(2008/09) Sep 2008

cupcakes
no, cy staying at home still. most likely sign him up for one more parent accompanied [progr or what. but dun think he is ready for drop off yet...i wanna put him on wait list for NAFA kindy but i dun suppose there is a chance of him getting in. waitlist super long. hb told me plainly that cy doesnt have an ounce of creative genes in him, so dun bother to put him in NAFA, but i told him that that is the point. i wanna expose him to the arts as much as possible coz when he is older, im sure he wont be that interested in it anymore...

miow
haha i like that bunny hugging the bottle!! how did you put it in??? i was bfg cy(my fb) until 7mths preg. by second tri not much milk anyway, so it's pretty much comfort suckling. but dun think my ss doubled after ch is born leh...dun have any prob bfg so far (keeping fingers crossed).

think i got preg after cy turned one, by then less bfg mah, so i guess manage to catch the first eggs or what..ha...

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Jo / Angeline Goh / Ade / bacon&amp;egg / cupcakes / Other interested mummies</font>

Distributor has gotten back to me. Am not able to get an special price for <font color="119911">Bellamy</font> cereals, sob sob.

For <font color="119911">Healthy Times</font>, as follows:
For orders above $150: $6.25 per box of cereal (brown rice / barley / oatmeal / mixed grain)

Pickup locations: Jurong West / Serangoon / Boon Keng

Interested, please PM me k. I will try to gather some more orders from other threads. Hopefully can get cheaper

LC,

The Bumbo is generally not a good chair to feed baby in.. i find that when baby's in the chair, her tummy tend to scrunch up (due to the dip in the chair) which is not good for digestion.. my girl slouch forwards sometimes to catch her toes, but can sit up too. If he is exhibiting weaning signs, do go ahead, but you'll need your babe to sit up and have his mouth face you before you can feed anything to him..

<font color="aa00aa">Mei (meie) – I have a lot of petty bibs, but never took them out to use. Was thinking of keeping them till baby K is weaning. Usually, my MIL uses a small hanky to wipe saliva/prevent milk from spilling during feeds, while I use a tissue paper cos I can just use and throw..

yan (bbfam) – hah, I think hubby is serious about blending a beetle for our son! Actually I am guilty of that too – made my younger sis eat one when we were kids! I didn’t find the feeding utensils at Kiddy P last nite – think cos hubby was rushing me! I hate shopping with men!

skinny pig (skinny_pig) – hugs on the blocked ducts. I know how painful that feels – cannot even lift up the hands or walk without feeling the pain. Since you are stopping BFing, just use cold cabbage leaves?</font>

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Jasmine Yeo</font>
Congrats on ur gal flipping. hehe.. now u'll have to always keep a lookout on her. No more leaving her on the bed alone le

<font color="ff0000">Ade</font>
My boy oso cannot hold the bottle himself de. He likes to hold his water bottle but not the milk bottle (Am using Pigeon wide neck bottles for his milk, but standard bottle for his water). He tend to push out the teat and try to put it back again. Take ages to drink his water so sometimes I give up. Bind his hands or i make him hold my fingers while I feed him water

<font color="ff0000">Storeberry</font>
hugz hugz... miss those days when we were 'clean' rite...

<font color="ff0000">Gunibabe</font>
Thanks for ur advice dear. Will take note of it

<font color="ff0000">SarahMay</font>
ooohh... u back le. Eh.. muz meet up the next time u come back to SG k..

Max is flipping all the time now and hb is detesting it. haha... put him down, u turn around to see something, next moment u noe it.. he's on his stomach already.

Worse still.. he likes to flip at nite while sleeping. A few times I found him sleeping on his tummy. Freaked me out the 1st time it happened coz afraid he couldn't breathe. Immediately went to turn him over. He woke up after tat and had to give milk b4 he could fall back to sleep.

oh yesh.. he realli love his cereals. haha.. so much so, now this mummy has to think of ways to save $$

<font color="ff0000">Xuanting</font>
hugz... i noe how u feel with the cramps. Ever tot of seeing TCM to 'tiao' so tat no more cramps??

<font color="ff0000">Yan</font>
my bb oso like tat lah.. very KPO one.. will stop watever he's doing (drinking milk / eating cereal) to see whoever who was walking by or smile at them... aaarrgghh.. gets on my nerves coz after tat he doesn't wanna finish it. Cereal still ok.. his milk is a problem..

<font color="ff0000">Goldfish</font>
Think u should still continue to bf to pass on the antibodies to ur bb. Could it be bcoz the med ur GP gave was not safe for bf tats y he told u to stop??</font>

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Healthy Times Cereal</font>
ok.. managed to ask for a lower price coz I was looking at some other items in the site like teether and baby jar items.

For orders above $150: 10% off
For orders above $250: 15% off</font>

<font color="0077aa">Hi sasa, meaning its $6.25 less another 10% if more than $150? If yes, I would like to order! I PM you! beside brown rice, which creral can bb take now?

Jaymickey: Thanks!! Will try to thicken the consistency later..
Now smallberry will try &amp; opne his mouth &amp; catch the spoon!

Menses finally reduced! Hope it will stop soon!

Limay: TMC actually gave us a free spoon &amp; bowl the other time. I actually used that! Didn't go &amp; specially buy a bowl...</font>

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Storeberry</font>
Nope nope...
sorry for the misunderstanding. It's 10% of price stated in their webbie

At the moment only brown rice wor.. the barley one only for 6 mths &amp; abv</font>

I'm from Oct thread and am looking for a MIM silk sling that's in good condition and not more than $30. Do PM me if you have one to let go. Thank you!

Angeline,Sasa,
Ya, they get very easily distracted nowadays. He hardly finish up his milk now. I'm so worried that he will not get all the nutrients and that he will lose weight instead. Nowadays have to always coax him to finish up everything and it gets very tiring. And it can get really irritating when we feed him outside. When he is out, he doesn't seems to be hungry, too much distractions. Always have to catch him to one corner and force him to finish up his milk. Guess it's also a sign that i should start him on cereal soon.Time to use all the pretty bibs that i have been stocking up!

lilboymum, so cool, no period for so long! I have stopped BF ever since my boy was 2 and a half month. But till today, my menses are not here yet.So funny. Hopefully i won't strike lottery again.

Kymkym,
Bored? Lett must be a really good girl that you still find time to do so much. If it was me, i don't think i got the extra time if i'm a SAHM. I'm sure my boy will always have sth up his sleeve to keep me occupied with him!

Experienced mummies,

I have bought organic brown rice and intend to DIY brown rice cereal.
However I heard that brown rice are heaty in nature. Just wondering if I can add a bit of barley into the brown rice to neutralise the heaty effect since barley is cool?

Cupcakes, thanks for the reassurance.. When I bring A back home at night, will push all the feeding and washing bottles and making her sleep to my hubby. Then my hubby will make me feel guilty by saying that i keep complaining i miss baby but when bring her back, dun wan to look after her, only wipe her down and change pjs and play abit only.

LC, I think its normal... My dd also always lean forward and also to grap her toes or stare at the floor. Only when there's no entertainment then she will look up to see where's her mummy/daddy. Nowadays I just let her lean forward and surf net myself. cant be bothered to keep pushing her to sit back. But then saw her staring up at me to see wad i'm doing. I also feed her cereal and purees in the bumbo even when she's 'slouching'. Just have to keep callin n get her attention so she will look up. Nowadays its better as she understand its food i'm holding and she wants it so doesnt really lean forward when feeding time. checked with GP ytd abt my worry that she will be hunchback. he assured that its no problem and also they will lean back if they are tired. The other time asked him why she keeps looking down onto the floor and seldom wan to lift up her head, he says baby's head are heavier dat's why. Dunno how true but that GP is already a grandfather and he gives examples of his grandchildren's growth.

Bigtoes, I also use tissue sometimes while feeding little a, hanky or tissue whichever is within my reach. Yikes! you made your sis eat a beetle before?! I'm terrified all all insects esp beetles!!!! Why not ask your hubby to try the beetle concoction first!! Anyway, I dun really like to shop with men too. Tops my list is my brother who likes to bring us out, but is super impatient and cannot stand me n my sis's slow browsing in the shops! My hubby is great as long as he's in the mood. If he no mood to shop and just bring us out for the sake of going out(we have tradition to go out every sunday), it will just be window shopping or waiting outside the shop with his HP/newpaper while I shop alone which is terribly boring and irritating as there's no one to give comments on stuff. You can try slow browsing kiddy P at your own time, can find loads of stuff!!

Sasa, sometimes i also give my other free hand for little a to grab and push here and there while she drinking milk. otherwise very disturbing when she wants to drink milk but her hand keep automatic go push the bottle out. Guess their brain-hands signal still not very established perfectly lol! And our babies at this stage should be getting curious about their surroundings so that explains to all the problems we have getting them to finish their milk/food at one go.

Btw sasa, count me in for the HT stuff! I'll go browse their webbie now. Thanks!!

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Ade</font>
haha.. yes.. he takes onli 5 mins to finish his cereal.. but can take up to 45min to finish his milk

<font color="ff0000">yun (cutieyunyun)</font>
ya.... at e moment onli br cereal lor... 6 mths can try others le. u can try more variations like put fruits lah....

<font color="ff0000">yan</font>
pls refer to http://www.healthytimes.sg/cereal.php

Kymkym our weaning guru, need your enlightenment.
If we start baby on cereals, and move on to biscuit teether, do we go by the rule of 3 feeds per food too? Can the teether biscuit be consider a meal or it is only meant to be a snack for baby?

Sasa, I'm also interested in HT baby jars and bscuits.

skinny pig - yup cold cabbage leaves helps! Today I woke up with major engorgement, whole right boob was un-movable and even with 2 hr plus of pumping and massaging boob was still rock hard, little milk dripping out and nipples sore! At noon went to TMC Parent Craft for massage coz could feel fever coming up. Lactation nurse massaged me for nearly 2 hrs.. cost about $60plus but quite worth it.. was screaming in pain as she rubbed the nodules!!

Anyway, I asked her how I should wean off BM.. she said cold cabbage leaves.. also she said hot compress for engorged breasts only worsens it..

Me also trying to taper off BM.. we keep each other posted ya?

Sasa - u going on sat? I'm keen but wanna check with MIL 1st if she is intending to make her own cereal for baby..

storeberry/xuanting: my menses also came last week. 5 days long and no cramps. phew!

lilboymom: how can u conceive your #2 when u hv no period and was BF-ing?

Jaymickey: i think i saw the Pigeon set u mentioned at Isetan last nite. It's in a large box.

sasa: how soon can we receive the HT cereals from USA? how much cheaper than NTUC or local stores? And typically how long can we keep them (expiry date?). I wonder how many boxes we need to order to make the purchase worthwhile...and how soon bb can start taking other bb food leh?

Yan - hello hello. hee hee..we all went on a disappearance act. Finally we are active again. But note they say brown rice can be heaty. i usually feed first then give him his milk after that. Then the next meal i start with giving him some water, then his milk.

Storeberry - i never bought 50s before, but sounds cheaper. am in. if green baby can tell us how much.

Goldfish - i can take your place. u pay Jaymickey yet? how much must i pay u? PM me.

Skinny Pig/Springz - my BM also dwindling this week. It plunged from 8 pumps (since i started work) to now 4-5 pumps and each time only 250ml. So am also planning to wean him into FM as well. Just don't know when i should start, since he will be 5mths soon. I do have storage to last him till he is 7mths though.

And am wondering whether do we wean to stage 2 6mths FM or 0-6mths cause i still have Friso that is unconsumed cause my confinement lady open it to feed him at night secretly for the first few days.

Hi xuanting

i dont know of any other methods liao, now i put him onto sarong and let him slp sideway wif the pacifier 'stuck' between the sarong and his mouth den he really sucks well, and wen the pacifier drops out frm his mouth, wow....whole blk can listen to his cries lo

sorry for late reply ... ok managed to find 4 pkts. 25 bags in each pkt. so i intend to sell 3 pkts. keep 1 pkt in case i ned it. someone mentioned each pkt is $10? then make it $10 each... wow i actually stocked up 120 pkts of milk so far but oni left 10% ....

flos flos - can conceive.. no menses doesn't mean not ovulating
Just means no mess and PMS!!!

breadbum - 250ml each pump!!! that is alot! and you call that 'only'.. storage up till lil E's 7th mths!!! Whoa! My freezer is full but can only tong 3 wks the max..

sasa,
as for the stage 1 baby jar, is it suitable for 5 months old baby ? maybe can get some to trying since there is some fruits flavour.

i am reading "super baby food". its says to hv 4 days wait rule to see if baby have any food allergies. also feed in the morning or noon when baby is more alert. also bcos if got allergies, can go PD in the afternoon.

i hv fed my girl with avocado, banana, sweet potatoes &amp; HT brown rice. banana &amp; avocado r the best bcos no ned any preparations! just feed straight.

other recommended fruits r apricots, nectarines, peaches, pears, plums n prunes. these have to be cooked and strained. so i have not tried.

serving size should be about 1 to 4 tablespoon. dun worry. usually baby will let u know when they dun want to eat anymore.

btw baby before 6 mths do not have the proper enzymes to digest the whole grains in homemdae rice and millet cereals. so commercial cereals r still best now.

flos
coz not exclusive bfg anymore then. my boy was already 14mths then i think...so strike lo..kekeke..only exclusive bfg then would be close to 100%safe...

I'lCY
Just now I went to turf city to check out the pool at Marsden swim school, the place looks rather dull &amp; sad leh. So I guess I'll just queue for my turn at Aquaducks,

Green baby, how do you feed ur girl with those fruits ? is it from baby jar or original fruits itself ?

Any good food maker to recommend ?

Sarah,
I'm confused. Yest go KKH, then Alston was 65cm and 6.75kg. I will go measure myself later.

Goldfish,
Hugs to u...hope u will recover soon.

So we should start giving bb cereal mixed wif milk first rite or puree food at the start ?? I'm confused.

yun,
i used the original fruits itself. for banana &amp; avocado,juz scrape abit and feed can alr.

Millie,
start with single grain cereal wif milk.

i fed her in the following order brown rice cereal, sweet potato, banana then avocado. each type of food for 4 days.

Springz - hee hee..breadbum...i have not touched any of my milk stock from November, so i estimate can last till he is 7 mths. its half my usual amount and due to meetings at work and my boss who stands outside the room yelling " are you done yet?". Totally lose my milking mood.
Plus now little e is consuming more now. LOL.

i had this irritating colleague who made comments like " if you know you coming back to work, then don't give BM la. common sense wat" i felt like slapping her. Its my personal choice. So sickening.

green baby - opps. i was the one who said $10. yours is 25 pkts one huh. u remember how much you got it for or not? am ok to take it. you bring on Sat to Jaymickey, k?

<font color="0077aa">Greenbaby, just bring the milkbags to the gathering? I will get one!

Breadmum: Yesss... 250ml is alot!! My menses came &amp; BM drop alot! But am going to persist on!

Springz: Going to wean off BM?? Really? You are one of the more hardworking BF mummy!!

Mummies, I am giving smallberry one tlbsp of brown rice cereals now, when should I increase?</font>

breadmum - sorry for typo!! hee.. whoa means u used to do 500 each pump? u've a horrid boss!!! For me, I close my room door and put a sign out there 'pl do not enter, milk production in progress'
Thankfully nobody barges in coz keys for the lock are missing!

Storeberry - dunno lei.. two minds actually.. very ley chey.. initially thot BM 6 mths only now thinking if can tong 1-2 times pump a day till as long as i can it isn't that bad..

sasa, been meaning to go see my chinese doc, but v lazy cos he's v far away plus wait is long...

breadmum, half your usu amt is 250ml, meaning your usual is 500ml per pump? WOW! enough to feed small nations!

i think your colleague deserves a slap too! totally insensitive of her.

Hi, Yan

I think your PD is right. My PD also said my boy's head is heavy and neck control not there so keep "di tou si gu xiang" (last verse of poet Li Bai),,when I carry him upright, he can control well.. just putting him down at the bumbo he starts to slouch..

breadmum
ur colleague is indeed irritating. She thinks she's very smart... Does she even have kids???
And whoa, 500ml per pump is amazing!

springz

hugs!good that u clear ur block ducts.can understand...very painful rite when they massage u..tt time i squim here &amp; there coz painful n then the LC say aiyoh y i move till like that..other women just sat there w/o moving..

breadmum

the tin that ur CL open cant be used liao.must use within 1 mth i tink..u check on the tin got write

green baby

if after breadmum &amp; storeberry, u still got any milk bag left, i will take from u. thanks..c u there 2morow..

mummies with jumperoo

can help me chk on the instruction manual whether is their feet suppose to touch the ground (stand) or tiptoe abit? coz carine can stand on the lowest fitting 1. wonder if i should change her to 2.instead of up &amp; down, shes swaying herself side to side...

Springz

So when I use cold cabbage leave to wean off BF, do I still need to pump out the milk or TOTALLY stop pumping liao??
And for how long do I need to use cold cabbage leaves? Can't expect me to wear the cold cabbage leaves to work, right??

Breadmum,
You are really a milking cow lor, can pump 500ml per session!!! My record is only 430ml but it was 10 hours from last pump.

I used to pump about a litre a day but ever since I was attacked by the blocked ducts, my MS dropped till about 700ml. Sad sad

morning mommies...

been a long long while since i last log in and wow! you mommies are still super active...

think now the topic is on weaning ah... i was planning to start EJ in another 1 month time when he is about 5 months plus bah... but i can see a small white slit on his bottom gum.... dun noe if he is teething le.. but he does seem to have a habit of "biting" his pacifier now.. so prob will see wat the PD say when I bring him for his jab this month..

my boy likes to tilt to the side when i place him on the bumbo chair... is like he is turning his whole body to the side... was thinking dun noe if he got too much space in the bumbo to move around le...

well can't wait for the gathering tml... =)