, started work again, renovating my new house, weaning baby, and getting used to waking at 7am wheeeewww so busy!!!!

Everybody is weaning their babies right! I bet you'll have a great time~~ my girl is now enjoying about coming close to 10 types of vegetables and 3 types of meat protein now and will be introducing more in the coming weeks, also moving to stage 2 milk formula, so if you happen to need some recipe, or just some place to get started.. can visit my humble site :p :p :p xanga.com/meetscarlett... hehehe

btw, Scarlett is in mother and baby!..just a small picture.. right at the end of the magazine :p hehehehe.. my hubs was still thrilled nonetheless.. bought 3 books to keep LOL..

AND, wanna meet at the baby fair on saturday!?!?!?! I will be going to take a look, perhaps we can do an adhoc gathering???

storeberry

if not means she dun like the plain rice cereal..haha..will intro the barley 1 soon n c her reaction..

gunibabe

thanks..will try feeding her water.actually i didn gave her water as shes tbf until i started cereal..whats your bb feeding timing like?

for carine

wake up - 140ml
around 11am+ - cereal

guess shes partly oso tired n time for her to zz thats y she cranky..but if wait till she wake up then eat cereal, that will be 2pm+ etc..depending on her timing.

bb fair

i should be going tomorow at 11am if my cold doesnt get worse..now nose block, eyes tired...btw, 2morow oso the natas fair at there so sure carpark crowded..haiz

yan: I handwash those toys that can be washed. Those that can't be washed due to some parts (with battery), I use a steamer (for clothes) to steam the surface area.

Angeline: GuniBoy got his first taste of cereal a mth back during CNY period but I didn't continue to feed everyday then. Then he fell sick, so I just restarted last week when he's 5mths 2 weeks old. Feeding schedule is like this:

930am - feed 180ml FM
1230pm - feed 150ml FM
1-130pm - 3 tablespoon cereal + 1oz of puree

I haven started him on 2 meals a day yet though! gonna start maybe next week

tried to feed my boy with porrige that is coook till cant see the rice, K always tend to throw his temper.. But when my mum feed he will tend to keep a bit quiet been having a hard time feeding him. Havent tried feeding him cereal yet, Maybe going to try this weekend.

Talking about cereal, how much do we normally give

gunibb

wat abt the nap time? thaT means his cereal is after nap? tink i will try changing her cereal to after her nap ba when she in good cheerful alert mood..

koras

i am still at 1tbsp of cereal to abt 30ml of ebm now...

Thank you mummies ,
zac fever went down yesterday already
.. There is no cough , phlegm , flu .. nothing .. just suddenly down with fever for 2 full days and after inserting supp 4 pills in total the fever just went away .... keke ...

Maid issues ....
After discussing with hubb , he say let go of maid first and reemploy next tiem when we come back ... he say sure can find another maid helper ... so nw preparing to ask ard to see who need maid ( filipino).. can PM me so that i can describe to u how she work and what are the things she can / cannot do ... keke ... she cannot cook well .... cos never let her cook too .."expectations differences" from employees cos understand when maid stay at diff families, they perform and form diff expectations as well ... no gurantee that she is good everywhere thou she is good here ..

Kym ,
will see the mother and bb mag today ... keke ..

Logico set ,
the chinese logico set i bought is quite good .. all pictorial and easy to understand for bb ..

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Chewy_ring</font>
U've got a PM!

<font color="ff0000">rlrenn / Yan</font>
I dun think i'll bring my boy anytime soon to the movies. Concentration level still not there leh. Agree with Jas, think we'll end up watching them instead

<font color="ff0000">Flos</font>
oh no.. den Isaac sleep is so disruptive. How about turning on the aircon for him just to keep out the noise? No sleep = little growth..

<font color="ff0000">Yun</font>
Good to see u too... realli 'pei-fu' u ah.. push ur bb all the way to come n pick up the stuff

<font color="ff0000">Gunibabe</font>
wah... 1230pm 150ml FM and 1/2 hr or 1 hr later Guniboy can take his cereal????</font>

movies with bb
i think it'll be like bringing an unswitched off mobile phone into the cinema, as in u'll never know when it's going to start RINGING?! better not... it'll be disruptive to the rest of the movie goers, plus u'll have to put up with glares and loud tsk-tsks as u sheepishly whisper "excuse me, excuse me" on your way out. stressful la... the loud noise is not good for bb too.

my bb has started waking in the night again. twice in a row now, so i may start her on solids before six months instead. will monitor for a few more days and see how. she's also getting more and more twisty and wriggly during bath and diaper changing time. last night, she managed to twist herself off the changing table while i was wiping her bum. luckily, i was holding her ankles so she ended up hanging upside down instead. also caught her trying to lick the bath water a few times already! really got to be more alert now.

Xuanting,
U mean u put those toys tat are meant for surface wash only in the washing machine as well ? I am thinking of how to wash those soft toys too. Haven been washed them at all....I'm a lazy mummy

Angeline Goh (angeg) : yes, he can still take his cereals. He'll usually doze off while having milk or we'll leave him in his cot to let him sleep by himself after his lunch feed. Yes, try feeding them after nap cos they're usually in better mood after a power nap.

bacon@eggs: tell me about it...more hungry after feeding him with cereals. I now feed him with FM+cereal before he sleeps, and so well he sleeps thru the nite till morn...phew!

sasa: what to do...am thinking of sending him to IFC now. I dun really like him at MIL's place cos her daughter who is the freelancer is going there with her 15mth old son who is causing my son to lose sleep and disturbing power naps!

chewyring: yah, better send her back to her agency so that u can start afresh with an ayi in China.

millie: i also throw the soft toys into the washing machine.

My little zen also waking up twice a night nw ... he slept at 8 pm .. sometimes 9 pm and then wakes up ard 1am for the first feed and 6 am for the 2nd feed ...

millie / Xuanting ,
i also throw into washing machine ..

Flos ,
15mth requires lots of attention ..keke ... the gap is liek my FB and 2nd born .. and yah .. hard to coordinate their sleeping hrs .. but one two days in a week , they will coordinate nicely to let mummy have a two hr nap with them ... else .. it is usually one sleep the other wakes up and usually Zac will disturb didi cos he is mobile and didi will not disturb zac cos we will carry didi away from zac sleeping area ... haha ... but after a while i think didi kind off used to it and manage to sleep ignoring zac ... so i guess it goes with training too .

flos, fm + cereal in a bottle before miniflos sleeps?

millie, ya i dump them all in the washing machine even if the labels say "surface clean only".

chewy ring, i can just imagine how tired and sleep deprived u must be!

Sasa.. My boy loves to "kai kai".. push him to JP almost everyday..hehehe

Baby Fair,
Crowded... signed the mother and baby mag and got 3packs of Huggies ultra "XL" as the gift.. very worth lor...

Expo exhibition

Erm ... wanted to sign up for the magazine but the huggies pampers no stock le
if not realli worth deal.

I went 7plus pm and totally no crowd , quite quiet
I think the things the fair is more suitable for mummies who's going to be due.

Did'nt brought much , except for combi teether , not sure if it's cheap compare to outside .

Baby Fair,
I reached expo at 11.40am this morning.. so manage to grab the huggies once I signed up with them.
Althrough is crowded but not stuffy.. so its quite okay. My boy was enjoyed.. keep screaming happyly there.

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Mamyvelle</font>
Which combi teether did u get? Do they have the choco teether?? I've been looking for this but KP selling exp leh...

<font color="ff0000">Yun</font>
u push ur boy there alone again?? hehe.. u realli very onz leh :p</font>

went to expo around 6+

renewed my mother n baby mag, didn manage to get the diapers :-(
what is worse, i opted for the nestle hamper, the cereal pack has expired on 1st feb 09!

so, remember not to opt for the nestle pack, or at least see if they can replace it with one that has not expired....

btw, the choc teether is selling slightly cheaper than kiddy place. expo is 13+, kp is 14+

i was hoping to buy some medela spare parts, but dun have leh...

i did stop by the education booths, the glenn doman program is really expensive! there is also have a phonics book series...now i am confused!

anyway, my verdict - probably not worth going for those with babies.

chewyring: yeah...my MIL is always saying not free and wanting to get away when there is chance! Tsk tsk...

xuanting: yes, I added one scoop of cereal into his dream feed to knock him out. He really sleeps so soundly thru the night. I also place pillows on both his sides to prevent him from flipping. It's working and I've chewyring to thank!!

miow: thks for the update. I'll not go tomorrow then. I'm not keen on GD materials and I'm not using huggies. Any bottled purees there?

flos

i only saw gerber brand there..but not much variety..banana/ apple blueberry...&amp; their fruit juice (glass bottle)

sasa,
No.. this time is me and my mum who pushed him together. we took MRT all the way down from Boon Lay - Expo station... hohoho

Angeline,
thanks for the info, never know the barcode can exchange for toys.. had throwing them away everytime, sigh....

<font color="0077aa">miow: Wow! scammers in action!! Will usually buy from reputable BP, those dubious one will avoid!!

Today smallberry resume his HT brown rice cereal &amp; didn't poo. Sweet potato he pooed three times!

Chewyring: You must be so tired! Today as I was driving, I was super sleepy &amp; its so dangerous!</font>

Mummies , need recommendation on baby product. Am using california baby product for my girl , thinking of switching to gaia , any mummy using that? any feedback?

xuanting, lol~! Thanks for the reassurance, I shall throw them all into the washing machine!!!

GuniBabe, steaming kills germs but how abt the saliva part??

Jas/Xuanting/sasa, little A can sleep thru in her stroller at a wedding dinner with LIVE BAND. Just need her pacifier, bolster &amp; bean pillow. Only worry is hurting the ear drums cos for them its more sensitive/delicate. The last time I went to the movies was after my confinement my mum offered to take care of dd while me n hb go on a 'date'!!

Millie, you haven wash any of the soft toys yet???? I try to machine wash the normal ones and all the surface clean ones are still stowed away until I get to clean them up! I just get too paranoid abt where the soft toys have been and the amt of dirt n dust acumulated before they are bought!!

Yun, my dd also likes to kai kai!!! She gets out of the house EVERY day! most mornings to the market with my mum, afternoons at neighbour's house when my mum go for tea and weekends I will make hb bring us out for shopping &amp; dinner! hehe!!! I was planning to push dd to take mrt from Yew Tee to Expo also, but cant find anyone to go along..
Have to wait till sunday to go now..

Not recommend the soft toys and plush toys for baby as its collect dust very easily.
Previously, let my boy play the mickey mouse soft toy but notice that ke keep sneezing ,so hubby keep the toy in the plastic bag and put inside the cupboard since then.

Yan, my hubby will push him around the park here when he got back from work everyday
so, now when time is coming, he will automatically cry for his stroller leh...alamak !!!

Mamyvelle,

I'm also at the baby fair around 7pm..didn't see you eh!
me only walk 1 round then go off..bought few bottle of Gaia lotion, shampoo to stock up. Unless buy 5 bottle above, then can get 30% off, if not only 10% off. My boy didn't use all the Gaia skin care, mix with Mustela due to his mummy very 'niao'...Mustel big bottle than Gaia... :p

Gaia powder is talc free, but quite expensive, $17+- per bottle (small bottle only)...I didn't buy cause my hubby said stick to the Pigeon wan

Which weaning set are you using?

Yun, I quite like GAIA products. It is good!

Yan,
Ya lor...i know i shouldn't, but i'm not tat worried as Alston doesn't seem to fancy those toys either. When he was younger, he just chucked them away when i gave it to him. But now i'm getting paranoid too as he occasionally chews on them. OK I'm going to be more diligent in washing the toys.

How often u gals wash the toys ?

Yun,
Yes i have the same tots as u...i dun really like to give Alston toys to play with cos i feel that toys collect dust easily, thus is not beneficial to bb's health. Alston has very few toys only.

me also went to the fair last night. Reach around 7.30pm, shop around while waiting for my sister. Bought nothing. was thinking to buy the floor mat costing $135.00.

Jasmine, got floor mat ar? I didn't see it..maybe walk too fast!

Rice Cereal to Puree
How long should I feed the rice cereal? When to start Puree?

cutieyunyun : I also not sure , yet to try , but seems like not bad leh

blackberry : yea lor , never see u , I saw the gaia there , must buy so many , hee... I brought the march issue magazine den inside got 20% off gaia when u order 2 or more bottle from their website. I also nv see gt floor mat.

Storeberry ,
ai yoh .. u better dun drive when u are sleepy ...... me more fortunate la .. have helper .. so if sleepy just ask helper to look after thema nd power nap for 30 mins .. keke ..

Flos ,
come to think of the senario again .. sometimes your 15mth old nephew napping might be disturbed when Isaac cry too .. keke .. so as long as both of them are close to each other and already used to it .. should not be disturbance already ..

BB fair ...
not gg ... nothing to buy ...

Milk powder ..
anyone knoes if next week Enfalac gg to increase price by 5-8 percent .. a friend just sms me say haveinsider news .. dunno how accurate .. she stock up the powder lei ... so gg to stock up today ..

Do they sell huggies ultra at the fair cheaper then those ntuc or cold storage.

By the way is there any High Chair there

any mummies going to Babyfair tomorrow ? I would like get some GAIA dusting powder leh (buy 6 got 30% disc). anybody want to share ? Iam staying at west....

Mamyvelle.. I tik 1-5 buy is 10% disc then 6 onwards is 30% (If iam not wrong)
Anyway, I need 3 bottles to stock up, my baby's neck,face,ears is full of heat rash... need some powder to ease the itchiness..

Erm ... u calculate what is more worth , cause if u buy the march issue , got discount 20% for 2item and above.

I can add in 2 bottles to become 5 , but den like this also 10% , unless we get more things , etc bath and body wash , soothing lotion...