(2008/09) Sep 2008

sasa... i oso 1 2 place my order...

LC.. my son oso likes to look down when he sit on bumbo leh.. i thou he just like to look at his feet! so did ur PD sugguest anything??

Breadmum, wow ur supply really good! How can ur colleague be soooo insensitive!!! Should give her a tongue lashing! Moreover lots of women are working and pumping at work and giving BM too~ Is that colleague not married with children?? Why the boss kept yelling for you to hurry up? They are all very not pro family leh...

Storeberry, JiaYou~!

LC, yah same for A, the very first time hubby saw her keep slouching in the bumbo, he said 'di ban mei you jin, bu yao yi zhi kan di ban!! (floor no gold, dun keep looking down!)' LOL! For that one time she really look up at her daddy and grin!

Jeraldin~! We all MIA! haha~ EJ so fast teething ya, I saw A's gums but think its still a looong way to go... She tilts to the side when sitting in bumbo too! Lucky the bumbo is very solid wun topple cos I can see that her whole body lean the the side and like gonna get out. Its either that or lean forward to grab her toes. Sometimes leave her in bumbo while I surf net, when I look down to check on her, found her quietly staring up at me!

ok i will bring the milk bags. anyone interested in the Fitti 360 M size?

actually my colleagues are all very nice. we only have a conference room so if i want to use, they will vacant it for me. else i will just use boss's room or server room. i keep all the keys just in case i ned any. hahah

i also very bochap nowadays. half way in meeting will excuse myself to go pump cause time is up. also schedule meetings around my pump sessions ... hahah...

one male colleague asked me yday, how long am i gog to BF. one year? guess will just continue but pump lesser after 6 months. currently pump 3 times at work to increase SS else not enuff. 6 months i will put my girl on partial FM & BM.

Greenbaby

I am currently pumping thrice everyday - Twice at home and once at work. I am already feeling very tired lor, especially at home. Need to wake up earlier every morning and sleep late every night

Am tired of living with a schedule!!!
My boy is turning 6 months old this end feb, intend to wean off BF once he turn 6 months. Thereafter he will survive on my frozen milk reserve.

Hi mummies...

So interesting to read that u all are starting to feed ur lil ones...

I have some qns to ask:
- Once u have started feeding ur babies, does the timing of his/her next milk feed change..?
- When is a 'good' time to b feeding our little ones, like how far away should it be after the previous milk feed?

hi all! How was your CNY?

bigotes : i also have not gotten my period since BF. Quite good actually, cos i dun like having periods! Save on pad money! :p

Weaning : I just started baby E on HT cereal yesterday. She seemed to like it but I spent a lot of time wrestling with her for the spoon. She seemed to take a liking to holding her own spoon.

Rejecting bottle feed : Any mommies experience their babies rejecting the bottle?? I am preparing to go back to work so started Baby E on bottle feeding again. She refused to drink from it, sometimes even going on 8 hour hunger strikes! faint. Only my mum has been successful at feeding her and even then, she finishes only slightly more than half her feed. Guess i just have to perservere and coax her into drinking from the bottle.

CNY gathering on sat : Any mummy living in pasir ris want to go together? Got space for 2 adults 1 baby

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Ade (littlepea) / Gunibabe</font>
Let me know ur order via PM or email at [email protected]
Or can post here oso lah.. I'll be active in the thread.. UNLESS my boy is in office already

<font color="ff0000">Springz</font>
Not going wor.. Anyway, we wouldn't be able to get the stocks in time this Sat leh

Wow... sounds realli terrible + horrible. Glad it's all over n cleared already. U intend to wean off bf already???

<font color="ff0000">Flos</font>
I'm not getting HT from the States. Am getting from the local distributor
. NTUC is selling $6.95 per box of cereals. With regards to expiry date, at the moment the batches expire in 2010.

They've got a few kinds of cereal. Can check out their webbie. But only brown rice cereal is suitable for bb 4 mths &amp; above. The rest are for 6 mths &amp; abv

<font color="ff0000">breadmum</font>
if i'm not wrong.. FM like cereal muz be consumed within 1 mth of opening leh... pls check k

<font color="ff0000">yun</font>
Just called them again, have u started giving ur bb cereals? If yes, den can, u can give them Stage 1 baby jar food. Babies have to get used to the motion of swallowing food instead of juz sucking b4 they can embark on such fruits

<font color="ff0000">Millie / Jo / Yan</font>
Do PM or email me ur order k.. I will collate. Or can post here oso lah.. I'll be active in the thread.. UNLESS my boy is in office already

I finally went to buy some cereals from NTUC ytd. Mainly rice cereal from HT, Heinz and balley (not sure whether spelling is correct). Wanted to get Frisocream (rice flavour), but everywhere is oos. Only left the wheat flavour which will be sweeter. Will let the little one try HT tmr morning. so excited. I'm a bit confused with some of the instructions. Hope mummies here can advice.

Qns1: when mixed with formula milk, how to do it? Do we prepare his milk and then pour some to mix with the cereal or directly put the milk powder into cereal to mix? If it is the latter, how much formula to the cereal?

Qns2: How much is one tablespoon? Used the normal tablespoon and level it or can use the scoop that we used for FM?

Qns3: Do we give baby cereal 1st and then follow by FM or vice versa?

Qns4: I bought some puree in a jar too. For thIs, need to heat up or serve in room temp? No instruction on the bottle leh, only indicated 'keep refridgerated after opening and discard within 48 hrs'.

Sasa: How soon can we get the cereals from HT? I might stock up more if my boy likes it. When will you stop taking orders? I went tamp NTUC and didn't see any of the teether or baby jar. will get it from you instead.

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Ade</font>
Not sure how soon can get. If none of the items we selected is OOS.. should be pretty fast. Will open orders till we hit $250. den can get the 15% discount mah..

In response to ur qtns above:

Qns1: For a start, I made his milk as per usual in his milk bottle den poured some into this cereal. With regards to amount, it varies depending on the consistency you wanna offer to him. As a start, make sure it's smooth so it's easier for ur bb to swallow. Den gradually u might wanna alter the consistency. My boy doesn't like it too watery. After mixing the cereal to the consistency u think is ok.. let bb finish the cereal den end off ur meal by letting bb finish up the milk

Qns2: hahaha... i'm a no standard mummy. I juz agar-agar give him using tablespoon de
MIL even more gung-ho.. gave soup spoon. I onli found out when i saw maid scooping it. And i clearly remember I told MIL to give tablespoon. Anyway, my boy still can finish. So now it's about 3.5-4 soup spoons. Little wonder why he takes 1 wk to finish his packet of cereal hor

Qns3: As replied in Qtn1, give bb cereal first den finish off with milk

Qns4: I gave the puree in room temperature. Den the next time, let it cool at room temp after taking out from refrigerator b4 feeding bb.

HTHs</font>

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Healthy Times</font>

Mummies ordering this, please note that i'm NOT earning anything from this bulk purchase. This is the price / discount quoted directly from distributor. Am only doing this coz I need the cereals for my boy too</font>

hey, sasa i heard that we shouldn't stock up too many brown rice cereal cos the bb would get tired of it and want to move on to other flavours. most likely i'll grab HT from NTUC and that's it!

breadmom: your boss is a female or male? so insensitive!!

anyway, my hubs was just complaining that one mother in his dept who gave birth in Jul has not finished her ML up till now! He got so irritated that she is always taking half day here half day there, MIA from impt meetings, cancelling MLs without updating the online leave system so her own leave record on her calendar is very 'lun', how she added her own CCL and AL, etc. etc and she is like working on a part-time basis. the best part is, she is a senior executive...tsk tsk..

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Jasmine (piggy_jas)</font>
Cereals are at $6.90 per box as per webbie. Got 10% if we hit $150 and 15% if we hit $250
NTUC selling $6.95

eermmm... at the moment i'm feeding twice a day for lunch n dinner. Each time 5 tablespoons so each box only last mi 1 wk

<font color="ff0000">Flos</font>
yeap yeap.. they might get sick of it. so gotta introduce new food. What I do is alternate between brown rice n rice cereal. And then can add in other variations like fruits in the cereal (ppsstt.. i've not done it yet lah)</font>

Sasa,
I had started giving my boy cereal 2 weeks ago.. but he still has more than half a packet. Ur boy can finish 1 packet of cereal in 1 week, that's fast.

Will stock up baby jar, teething biscuit and cereals for 6months old baby since my boy is already 5months plus need to wait ur items to arrive, by then should be able to have it liao....

and by when should give u the order list ?

Hi Sasa,

My order r as follows:-

1 pkt of Brown Rice Cereal for Baby
1 pkt of Barley Cereal for Baby

Dear Ade, Jasmine, :p...

When mixing cereal ( but i don't give it so often now.. only use it when i need to add carobo, so my cereal pack is still hanging there), i usually take from her bottle of FM, one table spoon cereal to two table spoon milk (Table spoon- those normal metal table spoon, just shake it a bit to level off the cereal)

I usually let my girl complete her bottle first before feeding her, her solids, because she takes longer to finish her milk and i have encountered times where she's finish her solids, but refuse her milk..

Cereal's meant to provide that extra bit of carbo and perhaps some extra fortification if the brand of cereal you buy has extras added.

Alternativelly, there is no need to religiously give cereal- potato, sweet potato, grinded calrose rice can double up as cereal substitutes too. More importantly, try new tastes and flavours..

I have gone into a lunch and dinner solid feeding routine already, milk times still as normal at 7.00am milk, then 10.45am milk + solids (lunch), then 2.00pm milk, then 6.15 milk + soilids (dinner), then 10.45 milk

Puree wise, i give my girl in room temperature too, will steam the puree a little (whether bottle or homemade) just to reduce the cold puree to room temperature. After opening the bottled types, best to use it all within 1 day.. since they claim to have no preservatives. Thus i still suggest home made- no need to be too messy, simple carrot+potato or avocado+pumpkin is yummi... keep extras in babycubes to freeze.. its still better than the bottled puree (i think)

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">yun (cutieyunyun)</font>
As soon as u decide what to order can let me know lor.. den I can collate. Pref asap.. coz I need the cereals urgently oso

<font color="ff0000">Jo(jgwee)</font>
hey hey.. have already include ur order. Mayb can PM me ur contact details like email / hp. Juz in case I need to contact u urgently. This thread runs pretty fast.</font>

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Healthy Times</font>

Mummies ordering please note to also PM me your email / HP so that I can contact u if there's a need to. This thread runs pretty fast so sometimes the posts get lost in the archive le</font>

Jas:

Wa, 1 scoop is 60ml.. actually no need- just prepare your milk bottle as usual, then pour out 2 table spoon.. to one table spoon cereal..

Hi Sasa,

Barley Cereal for Baby x 1
Maple Biscuits for Teethers x 1

Baby Jars:
Butternut Squash x 1
Sun-Sweet Strawberry Kiwi x 1
Pumpkin Pie x 1
Orchard Fruit Peekaboo x 1
Little Bear's Chicken Stew x 1

So total: $6.90+$5.60+($2.30*5)= $24.00 before discount.

Let me know the final amount when you get to confirm all the orders.. Thanks!

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">yan</font>
pls PM me ur contact details hor (eg. email / hp) Thanks</font>

Hi sasa,
my orders,

baby jars stage 1 :
cabana banana x 1
country apples x 1
sweet potatoes x 1
Price : $2.30 x 3 = S$ 6.9

Barley cereal x 1
Price : $6.9

Vanilla biscuits for teethers x1
Price : $5.6

Total : $6.9 + $6.9 + $5.6 = $19.4 (price before disc)
Collection will be Boon lay MRT/Jurong west

Will PM u my ctc number..thanks

storeberry, the milk ss will return a couple of days after menses. During the onset of menses, I will latch more frequently. But now back at work, I oso dono how.. Hopefully I can pump enough for the 3 feeds for my mum. Else I'll have to rush back at 2pm daily after sch.

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">green_baby</font>
Collection locations: Jurong West / Serangoon / Boon Keng

<font color="ff0000">yan &amp; yun</font>
Already got ur orders &amp; contacts</font>

Sasa, kymkym,
thanks for the input. At least now will know how to give. Think i will give milk 1st then cereal. I can predict he will not drink his milk after having cereal. But how long after the cereal is the next feed? My son take his milk every 3 hrs, issi the same for cereal?

Sasa,
Collection in Serangoon is a weekday or weekend? I also staying in the east.

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Ade</font>
Collection at Serangoon will be on Sunday wor.. I only go back to my parents' place once a week. Unless u wanna pick it up from my parents oso ok

Kym

Now i know why the both times i fed her with cereal, she is full. NOrmally i feed her milk 4 hourly. When she had her cereal, her next milk feed is 4 hourly. HAHA!

I gave her too much cereal le. =x I gave her 1 1/2 scoop of cereal and 1 scoop of milk powder.

This weekend i shall cut down.

Storeberry,
According to a book i read, 1 teaspoon of cereal for 4-6 mths old bb (each feed x 2 feeds a day). After 6 mths, amt of cereal increases again.

hi kym, i m an Oct mum but has started my son on solids already (PD recommendation). Need to ask u something on solid feeding -- i am currently feeding my son 3 teaspoon rice cereal (i increase 1/2 teaspoon everyday)+ 20-25ml of milk mixed and he will require to finish 70ml of milk after his cereal. I am feeding once a day... is it too much to start him on 2x a day on cereal (3 teaspoon each time)? thanks

Has anyone tried the NTUC brand diapers for your baby? I am currently using Mamy Poko and find it great but my MIL insisted that I should use NTUC brand as her friend told her it's good and cheap. She has even gotten a pack of NTUC brand diapers and put in her house for when she takes care of my girl after I return to work. I don't mind switching to such house brands when my girl is bigger but not now when she is still young and her skin is still so sensitive. sigh.... When I try Drypers on her, her whole butt would be red, I wonder if NTUC diapers will have the same effect.

wow... now kym becomes our consultant already...
Thanks kym for answering our query....

sasa.. i think i need to add on somemore stuffs...will PM again

wingkei: there are actually some good reviews for NTUC diapers. can let your gal try it and if there's no allergy etc, can use it since it's a form of savings
I dun like Drypers! the cutting gives my boy angry marks on his thunder thighs!

mummies staying in the east buying from sasa - I can be your 'transporter'
I go to Serangoon everyday anyway coz in-laws stay there.. I can collect on your behalf then if u don't mind can collect from my place - between old airport/ mountbatten/ fort road..

i've yet to start s on semi solids.. thinking nearer end of this month.. sorry any idea how long the box of HT cereal will last and advice on how many to buy?? *clueless*

storeberry/Springz/sasa - no la. max i had is 350ml just that i dropped from 8 pumps to 4 pumps. So technically, its still a drop in MS.my mum did say i am like a cow though. LOL.

my boss is male and gay. And yes, my dept is not very profamily. I also have prob clearing my leave. the one who made the comment is female and she is mum to one kid, now expecting her second one. Obviously, she does not love her kids lor.

green-Baby - I'll take the other 2 boxes.

jaymickey - can u pm me your address.

Kym - ask you , if bb shit is brown not yellow after taking HT cereal, is it consider an allergy?

oh ya wingkei - my sis tried NTUC before she says not bad. Both of us don't really like Drypers but Pet Pet works well for us and it is very affordable

Hi Springz,

Thanks for the offer, but think i will collect on my own coz i will be ordering a lot as i'm ordering some for my 7 month niece too. Too paiseh for you to lug those items home. Will just bug my hubby to go and collect.

I don't like drypers too, it leave abrasion on my boy's tummy. Took a really long time to heal. Was so relive to finally finish up those packs that ppl gave me during his 1st month.

Ah.. no la.. i am no consultant.. just bored! lol

Vanilla,
Is there a reason your PD recommends the start of solids? Is it because of weight-loss/ weight gain reasons? From the top of it, 70ml milk + 25 ml mixed with cereal is a a bit inadequate (i think) My girl takes 180ml each milk feed.

When starting, Milk is still the most important. Then go gradual with your baby- feed once a day at lunch time only, see how your baby reacts, if he wants more, it means you can add another teaspoon, if he rejects, then he has had enough. If he wants more, go try other tastes and flavours other than cereal, see how he takes to the food, then add the amount gradually. Then move onto two milk+solid meals at lunch and dinner. MILK intake should not go down- solids is to be added onto the usual amount of milk he takes.