(2008/09) Sep 2008

ade, the cereal from medical halls. apparently they are a mixture of dif ingredients, one of which stimulates the appetite.

flos, dunno what's in the cereal, but probably all the 補 stuff gwa. if my bb's appetite is anything like yours and mine, i might actually try some to stimulate her appetite!

Flos: Shd be abe to get from your regular saloon. You chekc with them? The packaging is in a very sweet pastel green.
Understand what you mean. We have many kids in the family. So when we eat out, the kids and maids will form one table. And the adults another.

Woah Flos, your nephew is vvv bu~! With all the 参 stuff, cordyceps n Ngor fish fillet... My mum also told me that she will only buy Ngor fish fillet for little A to eat when she grows older while we adults will only get the good fish once in a while and not everyday. Haha!

Ade, yep the herb brown rice cereal my mum got it from medical hall. But cos her good friend is working at one, she feels is safer and her friend will take more care to grind them for her. But con side is that the cereal have to cook before consuming so its more troublesome than the ones that we can just add water or milk to mix.

baby food - I just got back the philips mini blender from MIL as she have not used it even once since i bought for her last year at philips warehouse sale. haha! Will be passing her my old blender instead if one day she ever want to use! Now have a new blender to blend some food for little A during the weekend!!! YEAH~ Thinking of boiling some potato, carrot & sweet corn together and blend it for her as that's my personal favorite soup recipe!! hehehe~

yan: 四神糙米粉 is the name yah? cupcakes just reminded me.

A&A: i might be able to find the parallel imported Shiseido shampoo at those medical halls perhaps? psst, i hv the Jackie Chan Hair Tonic Shampoo! keke

xuanting: oh u r cantonese hor, so its 'ma yau'. It's threadfin in English I believe and 'Wu(3) Yu(2)' in Mandarin.

oh just to add, ask for the BIG 'ma yau', not the small ones u know... The same BIG ones we ate for our confinement to lactate.

Flos ,
Zac also takes thread fin . ngor fish everyday since he start weaning ...everyday just a small portion cut and cooked in porriage and he loves them .. sometimes cod fish is used .. but too oily .. so mostly Ngor fish ..

flos, thanks! i'm not cantonese la... always have problems at carrefour cos they dun write the chinese names of the fishes. now i know – threadfin.

is the jackie chan shampoo any good?

Flos, i dunno abt the name... Shall ask her that! hehe! i know ngor fish as in 'ngor he' in hokkien. Yep~! The BIG ones cooked with papaya for the soup rite but also v expensive and better to get fresh ones.. btw, would love to get 'xue3 yu2(snow fish??)' for little A also.. Must ask my mum if its ok cos I LOVE steamed FRESH snow fish!! She cooks it for me all the time when i'm pregnant and i'm craving for it even now as i speak...!

A&A n Millie

Of cos "Xin Tong", i saw him rolled off n fell, can't catch him in time. i cry w/ him till he stop crying.
Me now giving him 四神糙米粉 w/ ikan bilis, firso wheat n heinz rice cereal. also cooked congee for him but he still love fruits best especially Korean Stramberry, he suck n chew w/ his two tiny bottom teeth, took at least two strawberry every feeding.

am sooo tired and mia cos FB had supervirus over the weekend and we were battling 40 degree fever for 4 days. was also afraid that jon would catch it so was desperately trying to keep them apart.sigh. but thank God the fever is down and the trip to the PD also "by the way" took care of the 6 month vaccination for jon. Mummies who said that their bbs had fever after the jab, my confinement lady told me to remove the plaster after the jab and rub some tiger balm on the spot. Quite sceptically, I did it for the 2 and 3rd jab and jon was fine whereas he had fever for the first. Not sure if it was really due to the tiger balm but you can try if u want. i didnt give him barley water or anything else.

Solid Poo
Ya, now that jon has started semi-solids freaked me last week by not pooing for 5 days but the PD checked and said his tummy was soft and to give him 4 ml of lactulose and he mega-pooed that afternoon. Like sasa and ade are doing, think i need to increase the water intake but as jon does not take bottle we have to spoon or cup feed him, very tiring. Am also giving him the heinz apple and prune juice. Wanted to buy earth's best cos it was organic but hubby said " must be organic meh?" *roll eyes* i tried the organic bananas, sweet potatoes and avocadoes that i have been feeding jon..so yummy. i personally prefer it to rice cereal- rice or brown. :D

mummies who are struggling to balance work and baby-time- hang in there! your babies do appreciate the effort u are making so even if it is a little time at the end of the day and you are close to being a zombie, your baby will look forward to some snuggling or talking/cooing just lying on the bed cos u are his/her mummy! and it turned out that when FB could talk, he would ask why i had to go to work everyday cos he really missed me even though grandma/grandpa were super caregivers.

Dseptkon: *hugs* hope ur FB is better nOw. Ok, i will try the tiger balm method on his next jab. ya, i think it's important to give them water. My boy's poo is still the watery kind even though he is on semi-solid. My boy loves water more than his milk. Everytime give him water, he would gladly take it and put into his mouth, whereas for milk, he would hold the bottle and play with the teat. My hb also ask me, why his food must be organic? so special meh. His cereals and baby jars, i buy all organic. I think it's important to give organic food now, as it's more healthy and since they are so small now, better to build up their health 1st. the avocadoes that you tried is also earth's best? I realised not many places carried this brand. So far only seen it in cold storage. Your FB is really sweet. I'm looking forward to hear my son say this to me one day!

yan, wah, so troublesome ar. Still must cook. hmmm... wonder if my MIL will find the time to do a not.

chewyring: can we feed porridge to 6 mth olds now? I also love ngor fish...

yan: xue yu is codfish. it's oily u know... anyway, i dun really like codfish, unless it's done the western style. it tastes terrible if u steam it with soy sauce and preserved veggies...

blackberry: i let him lie down in a reclined position after feeding him. he enjoys sitting there watching us take our dinner.

i've no idea why 'wu yu' is 'ma yau'. the Malaysians called 'ngor he' 'ma yau'. 'wu yu' is what my mom always uses...maybe it's not 'wu yu' after all? heheh!!

xuanting: u buy from carrefour? fresh? buy from wet mkts.

mrs seng: can they eat ikan bilis powder now? so coarse...wow! strawberries...was told to put it off till 9 mths...

dseptkon: i can understand the pains of your FB...was very sad when my mom left me for work when i was young...

Flos,
I fed zac porridge when zac was 6 mth old and only pumpkin , carrots, pototoes .. then slowly add the meat like pork , chicken and fish ... my auntie start feeding her granddaughter when she is 4 mths old but i think 4 mtsh too young to start ..

Flos: Wu yu is I ate during confinement, so baby can start with this kind of fish first

I love the high chair , somemore can reclined position..It is very good!

ikan bilis
I forgot where I read that ikan bilis content salt and not good for infant. Is it true?

mrsseng, Korean Strawberries!! Its sweet rite? Little A loves them too~ My mum & mil kept giving me box after box of them. Think its cheap ba?? But definately popular now... btw, wad type of ikan bilis u put in???

Dseptkon, woah 40 degrees for 4 days! you must be tired out by all that. Glad its over for you! This is wad scares me so much abt babies n children... Falling sick + fever or flu or vomitting. Once a passerby asked me for some wet tissue to clean her young daughter up as she just puked on the street.. My heart goes out to her and wad she must have felt to handle such situation esp in public!

Ade, yup that's wad she told me. Have to cook first not like the HT one at my house which is ready to eat type..

Flos, so xue yu is codfish... My mum doesnt steam it with soy sauce & preserved veggies. Usually she'll put a little salt+pepper, and some ginger to steam and the fish MUST be fresh. Taste wonderful to me leh.. It just melts in my mouth!

seems like alot of u have started weaning. i only plan to start on my gal's 6mth exactly. thought of starting vege/fruits straight instead of rice cereal. any mummy doing that?

on hair loss, im also lossing like crazy. used to wash my hair everyday but nw only wash on alternate days. so heartpain to see my hair dropping. btw my hairstylist advise nt to do scalp treatment or use scalp shampoo when still breastfeeding. wonder is it true?

Flos: Not sure abt the medicinal halls You can try of course.

Mrseng: I understand why you cried. When my bbgirl (my FB) fell from the bed when she was abt 1yr old, I cried along too. Same as you, I witnessed her fall and blamed myself for leaving her unattended on the bed while I went to pee (with the door open, hence I witnessed her fall). :p

Yan: Threadfin is the fish that most people start for babies. My FB have been on this fish since she started semi-solid.

dseptkon
hugs!!! hope both your boys are ok and happy and playing again!! you rest well!!!

flos, qiuling
is cod oily?but those oils' good for the kiddoes..coz cy doesnt eat threadfin, only cod, and pomfret sometimes. cod is ok in porridge, better baked or steamed. im trying to introduce him to salmon now, hope he will take to it, must spread out the mercury risk a little...

threadfin
it is good fish coz it is rather bone-free...so kiddoes dun get the choke-to-death hazard..but mummies must spread out the source of your fish and varieties a little. coz if from the same source (cty, same river etc) or same fish, the chances of them taking in the same contamination is higher. yes even though everything is contanminated now, it's better to spread out the risk...

IKAN BILIS :
Read the posting regarding salt content in ikan bilis...ya agree that they are salty, but it seems that the older generation like to add them and dried scallops into porridge . Anyone can advise if dried scallops and ikan bilis are suitable for infants at 7 or 8mths old ??

Ya agree with lilboymum...tot cod fish is good for bb as they have good oil and high in omega 3 like salmon ??

Yan,
I also love cod fish irregardless baked or steamed. My hubby's aunt made me a lot of steamed cod fish during my confinement....YUm Yum...

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Strawberry</font>
aahhh... the distributor of Healthy Times also informed that some PDs recommend we only start babies on strawberries when they are about 9 mths.. not too early</font>

Millie: Salty food is NOT recommended for young babies as their kidneys are still too immature to process such foods. In fact, even though my girl is already 2 yrs old, we still keep her food as bland as possible.

Millie
the problem with ikan bilis and dried scallops not only they are salty but highly processed. you really dunno what goes into the process, of coz they tell you they only put salt and then sun dry it.

a friend of mine has a maid who's hometown processes ikan bilis to be sold in the market. the maid told my friend she woulnt even feed her own children those ikan bilis. apparently they are bleached before processing etc...not sure if this is true...

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Millie</font>
Stage 1 - for babies 4 months and above. Of coz.. u muz have started with cereals...

Stage 2 - for babies 6 months and above</font>

Hmmmm, after looking at the webbie rlrenn posted, think little A have already tasted most of them in small amounts!!! Am abit shocked but relieved nothing happened to her... Think have to watch out and be more careful abt the foods that i'm letting her taste already!

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Mould on clothes / towel</font>
Anyone knows how to get rid of mould on clothes / towel????</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Babies falling off the bed - think most babies would encounter this at least once in their infant years! My son fell off the bed a fortnight ago when my MIL left him there for a moment to go and warm up his milk. Luckily, he fell from their bed onto another mattress on the floor, and think he fell butt first, so there as no visible injury. Even then, everyone freaked out and my hubby rushed to their place to bring him to the PD.
Just have to be ultra careful when they are on the bed!! Now we use loads of pillows to surround him like a fortress!

Cod - this is my all time fav fish. Will most probably start baby K on cod porridge when we start on the fish/meats. Cod is one of the oiliest fish around, so plenty of DHA for brain development as well

Ikan bilis/dried scallops - yes, definitely an older generation thing to feed these to babies. My MIL makes ikan bilis or scallop porridge for my niece as well, but she is 1+ now, so should be ok to take salty stuff in moderation. Will have to remind her not to feed these to my son till he is at least 1.

dseptkon (dseptkon) - hope ur FB is better now. He is so sweet - i surely hope that baby K is missing me right now

Strawberries - what is the logic behind needing to avoid them till older? I know not to feed infants any citrus fruits of cos. In anycase, plenty of other yummy fruits we can substitute with - avacados, bananas, peaches, melons, etc.</font>

way too many posts for me to catch up. hehee.

i'm out on my own already so got less time to surf and stuff. hehe. been trying to do household chorse, care for bb, and am starting freelance writing again. keeping fingers crossed that i will enjoy juggling~

sasa/ storeberry: muy e has been waking up in the nites too. argh. thot the sleeping thru thing wld cont..but only lasted 2 days. now i have to even put him on my bed to sleep. and he takes up soo much space!

fish: for threadfin in cantonese can gimme the intonation? going to try looking for it here. and my cantonese sucks.

salmon: my friend's pd told her that salmon can be q allergenic for bbs with sensitive skins etc. not sure how true it is.

sarahmay: cantonese has 6 tones, so hard to advise u...ma yau yu...

xuanting: it's pretty dry for the scalp lor...

sasa: yes, my TMC PD also said the same on strawberries after 9 mths. the link above says 12 mths, that's just being more cautious...

millie: I saw an ikan bilis cereal at the supermarkets. not sure if it's nestle.

chewyring: yes, savoury stuffs like meat to be introduced last. start with carrots, potatoes, pumpkins first...But u hv already introduced one savoury food, Ngor Fish. hehe...

blackberry: then go go and buy it!! or u can wait for them to order the 2009 collection. Just FYI, Mothercare doesn't carry PP high chairs. neither does Baby Hyperstore.

hello everyone
long time no post! I'm too busy at work to even read the posts on this page, let alone the pages and pages of archives that I have missed. Have not even been a silent reader these past few weeks!

Bigtoes
forgot to tell u that I saw your hb's Vday classified ad. That nite I dreamt about you both...I was peeling prawns and passing them to u to taste for your Vday dinner...see lah...read papers before bed and...

<font color="aa00aa">BlingBling (blingbling) - hah, that is too funny! I had yabbies for dinner on Valentine's Day, but not prawns (i don't even like prawns)
Moral of the story: don't read the papers before you go to sleep

<font color="0077aa">So many posts today!!

Blingbling: Your dream is so funny!!! I am amused!!

Yah, what is threadfin in mandarin?? Am goign to start sweet potatoes this weekend. Excited!</font>

sasa : is it those black dots on our babies clothes? I dunno but i encounter it once in a while. I think its because we dun wash their clothes immediately, esp those that are stained with milk.

bigtoes : i read on a website that wrote about foods like strawberry, tomato, celery and bell pepper are often introduced towards the end of baby's first year or later, because they sometimes cause tummy upsets or allergic reactions in younger babies. not sure it is true. guess we will only know when we try?

rlrenn : i found this website that talks about starting weaning with baby rice... can take a look?

http://www.homemade-baby-food-recipes.com/best-first-food-for-baby.html

Springz / yan and other mummies - i am really very tired, but waking up early is my hubby's forte. Am the sort who can sleep all day type. But baby e has changed my sleep pattern.

Springz - you seriously weaning off BM already. Am still pumping but now only get 150ml x 4 times a day. Am lengthening my pump time to as long as 6 hours now. I've had leaky let downs the last few nights, so i just bear with it. Believe i read somewhere milk production is all in the mind. I wil start weaning after baby e turns 6 months.

yes...me too..my hair drop is so bad that i can pick up bunches from the floor. Am getting desparate too. My colleague recommended a herbal treatment place is pasir ris. Am gonna try, then will tell you gals. $25 each time and tonic is $21. So its more affordable.

baby E is not drinking water..sigh..he takes sips only. how huh?

flos, which means it's not working? i really hope this hair dropping thing will pass quickly. my dog has been pooping stringy poops as a result of her compulsive floor licking!

breadmum - you knoe half the time I can't wait to stomp the hassle of expressing, other half feeling like a bad mummy (its just me). anyway, lil S will turn 6 mths in 2 wks n body takes time to adjust so i've already started dragging intervals. also my freezer still has 2wks plus of FBM..

can FB me where u get the tonic pl? my helper was just helping me 'dust' off the hair on my t-shirt n i saw a lump gathered on the floor after that!

No worries abt ikan Blis, cos my mum wash it a few time then dry in the sun till its totally dry then wash again then stir fry it till it's dry then grind it into to power form.
As for strawberry, my boy seem no allergic to it.
I also gave him different kind of fruits too like apple, pear, orange etc... He love them too.

Millie,
My boy now is 5mths 9days old.

JTA: How much milk does ur bb intake now?
Cos my boy now only taking between range of
90ml-160ml.

mummies...

NTUC amk having bb fair leh... got diaper &amp; milk powder on promo.. bt i'm not sure the price cheap anot... those interested may go done hv a look.. and tell us whether it is worth stocking up anot...

Flos,
So Ngor fish is called Wu(3) Yu(2) in Mandarin ? What is the Chinese character for Wu(3) ? Any idea if is sold in Suzhou, China ? Wonder if next time i move over there, will i be able to cook this fish for my boy ??

Springz - I'm in the same boat. There's always hair on my top / on the floor etc...it's bad when I run my fingers through my hair while washing and it comes out in quite scary amounts!

Any hair tonics to recommend???

Got my period today though I'm still partially breastfeeding (Pump / latch 4 times a day) -- is this abnormal??

*grumpy*

on a happier note, am going to start his first semi-solid meal this weekend! Quite exciting. :D

By the way, re ur baby's age, do you still count by weeks or go by the date?

Springz/Lanolin: me too! i got sick of always finding my find everywhere ... my bed, floor, even GuniBoy's bed and playmat and sometimes in his hands! I wanted to chop off my long hair to chin bob but the stylist told me my hair will curl, so he just chopped off 3 inches for me. Initial plan was to perm it, but he said since my hair loss is unstable, it's better to wait till my scalp condition is good before doing any chemical treatment. I hope I can stand my hair ... cos I used to rebond like every 6 mths but since preggie, I have not rebonded it for 1.5 years and have cut off my rebonded hair since! Hopefully the shorter and lighter weight of the hair will help in preserving them and not shed like mad when my hair was very long (almost waist length).

Lanolin: period when breastfeeding is quite the norm too. Dun worry about it.

Baby's age: I was told to go according to baby's date of birth. Cos at the hospital, I asked when is next jab, and they said, at 6mths old. and I went, which is when, then they counted for me and I realised perhaps I asked a silly question! keke