(2008/09) Sep 2008

babysoft BP

Hmmmm.... I ordered d farm mat from them. D delivery time was quite efficient, but silly me havent tried d item as i dont intend to let Lil Q play yet... Will go back and check later..

jasmine
my baby drinks little
although i try to feed her every 4 hrly she might not take it... will push teat away with tongue. She drinks only 2.5oz to 4oz
I am worried but I saw some improvement 2 days ago... so i am monitoring.

If u are worried, Instead of rushing to PD, u can call Wyeth Nutritionist hotline for advice. They are v experienced and Its free. 18006886886

jasmine
mine drinks very little too.. his feed supposed to be every 4 hrly, but he tends to push the timing most of d time.. Sometimes i notice he drags till 5 hrs++ interval between feeds even. I don't bother so much anymore. As long he's growing steadily i think it should b ok..

<font color="0000ff">Bigtoes / Jaymickey
oh no!!! I haven even tested my mat yet...

Flos
wah... wat a huge harvest

Storeberry / Bigtoes
Max is oso drinking 120ml every 3 hrly too. sighz... has been drinking this amount for a few mths already. he not keen to have more. sometimes even have difficulty trying to feed him this 120ml

Max just came back from the dentist coz the flesh where the 2 teeth were, 1 of them got bruised on 'chu san' and bled. saw PD tat day, but PD touched and say everything ok, observe n see. Today, it became more black and he rejected drinking frm bottle ytd (be it water or milk). so sent PD a foto of the gum today, den had to go see dentist lor.

in the end, all is well. it's juz the tooth bag which was supposed to disappear which didn't. But according to dentist, she suspects that he wouldn't have his 2 front tooth anymore. Gotta wait till he's 7 y/o or so when he starts having adult teeth. Apparently the 2 teeth which they extracted when he was born were his milk teeth. But those 2 were too shaky and had no roots. there was no way roots could grow.... sob sob</font>

<font color="0000ff">Hhhmm... if i'm not wrong, i read somewhere, when babies are ready for cereal, they tend to reject milk and will prolong the interval timings. These are some hints to show that bb is ready for cereal.

Mummies, do correct me if i'm wrong..</font>

Mrs Yap,

Not sure if u want to try my c lady's formula. She recommended i use jin ying hua (kind of flower) water to bath my baby when she had very bad ezcema problem and it seemed to clear all the scars. She said jin ying flower is good for detox so u could consider that for mozzies scars too. What i do is put a handful of the flower in some hot hot boiling water for a few hours then strain the flowers away and dilute it with baby's bath water.

LC,

My baby has dry skin problem too since its winter here and we turn on the heater every day. I am using Cetaphil moisturizer recommended by the doc. Safe for babies and it bonds the moisture with the skin faster and longer so baby's skin remains moist.On top of that, we also have a humidifier near her bed so her throat wont be so dry in the middle of the nite. In any case i think a bowl of water is good enuff and serves the same purpose =)

Hi Sasa;

Sorry to intrude... My ger ger is a small milk drinker and she refused to drink milk when she awake. I always feed her when she "half" sleep.......Although she going to 6 months now but her milk intake is so pathetic, only 120ml.

Once i got the greenlight from PD (when she was 5 mths), i can't wait to feed her solid food like cereals &amp; porridge &amp; so far i can see her appetite is much better than before! At least now she shown some interest on milk when she awake......

Babies are unique, those articles may not practical. From my experience, my ger ger like milk after taking solid food! Don't worried to much for now

<font color="0077aa">Milkmilk: Ergo is only available at Metro Woodlands. They have really limited colors only, black with green &amp; camel color. Chose camel cos nicer.

Sasa: Smallberry drinks 120ml every 4hours! Maybe I will try &amp; upped his qty to see if he wants or not... hmm..

Flos: You are indeed very blessed to have your boy sleeping thru. Guess my boy needs more time &amp; training!

kym: Welcome to the Fitti 360 club! Haha!</font>

storeberry: i'm sure your turn will come. e.g. i dun really subscribe to gina ford or other guru's methods due to my heavy workload, neither do i keep track of his first flipping, head lifting, tummy time, etc. I just let nature takes its course, cos i believe all human beings will evolve and progress from lying to flipping to crawling to walking to running to jumping to swimming...And that includes being able to sleep through 8 hrs like us adults and swallow solids eventually.

Dear Mrs Yap,

Lett started on the pearl powder at 3 weeks, cus of those rashy bump most newborns get, apply it externally only, they cannot take pearl until at least 7 mths and beyond, it helped till now, kept her skin pretty prob free

I also use the baby bjorn synergy, wonderful invention!

LC,

its a great idea to invest in a humdifier, we sleep in aircon every other night, and the humidifier helps to keep the air less dry and the atmosphere feels better, not stuffy, heard its good to make dust and dirt sink to the floor. for that we also have a air purifier in the room :p

storeberry
must be tough for you to be working and feeding smallberry at night! but i think bbs sleep thru at different times. dunno if it is in the genes, but ch and cy slept thru at exactly the same time. i trained cy but not ch.

greebbb
in as much as mummies here raved about bjorn, i suggest you get the ergo at this stage. bjorn can take up to 13kg if im not wrong, however most mummies will claim their backs start to ache when teh bb reacha round 7kg. bb bjorn weight distribution is on the back, while ergo and beco wt is on the hips.

so if your bb is already 6plus kg, go for the ergo.

bjorn vs ergo
storeberry thanks for the info about the metro sale. i went to get myself an ergo finally!! used my metro vouchers too
as Jon is now 9kg, carrying him in the bjorn air is really quite a load on the shoulders. i also think he is more comfortable in the ergo. we tried it and he spent the whole time grinning away at everyone

flos/mrs yap
what is dialect group is WZ?!

<font color="0077aa">l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum): Yah man, its tough but what to do. But smallberry is better today, he ehn-ehn &amp; cry a short while like two times then fell asleep! Mummies are always the greatest! Haha! Thanks to your info on Ergo &amp; thus decided to get Ergo cos it has a longer life span! And I particularly like it that baby is resting on the hip &amp; sitting down (protect his family jewels!) &amp; mummies also will not feel strain on shoulders!

Gunibabe: Yesss!! I talked to smallberry just now &amp; gave him a kiss &amp; told him to sleep on his own.

dseptkon (dseptkon): No prob! I aiming for the Metro sale so I suspect they will have one storewide sale after CNY &amp; bingo! Jon is 9kg liao? Wow, that's fast!! Smallberry weight is tapering off now, he is at 7.17kg now.</font>

Hi Everyone! Been so busy with baby, work &amp; CNY that I have not had time to come in &amp; read through the posts!

Gunibabe
Baby D has started crawling too, although he crawls like a caterpillar now, lifting his butt high up &amp; using his feet to push forward as his arms are not strong enough. A really funny sight!

but i tried the synergy n it feels great. not much strain on my back .... then again i tried wo a baby in it.

shall go try it with bb tmr. n also try on the ergo. which ergo model? do they sell in robinsons? i hv robinsons vouchers ...

LC

acupuncture?hows your hand now? better i hope.u r 1 brave mommy..i am scare of needles man or should i say the pain of poking..cant imagine having 6 on my wrist..shrugs..brought back memories of the time when in labour gena poke for the epidural &amp; the IV drip..

bjourn vs ergo

me too..thumbs up for ergo..i tried on ergo once &amp; can see the difference in the weight distribution as well..mostly on the hips area instead of shoulders.my shoulder ache the moment i put carine in it for bjourn now.shes 8kg+.

green baby
unfortunately only metro seems to have the ergo and only at the woodlands outlet. paragon (cos they became a Mothercare corner) and sengkang said they did not stock it when i called before going to get it. robinsons and taka only stock baby bjorn. even baby hyperstore and the other usual suspects dont carry it.

the singapore distributors is a work from home mummy at www.mummysmilk.com

i went to try the ergo at mummysmilk. the seller is a very nice lady named christine. i think she distributes to metro as well cos her name was on the metro tag of the ergo that i bought.

storeberry
Jon is 9kg cos he is a little older than quite a few of the bbs here. He was born early on 25 Aug instead of Sep. so that makes him 5 months already liao.

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">dseptkon</font>
hehe... i would say Jon is doing real well. Max is older den him (Max was born on 19 aug) but only weighs 7.5kg now..

<font color="ff0000">LC</font>
Take care k... yeap yeap.. mayb should try acupuncture

<font color="ff0000">Storeberry</font>
wah.. looks like it's working eh.. smallberry seems to be getting the hint and learning to sleep on his own

<font color="ff0000">Mei / Gunibabe</font>
congrats on bb trying to crawl le. Max has no intention to crawl yet tho he has tried to pull himself on the bed</font>

sasa xie,
just curious, how you manage to post in blue and red har?

baby mobility,
mini miow is also learning to crawl with his thunder thighs! now he can flip from back to tummy and the other way round, so he is pratically rolling in his sleep!

mini miow's milk intake is still almost the same, at 150-180ml, but seems to be still putting on weight, now i think hitting 9+ kg. will weigh him in 2 weeks time.

2118157.gif

<font color="0077aa">green-baby: Must definitely try with baby! If not you wont feel the strain.. Keke.. Like what I have written in my previous post, Ergo is only available at Metro Causeway point, robinson do not have it &amp; also what dseptkon wrote on the webby as well. But Metro having 20% storewide discount so the Ergo only cost $159, which is cheaper than the other carrier.

dseptkon: Jon is growing well!! My nephew is 15mths old &amp; he is only about 9kg!

Cereals: Think I am stopping the HT brown rice cereals first cos smallberry is not taking it too well. Keep pushing it out. Will start again maybe another 2-3weeks time. I asked an experienced mummy &amp; she recommend white rice cereal to start with &amp; to start 6mths. Meanwhile thinking of what to do with my HT cereal cos the life span is 30days... Maybe will pass to nephew to eat..hmm

Sasa: Yesss... I hope he is sleep well tonight again!</font>

Hiyall everyone!
Was MIA cos bb was down wif a cold! Alas, his nose is blocked wif nose shit and he refuses to drink milk at all (cos hard to suck wif nose blocked!)

As a result, i am tramautized by him not drinking milk and bb was equally tramautized as i force feed him with a syringe!??

But he is recovering slowly and is drinking well.

Now, i end up have to FREEZE my breastmilk cos his intake is lower than the norm and i have excess!!?!

Can i ask experienced mamas who freezes their milk on special tips on 'effective stock management'.

When do u all start using FROZEN milk when u haf regular and sufficient milk flow on a daily basis? Eg: To use it a week before it expires or wat??

Do u all mix frozen thawed milk wif fresh milk since i think frozen milk taste 'not-nice'??

<font color="119911">milkmilk (milkmilk), jaymickey and other mommies commenting on the BP mat - I went back to the BP thread in the forum, but the thread is now close, so i can't post the photo up to warn other people! Its quite disappointing to see that so many mommies ended up with defective items from Babysoft! Such BPs are also based on word of mouth - don't understand how they can run a business like that! Anyway, they finally contacted me and said that they would refund, but i have to post the mat back of cos. Waste of time to go to the post office &amp; queue and pay for postage to/fro, but at least i don't accumulate more junk at home.

sasa (sasa_xie) - Don't worry too much k. At least its just the milk teeth which have to fall out in a couple of years anyways.

xuanting (xuanting)- Yes, someone PM me regarding the diapers. If she doesn't want the Mamy Poko Ms, i can sell them to u? Are u going for the CNY gathering? I don't have many though - counted 37 pieces remaining.

Meanwhile, i weighed baby K again this morning - and he is not tipping the scales at 8kg! Haiyoh...my colleague's son is 1 year old and 8+kg! Really a fat boy already

GuniBabe (gunibabe) - yah, my sister's son actually crawled for like a couple of days, then decided he didn't like it and started walking by 7 months! But that is an exception - he was always a very jumpy baby and used to bounce on people's laps even from much younger - reminded me of Tigger from Winnie the Pooh!
I think baby K would be quite fast as well since he is already doing the caterpillar crawl thingie and can sit unsupported on the floor, but am in no rush to have him walk anytime soon cos we would have to be on our hands and knees and following him around the house.</font>

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">miow</font>
eerrmm... gotta use the codes: backslash (\) followed by the colour (eg. red), open brackets ({), type whatever u wan, den close brackets. Whatever u typed will come out in the color u specified. if wan 2 colors, den gota type in the codes as accordingly lor..

<font color="ff0000">Storeberry</font>
hhhmm... am trying to see if i can tompang anybody's ride to Jaymickey's place. or else I can get the HT cereal from u. My brown rice cereal onli lasted me 1 week. gosh... max juz super loves it. he's taking it for lunch n dinner.. each time 5 tablespoons wor... so far already finished 1 Bellamy and 2 HT le...

<font color="ff0000">Goldfish</font>
hope bb is fine... u gotta get more rest oso k.. drink more water

<font color="ff0000">Bigtoes</font>
wow.. tats great to hear. At least they bother to refund u, but of coz, queuing up at Singpost is no joke.

I hope Max's teeth will be all rite. The gum dropped out last nite I think. coz this morning he woke up n i couldn't find it anymore. In the end, hb found something which looked like it on his nappy

K is really doing great. Max can't sit by his own unsupported yet... sighz...</font>

Hi, Angeline

Not good news. After having 6 needles on my wrist, my tendonistis still going strong
.. feel the pain again teh next day! Might need to change another acupunturist! That night when he did the "ba mai" (feel the pluse thingy), he suddenly frown. then he switch to my another wrist to feel my pluse and frowned again! Both myself and hubby were puzzled and worried that he might announce that I am pregnant again1 hahaha... ended up he said my body bery "xu",need to nourish back after I stopped BF. hahaha.. freaked us out mann :p

<font color="0077aa">Sasa: Anyone in Jurong going to Jaymickey house? Can share a cab together? Unless you want to come by Yew Tee then we can go together? Aiyoo.. don't compare with other babies else will not feel good. No good for mummy &amp; baby. My cutie nephew flipped very late think was 5 or 6mths, but he could walk before his 1st yr birthday so will catch up one. Don't worry. If your baby always very fast in picking up skills, you will be even more stressed if the next milestone don't come so fast right? Just take things easy.... Not easy but must try la..

LC: you super funny!! Planning for 2nd one liao? Did you received my PM?

Goldfish: Take care! Its always a headache for mummy when baby is sick! But glad that he is better now!

Freezing milk:
Initially I did the last in, first out method cos I want baby to have fresh milk in the chiller but now I am doing first in, first out method. Meaning I will take out the oldest of the Frozen BM to defrost for baby. For me, I want to keep EBM cos I know one day my supply prob cannot catch up with my son demand &amp; as job stress comes in, my ss will drop also.

I only mix frozen thawed milk wif milk chilled in my chiller when the portion is not enough.

For e.g.: Frozen EBM is 100ml &amp; smallberry is feeding 120ml now. So I will not defrost another pack of 100ml frozen EBM cos once thawed it has to be consumed within 24hours. Then I will add another 20ml from the chilled EBM. </font>

sasa
dun worry about flipping, heavier bbs tend to roll over later. nothing to do with skills, it's just gravity!

as for crawling, just as long as the bbs eventually dun skip this phase, its enough lah..

as for walking, dun worry, know this mummy whose daughter walked really late, like maybe 16mths or so..but at 2.5years old she can recite sanzijing, can read from a book, can complete iq puzzles suited for 5 year olds!!!!

Bigtoes
Wow, Baby K can sit unsupported, that's great!

Goldfish
I have sufficient milk for Baby D on a daily basis &amp; pump an extra 120 to 150ml daily to store frozen as emergency supply. I do not touch my frozen milk at all since I have enough supply daily, I prefer to give my baby fresh milk. I'll just keep the frozen milk for a period of around 3 months &amp; discard if not used. But so far, I have donated all my frozen milk away.

Hi, Storeberry

Yup, got your PM. The look of the sinseh really freaked us out. but we do plan to have a number 2.. tot cannot be so zhun!

storeberry

u like cereal? maybe u can eat oso..my fren last time stock too much ended up she help to eat them..

sasa

wow..thats alot that max had finished..i haven even started yet on cereal..today pd advise me to start after 6mths due to carines size..shes 9.1kg @ 5mths exactly...n oso shes still not flipping yet...oso..trying not to get too worried n gan cheong.

mummies - hello . been busy at work as rumours of chopping staff is rumbling around. hey,anyone wants to sell Lasinoh milk Bags? i need more. PM me if you want to sell.

goldfish - hugs. totally emphatised as my little e has recently caught a cough and fever from my parents. But is recovering well, fed him his last dose of antibiotics 2 hours ago. at first PD said it was uti but after tests, shows its viral aka flu.

<font color="119911">Dear SASA</font>
<font color="aa00aa">THANKS!</font>
<font color="ff0000">Starting work tomorrow liao....how time flies!</font>

<font color="0077aa">breadmum: called you on friday cos I was at kiddy palace &amp; wanted to get the pillow but forgot the name liao. Can sms or post here? Thanks! Still can't get thru my fax? The no is correct.

Angeline: Smallberry also not flipping yet, PD say no need to be so gan cheong.. Keke..</font>

hi goldfish, must be tough on both u and bb the past few days. am glad he's ok now.

bigtoes, thanks. let me know if she doesn't want them anymore. no hurry for me anyway cos my bb is still in size s.

lc, somehow i feel that our healths are never good enough for the chinese sinsehs. mine, whenever i go see him, nag scold nag scold, but i still keep going back. ha.

hello all mummies! I have been swarmed at work so haven't been logging on at all. Am travelling next week so packing all my barang barang to express / store / bring back the milk. Hopefully it works.

Mini D is 7.5 kilos at 5 months....Angeline - Auntie was saying how big your baby is and how Mini D isn't drinking enough!! hahaha...she's v keen to start him on cereals but I am waiting till 6 months.
She thinks Carine is much better behaved than Mini D coz she drinks her milk without fuss, unlike the boy. hahaha

Flos - :D That's quite a lot of ang baos!!! I didn't count mine but I think having only 1 kid will not help you cover the costs of ang baos. haha...hope u had a good time.

Sasa - how are youuuuuuuuuuuuuu????

Gunibabe / Meie - I am so impressed with ur boys! Crawling already? Mini D is only flipping and waving his limbs in the air as if he's swimming. hahaha...

<font color="119911">xuanting (xuanting) - wow, ur baby is still in S? Baby K is wearing all L sizes now, the fat boy that he is!
On the diapers, the other lady just had twins and is most probably just getting whatever i have outstanding from me - will let you know.

Question - do you mommies recycle your milk bags? I fill up till almost the brim and occasionally recycle - find it wasteful to throw out after one use. I don't freeze very often though - just enough to make sure that he gets sufficient milk for days that he stays overnight at my MIL's.

Standing &amp; walking - Meanwhile, baby K has progressed to standing and 'walking' - just have to support him under his arms to make sure he doesn't fall - its amazing that his tiny feet can actually bear his 8kg frame.
He sorts of know how to put one leg in front of the other - very funny to see such a small person 'walking'!</font>

need to check about US bb stuff sites. any good sites to buy baby toys, clothes, books and toiletries like california baby? my uncle is coming back in march so i thought of ordering and sending it to his us addres and he can bring it back for me.

<font color="0077aa">Sarah: Think you better ask our shopping queen, gunibabe! She will know which webby!

Can consider leapfrog if there is 15 or 20% discount, quite cheap.</font>

storeberry - will call you tomorrow to try faxing again. Its DEX Secure Sleeper Ultra. How is smallberry? from pictures looks ok.

Bigtoes- am the wasteful sort, throw away after each use as its really oily but then i dont use them so soon.

sasa/ storeberry
Jon is rather "upsized" i must agree. i dont remember FB being so large, must be due to the SAHM eating and lack of work stress.:p

Sasa
Max is eating so much cereal already? wow! that's fantastic. how did u manage to get it all to stay in? Jon seems to "pui" it out half the time and then he sticks his hands over his face and rubs it all over his hair etc... he ends up such a mess that we always need a bath after mealtime.