(2008/09) Sep 2008

Yup Jeraldin, received your sms... Now trying to make hubby send me there in the morning before he go work. If he cant, storeberry's offer still open??

Yummy ice cream! i'm an ice cream lover too! just had some haagen daz ytd...

Now my hubby trying to feed dd. But i think he is really REALLY really not up to skill. SIGH! need to take over again!

jo-mine boy now 3mths old hit 7.35 4get the forlength, PD say he like over size

now carrying him for long hand ache and backache

mine boy still keep waking up 2 -3 hourly for milk. hard to train him to sleep longer so tiring for me and my parents(whom are taking care of him during weekday)

flos-how many months is your baby le. so fast he is teethin

by the way anyone is going to feed their baby with rice cereal? notice that frisocream the can mention that we can start to feed babies from 4mth onwards

storeberry

agree!eversince carine didnt poo,her diaper usage only abt 4pcs a day..compared to the 10+ last time.but really, i rather she poo like last time.tink i will try w/o putting the 'bullet' n see how long b4 she will poo.

cupcakes

yup..got ur FB message..hehe..just tt these few days i very tired n no energy coz carine being fussing for the past few nites..will cry when put on bed,wana play, eyes big big etc..sian..every nite at least 1am+ then zzz.i am now soo lack of sleep that i didnt do anything..just surf net,forum..lazy to reply any others..i was suspecting teething..coz she kept putting her fist into her mouth n her mouth full of saliva man..going to the isetan sale on 26th to get my things..

goldfish

can PM me your hp contact? i not sure if joining u..coz must see wat time i reach my mums place in bedok 1st.

millie

paiseh..change of plan.my mum ask me to bring carine to bedok 1st b4 going over so cant meet u at lavender liao.most prob i will be taking the mrt down to bedok ,drop bb, b4 i take a bus down there..mine is a 4room flat.we got it during the 1st ballotting.think we in the same period.just tt i dun like corridor units.thus didnt get it.ours 90 for 4room..should be the same just tt farrer park flats got many corners unlike the jelicoe tt's squarish..

morning mummies ,
thought today is friday .. chionging for sale ... one more day ...
CDA 12 k will be easily used up once child goes CC. Each month cost app 500 + after subsidy , some MMI cost about 800+ after subsidy ... so 12 K can only last close to one year plus of CC fees???? so in fact the govt not giving a lot mah...keke

llCY ,
prevenar has 4 jabs in total ... have not paid the third and fourth jab ... thord jab paying next visit .

Flos ,
rota = 2 dosage before 4 mths old have to consume .

koras: that's a very good weight. do u find that your bb no longer likes to be carried by us during feeding? Mine gotta lie down on his bouncer/tilam to drink milk like a toddler. the strange thing is he will still swallow and digest lying down...wondering if it's a good thing. guess it's good too lah, since my son is getting too heavy to be cradled...

14 weeks liao...yours not showing signs of teething yet? mine has been sucking his 3 fingers, fists, now arm furiously! so poor thing...

lilboymom: yesh, her pastor was my ex-classmate's dad. she is your sch colleague bah?

jeraldin: did u buy some car toys to distract your bb? i got him a musical mobile, a mirror, a colourful shade, a portable fan, a rattle, a teether, and of course, the usual blankie & bean pillow.

kym: Sooo excited for u and lil Scarlett!!! just kaypoh kaypoh a bit, Huaxia got u to be their 'calefare', or u knew they r going to shot today, so u book appt to let S swim today? Tell us when the program's going to be shown!!!

xuanting: ah...no wonder u need to get out to 透气...do u walk out from restaurants, train, car, etc. as well?

chewyring: what is the CDA a/c interest rate? same across the board for OCBC or lower?

yeah, if bb goes to IFC, $12K will be gone in a year or so...that's why we just dumped in one lump sum so that we dun hv to keep going back to top up, then wait for gahmen to match...etc etc...

Kymkym, u going for the baby swimming competition on sat at plaza sing yah?? Janelle is going for that too.. hee hee.. we will meet again..

Millie,
Me and Koras are planning to meet at Tampines. Or shall we meet together? Yaloh.. I stayed at Bishan wor
We intend to meet at 9am at station ctrl.

Angeline,
I just PM u my contact lo.

flos
o you know D? leading good life in states now, i oso want!!!A and i are ex classmates, kept in contact all these years!

gosh really small world...

friday sales
okok...can anyone enlighten me if it is worth going down. im only thinking of getting stuff for my 25mth old boy...not CH coz unlike her bro she outgrows her clothes fast...dun wanna spend so much on her clothes now...

so any boy's stuff?

ade/alabone/cloud/miow/BlackberryB/l'l CY^^l'l CH/Bigtoes/GuniBabe - that makes almost 10 of us facing the same issue of turning our little ones to their not so favourite side to sleep. My little e when forced to sleep on his left, he will kick and struggle in his sleep just to roll back to his right side. I have used pillows, nappies and every method. Hubby and i even coaxl him to sleep on his left. For boys, i think it will be more obvious than girls cause girls will eventually have long hair.
I will ask PD tomorrow when i see him and see what else can be done.

Sale tomorrow - I'll be there by 9am since its really near my home. If only little e did not have doc appt, mummies who are chionging can come by my place to hang out and we can order food.
Mummies - if you are still around the area after 1pm, can call me if you need a place to hang out. Am just next to temasek poly i.e. 3 bus stops from safra.

ICE CREAM Outing - i wanna go too. I can eat tub after tub. that explains my size :p Include me when we do this.

CDA - i was also confused. When i got the letter, i rushed to open an account at Stand Chart, then MCYS wrote to me to say i did the whole procedure wrong. aiya, how am i suppose to know, there are 2 parts 1. Cash Gift 2. Govt match dollar for dollar.
But at Stand Chart - they encourage to do a type of "save as you earn" so that the $6K will not be stagnant. I also always thought the $6K can be withdrawn too. And the staff at the bank were not briefed so they also had no idea.

Flos & chewyring- agree with you that $12K is not a big amount when the kids go to school given the cost of school fees being so high. Such is the life in Singapore. sigh.

For the past few days , little e is drinking only 30ml every 2 hours. My hubby thinks little e is "sian" of drinking breast milk. aiyo, we are puzzled why he is drinking so little. I keep packing extras and freezing it since he is on some milk protest.

"Leng Yang" (Antelope horns: i think) - my mum suggests giving my bb a teaspoon today so that when little e has his jab tomorrow, he'll not have fever. Anyone of you did that?

Goldfish,
In this case i meet u gals at Tampines c'trl station at 9am. Can PM me ur contact # ?
Hopefully my son will guai guai wake up early 2moro so tat i can bathe him on time b4 meeting u all.

Hi Goldfish
Mrsseng here me too staying at Bishan.
Maybe we can meet up sometime for BB to get together.
So sad no time to join u mummies on the gathering, really hope to join in the next cny gathering

alabone
*hugs* think that guys are jsut quite useless when it comes to stressful situations that involve their kids. my HB is also ever ready to pounce on ppl when his bbs have hurt themselves...just remember that men may actually be completely FREAKED out and have no idea what to do when thier kids get hurt that's why they react in such a nonsensical manner.

long time no post but hv been reading the threads periodically... can fill me in on the sale tmr?

FLOS,
u mean ur BB is teething already?? u mean u can see the white thingy?! my boy is sucking his fingers like nobody's biz, some more the "zu zu" sound is very loud!! hahaha...

chewyring,
I have also signed up vaccination package for J. Cost me ~ $1400 and it includes all optional jabs too (chix pox, 4 X prevenar and 2 X rotavirus). So ex to have a kid nowadays... Luckily, my company subsidize me 80% for the jabs.

CDA A/C:
Errr, does MCYS send a letter when they do matching? Checked my OCBC statement and the govt has already matched my earlier contribution. I know they do for the cash payout but not for the CDA a/c right?
For CDA a/c, u cannot withdraw the $ per se but can only use for approved institutions. After 6YO, it will be rolled over to your kids' Edusave a/c and after graduation, if there's still $ left, it will be rolled over to their CPF. So the $ can only be physically withdrawn upon retirement!

sunnysunny,
Even 4 eyes and 2 pairs of hands may not be enuff for our tods. Josh slipped right before our eyes (my maid and I, so that's indeed 4 eyes and 2 pairs of hands!!)

TOYS:
An interesting extract from Dec'08 Mother & Baby mag:
"...Down-to-earth objects, like a cardboard box, unleashes children's imagination, sparking new games and making them play harder"

"Children who have too many toys won't concentrate. They'll be distracted and won't make the most of the learning opportunities that are there."

Dear breadmum

Leng Yang" (Antelope horns: i think) : We gave "Pao Sheng" and pearl powder when lett did her vac 2 days before, and indeed she did not get fever, but the second time round, we did not and she got a slight temperature!.. so i guess it works..

Flos:

I knew they are shooting, so the auntie at punggol asked me to go.. keke, free swimming ma why not :p

Jvel will be at the swimming contest on sat too. Met Kym yday and got to know that lett is scheduled at 10am. Mine is 11am.
jaymickey,
wat time is janelle's?
Want to go for lunch together aft that???
I'm going alone wif Jvel.

Millie
Just PM u my contact.

Mrsseng, which part of bishan u stay? I am at st12 wor

Oh yah, I am receiving my bumpermat that I ordered from the spree tis Saturday! I hope it serves its purpose well cos it cost me like $138!!!
Any mama out there start using the bumpermat liao?

hey, those mommies who r bringing their bb to hwa xia to swim, I've 5 sessions of swimming at hwa xia to let go at $40. u need to pay hwa xia another $52. pls PM me if keen. thnks

Tomorrow's Chiong-Session:

Let me organise the ice-cream mum mum after the sale, who's on?
Where would be a good place for ice-cream?

Say we meet at the sale around 9am, we go for ice-cream at 12noon..

Tampines Mall Swensen's ok?
1. Kymberley + BB

kymkym,
i also used to give my elder girl "pao sheng" the day b4 she is due for any jabs. it works everytime. but we will still feed her the fever medicine as soon as we reached home. just feed once is enough, and this will prevent the fever from coming up, as advised by PD.

<font color="0000ff">Storeberry
haha... alot alot ah... finally Z poo le wor...

CDA Account
Oh,... govt will only top up the following month.. so hehe, put end of the month bah
and coz can't take the $$ out anymore, dun put so much at once lah... else $$ will be parked there</font>

kym
tmr big boy's childcare centre is closed..maid cant handle all 3 kids at home, so i'll hv to bring along big boy to the sale.

count us in for the ice cream makan!

1. Kymberley + BB
2. Doris Teo + Alston
3. Traz + big gorgor

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) – besides being cranky, how do u know for sure that Isaac is teething? A lot of drooling and sore (tender) gums? K also sucks his fingers but I think its more for comfort/out of habit rather than teething.

preggie (preggieblues) – don’t have to open the CDA account jointly with mommy – K's was open with his daddy's name.
I wasn’t aware that healthcare cost is also covered by the CDA account – thought it was just for educational related purposes.

xuanting (xuanting) – wow, you haven’t had ice-cream since the last trimester? I eat ice-cream almost everyday! Very bad for the waistline
!!

KymKym T (pebblez) – heh, Scarlett is gona be a little star! Maybe can get talent spotted and appear in future baby products commercials!
How do they even judge a baby swimming competition? Look at which baby is smiling and kicking more? Hehe…

Lok (lok) – yah, I read the same article in the Dec'08 Mother &amp; Baby mag on too many toys stifling babies creativity as well – as such, we are making a conscious effort not to overstock on toys (have loads of hand me downs as well), and in the future, if we get them, focus on stuff like lego blocks rather than elaborate toys with all the bells and whistles.</font>

lilboymom: u know D too?! Her sis and I were classmates
She really is enjoying herself in SFO
was she teaching at VS b4?

lok: was that the TMC package or your Bishan one? The nurses have been asking us to sign up, but we aren't sure if we wanna stick to TMC PD...TMC's also around that price. They informed us we could 'backdate the discount' to our first few visits...not sure how they can do this cos we already paid the full amount for the 2 consultations &amp; jabs...hmmm...refund perhaps, or pay less for the subsequent jabs?

Kym/jaymickey: Do let us know the showtimes. Wanna watch 出水芙蓉 &amp; 贵妃沐浴!!!!!!

aloevera: not sure if it's teething cos he rejected the chillled teether. But he was digging his gum quite furiously as though in great pain. Worried that his nails might tear his gums and kenna ulcers...

Lok: interesting and enlightening article. True to some extent. I made my paper dolls using cardboards

I believe the CDA monies can be used to pay the premiums of the child's insurance as well. I dunno if the govt has matched my $6K yet, cos we opened 2 weeks back after receiving 2 reminder letters from MCYS...However, for the first instalment of $750, OCBC has already sent us the notification.

Now we are chased by CPF for the declaration of his health conditions in order to qualify for the medishield...how forgetful we are...

breadmum: i gave my son 5-10 teasponfuls of diluted chrysanthemum (10ml chrys water + 10ml boiled plain water) on the eve of his visit to the PD. Dun worry too much. PD will give him paracetamol as well...

I still hv not bought my bumper mat...

Bigtoes:

<font color="ff0000">"How do they even judge a baby swimming competition? Look at which baby is smiling and kicking more?"</font> This makes me crack up!!! I wanted to pose that question to Huaxia as well
Maybe the bb who can tread water the longest in the tub wins?

teething or not? we aren't too sure. Used a torchlight last nite to examine his oral cavity but didn't see any white teeth sprouting out lei...

RE Toys: I love LEGO to pieces, literally! I love shiny new toys &amp; see great educational value in some of them, but hate to see them lying and stacking around my home
tsk tsk...

I have open the CDA account with OCBC but so far have yet to put in money. Intend to put one a thousand every year or when the money in the account run out. Hubby is saying cash is king in the recession time, so no point throwing all the money in one shot. Anyway, to deposit money online is pretty convenient.

I amm thinking to start baby solid soon, probably in Jan, So far, the kisua mummy (me) have bought Bellamy, Healthy times and Frsicocream. Intend to start with Healthy times first

I'm letting go of my Yao Lan which I used for 6 months.

Details:
1 Yao Lan (cost $79)
2 New Spring (cost $10)
3 2 sheets for Yao Lan (cost a few dollars, can't remember)

Everything is still in good condition. Letting go at $40. Cash and collect at my place Jurong West St 61. Reason I'm letting go is because my baby is learning to crawl. I'm letting her sleep in play pen.
Pls email me [email protected]

Flos.. i did le.. althought not much heehee
but he is actually ok with he is not sleepy.. he can play on his own.. talking and laughing..

but the problem comes when he is sleepy.. i think he is pretty much used to sleep in the cradle position...especially during day time... tt's why when he is sleepy.. he can't sleep sitting up in the car seat... hiaz....

that's the headache part... help~~~~ any ideas mommies???

Ice-cream gathering
hiaz... i am going to miss it .... so sad... but enjoy yourself k?

TRaz (traz) - mine is 10am.. lunch i dun think i can cos my hb still got to go back and work..

Swimming competition, i asked before how they are going to judge, they say is by the baby's reaction when put into water, how many rounds can the baby make and whether they response to their parents and most importantly must smile.. Something like that.

Jeraldin, u come right after he has his nap then let him nap first before putting him into the car.. or maybe u can hitch a ride from someone near u??

ICE CREAM, i am going for it.

1. Kymberley + BB
2. Doris Teo + Alston
3. Traz + big gorgor
4. Jaymickey

We can either go white sand (Ben &amp; Jerry) or siglap area..

kym kym,
did u receive my pm?? still did not receive ur money.. kekeke.. u r the biggest spender when at the sales... kekeke..

Friday sales.. who else going tomo?? i'm planning to go first thing in the morning at 9am.. anyone else?? bacon?? wru?? pm me ur no...

Flos

"How do they even judge a baby swimming competition? Look at which baby is smiling and kicking more?"

Well.. many babies are actually afraid of water (which of course they shouldn't)and few have real water confidence.

So i would say it takes a lot of practice and getting used to, to even enjoy being in the water for a start. Many babies will only start to paddle and wave their hands around after say 6 or 7 tries..

I posed that question before and from previous competitions, they replied, they usually take note of the child's water confidence and interaction with their parents when in the water. Yes, any kid could join, but whether the baby responds to his/her parents while in the water depends a lot on his/her water confidence. Some babies i've seen thrash around, some fall asleep, some cries from start to end, some simply just refuse to go into the water (no matter 3 mths - 9 mths) while some smiles back, makes coo-ing noises back at their parents, co-operate when their parents play with them etc.

I wouldn't say there is '學問' in swimming, but i think at the end, we're all just there for fun and to show off la! RRRROTFLOL, i think registeration is still open, bring issac down for some fun la~~~

oh yes..
Shall those of us who are going for the morning session.. just like the last sales.. We go for a drink at Tampines Mall again??

Sunray.. u going>?

momomomomo.. i did not receive really!!! i thought you gonna pay for me le... ekeke, pm meee ur posb plssss thanks!

and you missed out on our previous posts~~ i think many of us r going, spring, millie, bacon, storeberry, yan, jaymickey, traz, me etc.. and the ice cream is the gathering after the sales loh

Kym &amp; Flos - thanks for the tips. ok will feed little e today with 10ml then.

Ice Cream session - you gals have fun cos bb jab at 11am. I don't think i get back by 12pm. next round.

Momoko - am gonna be there at about 9am. maybe 10 mins earlier even

kym,
ahh..no wonder it takes donkey years... kekekeke..
If not tomo sales got no moeny to chiong leh... lolz...
wat's ur email ah.. scare later i pm u.. u did not receive again.. lolz..

breadmum,
ok... see u around.. kekeke..

oh yeah..one more.. wanna thanks all those mummy who volunteer to help me with my milkbags issue.. kekekek.. solved already.. it arrived on tue.. but the mummy say send out last last week leh.. dun know why so long.. thought lost in the mail...

hey limay / flos,
on the topic of teething, was asking my PD last sat &amp; he said to look out for a straight white line. cos i saw 2 white spots on JD's lower gums but apparently tt's juz saliva glands.. :p

flos,
do U still BF ur BB? if so, i think it's more like they wanna suck their fingers for comfort.. i really enjoy looking at my DS suck his fingers and get really angry with himself in the end! haha... they just look so cute~~~

oh, do u find tat their lips are peeling?? my ds' lips are peeling everyday... dunno if it's bcoz of the suckling of his fingers!