(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi springz,

Please indicate me as tentative as your gathering ... Hubby will be back from finland in the morning so i will try to go myself...

Oh, i like the idea of bazaar sales at yor place.. I have so much to sell from fenguzee to milk powder to play gym .... All want to sell cheap cheap .... haha

crayon:
thanks.. bb seems to be okay now. in fact she seems so happy that she is staying in hospital. or maybe she is basking in the attention of the nurses... lol

if i were u, i slap ur MIL.. keke... so insensitive!

baby bathing:
since she came back, my girl is also bathed in tap water. Erm do they use boiled water when they bathe our bb in hospital? wun they be very busy?

Alabone
Did you manage to get Natalie to fit into the 9-12mths outfit?

Flos
Nope, Gap does not sell xmas outfits. But they do have a few nice dresses that are warm and cosy-like to xmas! And they are beautiful! If babies don't outgrow their clothes so superfast, I would have grabbed from Gap! But thrying to save some $$ now, cos economy is bad..

Crayonshinchan
OMG! How can anyone just life up someone's nursing cover like tt? It's like lifting up ur shirt to expose u in public! If I were u, I would straight away tell her off!! Thanks for ur compliments on Rachael too
Reyes looks happy and really well-fed!!

Springz
Sorry, my friends are coming over to visit me on this day, so I can't make it to ur place. Will be at the Xmas gathering
Will u be there too? I will be dressing Rachael in the Santarina outfit, hopefully she don't fuss too much!

Bigotes
You are observant
The outfit does come with leggings, but she feels so warm in the top liao, so I skipped the leggings for a short photoshhot before she starts fussing again! And it's actually big on her..hopefully by xmas, the outfit will look better on her. Just see the hat and u noe

Milkmilk
Best to take these 2 jabs. Although it is exp, but still, best protection for ur baby. I gave Rachael both the jabs, taken at her PD. If ur baby going to infantcare, all the more should take.

Kymkym
I like the bath net. Where to get one?

Eve
GEt BabyBjorn! It's really easy to use, I can take Rachael on and off the carrier on my own w/o much help! I got the Original one @ First few years, Paragon. Cheapest I found, $139 only.

Sarahmay
Me too, I put on weight again! HEavier than confinement too, I hate my figure!

Hi, Storeberry, Goldfish, Xuanting

think I really have my own guidelines in taking care of babies.. running thr the postings made me realise that my mother in law is not too bad afterall.. hahaha.. I saw your posting on bathing baby with tap water.. What I meant is to use cool boiled water to clean the face and tongue. as for the bathing, it is normal warm tap water. My mother in law dun noe so she used the tap water which is in the bath tub to clean the tongue which deviates from my guideline.. hahaha.. cos I feel baby will "drink" the tap water when his tongue is cleaned so I always used cool boiled water to clean his tongue..

Hi,Bacon & Egg

Sorry to miss the gathering. Post the photos in facebook soon..

Hi, Springz

Can I join in the Old airport road gathering on 29th Nov? Me and baby only..

Hi, Flos

Why weaning Issac off? so soon?

hi mummies from the west gathering,
great to finally meet up w some of u. now i can place a face to the nicks i see in the forum. can bacon&egg pls email me the photos we have taken? cos u have taken the most pixs on ur camera :) my email is [email protected]

flos- mi also trying to wean off. now i do not pump out or latch. when engoged just use cabbage. now though sometime i notice my bra have milk mark, i know that there are still abit MS. i just let it flow out by itself.(as my breastpad have used up)

<font color="0077aa">Yes, twendy, it was great catching up! I had a good time with all the mummies &amp; bbs! I finally brought Zane out alone! And my poor arm is aching carrying the heavy car seat! Git muscles liao!</font>

wow so many posts to catch up!

I'm a lazy mummy and have no proper standards when it comes to bathing and changing my boy! But I do make sure I wash my hands with my anit-bacterial handwash before carrying him though.

Activities with baby: again, I'm a lazy mummy! Did not read or sing to him, only thing I do is say, "hello my darling! smile smile!" haha ... my FIL is the one who's very on about engaging my boy in actitivies, with whatever toys and a cloth boy. My hubby and I are to exhausted for any activities with baby after work, sometimes we just plonk him in his rocker, we relax in our recliner and we all watch tv, or watch a sermon by my pastor (dvd) on tv together as a family.

MIL: Did I share with you mummies that MIL got another addition to my kitchen? This time, she got me a Supor wok! Told me not to throw my existing one! wau pian! Can't she see that I'm running out of storage space for more stuff in the kitchen? argghhh ... and seriously, I dun need another wok of a different size, cos I hardly have time to cook these days! The only thing I cook is probably hard boiled eggs!

Westerner Gathering
Hey mommies, I have posted the pics on my facebook. U can view and download them from there..sending them to u via email..might be too a file.. Add me into your facebook if you dont have me yet [email protected]

LC, no worries, can view the pic in facebook

Storeberry,
Your mobile carseat looks really heavy..cant imagine you shopping with it...u probably a visit to Kenko after shopping with it

Sunrays,
For short trip like mine(3D2N), i probably get sterilizing pill and hot water to sterilise the bottles. More worth the trouble if you are gg on a longer trip. But honestly cant imagine how to fit a Avent IQ into a suitcase! probably have to handcarry in a bag?

saw the pictures! looks like mummies and babies had fun!

twendy: I love your Ergo! Mine is just plain biege. Your older versions has the beautiful butterflies, just like the one they used in the demo dvd.

storeberry: well done on bringing Zane out on your own!

Nice meeting all the mummies and daddy at the Westerner outing as well.

Shazz
We had fun, babies had fun and sleep..and we also had sugar overdose and a mini tutorial on photo taking. Haha.

yan,
u look really pretty in your wedding pic

Shazz,
we have fun and definitely alot of sweets! I helped myself to two desserts..
We should do gathering at MOF again...next time a town outlet maybe...

Shazz,
MIL - can ask if she can get you an OSIM chair the next time? hee...sorrie..just being cheeky..

Activites with BB
I dont do much either..just read and sing..been reading n singing the same old book and songs for the past 2 half months..getting tired of it..but cant seem to find good bedtime stories like cinderalla, snow white etc.. most now are on bob the builder, spongebox etc..which i have no clue why they are so popular?

aloysius,
glad to see we have such an enthu daddy in the forum...
U reckon the outlet at Suntec has space for more mommies, bbs and strollers? We draw a few curious stares and ooohhh...ahhhh today with our westerner crowd...some thot storeberry and yan's bbs are twins!

Oh...this is dedicated to the Silent Reader whom we bumped into at MOF today..join us the next time...better...start posting in this thread...we are a friendly bunch!

Yup, thanks to Aloysius for the mini tutorial! at least i know now that its not the camera's fault for all my lousy photos!!! have to get more practise now.

bacon&amp;egg, thanks for the compliment! that was taken just last year. can imagine how much bearing a child can do to a woman. all the sacrifice for my dd!! wonder when i can get back to my old self if ever its possible!!

MOF outlet - the other one that i know of is at bugis junction. not sure if there's any other outlets other than that.

<font color="0077aa">Thanks Shazz &amp; Bacon&amp;Egg! I felt accomplished! Haha!! Yah, the desserts is wonderful!

Shazz: Aiyoo.. You MIL really treat your kitchen as hers.. I think you gotta ask your hubby to tell her. Cheer up!

Bacon&amp;egg: yah man, people must be wondering why is there so many babies?? It was fun! I really enjoyed the breather!</font>

bacon&amp;egg
im sure there are more enthu daddies..they just aren't posting. ha. actually maybe the suntec one can..i remember they have an area in the corner which could probably put about 12 people and have space for strollers. yeah..stares indeed..even got the attention of another sept mummy. Haha. How cool is that. Sept mummies are famous.

yan
no problem at all. play ard with the functions and soon ull get the hang of it.

MOF - Suntec and West Coast Plaza also has one. Suntec has a proper food menu. Not sure about the West Coast one.

yan &amp; bacon&amp;egg: i also need to work hard to lose weight as well. 10kg more to go and it's like stagnant there already.

Aloysius Lim: you went as well ah, didn't see you in the photo, only saw your 2 beloveds, the only daddy was papaBacon!! oh yah, you're probably busy taking pictures too!
looking forward to viewing your pictures!

bacon&amp;eggs: haha ... that's a good one! but i can wait long long for Osim chair. But my in laws are like looking at strollers for my boy! sigh! I already told them of my intentions to get a McClaren Quest next year, then they started looking and trying to convince me to get the Techno XT (same as my niece) but I'm not keen on it cos it's heavier and works like a complete pram like my current one. Tsk tsk ... wonder when they'll stop meddling!

storeberry: yah lor, told hubby liao, he said he'll do the throwing and let him handle his mum!
thank God hubby knows what his mum is like, and is on my side.

oh, the westerner gathering was today? post pics leh:p I'm sure it was a lot of fun!

went to suntec today to check out Toy R Us...totally overwhelmed by the no. of toys to be bought. didn't hv a good time cos Isaac was fussing in the toy paradise. Had to get out before I could pick a Christmas toy for him

<font color="ff0000">CARREFOUR PAMPERS PROMOTION: Today, I bought a twin pack (38*2pcs) of Active Baby (L) for only $35. M, L, XL Active Baby Pampers are all selling at $35.</font>

koras/LC: weaning off at 10 wks is not too soon. i dun hv much milk left...er, but if I force it out, still got lah...

bacon&amp;eggs: will u be bringing a basin to sterilise the milk bottles? how r u going to bathe Kaiden in the hotel?

BBjorn: I think Isaac is outgrowing his AIR! He's getting marks on his thighs after sitting in the Bjorn for too long...oh no oh no...

shazz: actually, u r not 'lazy' at all! U just hv a new focus now...your job, which is good.

Shazz, my mil TOO! she's been complaining abt my full clear glass kitchen and master toilet door (she almost knocked into the kitchen door once, her mum knocked into it once, and my hubby knocked into the master toilet one when we first moved in not long) keep nagging for me to paste something on it but have been ignoring her, but today hubby brought home 2 packs of jelly stickers 'christmas style' and tried to bluff me that he bought it but instead it was my mil's idea. i know my hubby can never get the free time to go shop for such stuff. maybe i'm stubborn, but cant understand why she cant leave my doors alone lor. haiz~

storeberry, thanks for the giving me and bb a ride today. i'm really envious of zane's double eyelid and looong eyelashes!! very nice!!

bacon&amp;egg, hope so but it will still be different with all the stretchmarks on my legs! and also havin v different skin tone now. gets so depressing just thinking abt it.

jessi, i wish mine was 10kg. but i need to get 20kg off!! the weight was like stagnant from day 1. haizz

jas,
eventually i didn't go down to get the dress. reckon she'd be too big to fit in. when hb comes back to india, we'll go to spotlight to buy material and sew (MY MUM NOT ME). i gatecrased to l'lcy's pl yesterday and was too tired to bring nat to town. so took a ride from qiuling back. storeberry picked me up and we went to l'lcy's pl together! so sweet of these two ladies.

just survived another day with all three kids. during dinnertime just now, cadence didn't want to sleep. so i had to latch her AND feed jared at the same time. totally crazy. don't even know how i survive each day...

yan: perhaps your MIL is concerned cos recently a young lady died after knocking into glass door.

Flos: I'm also getting 70ml of EBM the last 2 times I pumped after my tore areola healed. Guess it's about time we wean off pumping
I'm pumping once in 24 hours now and my boobies are more or less back to normal size, I can finally wear one of my old bras instead of the huge parachute maternity and nursing bras I've been wearing! keke

Oh no! Isaac outgrowing his Air! That's one reason why I ruled out Bjorn and head straight to Ergo. Can check it out at Metro

shazz, i din know abt that!! btw, she have been starting on how her grandchild will knock into it if i dun paste something onto it to indicate that its a door. guess its still a long way to when her granddaughter can crawl or walk to really knock into it? =X 'choy'

flos- ic. now i try not to squeeze out any coz once squeeze then MS sure will produce again.

jessie- talking about weight lost. i still have 6-8 kg to lose. my tummy still there seem hard to lost them.my mum ask me to go london slimming center to lose weight

shazz

ur mil v cute..haha..eh,be glad she didnt buy those old type big black wok hor...u going to springz's gathering? tink have to ask u to bring my desitin then..these few times i go toa payoh is all weekends..

alabone

u r doing great..jia you! yesterday me alone with FB + SB..wah piang..sooo tired man..ny elder decides to be extra naughty n likes do things to irritate me n carine been fussing n needs carry n didnt slept much..hubby was working overnite..wah piang,at nite was wondering how can i 'tong' till i make the 2 zz..

yan: actually that 10kg is just pre-preggie weight. what i hope to lose is to my pre-wedding weight which i think is mission impossible. hehe..

talking about clear kitchen glass door, my kitchen door is also clear glass and i actually bumped into it before. :p so i pasted stickers on it, those from winkplay.

koras: i'm also thinking how to lose my flabby tummy. so sad to look at all the hanging fats with stretchmarks and those dark pigmentations. when i squeeze the belly button area, it's all wrinkly like dried prunes. :p

shazz: honestly, I need that cuppa coffee...another reason (i noe TBF nazis will stone me for saying that): i just ordered some 'potent' skincare prodts online which i believe aren't for BF moms
thirdly, been staring forlornly at the chateau lafite that will go well with my Comte cheese...

Yah man...sooo tight! What's the diff btw Ergo and Bjorn? Bigger leg holes?

yan/jessi: why can't i add u both on FB?

Springz: email me your addy, I'll ask my DH if he wants to go to your party whcih is in the EAST, cos he wants to eat Katong Laksa.

stefseanshar: if u din buy insurance, then u won't get a single cent back for the damages!

Some of my furniture were defaced, a few bottles of wine broken, and some crockery were also chipped by the movers in Shanghai. Luckily we bought insurance...

Jessi, my aim 20 kg is also pre wedding weight. that's 49kg. At least 52 or 53 not bad la, but not like now. hate looking into the mirror nowadays.

I really like my clear glass doors to be clear always and my windows to have no bars blocking my view. but that's not wad my mil like or wish to see. no choice have to take her naggings.

Flos, i think added already rite???

Hi All Mummies,

Talking about 'potent' skincare prodts. Are there any cosmetics / skincare products that are not suitable for BF mummy?

flos: i just added u on FB.

yan : hehe.. then we have to work hard and start doing bb's night feeds. like they say lesser sleep can lose weight faster. hehehe..

Flos
I'm a TBF mum &amp; I take coke &amp; milk tea also! Heheh.

Western gathering
Looks like you mummies had fun! Just being kaypoh, the silent reader Sept mummy came over &amp; approached the gang?

Alabone: gosh! u r super mum! you're coping well, so proud of you!

Flos: I take coffee, tea, coke too ... just that I try to limit my intake to not more than 3 of the above!

Ergo can be used till the child is rather old. The way the child is strapped into the carrier is different from Ergo.

http://www.ergobabycarrier.com/

Angeline: nope, won't be able to join any gatherings. Can mail to you if you want. My MIL usually shop at malls, hardly at those neighbourhood stores
that's a relief to me!

talking about bathing. my mum uses the same cloth to wipe my baby's bum and face as well. told her many times not to do it and she tells me that if cloth is stain with baby's pee, its good for his face and will clear his milk rash. yucks.

my little one did not sleep nor take his feed yesterday but he latched on both breast at 10am this morning - a result of not drinking..hmm.

I guess its because of nt enough sleep, now am having a splitting headache so i popped a panadol despite me TBF.
I occasionally sucumb to coffee just to keep me alert.

Jas, Stefseansharbabes – noted! Tks for replying. No worries, you mummies take care! Haha, I’m sure dracwy and bigtoes will be super happy to take pics of Rachael and Kieran in matching santa/ santarina outfits!!!

Flos – Ahhhhh the lure of the East.. Katong Laksa is beckoning you… come come.. nice hums.. haha..

Okies latest compilation: Will be sending info to your emails shortly!

Date - 29 Nov (Sat)
Time - 2pm onwards to evening
Venue - Near old airport rd, 3 bus stops from Sun Tec City
Food - Catered Halal High-Tea finger food

1. Momoko + bb - CONFIRMED
2. Kymkym + HB + Scarlett - CONFIRMED
3. Lok + Maid + Joshua + Jonas – CONFIRMED
4. Breadmum + Hb + Ethan – CONFIRMED
5. Mandy + Hb + Ryan – CONFIRMED
6. Jaymickey + Hb + Janelle – CONFIRMED
7. Sunrays + Charlotte – CONFIRMED
8. Lilboymum + Ch'i Hui + Chih-Yu + Hb – CONFIRMED
9. Angeline + Carine - CONFIRMED
10. Mrs Yap + Maid + Rachelle – CONFIRMED
11. Crayon + Reyes – CONFIRMED
12. sunnysunny + Raphael + Fb + Hb + Maid – CONFIRMED
13. preggie + Hb + Bb – CON/FIRMED
14. LC(Faintz) + Bb - CONFIRMED
15. Cloud + Kieran – CONFIRMED

16. Isabelle + Gabby – TENTATIVE
17. Alabone + Hb + Cadence + Jared + Cadence – TENTATIVE
18. Jojobar + Marcellus – TENTATIVE
19. Flos + Hb + Issac + (maid?)– TENTATIVE (depending on the power of.. Katong Laksa!!!)

----------------------------

Yet to confirm
19. Storeberry + Zane
20. BlackberryB + Bb
21. Vellevelle + Bb

btw, the westerner gathering sounds real fun and enjoyable! Commented on the pics in FB as well!
Envious you all have Aloysius the pro photographer to give tips!! Kymkym – the photos of Shauna are taken by me la! Super not pro la.. not composed properly, no depth of field, out of focus..

Breadmum – eeeks!!! Pee to clear milk rash??? Gross and double gross!!!

More questions on bathing – Do you all powder your babies? My helper whom I transferred from my cousin, said that she was told not to put powder in case baby sweats and will develop white spots.. I can understand that line of reasoning yet I also feel that powder keeps baby dry and has this nice cooling feel to it.. in any case, I continued with powdering Shauna after her bath and evening wipe downs as she likes it.. all smiles!

Question on holding baby – I usually cradle hold Shauna with her body pressed against mine i.e. her body is parallel to me instead of facing upwards. With this position, her arm nearest my body is always dangling out. I’ve been approached (by strangers) on a few occasions to put her arm back into my ‘fold’… er can picture what I’m trying to say??
Is it harmful/ wrong to carry her with her arm sticking out? It feels more comfy for her this way lei..

catch u all later.. done for my 230pump next one is 530... yawns...

Springz : You are so hardowkring ah? PUmping so regularly. I'm too lazy...but i shd pump more to up my supply. And your carrying method is fine la. They like it. I carry my boy like that during BF rathr than have his arm squished. You should check out how my dad and hubby carry my son in the 'Lazy Lion' style. We've been asked mby so many pp when we go out why we are carrying him like that. Hahaha.

Crayon: Erm I'm not SUper Mummy lor. I have yet to master the perfect balancing art of working/cooking/ laundering/ bathing baby/ caring for baby. My dad leaves on 3dec and tha will be the real test. Rushing my writing work like mad...and considering if i shd take up new writing assignments.

Jessi: My tummy looks gross too....my outie is looking worse for wear. And i've been either too lazy or pressed for time to go do my tummy massage and binding myself. I also have flab to lose cos i want to return to my pre-preg weight. Prob need to lose 6 kg or so considering i suspect i've put on weight post-confinement.

storeberry: I read poems cos they are short and sweet mah...sometimes read dr seuss until got sore throat.. I also make it semi work by attempting to memorise the poems or stories while i read. haha. so when i return to work, i can recite the poems and tell those stories from memory. hahah. i 've been a bit lazy on bible stories these days cos i've read them once through with him. Now i've been substituting with songs so dance and sing w him. q fun.

ok..i better go... my dad's carrying my boy. i shd make more use of my time like washing or something .heh

wished i cld have joined u for the gathering...

<font color="0000ff">qqq: hehe

Flos: not 'hard' at all wor.. hehe.. in fact, even if there's a flask of cool boiled water (like during my confinement), hb still drank from tap water. We seem to like tap water more :p

Sunrays
wah... so sweet of Pang to name it after Char.. n even sweeter to mention abt it on national TV leh.. think i would tear if i heard it

Westerner Gathering
Am so sad I missed it yesterday
sob sob....

Weaning off BF
how come so many ppl are weaning off suddenly? I've been saying till the cow come home le, still haven managed to successfully stop. Now am pumping every 24hrs. 1st time I did it, it felt so engorged i didnt manage to sleep well (i pump at 7am every morning). hhmm.. mayb i should juz totally stop pumping</font>

<font color="0000ff">Esp for mummies whose babies are sleeping thru the nite

I've got a question to ask. If your bb's last feed for the nite (before he / she falls asleep) is around 8+ / 9+ (bb sleeps at around 10 or so), do u all still pick bb up for milk at 11+ / 12? or let bb sleep thru and wake up for themselves?

Max has been sleeping thru the nite these days. but 1 thing that's worrying me and making mi so guilty is that his last feed is always at 8+ / 9+, den he'll sleep thru till about 6+. this morning even worse, nvr even wake up for milk. I had to feed him at 7am when i woke up to pump.

this lazy mummy is falling asleep same time as him, at 10pm so kinda impossible for mi to wake up to feed him at 11 unless I dun sleep at all

any comments on this?</font>

sasa - my girl is similar sleeping pattern to ur bb. also ard 10 sleep but only wake at 6. i just leave her to sleep cos if she is hungry she will wake up. i think as long as ur bb is gaining weight healthily and is happy and not tired all the time, should be fine.

sasa - my ger slso has the same sleeping habit of going to bed ard 8-10, then wake up ard 5-7ish.. i let her sleep thru out. i check with a few pd and they say it is okay coz at night we can demand feed. bb will wake up n cry for milk if they are hungry...

look at it this way, there are many people who envy mummies who hv bb who sleep thru the night. and ur bb sayang you mah, wan mama to rest so that the next day mama got energy to look after them.. :p

sasa
dun be sad..im sure there will be many more gatherings to come!

and i agree with nelc too. that's my personal opinion. don't think it's a must to wake bb up if they are able to sleep throughout rite?

Dear Sasa,

I think eventually we should all aim for pushing the 10pm feeds earlier till 9/or even 8, don't worry about the night feedings, as long as baby takes most of his feed between 7am-7pm each day, pooing and shhshh-ing well, max should be fine (according to Gina Ford of cus..)

Scarlett usually feeds at 9.30+/10.30+ and will sleep thru till 6.30+/7.00+ too, eventually i hope to push it to 9.15, 9.00, 8.45, 8.30! then we'll have more time to ourselves =)